First Student Employee Reviews

Found 155 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice part time job
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON10 August 2017
It is a nice time job with high responsibility and limited flexibility.
Continuous communication with children is a good experience.
You need to follow defines rules and be curious about safety .
company's management is very supportive.
Pros
Being with children
Cons
Little benefit
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK6 August 2017
A good place to work if you have a second job or are retired or just doing to get out of the house Like working there and driving the kids to and from school just not suffiant amount of money and hours
Pros
Good hours if you don't worry about money
Cons
Only get paid for 4 hours a day and when there is holidays no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, sparce hours though
Part Time School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON20 July 2017
The management is very supportive and try to help in whatever way they can. The volume of available hours could be better though. Advancement opportunities come up occasionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work for.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB18 July 2017
Very good company to work for. People and employees are friendly and helpful. Management is supportive and stand behind their employees.
They provide good training and update training as required. The company pays for the required training and clearances needed to transport students and other vulnerable sector children.
Pros
Every once in awhile will sponsor BBQ or Lunces.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment to work in.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 July 2017
I enjoyed helping out in the produce department when needed.
I learned cashier skills, how to use the scanner.
The hardest part of this job was memorizing the codes when I was only part time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work
School bus driver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 July 2017
you work about 4 hours a day 2 in the morning 2 in the afternoon. great for retired people. you can get extra hours for charters or running errands for the company. you're pretty much your own boss for the day. you must be a very conscientious driver.
Pros
lots of free time during the day
Cons
not great if you don't like split shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job, abysmally bad management
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 July 2017
If you are looking for a part time job that gives you time off in the middle of the day, being a school bus driver is great. It pays OK for the amount of hours you work and you always have weekends off as well as school holidays. You can drive charters on top of your school run to make a few extra bucks.
First Student in Calgary is a very poorly run company. The location managers don't really give a hoot about the drivers, they do not have your back and they do not support you. They are more concerned with looking good to their bosses. And when the employees don't feel like the company has their back, service levels go down. It's unfortunate, but it is business 101 (a class the management here never took - they are completely clueless as how to run a business and they are losing contracts because of it). The fleet is quite old and corners are being cut.
Pros
Free training, part time hours
Cons
poor management, old buses
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work when you have youngsters.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Strathmore, AB20 June 2017
When I had my youngest daughter it was great, as I could take her with me. Now just want to find something more full time, as all my kids are in school.
Pros
Nights, weekends, and summers off
Cons
Having to drive in really bad weather and having the chance of breaking down in the winter.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has always been a safe environment.
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bracebridge, ON19 June 2017
Some days could he high pressure. Learned a lot of management skills.
Managers available when required.
The hardest part was dealing with driver shortages,
Pros
Extended health benefits
Cons
Long hours at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have small children
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON8 June 2017
Free training, take your child to work with you, have your day free for appointments and groceries, holidays and summers off, great if you love kids, management depends on location
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 May 2017
Some times it is like just being a number. Then you walk into the head office or one of the outposts and are greeted by co workers like you are family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an great experience
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 May 2017
its a great place to work, I honestly had gained so much skills from working at First Student Inc. One of the most wonderful things about working here was communicating with the children they always brightened up my day!
Pros
children
Cons
buses break down
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work with kids and wonderful managment
School bus driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 May 2017
If you love kids it's a great place to work. Management was good when I worked there, and the drivers get to know eachother and look after one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Supervisor/Dispatcher for City Transit Buses (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON15 May 2017
We have an energetic office, radios, phones and people talking a lot going on at certain intervals during the day.

We have fun as a group it is a great place to work
Pros
Great bunch of people to work with/for
Cons
Long days (10 hours)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love school bus driving
Wheel Chair Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON11 May 2017
it brightens up my life being a school bus driver, because I love being around people. also I love kids and I love driving. when I first started driving a bus I as amazed I could take the bus home.
Pros
take the bus home
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Driver
First student bus driver. (Former Employee) –  Port Elgin, ON24 April 2017
Just a great job. Mornings and afternoon shifts. Weekends and school holidays off. Really enjoyable experience.I was lucky to have great kids and i often did extra shifts with school trips.
Pros
Holidays and weekends off
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great part time work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 April 2017
This job is best suited for retirees or parents of young children. As a driver myself, you have to enjoy children and be able to work under sometimes loud levels of noise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the people are pretty good.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 April 2017
I'm semi-retired so I typically do my thing in a professional manner and then do as I/we wish.After all the years of shift work etc. at the Railway,this is more a past-time and as such, more pleasant.
Pros
Most of the people; time I need 2 invest.Can be entertaining @ times.
Cons
The alarm clock.Again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus driver job title
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Caledon, ON23 March 2017
• Perform daily/routine vehicle inspections at pre and post trips
• Identify and report any safety or maintenance issues on vehicles
• Perform pickups and drop-offs at various elementary and high school locations
• Monitor and assist special needs children during transportation

workplace culture, Great staff to work with very friendly.
Hardest part of job is dealing with the loud children at times
learned lots of safety presiders on the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed Feelings
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 March 2017
Mixed messages with management and staff
Job security is worrisome
Some people doing their best under difficult situations
Training is excellent
Gave me an opportunity to start in new career
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,190 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4