Flying J Employee Reviews in Canada

See reviews about:
Work-Life BalancePay & BenefitsJob Security & AdvancementManagementCulture
Found 23 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not be best job in to world. The managment needs a full revamp
Deli/Pizza (Former Employee) –  Greater Napanee, ONJuly 20, 2016
Low on staff and needs a revamp on managers as well as they should have surprise visits for corporate

There is never been enough help or team work they seem to only want to get the profits then care about there staff.
Pros
Busy place to work
Cons
Not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BCJanuary 8, 2016
a typical day of work consisted of working with the staf in completing the tasks in the day examples:cleaning the stores on my nite shift for closing.what i learned was how to keep customers happy.management was great.co-workers were awsome.hardest part of job there was none.most enjoyable part was working with co-workers and having a friendly work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
does notcare about employees
Assistant manager (Former Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QCNovember 16, 2015
flying j was s company that did not care about its employess, i enjoyed working with the colleagues and meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABJanuary 15, 2014
I loved working here it was totally awesome! I am more of an animal person than a people both. I mean I am both but animals are my passion.

I did both kennel attendant and reception. I got to meet all the animals and get them set up for the vet. I booked appointments and kept files up to date.

Management was awesome they taught me everything and let me be a part of the learning experience and a part of everything they did so I could carry on my passion as wanting to be a vet.

Co-workers were great too! They also taught me things I needed to know for the paperwork and all that fun stuff. I loved it. They were understanding when I couldn't get something but still taught me.

There wasn't really anything hard about the job I mean it was pretty basic. I loved it. I caught onto everything fairly quickly. Its too bad I moved back to Edmonton.

Most enjoyable part of the job was the animals for me. They're my passion. Always have been, always will be.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Semi-productive place with too many members of management
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Kapuskasing, ONApril 3, 2013
a typical day at work is dealing with too many members of management that all have different ways of doing this and follow different policies and procedures. As a shift manager, this is very conflicting. However, on the good side more managers means more people i can ask questions to, get direction from and also learn from. I learned alot about petrolium systems and laws regarding them; how things need to be done on the fuel management side and troubleshooting. The most enjoyable part of my job are the people I work with; they make the mood of the place bright and fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy , sociable employment, and paid weekly
Cashier/janitorial/kitchen (Former Employee) –  Hope, BCMay 20, 2014
On a typical day at work there were things to fix, either a till , or a debit machine , or the pumps went offline , so we had to work together.
I learned teamwork , and developed patience and a sense of humour
Management was very friendly
The hardest part of the job was helping people who were waiting ,when they needed to get going.
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to know where people came from, the tourists from Austria, Sweden, Germany, etc.
Pros
really nice coworkers
Cons
worked 10 days in a row sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting /Administrative Manager
Accounting/Admin. Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 2, 2014
Accounting, paper work. Accounts payable and collections. Developed good time management and team work skills. Administrative-hire, train. Had a good team that never gave up
Pros
team work
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with my employees
Front Desk Service/Cashier, Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABJuly 24, 2013
When I come to work I start with asking my co-managers what they need health with. I am more than one thing at the store so whatever important needs to be done first I do it. I am always learning new things and with training other people as well, I learn different learning types.

My co-workers are always fun to be around and being close with some of them makes work comfortable.

The hardest part of my job is when I am asked to do too many things at once. I do try to just stop and think what the most important thing to do first. But, the most enjoyable part of my job is everyone being so friendly with each other and the managers there are always there to help.
Pros
paid weekly, half priced food
Cons
can be overwhelming
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work
Relief Manager/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Napanee, OntarioDecember 3, 2013
It was always busy with customers. Learnt how to deal with very angry truck drivers. Management was ok and so was the co-workers. Hardest part of the job was dealing with angry truckers who's fuel cards did not work. Dealing with customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes18No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace enviroment
Maintanence (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABAugust 8, 2012
I enjoyed working thier because it was so energetic, I like to meet new people just a nice place to work, with a great team
Pros
long hours
Cons
had to work graveyards
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience with different from normal
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 13, 2013
co-workers were cooperative
healthy environment
the most enjoyable part was interaction with customer and solving their problems
management was stern
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an ok place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  CanadaJanuary 13, 2015
a very stressful place to work, with little pay.

served customers, kept an eye on customers inside and outside,
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a good company that cared for it's employees until they were bought out
General Manager Multi-Unit (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONAugust 29, 2012
Flying J was a great company to work for they cared about the staff and respected them and empowered them. Unfortunatly the company was sold and the new owners did not share the same vision
Pros
team members
Cons
corporate support
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome and Interesting place to work at
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABSeptember 25, 2014
Lots of stuff to learn
Meeting new people everyday
Really hard to find maintenance employees
Customer service
Pros
paid 20 minutes break
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Server (Former Employee) –  Greater Napanee, ONJanuary 10, 2013
Taking care of customers, large reservations, different sections to work every day which gave a variety.
Pros
free lunches, great tips, great staff
Cons
long drive
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, ABNovember 15, 2013
I started at Home Depot from the Associate level. Over the years, with hard work and dedication I have moved up in the company very well.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work at
maintaince (Former Employee) –  London, ONAugust 3, 2012
i would go back if there was a job for me. the staff was good to me while i worked there. i had no complants about working here
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun independet work
Out Side Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, ABJune 12, 2012
it was fun being out side and meeting people who need gas and pumps fixed
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night shift
Night time cashier (Former Employee) –  Nisku, ABApril 9, 2014
I was on night shift I did cash, cleanup, stocking and laundry.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  High Level, ABJanuary 23, 2013
i didnt mind it there but after awhile it starts to wear you down
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 434 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4