Find companies:
Flying J
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
304 reviews

Flying J Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible compensation and very unfriendly place to work.
Deli Worker (Former Employee), Joplin, MOMarch 2, 2014
Pros: a few good employees and discount on food.
Cons: every other aspect of the job
You work extremely hard fro very little pay. Very unfriendly environment and it's not just the customers. most of the employees are unfriendly as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace C-Store
Cashier (Former Employee), Matthews, MOFebruary 22, 2014
Flying J was always busy with something to do. I got to meet travelers passing through from all over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Former Employee), Sulphur Springs, TXFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: discounts on lunches
Cons: short breaks if any, short lunches, ever changing schedule
While this is a very fast paced job there is not a whole lot of support from management. Breaks are few and short while lunch is only 30 minutes. Manager asks for certain tasks to be done but does not give the wherewithal to implement them. Schedule changes all week long insure you never know when or if you are working. Very difficult place to work. – more... Loved the clientele and other team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Brunswick, GAFebruary 16, 2014
Management were hard to work for. How to manage a large number of employees. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the Store Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and informational place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee), Brunswick, GAFebruary 16, 2014
Flying j is a growing corporation. This fast pace enviorment is a learning opportunity and a great company to advance with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Frazier Park, CAFebruary 11, 2014
Friendly work environment to work in. Management is almost always amazing. Easy job to learn only have to be able to multi-task easily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
General Manager (Former Employee), kingman azFebruary 11, 2014
great company to work for it was a great experience they give the best training
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant Cookery is out of business
Server (Former Employee), Frazier Park, CAFebruary 5, 2014
I was working for the Cookery Restaurant.Too much politics, very back stabbing environment, good money and working hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with goofy people
Cashier (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: fun people, good boss
Cons: good timed breaks, understanding bosses, good co-workers
Overall, it was a good work environment. But with the type of personality I have, it just didn't match a good truck-stop worker's personality. Basically, I wasn't "tough enough" to work there. Rude truckers that came in frequently really got to me and got under my skin with their rude and degradeful comments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good stable job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Payson, UTFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: good stable job
Cons: worked graveyard shift
Enjoyed the job and people I worked with, good experience and learned new skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Team leader (Manager) (Former Employee), Cleveland, TNFebruary 3, 2014
I loved being a team leader. I enjoy taking the lead and making difficult decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loves.
Shift Leader (Former Employee), New Haven, IndianaFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: learning experience.
Cons: work hours and schedule, work atmosphere
Met some managers that were really good at what they did and learned a lot from them (well most of them). Good experience that did help me find out what I am made of and what I should expect from an employer
But.............
Pretty sure the person who wrote the previous review about this location is from pilot falling j corporate, I worked there almost – more... a year DID NOT see the owner or hear about the owner coming through once (only been open a little over a year), went through three general manager changes, managers were dropping like flies, regional manager (you looked for his car when you pulled up so you could know how awful your day was going to be) was there almost every week making you walk on egg shells because you did not know who he was going to fire next, employee retention is horrible new cashier new waitress new sandwich maker every two weeks.
Seldom did I ever get off on my scheduled time or even got all my breaks.

I hope that not all locations are like this.

I should have quit sooner than I did, especially when they were indicted for fraud. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By far the best company I have ever worked for!
General Manager (Current Employee), New Haven, INJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: compensation and advancements
Cons: long hours
This is the best company I have worked for since I started my career in restaurants and retail. I have learned numerous things during my time with Flying J. They care about you and your family and offer great benefits and compensation. Even though they are demanding of your time they make up for it in every other area. If you work hard, stay engaged, – more... and dedicate your talent everyday, the rewards are great for not only you but your family. They do not require I lot of paperwork and reports. Instead they want your time to be working along with your staff and your guests, which in my opinion should be every company's primary goal. The management staff is the best I have ever worked for. The are never shy with their time, are always available, willing to help, supportive, and treat you with the up most respect. Even the owner of the company stops into to his buildings just to say hi and give a personal thank you for all your time and hard work. I have enjoyed and look forward to going to work everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High school all over again
fuel desk workers (Former Employee), Carney's Point, NJJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: high school drama
I loved working with people even if they weren't the most friendliest of personalities. A few managers have a great work ethic however there is a great sense of high school cheerleading vs geeks drama here. Where the cool crowd can get away with slacking off and leaving others to pick up their dead weight. Management needs severe work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting MANCAMP accommodation
RIG FUEL transport (Former Employee), Tioga NDJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: good job
Cons: management could care less!
If you sleep like a rock...through most anything & can fit in a cramped tiny BUNKBED...This jpb is great.
But if you have some minimum living standards & didn't crawl from under a rock...You might have troublle ajusting to this environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
entree level job
Sandwich Artist (Former Employee), Spokane, WAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: friendly to students
Cons: low hours
This was a great first job since i was a high school student, i learned hard work that might take you a few extra minutes gets you further then sloppy work that gets done fast
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment to work in.
cook (Former Employee), Greenwood, LAJanuary 23, 2014
The management staff are unfair. They also discriminate against race, gender, and sexual preference.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it
cashier/1coffee host (Former Employee), Casper, WYJanuary 23, 2014
Loved my co-workers. This company changes managers too often.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pilot a good place to work but often over staffed
Fuel Truck Driver (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: good equipment
Cons: to many people and not enough work
They have very good equipment, and put the safety of it's drivers first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were great to work here
Lube and Tire Technician (Former Employee), Lake Station, INJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: real close to home
Cons: kinda cold in winter but ok to work in
i really enjoyed the grew i had to work with they made my job fun and easy to do.

About Flying J

Pilot Flying J (PFJ), formerly Pilot Travel Centers, steers truckers and otherĀ motorists to more thanĀ 550 company-owned and -operated – Read more