Focus Corporation Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus
Drafter (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 March 2015
Excellent job. We would drive out to work and stay in either a camp or hotel for 24 days at a time and be alone and work and get our work done within the allotted time frame. I learned a lot about surveying and wish to continue this career path but do not wish to be out of town anymore. The most enjoyable part of my job was applying what i learned in school to real life situations.
Pros
everything was expensed, benefits
Cons
Being away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away From Small Projects
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Calgary18 July 2013
Salary was good, but the small projects group was very disorganized. management leaves lots of opportunities for improvement. Some examples include the inability to be able to scope out projects and assist with any problems. If something goes wrong the employee will be used as a scapegoat. A lot of promises were made during the interview and offer process but were never met. Save yourself some pain there are a lot better opportunisies out there
Pros
Salary
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes14No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Payroll Administrator Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton31 July 2012
Focus is a good place to work.
The work could be far more challenging in my particular position.
The overall benefits are really good.
My co-workers are what make my job worth it.
The pay is average.
Work life balance is good for my level.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable company to work for.
Survey Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 September 2015
On a typical day I would drive a snowmobile and set up the GPS system. Then continue and locate the pipeline and survey the dig site. During my time at Focus I learned how to use a locator to locate pipelines. I also gained more knowledge on how to use a GPS system. The management and my co-workers were very supportive. The safety polices were fantastic. The best part of my job was being able to work outside and to be able to extend my knowledge of the surveying industry.
Pros
I was able to work outside.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could use better management
Field Inspector (E.I.T.) (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 October 2015
Fun and supportive colleagues, need better management and more fun activities at work to keep employees motivated.
Need to work on getting in more projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management. No thanks for dedication and long hours.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary28 June 2014
I worked with a great group of people .. was always busy, and had great reviews then day to just have the carpet pulled out from under you for no reason given.
Pros
Fellow Employees
Cons
Poor Management, Long Hours, no thanks for Dedication
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life
IT Administrator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta28 April 2014
Work from 8-4:30pm. Co-workers are awesome people, great to get along with, always willing to help
Management is good, though communication is a bit of an issue
Hardest part of the job is getting others to understand the policies and why they need to be followed
Most enjoyable part is being around fun people, who are always ready and willing to lend a hand when they can
Pros
Limited supervision - trust you to get your job done
Cons
Lack of communication from management to employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crews, Great company
Survey Assistant (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB19 April 2014
This was a great job, however there wasn't much of a home life, becuase it's camp work. The company and co-works were very good to with and for.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Survey Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 February 2014
Great interview into surveying but left due to personal reasons.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report

See more Focus Corporation reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.8
Culture
2.9

Focus Corporation Reviews by Location