Flex Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
improve my skills
Assistant Electrician (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON9 April 2015
I got change to develop my skills as to be an electrician and improved my ability of Experience, knowledge and understanding of working effectively in a diverse environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to with
Central Receiver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 March 2015
The program Baan 5 I used to receive & put-away the product made things very easy & fun to do my job. I never had an issue with any coworker as it was like working apart of a big family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized company to work. Very clean and process driven company.
Solderer (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON17 March 2015
I have enjoyed wroking with Flextronice. A high class very well organized process driven place. I have learned management skill and working people skill, while maintaining productivity and quality under control. Worked with excellent and multy culural co-workers.
Pros
Steady and full time employment. Comfortable with fast pace working environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun to fix phones
Cell Phone Technician (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON30 November 2014
Examine the mobiles phones to identify the cause of trouble. Provide the customers with cost estimate and a tentative date to conclude the repair work.Open up the mobile phone and check the battery life, wirings and connections, screens and other components for efficiency.defects and replace the broken/used up parts and recheck the performance of the mobile phones.
Pros
discount for fixing my own phones
Cons
every day go thru the x-ray machine
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company , Fun work environment but repitive and no room for advancement
cell phone repair technician (Former Employee) –  New market18 November 2014
Fun work environment but repitive and no room for advancement

Overall environment was good and company cared about well being of employees.

work was repetitive and room for advancement was very small.
Pros
Erogonimic team, subsidized cafeteria, good management
Cons
Repetitive work and small advancement chance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized place to work. Very clean and process driven company.
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON1 November 2014
A high class very well organized process driven work place. I have learned management skill and people skill while maintaining productivity and quality under control. Worked with excellent co-workers.

Enjoyed the time I have spent at Flextronics. Started as a repair technician and ended as a production supervisor and managed well over 50 people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profesional environment, Flexible management, much like a second home
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON17 September 2014
Arrive to work at 8:20, start at 8:30. Coffee break with my fellow coworkers around 9:30. Meetings if necessary- discuss unsolved matter.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers
Production Assembler (Former Employee) –  New Market11 September 2014
Very clean environment
Well documented procedures
New industry- Solar panel manufacturing
Pros
4 days and 3 days week
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Assembly Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 September 2014
Very friendly environment
Got knowledge of the functioning of various equipment, machineries and instruments
Excellent management
Friendly, team player co-workers
Hardest part of work-Long hours working while standing
Enjoyable part of work was-Working at the Rework department, learning a lot of things about cells, soldering, and solar panels
Pros
paid lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me opportunity to learn
Quality Team Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 August 2014
always fun to work their every day is new challenge.

i started as electronic assembler learn soldering, than operated in circuit tester, than was promoted Quality department.

good management.

coworkers always work in team.

hardest part when machine goes down or issue with Quality.

enjoyable when we meet target with team and enjoy .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electronics assembly, soldering, teamleader
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON14 August 2014
Assembly
Soldering
Testing
Swapping
Flashing

I really enjoyed working at this company, it was with a heavy heart that I was laid off. Not of my own doing but because the plant was being shut down. The company lost its major customer, and there for could no longer support the work load.
Pros
Steady full time employment
Cons
Full plant shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Bench Laptop Technician (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON6 August 2014
Mostly good workplace.
High moisture might be uncomfortable
Department is sometimes lacking basic supplies which obstructs normal workflow.
Pros
Good work hours, decent salary, paid holidays
Cons
Low on supplies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was my first job
Wireless Network Technician (Former Employee) –  New Market, NB4 August 2014
started as a team member in RIM SUR dep and eventually became a team lead after 6 months, very nice and healthy work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Safety design specialist (Former Employee) –  Kanata, Ontario22 July 2014
While the people I worked with and the management I directly interfaced with were generally good and likeable people I felt the upper management of Flextronics truly reflected what i feel are the evils of results based management. Rather then weather the storms of minimal slow downs... and bad quarter was immediately met with layoffs and cost cutting.. which left remaining employees to work even harder to meet demands when business improved.

Too often were we expected to aid in the creation of new "Centres of excellence" in "Low cost regions" which basically meant we were training our own replacements.

The compensation was sub par. Raises were nearly non-existent and communication from upper echelons of management was nearly non existent.
Pros
likeable colleagues
Cons
poor benefits, very poor compensation, no tangible recognition for good work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Assembler
General Assembler (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON20 July 2014
Good people, ideal location in Newmarket. Learned how to assemble solar panels.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
Project Special List (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON6 June 2014
Either throw away the big company attitude or embrace it. Don't leverage it when it appears to fit. Set a clear direction and go for it. Communicate openly with the employees.
Pros
No age discrimination; lots of training available at various levels.
Cons
Save technical staff even if you don't have immediate projects. Take politics out of decision making
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team collaboration
Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON30 May 2014
What I like to do in any work situation is the constant collaboration that is involved when working with one or more people. The flow of ideas that come from other individuals makes for an easy going environment to be in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Quality Engineer (Former Employee) –  New Market15 May 2014
Good place to work,Learned a lot from work,friendly colleagues.Led several projects to improve productivity,quality,reduce TAT and cost.
I got enough support and coaching from the management,very delight every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided component engineering and reliability expertise to corporation.
Component Engineer / Hardware Reliability Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON12 May 2014
Close working with manufacturing sites in Asia, and design centers in North America, China and Taiwan.

Visits to supplier sites to conduct vendor audits.

Visits to design centers to train staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work on a wide range of product development projects
Hardware Engineer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 May 2014
Projects are with a variety of clients and typically involve designing the product physical infrastructure (shelf, rack. frame) including the power distribution and filtering, cooling units and external interconnections to alarms and craft I/O.

Work involves negotiating with clients to establish requirements and schedules, desiging the product infrastructure to meet these requirements and the schedule, verifying the design and providing verification reports to the customers.

Management is supportive and the co-workers are congenial and co-operative. Multi-discplinary team includes, electrical /electronic, mechanical, product safety, EMC, FPGA and software expertise.

Biggest challenge is dealing with mid-stream changes in requirements or schedules.

Biggest enjoyment is successful delivery of designe to a satisfied client.
Pros
Interesting projects, variety of clients, congenial co-workers
Cons
Sometimes tight schedules leading to long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Flex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,256 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8