Find companies:
Flying J
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
263 reviews

Flying J Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to meet new people from all over the world
Server/Cashier (Former Employee), Latta, SCSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: meeting new people and the famous people that went in.
Cons: health care bennefits
There is never a typical day. Every day is different with different people. I learned that people want fast, friendly service more than any thing else. Most management staff are great managers that only tried to help you with your career. The co-workers were good to work with for the most part. Any where you go you always have that one person you just – more... can't work with. The hardest part was working by your self being expected to do all the work. The best part of this job was meeting new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Supervisor (Former Employee), Geiger Heights, WASeptember 21, 2013
Pros: worked with schedule
Cons: not much future
• Supervise evening crew at local truck stop
• Financial accountability
• Stock and order merchandise
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a nice places to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Emporia, KSSeptember 20, 2013
a typical day at work would be fun
learned how to turn on the different gas pumps
the management was very friendly and cared about there workers
learning the different types of payment method was the hardest part
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
General Mgr (Former Employee), Beaverdam, OHSeptember 19, 2013
Pros: great company work for.
Cons: the bankruptcy and loss of job i thought i would retire with
Overall operation of 150 seat restaurant

Job security, anyone even me who has a high position can loose that
in a matter of seconds. Bankruptcy and without a job.

My dist. managers were always great to work with.

Co-workers, we all balanced and this made job fun and place ran like a clock.

Hardest part, when i had to reprimand an employee.

Everything – more... about job was fantastic for me. Employees, customers, and
working with an upper management staff that took care of it's employee's. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut too short
C-Store Cashier (Former Employee), Brookville, PASeptember 17, 2013
Pros: good pay, a variety of customers
Cons: healthcare and no job security
While I absolutely loved my job at Flying J, when I got sick and had to have surgery, they let me go. I was always on time, had good attendance prior to my illness, and was great with customers. It was not my choice to leave and I wish they would have kept me on after my recovery. On top of letting me go, the worst part was they didn't inform me until – more... I was ready to come back to work. Had they let me know beforehand, I would have been able to look for employment while recuperating. Instead, they allowed me to believe I had a job to return to until I was well enough to do so, and then let me go. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good enviroment to work in, friendly coworkers, awesome managers.
deli (Current Employee), Lake Station, INSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: 50% of lunches, benefits, paid vacations.
Cons: not enough paid
I work midnights so I do a lot of the prepping for the day. Including salads, pizzas, sandwiches. My coworkers are friendly and I get along with them very well. The best part of my day is when I know I did a good days work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & always busy
Store Director (Former Employee), Thousand Palms CaliforniaSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: old management team
Cons: new management team
Morning reports dead lines that need to be meet scheduling to be reviewed. Change order to be placed bank deposits to be sent off.

Payroll to be processed and breaks and lunches to be covered.

I learned to managed my time so I could muti tasks through out
the day to complete all taask needed.

My favorite thing about working at Flying J used to be – more... the different
customers you meet sometimes you could improve their day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My firsrt start in rucking Industry
Lead Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: it was good company
Cons: no room for advancement at time
I started off in trucking Industry with Flying J in Lube department. I worked up to Supervisor
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just an ok job
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee), Ogden, UTSeptember 6, 2013
Hard work, Management was not so nice, not very friendly to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring and professional company
Customer service/cashier (Former Employee), Cokeville, WYSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: hours steady.
I loved working here. Training was awesome. I learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs Improvement
Clerk (Former Employee), Walton, KYAugust 30, 2013
There were only certain management that would help. It was not a bad place just needs improvement in some areas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Janitor (Former Employee), Jackson, GAAugust 29, 2013
Good Place nice people like working there good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short time productive job
Cashier (Former Employee), Temple, GaAugust 27, 2013
I enjoyed the friendly environment at Pilot, my co-workers were pleasant to be around. The hardest part of the job is working with the suspense of the managers stealing money from the registers. I believe that the people in charge should set a good example for the other employees, however, that was not done in this case. I felt stuck between a rock – more... and a hard place, after all, who do you come to when the leaders are the ones in the wrong? I tried my best to juggle this job, school, and my pregnancy as long as I could until my pregnancy forced me to quit, due to the safety of my daughter. On the bright side, I learned a lot about customer service, stocking merchandise, and a little about character. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training.
Waitress (Former Employee), Peculiar, MOAugust 22, 2013
They gave good training to wait on Tables, and to do your Job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Shift Leader (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 21, 2013
i loved it even tho it was hard work i had fun i actually miss my crew
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Cashier (Former Employee), Joplin, MOAugust 14, 2013
Pilot Flying J was an enjoyable job. The people I worked with is what made it all worth it. Management was very good at working with your schedule. Most of the professional drivers that came threw were polite and friendly, but some of them were just unbearable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
maintenance/cashier (Former Employee), Austinburg, OHAugust 13, 2013
Pros: discount on hott food
Cons: always understaffed
a very fast pace place, i learned alot about maintenance, the hardest part of the job was keeping up with showers. the most enjoyable was the associates
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and a great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Blacksburg, SCAugust 12, 2013
While working here at Flying J I have learned a lot about what truck drivers go through on a daily basis. The long traveling, the constant stops, issues with company card to fill up gas, having to shower else where and wash clothes. I also learned how to run the register and turn on different gas pumps, and switch pumps in need to. My managers were – more... wonderful in training for the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to meet different people all day long, and be able to put a smile on their face by the time their visit ended! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, Enjoyable atmosphere
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Ogden, UTAugust 10, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Cons: short tempered clients
Enter Data for credit information. Learned how to work with Microsoft word, excel, and many other computer systems that applied to the job. Management was so great to work with. Hardest part of the job was working with some of the clients and how upset they can get. Most enjoyable part of work was seeing great changes in people and status of all clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment.
Deli Worker (Former Employee), Harrisonburg, VAAugust 8, 2013
fast paced, no support from management, poor training, poor communication from management to employees, no structured or regular meetings, no accountability when work not performed

About Flying J

Pilot Flying J (PFJ), formerly Pilot Travel Centers, steers truckers and other motorists to more than 550 company-owned and -operated – Read more