Find companies:
Flying J
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
301 reviews

Flying J Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
Line Cook (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJanuary 18, 2014
I love to cook and I got to do that. I also eliminated the need for a prep cook and dishwasher on the overnight position, as I could do it all without supervision.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, if you can ignore the management
Supervisor/Bookkeeper (Former Employee), La Grande, ORJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: fun environment
Cons: manager is a horrible person to work for.
The work itself is fun, fast-paced and keeps you on your toes. The management of this particular location, is terrible. The manager is a woman who will work against the employee at all costs, if she thinks you are going to quit or if she thinks your way is wrong. She will ask you to your face your opinion, then cut your hours and make your life miserable – more... when you do show up. She will hire former employees that were fired for stealing, but refuse to hire someone back who left on good terms. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is not for those who don't like to work quickly
Cashier (Former Employee), Greenville, VAJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: meet new people and still have regular customer base
Cons: management at the regional level had much to be desired.
While at that company there was never any work done fast enough. I had to learn to more quickly and effectively through the tasks throughout my shift. I adapted to this much better than the average employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
regular basics at flying j
Cashier (Former Employee), Dodge City, KSJanuary 6, 2014
Count the register and handle customers every day stocking shelves and handle customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flying J was a great company to work for
Fuel Desk Manager (Former Employee), Gary, INJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: half hour
Flying J saw something inside me that let them know I would made a different in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best
Pilot (Former Employee), St Robert moJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: well orginized. good equipment and up keep uniforms provided clear chain of comand. etc.
Cons: for me the only real con was distance from house to work.
I have really nothing bad to say about these guys. If you do your job they are very good to work with and pay well with good benefits. Due to the fact that they had little turn over there were not many chances for advancement with out moving BUT if you wanted to travel they offered several opportunists.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and exciting
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Brookshire, TXDecember 31, 2013
A typical day at Flying J was motivating the team to provide customers with excellence, quality, and smiles. I learned that if you learn your co-workers, you will find their strengths! My co-workers were awesome, and excited. The hardest part for me there was translations. There were a few employees that were not fluent in english. The most enjoyable – more... part of that job was being known for fresh great tasting food, quality service, and happy environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company
Cashier/Coffee Host (Former Employee), Mauston, WIDecember 25, 2013
Pros: absolutely nothing
Cons: absolutely everything
This company is a horrible company to work for IMO. I worked for this company for 2 months when I was fired because I showed up 13 minutes late for work. I called to let my shift manager know that I was going to be late 15 minutes before my shift started (I was stuck behind a train). I then get to work, finish my shift, and then am fired for being late – more... and "not calling in".
This company also sets up their employees to fail. If you are a cashier during the day, you have to keep the roller grill filled and the coffee dispensers full, which is okay. But then when you have a single cashier that has to run counter AND do that stuff, you think the manager would be a little understanding if the roller grill wasn't filled if the cashier had a CONSISTENT line of customers (and customers should come first right?) and all the roller grill items are in the back of the store in the cooler. Then also trying to get a plate number, make, and model of EVERY vehicle that pulls up to a gas pump and if you ask for help, you WILL get an attitude.

This company is horrible and if you DO want to work for this company, I would STRONGLY advise you not to work in the Mauston, WI one. They LITERALLY hire to fire and anyone can tell you that – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), North Platte, NEDecember 17, 2013
love having time to get all repairs done and work at night time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Pilot (Former Employee), Carlisle, PADecember 16, 2013
take inventory of deli items, package deli products, learned about inventory, management was fine, did not know co-workers, working overnight, being a leader
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at the Flying J
Customer service cashier (Former Employee), Seffner, FLDecember 13, 2013
On a daily basis I set fuel for professional drivers while trying to make them feel like they were at home after being on the road away from families and friends for weeks at a time. Management ususally stayed on the floor helping customers around the store which was always a plus in helping us cashiers once we went to check them out. The hardest part – more... of the job was when you had to deal with profesional drivers that are just angry from having to be on the road all day and not happy about anything they come in contact with. The most enjoyable part of my day was making customers happy when talking with them. Im very out going and enjoy putting smiles on peoples faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not at this store.
Cashier (Former Employee), Seville, OHDecember 11, 2013
Pros: own pay card
Cons: drama
This pilot was a decent place to work and then without warning my hours were cut. The night shift manager there had rumors started about me and my family. I felt that was inappropriate for a manager to talk about another employee behind her back. To work hard and only get scheduled one day is not enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Deli Expediter (Former Employee), Jerome, IDDecember 9, 2013
Not a job for everyone. Stressful environment. Demanding and stress.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun, fast paced work place
Pilot (Former Employee), Franksville, WIDecember 9, 2013
Pros: first meal is fee, great people, even greater customers.
Would come in and clean the showers and bathrooms. Than would powerwash the fuel islands. Would start any laundry that needed to be done. Management was great and willing to work with us if we needed time off or hard personal issues that needed dealing with. The hardest part was coming in at 3 am to powerwash when it was cold outside. Every part of – more... the job was enjoyable!!!!!!!!!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Team Leader (Former Employee), Lebanon, TNDecember 8, 2013
I worked here for eight years and there were many skills that I picked up during this time. I feel that it helped to mature me in my job experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work
Relief Manager/Cashier (Former Employee), Napanee, OntarioDecember 3, 2013
It was always busy with customers. Learnt how to deal with very angry truck drivers. Management was ok and so was the co-workers. Hardest part of the job was dealing with angry truckers who's fuel cards did not work. Dealing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It overall was a fun job, when daily hassles were out of the way.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Pembroke, NYDecember 3, 2013
Pros: able to help many customers.
Cons: denied lunches after 6+ hours.
A typical day at the Pilot Flying J, was hard. It was usually me coming in an hour or so early, and being criticized for not being able to do "Day Shift's job." because I worked night shift.

I would be refused lunches, and get yelled at if I wanted to go on a ten minute break. I have to say in short words, They had gone through 3 General Managers in – more... a year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continual crisis management!
General Manager (Former Employee), IowaDecember 2, 2013
Pros: none.
Cons: the entire job.
This company could be a great company but....you spend too much time in crisis mode. They have great tools but you seldom have time to maximize them. You are told while being recruited that the typical work week is 50-55 hours...not one manager I knew worked less than 60...and that was a slow week. 70 is average! You don't get to hire your own management – more... staff....your RM does...and that is a disaster. I ran without any assistant managers 75% of the time. I could go on but I think you get the picture. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee), Black River Falls, WINovember 25, 2013
Loved working with all my coworkers.
you deal with a lot of different kinds of people
you are always busy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun
Waitress, Cashier, Cook (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALNovember 21, 2013
Pros: working with the public
Cons: rude individuals
A typical day I would wait on customers,serve, cashier,cook any thing that i could do. I traveled from store to store to train others. New mangment

About Flying J

Pilot Flying J (PFJ), formerly Pilot Travel Centers, steers truckers and otherĀ motorists to more thanĀ 550 company-owned and -operated – Read more