Fluor Corp. Employee Reviews

Found 161 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Pressure work loads with Demanding Clients - Great Company with Great professional people.
CSA - (Acting Lead) & Design Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 October 2016
From Company CEO to new grad, Every one is open, professional and approachable.
Department head leads the whole department with honesty and integrity which is reflected at every level.
Every day 'one' is encouraged to be their individual self whilst being offered knowledge and experience passed down thru the company.
Pros
Enthusiastic and optimistic for future projects
Cons
Rapidly Depleting work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Respective, Clean enviroment
Instrument Technician & Electrician (Current Employee) –  NWR1 January 2017
After morning tool box talk, I will be assigned some task with work package(Document and drawings) . Then scope out the work and fill in STA card (hazardous assessment). Next , I will prepare tools, materials and instrument. Install the instrument according to the engineering spec. At the end of the day report the progress to my supervisor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Lead Estimator (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 December 2016
Space to create, to change, to make improvements ..... within the limits of a low overhead cost office.
Complex and most challenging projects in the world.
Test your resilience, your capacity of doing great work. Not just work as usual, but doing great work.
Pros
The best and more challenging projects
Cons
Not enough focus on human capital as the most important assett of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to develop additional skills in your career
Piping Planner (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 November 2016
Good people, safe and positive atmosphere. Company has a very high turn over in upper management and administrative positions due to unrealistic work loads for far below industry pay.
Pros
The people
Cons
Constant missed paycheques, missing hours, they forget to book your camp rooms and flights too often. Very disorganized in some areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, allowing work/life balance & great pay
Senior PDDM Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 January 2017
Updating and/or creating procedures and job bulletins. Updating and/or creating Document Control Job Book per project. Hardest part of job is creating manhour estimates per phase of project with staffing plans. Most enjoyable part of the job, was working with great people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard company to work for
Zoom Boom Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 November 2016
If you like a company thats top heavy with management and kindergarden politics all day this is the place for you,you feel harrassed and bullied all day long if your an equipment operator.
Pros
They ll definately fly you in/out
Cons
They ll threatin you and harrass you about safety to the point your feeling bullied everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with a lot of great people
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Alberta14 October 2016
Working in a camp you become quite close with those you work with. I've had the privilege of working with some really great people. I'd have to say that the best and sometimes the hardest time was working out in the field away from home.
Pros
Always something to learn, diversity
Cons
long hours, high stress
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Human driven safety
HSE Lead/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Alberta15 October 2016
Over the several year's I have worked with Fluor, the culture and family unit feeling that is given makes it easy to come to work and strive to bring everyone home at the end of the day and rotation. I have learned more then I can write into words with the education and personnel growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming work environment, and friendly employees.
Engineering Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 October 2016
Working with the management team, I learnt a lot about communication, coordination between engineering teams, field work and clients. The most enjoyable part about my job was the constant encouragement, and positivity around me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Document and Data Management Tech III (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 December 2016
I enjoyed working for Fluor Corp. I had a good working relationship with my colleagues from home office and site. I enjoyed the traveling to support the Mod yards.
Pros
Good company to work for
Cons
no negative comments to add
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Competative Place to Work
Senior Engineering Technician, ISO Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 October 2016
Highly competitive and very good company. Hard work is recognized. However, it has some dead wood (piping leads) who need to be retired as they do not accomplish much. They slow down your work as they can not keep up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. .
Senior Turnaround Mechanical Planner (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 October 2016
Always enjoyed working for Fluor. Interesting and challenging work environments. Leader in Oilsands construction, maintenance and Turnarounds. Skilled workforce and great project management group.
Pros
Ability to work as a contractor.
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior Piping Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 November 2016
I was spent all my hours on my work

Leaned a lot from Fluor, project online, knowledge online

Most management using more efficient people

The most enjoyable part of job is when my leader tell me "you are very helpful"
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 hr week and 36 hr week gave long weekends every second week
SR. PROJECT BUSINESS ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 November 2016
good benefits,
opportunity for advancement
ability to work on new project approx. every two years
change of work-mates every two years
Good training opportunities
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with, project management at Fluor is fabulous
Sr. Manager MM (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 January 2017
Enjoyed working with Fluor team. The company has great continuous improvement programs for their employees. Work/life balance activities are wonderful. Great company to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a normal work place
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 October 2016
a big normal work place, nothing too much fun, if you really want to enjoy a passionate fun work place, avoid this one.
Some of the leaders are not for the performance of the works of company, but they rather they are working for themselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Overall
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB10 January 2017
Steady going

always be alert

they are pretty good

some are good and some are not people friendly

is at the start up of the day

is the end of the day
Pros
great pay
Cons
lack of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent procedure and standards that makes life easy
Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 June 2016
- Developed an excellent engineering team with lots of faith in each other.
- Walked and talked rather than sending emails(where not required) and spread that culture through the project
- Took decisions after consultation and looking at pros and cons
- Taught the team how to identify the risks and take mitigation measures
- Learnt that Clients with poor knowledge of what they really want can lead to disaster. It is always good to let the Client know what is good for the project
-
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Supervisor Materials Management (Former Employee) –  Canada, China and South Africa27 May 2016
Fluor is a great place to work for with opportunities to learn and grow with management support. Experts with many years experience who are willing to share their experiences and support other team members. Fluor gave me the opportunity to go on assignments and gained international experience. Overall a good place to work for but the unfortunate downturn in the oil and gas industry took us all by surprise.
Pros
Lunch and learn sessions, international assignment opportunities
Cons
Uncertainty in the market
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 October 2016
Had a great time working there, gained a wealth of experience and worked with people from all over the world. Safety culture is very rich, made me feel safe working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,026 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0