First Student Employee Reviews

Found 139 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great part time work
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON22 April 2017
This job is best suited for retirees or parents of young children. As a driver myself, you have to enjoy children and be able to work under sometimes loud levels of noise.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of the people are pretty good.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 April 2017
I'm semi-retired so I typically do my thing in a professional manner and then do as I/we wish.After all the years of shift work etc. at the Railway,this is more a past-time and as such, more pleasant.
Pros
Most of the people; time I need 2 invest.Can be entertaining @ times.
Cons
The alarm clock.Again.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus driver job title
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Caledon, ON23 March 2017
• Perform daily/routine vehicle inspections at pre and post trips
• Identify and report any safety or maintenance issues on vehicles
• Perform pickups and drop-offs at various elementary and high school locations
• Monitor and assist special needs children during transportation

workplace culture, Great staff to work with very friendly.
Hardest part of job is dealing with the loud children at times
learned lots of safety presiders on the job
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed Feelings
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 March 2017
Mixed messages with management and staff
Job security is worrisome
Some people doing their best under difficult situations
Training is excellent
Gave me an opportunity to start in new career
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a job where you are out and talking to the local people.
Transit Operator (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON24 February 2017
A great job for the friendly people that you see on a regular bass. To enjoy seeing the weather that the day brings us. Great Staff and understanding management.
Pros
Being outside to enjoy the weather.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling job
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 February 2017
I had the opportunity to work with special needs children on a daily basis. Driving them to and from school was a rewarding experience. Unfortunately the job doesn't help to pay the bills and I needed to resign from the job
Pros
Hours, feeling needed and appreciated
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome training
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 February 2017
Awesome training. Paid training. You get paid for a min of 4 hrs a day.Weekend and summer off.. great job for parents who have children. If you like to drive and want to work part time its the job for you,
Pros
weekend and summers off
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Operation Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK8 February 2017
Rewarding career, company has great visions and Safety Policies. Dedicated to "mission zero" workplace injuries. Comprehensive training for drivers.
Pros
Rewarding career and safety is the top priority for the company.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace in a social atmosphere
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON25 January 2017
Not a bad place to work if you like driving during the day and enjoy children, the money's not great but they work around your schedule
Pros
Meeting new people, bringing your vehicle home
Cons
A lot of unpaid driving
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Support/Driving (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 January 2017
As a full time spare, there was lots of variety; including driving, office support - reception, filing, payroll, charter office support. Great staff to work with. Fun place to work.
Pros
Lots of variety.
Cons
Driving in cold weather not that much fun!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly work environment especially for retirees and women.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 January 2017
It is a Company that provides school buses for transporting students to and from their schools. A friendly environment for working but salary and benefits are limited except for holidays where it is aligned to school vacation schedules. Hours of work per day is limited to about 5 hours.

The Company provides on the job training. Their recruitment requirement is holding of a "G" licence and they provide training to convert to a "B" licence. They also provide safe driving course.

Overall a friendly work environment, especially for retirees and women.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freedom to drive
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 January 2017
This company does incredible training. The supply and give the education that they need. However it is not a 4 hour a day job and maintenance on the busses took a lot of time. The children were fantastic on my bus.
Pros
Driver 2
Cons
Hours for maintence
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a fun place to work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 January 2017
Enjoy day to day seeing the kids smiles every morning. Is a life learning experience i will do it again if i get the opportunity again.
Life takes through unexpected changes sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blank
Data Entry Clerk, (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON5 January 2017
Everyone is very friendly and helpful. You can get pizza days and taco tuesdays here. and the hours are great. People will help you whenever yo uhave questions
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 December 2016
If you get a bus that starts in the morning, your very lucky. If the bus makes it through the run picking up the children and taking them to their schools, your very lucky again. First Calgary Alberta is the only province that can keep the buses on the road after they are 10 years old. All other provinces get rid of buses at the 10 year mark. We get Ontario's old buses and old buses from California as well, that do not even have heaters in them. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing all the sweet children. The hardest part of the job is getting a bus that doesn't give you any trouble.
Pros
Drive for the road conditions, get there when you get there.
Cons
Mechanical issues-no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time only
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  King City, ON14 December 2016
This is only a part time position with little pay and no benefits. It can be stressful at times dealing with students and being stuck in rush hour traffic.
Pros
Short hours, ideal for part time only workers
Cons
little pay, students can be stressful to handle
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great job, low pay rate
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON7 December 2016
This is a fantastic job to bring your child to work. My son learned so much and made lots of friends with the kids riding the bus. However winters are brutally cold on the bus and the pay is not enough for carrying the responsibilitie of safely transporting children
Pros
Got to bring my son to work with me
Cons
Not very good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was okay working
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 December 2016
I enjoyed working with lots of kids. They were so lovely and sweet. i loved my job, as well my co-workers. my full team was nice, some time had some mis-understandings.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most precious cargo
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB16 November 2016
First Student has very high standards for their drivers. They have a safety attitude which has taken root & is growing.

It does take a special kind of person to be willing to move this most precious cargo - the responsibility is huge. Anyone can drive a bus - doing it with up to 72 distractions behind you is a special talent that is often under rated.

They pay is good per hour but shifts are always split.
This can be a mentally exhausting job whose rewards do not come on your pay cheque.
Pros
Schedule works well for anyone with children in school or not wanting to put in day care.
Cons
My opinion is that maintenance on buses seems reactive rather than proactive, or more mechanics are needed as we are growing larger locally.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull at times
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Orillia, ON14 November 2016
Overall a good place to work, but they are very short staffed which makes it difficult if you need a day off or sick. Nice to have weekends and holidays off
Pros
Indapented working
Cons
Short Staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Student. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,012 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4