First Student Employee Reviews

Found 148 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work when you have youngsters.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Strathmore, AB20 June 2017
When I had my youngest daughter it was great, as I could take her with me. Now just want to find something more full time, as all my kids are in school.
Pros
Nights, weekends, and summers off
Cons
Having to drive in really bad weather and having the chance of breaking down in the winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has always been a safe environment.
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bracebridge, ON19 June 2017
Some days could he high pressure. Learned a lot of management skills.
Managers available when required.
The hardest part was dealing with driver shortages,
Pros
Extended health benefits
Cons
Long hours at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have small children
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON8 June 2017
Free training, take your child to work with you, have your day free for appointments and groceries, holidays and summers off, great if you love kids, management depends on location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2017
Some times it is like just being a number. Then you walk into the head office or one of the outposts and are greeted by co workers like you are family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an great experience
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 May 2017
its a great place to work, I honestly had gained so much skills from working at First Student Inc. One of the most wonderful things about working here was communicating with the children they always brightened up my day!
Pros
children
Cons
buses break down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work with kids and wonderful managment
School bus driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 May 2017
If you love kids it's a great place to work. Management was good when I worked there, and the drivers get to know eachother and look after one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Supervisor/Dispatcher for City Transit Buses (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON15 May 2017
We have an energetic office, radios, phones and people talking a lot going on at certain intervals during the day.

We have fun as a group it is a great place to work
Pros
Great bunch of people to work with/for
Cons
Long days (10 hours)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love school bus driving
Wheel Chair Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON11 May 2017
it brightens up my life being a school bus driver, because I love being around people. also I love kids and I love driving. when I first started driving a bus I as amazed I could take the bus home.
Pros
take the bus home
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Driver
First student bus driver. (Former Employee) –  Port Elgin, ON24 April 2017
Just a great job. Mornings and afternoon shifts. Weekends and school holidays off. Really enjoyable experience.I was lucky to have great kids and i often did extra shifts with school trips.
Pros
Holidays and weekends off
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great part time work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 April 2017
This job is best suited for retirees or parents of young children. As a driver myself, you have to enjoy children and be able to work under sometimes loud levels of noise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the people are pretty good.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 April 2017
I'm semi-retired so I typically do my thing in a professional manner and then do as I/we wish.After all the years of shift work etc. at the Railway,this is more a past-time and as such, more pleasant.
Pros
Most of the people; time I need 2 invest.Can be entertaining @ times.
Cons
The alarm clock.Again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus driver job title
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Caledon, ON23 March 2017
• Perform daily/routine vehicle inspections at pre and post trips
• Identify and report any safety or maintenance issues on vehicles
• Perform pickups and drop-offs at various elementary and high school locations
• Monitor and assist special needs children during transportation

workplace culture, Great staff to work with very friendly.
Hardest part of job is dealing with the loud children at times
learned lots of safety presiders on the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed Feelings
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 March 2017
Mixed messages with management and staff
Job security is worrisome
Some people doing their best under difficult situations
Training is excellent
Gave me an opportunity to start in new career
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a job where you are out and talking to the local people.
Transit Operator (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON24 February 2017
A great job for the friendly people that you see on a regular bass. To enjoy seeing the weather that the day brings us. Great Staff and understanding management.
Pros
Being outside to enjoy the weather.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 February 2017
I had the opportunity to work with special needs children on a daily basis. Driving them to and from school was a rewarding experience. Unfortunately the job doesn't help to pay the bills and I needed to resign from the job
Pros
Hours, feeling needed and appreciated
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome training
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 February 2017
Awesome training. Paid training. You get paid for a min of 4 hrs a day.Weekend and summer off.. great job for parents who have children. If you like to drive and want to work part time its the job for you,
Pros
weekend and summers off
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Operation Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 February 2017
Rewarding career, company has great visions and Safety Policies. Dedicated to "mission zero" workplace injuries. Comprehensive training for drivers.
Pros
Rewarding career and safety is the top priority for the company.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace in a social atmosphere
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON25 January 2017
Not a bad place to work if you like driving during the day and enjoy children, the money's not great but they work around your schedule
Pros
Meeting new people, bringing your vehicle home
Cons
A lot of unpaid driving
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Support/Driving (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 January 2017
As a full time spare, there was lots of variety; including driving, office support - reception, filing, payroll, charter office support. Great staff to work with. Fun place to work.
Pros
Lots of variety.
Cons
Driving in cold weather not that much fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly work environment especially for retirees and women.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 January 2017
It is a Company that provides school buses for transporting students to and from their schools. A friendly environment for working but salary and benefits are limited except for holidays where it is aligned to school vacation schedules. Hours of work per day is limited to about 5 hours.

The Company provides on the job training. Their recruitment requirement is holding of a "G" licence and they provide training to convert to a "B" licence. They also provide safe driving course.

Overall a friendly work environment, especially for retirees and women.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 1,103 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.3

CEO Approval

75%
288 ratings
Add your rating