Five Guys Employee Reviews

Sort: Helpful | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend working here anytime soon!
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 September 2017
Working at Five guys was a nightmare. I had just moved into a new town and this had been my first real job, and while I was supposed to be the new trainee all the employees were so rude to me including the managers. The only bearable time of the day was when I just had to do the cash register. Most days I would leave the end of my shift to get in my car drive home crying in hopes for a phone call for another job interview elsewhere.
Pros
A free burger after you work 4 hours
Cons
Pretty much everything else about this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy work place.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 September 2017
A busy workplace that requires a lot of energy, multitasking skills, and a social skills.

There's free lunches, half hour breaks and tips ( about 2 to 5 dollars per day)

There's a lot of mystery shoppers, about once per week, a 100% score leads to a bonus paycheck.

If you work hard and show interest, you could easily be promoted.
Pros
Free lunches, some tips
Cons
closing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  329 Yonge Street7 September 2017
Salary is great and the team is very diverse. Everyone helps out each other but hours are too long. If you are a student, closing hours may not favour you because of extra cleaning but all in all everything else is
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Interactive
Cashier and Cook (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 September 2017
-Showing up too work was always fun because of the people you worked with (Staff Integrity was 10/10)
-Learned a lot of hard labour and customer satisfactory skills
-Management was unfortunately unorganized
-The Idea of working there was always satisfactory
-The hard labour was too excessive
-Talking with the customers and working with the staff
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Extremely Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun crew, terrible business
Food Handler (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 September 2017
This fast food joint had potential but the location i worked at never took off and i had to deal with many hours of dead hours where noone even walked in through the door.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace for young inexperienced workers.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 August 2017
The work was always fun and enjoyable. it had its share of long and busy days but most of the time the work would fly by.
The work safety and cleanliness was very well prompted and was a major key to the workplaces success.

the only downside i experienced was bad or ill-mannered staff members. some of the managers were abusing their power of being in-charge
Pros
Free food on breaks.
Cons
long closing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON24 August 2017
Picked up very helpful customer service skills that have allowed me to improve my performance at work and my interaction with individuals. The workplace culture was enjoyable especially with the awesome co-workers I had the opportunity to work with.
Pros
Free food for break time
Cons
busy store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail plus ou moins agréable
Employé polyvalent (Current Employee) –  St. Jerome, QC23 August 2017
Amibiance ordinaire avec les nouveaux employés et gérance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast paced but rewarding workplace
LINE COOK (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 August 2017
You would be taking specific food orders from customers. You will learn to work under pressure. Great work environment, especially for students. The hardest part of this job would learning to adjust to the pace of the workplace. The most enjoyable part would be that you will work with different kinds of people.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Fast paced work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it wasn't all that bad
Line cook / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON30 July 2017
all in all the environment was a great place to be. my co-workers were awesome. and the pay was great, best place i have worked to far. would go back if i could
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON27 July 2017
A typical day at Five Guys was being on cash and cleaning the lobby, wiping table and chairs, windows and swiping the floor and interact with customers.
Pros
free food, and great workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mismanaged
Crew Leader (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON20 July 2017
as soon as I was hired it was obvious. the management was overwhelmed and the staff was overworked. no one was happy and everyone was looking for other jobs.
Pros
free burger fries and drink
Cons
not good with scheduling to availabilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family, sincere & fun workplace
District Manager, Five Guys Burgers & Fries (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2017
Five Guys Enterprises is a great company to work for. Sincere and fun family-run business, in which you feel part of the big family. Great Management values not only practiced, but also lived in day-to-day business. Distinguished Franchisor-Franchisee relation-ship built on mutual respect and trust. Unique and unheard of Marketing philosophy built on Customers' word of mouth.
Pros
Very goof compensation package and company car
Cons
Slow career advancement in some International Markets
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with , terrible management.
Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON28 June 2017
Area ops manager treats employees Poorly and does many illegal things. Takes raises away, opens store when it's unsafe working conditions,not following availability. Continues to add unreachable goals to the store and gets mad when they can't be completed. They run the bare minimum number of staff, have fun closing a restaurant on 2 people while getting slammed till closing time. They don't have enough labor hours for training they just throw you on grill and expect you to know it instantly.
Pros
Working with friends
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 June 2017
It was okay to be employed there. the typical day would look like going there and helping prep the food for the day, then take orders for lunch, and do some light cleaning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee) –  Delaware22 June 2017
fun experience. good staffs and enjoyable to work with. The company is so good and a lot of people like the product they sell. Being a server is fun and making burgers too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB22 June 2017
it was a fun place to work with all the music and the people were great to get along with, it was fun to meet people and the food was good haha never boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice as a part-time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 June 2017
I was working at Five Guys for 2 1/2 years and I got bored of the job after the first 7 months. I stuck around longer because it was flexible with school.
Pros
Free food on breaktimes
Cons
Sometimes you stand around when there is nothing to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my boss was amazing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 June 2017
I would get great shifts with very nice people
I would prepare for the day
prep the food
clean the eating area
we always had fun during prep and during the time we were open so much fun and always had a smile on my face
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB12 June 2017
Working here was good, the supervisors are a lot considerate. Though there's a decent amount of workplace politics going on, the place is still conducive to work in.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
No salary increase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Five Guys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,004 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.7