Fluor Corp. Employee Reviews

Found 167 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great people and very respected
SENIOR CIVIL/STRUCTURAL DESIGNER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 February 2016
I have worked for a number of Engineering firms in two continents, and I can confidently say, Fluor Calgary has been the most rewarding place to work. Its rather sad that I have to say goodbye, but I had to do leave previously in 08, when the economy slowed also. I cant recommend this company enough!
Pros
Great respectful atmosphere, very professional, and really looks after all staff
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable to work with co-workers
Civil/Structural/Architectural PRINCIPAL DESIGNER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 November 2015
Fun workplace with supportive colleagues. I enjoyed most of my time dealing with different personalities, nationalities and culture. Normally, in a big company like this with multi-national employees, of course, there are some politics played around involving my peers but they are all easy to get along with, just don't mind them and just concentrate on your task so you will not be affected. Just focus on your job and you will not notice or feel the politics.
Pros
Free Lunches during special events, like Christmas etc., close to my house.
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment, employees are friendly and helpful
Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 February 2016
Fluor University is a valuable source of the information and knowledge. The company's policies and procedures can be easily found there. This helps to find answers to any questions you may have and learn about the company business.
Monthly conference calls keep you updated on changes or new procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good place where you can learn a lot
Document Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 September 2015
If you know your work well then you can make wonders here. Depends what project you are doing and what kind of team you have, generally people are helpful and understanding but I wish Management could have been better.
Pros
Was close to my place
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global presence
Procurement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 March 2016
Global presence allows you to take on opportunities anywhere in the world, as long as you push for it.
Working at Fluor was a great advantage, as you get good visibility and power over the rest of the firm.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work and lots of overtime time
Document & Data Management Lead (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC23 January 2015
My work was very interesting. The co-workers were nice to work with most of the time. The work was delivered on time as per demand. The management was approachable when needed.
Pros
Enjoyed all the free luches and the other staff memenbers
Cons
Very long hours but got paid for all these hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to be around supportive and knowledgeable people.
Report Coordinator (Northwest Redwater Partnership (Former Employee) –  Redwater, AB2 December 2015
I would have stayed on with Fluor if not for the cancelled projects which has caused the company to reduce personnel.

The projects and the entailed taskings are hectic but fulfilling in the sense that Client satisfaction is achieved.

The hard part is in determining what task has the priority due to events happening at the same time.

But all the hurdles are just that, and are always overcome by the support of talented individuals.
Pros
oride in being part of the company
Cons
long meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, AB6 February 2016
The maintenance team was a mix of millwrights, carpenters and pipe fitters. Being the only supervisor for this company on this project I have learned a lot on being a self learner and a representative for the company. I had one apprentice and a service truck. This was a small piping team which was great.
Pros
Small team
Cons
lots of driving
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Oil & Gas Project Buyer / Expediter (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 January 2015
Fluor is overall a decent place to work. The people are great, the work is interesting, always something to learn, competitive pay, and there are lots of opportunities to work abroad (or so it seemed). Your experience may vary on the projects you work on, and your manager. Overall a good experience.

If you are a new grad, and there is no project work, you may be very expendable. EPCMs need backlog. No backlog and no projects means limited overhead and very little job security. If you have more experience and you have a niche for yourself, you will be fine.
Pros
Lots of opportunites, good people and decent pay
Cons
Job security in EPCM's can suck when there is no backlog
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short but sweet
JOURNEYMAN ELECTRICIAN (Former Employee) –  Syncrude14 March 2016
The work was fairly typical of working up north. A wide array of tasks were accomplished but the contract ended which led to the inevitable layoff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proficient, Challenging, and Fun
CSS Electrical and Instrumentation (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB18 October 2013
A typical day always starts with a safety meeting, and going over the planned work for the day. The unforeseen things that come up on a daily bases, are handled in a professional and proficient manner.

What you learn on every job is that people are people and the needs are all the same; be professional and treat people with respect. If you are doing your job then they will be doing theirs.

The management team are always supportive and believe in open door policies.

My co-workers are always helpful no matter the craft, title, or culture.

The hardest part of the job is to hear of an incident or problem with a co-workers family's and to help them deal with it so that it doesn't effect their job performance.

The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the finished product with no injuries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different place to work, mind you in Afghanistan
Carpenter journieman (Former Employee) –  Afghanistan - Bagram - Sharana29 August 2013
Replacing or rebuilding around the FOB. Every day learning on different culture , people , jobs. Good management bottom to top.Very good and different from all around the world. The i-------s. Going to R & R every 3 months.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PDDM Department is all about Politics
Current Employee at Fluor PDDM (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray and Calgary Alberta4 June 2013
The company itself is a very good company but the people running the PDDM Management Team is all about politics. They will manage the department from home offices leaving the folks at different site areas on their own. Once you close a project for them, they will cut you lose and forget about all the hard work.

If only PDDM Department does not have politics, Fluor will definitely be a good place to work.
Pros
Average Pay, Courses, Opportunities
Cons
Management making wrongful decisions, does not value people, Will use you to close project for them then lay you off without valid reasons, Relationships between Management and co-workers are very common which is again POLITICS.
Was this review helpful?Yes13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
HSE SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 March 2016
Fluor was one of the best companies I have had the privledge to work for and would go back in a heartbeat, Wishing the oil and gas would shape up
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive days, great co-workers and environment..
Material Management, Logistics Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Long Harbour, NL16 September 2012
I start work at 7:00 am till 5:30 pm.. I have very productive days and have lots or work to do.. My team in Logistics is amazing and I have learned alot.. The most frusterating part of my job is when the trucking doesnt come thru with what was organized for pick ups... There are usually dilemas and upsets.. I love the accounting aspect of my job as well.. I work closely with the Client in Accounts payable..

I love my job, and love the contacts I have made in the trucking industry.. We work hard together as a team with all the carriers and with my department. Together we can make it happen!! And we will build this site!!
Pros
my co-workers and the other workers in my building!! they are amazing
Cons
it a long and long hours. you have to be well rested to function properly..
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere, good work, good location
Associate Control Systems Design Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 June 2015
Very productive teams and dedicated employees
Fluor was a pleasure to work for.

Vast amount of senior employees who are loaded with experience and knowledge and are very willing to help.

Sadly, managements put employees at the very bottom of their priorities as profits, clients and just about everything is more important. I understand the reality of this tough market, but it is still somewhat disappointing to see Fluor go down that road (much more so than other companies).
Pros
Great team members who are helpful, knowledgeable and welcoming
Cons
Little training and development opportunities, deceitful managment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a great deal from this company
PC Support/CADD Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary,AB16 October 2013
I started here as a Desktop Support person and left as a CAD Support. I have learned to see the business from the designing and construction side of things. Management was very supportive in my career path. The hardest part of the job was getting the proper training on the new CAD system to support it. I enjoyed the challenges of learning a role and taking some night courses to try to understand my clients.
Pros
Learned a lot
Cons
getting training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with they showed such well being for everyone on site.
Safety Supervisor Lead (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 October 2015
I would work for Fluor Energy again in an instant, they have such a high standard for a safety culture which is such a great thing to see and work with, especially with so many contractors and subcontractors and different standards and policies that each has.
Pros
Such an enthusiastic project to work on with everyone striving for the same safety success
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Senior Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 February 2016
Excellent company to work with. Gives work exposure . new things to learn , family life balance.xxx xxxx xxxx xxxx x xxxxx xxxx xx xxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and teamwork network
Project Controls Specialist (Current Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta22 October 2014
Every day presented new challenges and opportunities to learn and enhance your personal professional skill set. Management was very approachable and interacted with the team as if just one of the team. Co workers were very diversified in their skills and all team members shared their experiences with each other.
Pros
Opportunities for career advancement
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,080 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0