Find companies:
First Student
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
246 reviews

First Student Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must enjoy children
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Paris, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: got to sing and have fun at work
Cons: have too many railway crossings
Best position ever, wished it could pay better
Normally very enjoyable
Keeps you alert you must stop problems before they start
Even kids can have a bad day
Remember their names within 2 weeks you got it made in the shade
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful
Mechanic (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 4, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: have an employment record of a serial killer, terminating at random every 3 months
After being there close to 3 months Let go 3 days prior to my probation being up, and I was not the first.

They have a cycle in Edmonton atleast where they cycle through new techs every 3 months.

A lot of good people there but a gutless union. Management, especially the Regional Manager is a tyrant.

They hire on yardies with the promise of eventually – more... getting indentured, they show up with their tool boxes but also get let go shy of being there 3 months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to for work
Driver (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 8, 2014
Pros: able to take your kids on bus
Cons: the weather other bad driver
u get to your bus to do a circle check and radio in u are mobile then head off to get the kids
u learn to communicate with dispatch and to check your school bus overall
management is there but lets u do your job
to many co worker to know
is the weather and other bad drivers
seeing the kids happy and to school
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving a School Bus
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: i love driving and working with people
Cons: low pay and not enough hours
This is an amazing job where I get to interact with students, parents, co workers, caregivers, school administration and the general public. I get to work at 6:15 am weekdays to drive high school and elementary school kids to school. I then return in the afternoon to drive them safely home again. I am responsible every morning to do a complete circle – more... check of my bus, inside and out. I maintain detailed logs and record incidences that occur on my bus. I really pride myself on always being punctual and professional to the people I serve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Student was a good place to work part time
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Nepean, ONJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: the kids, and parents/caregivers. many generous people out there.
Cons: the split shift, working in the winter time, buses stay cold a long time.
First Student was about safety, I would start my day with my bus safety check, making sure it would meet the min. stardard, reporting any defects. The co-workers, some where not too friendly and some were friendly, you had to watch and make sure you didn't step on anyones toes. The good thing about being a bus driver is that the undesirable people were – more... easily avoided. The hardest part of the job was with some schools dealing with the principal when issues occurred and required schools in put. Many people look down on drivers. Deal with the children, when they are friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you are considered just another number
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: not many pros but would have to say pay wasnt too bad for the amount of hours worked in a day
Cons: management, no appreciation, treated like a number, company does not stand behind you too many to list
the job is really fun if you like kids. You are carrying the most precious cargo possible. The management is horrible, unless you like to brown nose they wont even know your name. There is not much interaction with the other drivers so hard to build a relationship. The hardest part of the job was to maintain control of the bus while paying attention – more... to the road. The students were awesome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happily and enjoyable way to do job
School Bus driver (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: enjoyed all the events which we were celebrating togather
Cons: some time you gets tired
i really enjoy working with all of them because every one was kind and help full
Management makes every part of job very clear and trained us professionally and help us all the ways of job. I learned from my work place time management and how to deal with clients and public.
Hardest part of the job was not to finish duty on time. And most enjoyable – more... was talk to different people and share with them some useful thoughts. i enjoy my work with all the aspects.what ever the challenges comes on my way during job times try to solve them correctly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for my schedual
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Strathmore, ABMay 13, 2013
Pros: kept bus at home
was able to take my kids
made dr appt for during the day
train for a marathon
didnt have to use my own truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Barrie, ONNovember 28, 2012
Great teachers of how to safely and effectively drive a school bus
Hard working staff
Great co-workers
The best part is seeing smiling faces
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well difficult job.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABApril 16, 2012
Pros: did not have to drive my own vehicle
Cons: poor pay no benefits
I worked 6-7 hours a day and got paid 75.00 a day Which is nothing like the in town salary of 16 an hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always something new
School Bus Attendant (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSJuly 15, 2014
Pros: working with the kids
Cons: long bus rides
I worked with special needs children and helped insure their safety to and from school and home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a paycheck
Accounts Receivable/Payroll Clerk (Current Employee), Red Wing, MNJuly 14, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, good coworkers
Cons: benefits suck, pay is not great, no room for advancement
A typical day at work started with me coming in at 5:30am ad dispatching the morning drivers. Then I'd have a 3.5 to 4 hour break ad then come back in and dispatch PM drivers along with charters.
I have learned nothing from this company that I did't already know. The management is horrible, I feel as if my boss has no clue what he's doing. He doesn't – more... follow through with any consequences, he is not found of confrontation, so he avoids punishing employees. I like a handful of my coworkers, the others I can live without.The hardest part of the job, is feeling unappreciated and not given any praise for what I do. The most enjoyable part of the job is the end of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice job
Bus Operator, First Student (Former Employee), Savannah GeorgiaJuly 9, 2014
you are really independent. You go pick up the kids in the morning after you drop them off to school you go home for them couple of hours then go back to pick them up and take them home
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enjoyable
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJuly 7, 2014
Pros: breaks in between runs
Cons: benefits wasnt great
hardworking employees that never give up very deciated learned how to work in such environments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transporting students
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Canton, MSJune 30, 2014
Pros: free time to go to school
Cons: not enough hours
Transport students and various clients to activities, events and other school functions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover tuff job.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Grants Pass, ORJune 27, 2014
Low pay for what u do.
Kids and staff easy to work with.
Mixed feeling about management.
Loved working with the kids.
Split shift part time hours.
Benefits are horribly expensive.
I hope you get good unemployment benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environemnt
Van Driver (Current Employee), lewisberry paJune 25, 2014
Pros: pay, good people to work with
Cons: split up day
Great people to work with, good hours, great pay, good management, learned how to work as a team, my typical day of work was split up work four hours a day,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like driving school bus.
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Gresham, ORJune 23, 2014
I like driving school bus. Would be nice to work more hours in each day. Having summers off is difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Alton, ILJune 22, 2014
Pros: students
Cons: horrible pay
transportation of students to and from school, call center, inspection of buses for safety
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part-time job for people who need to spend a good amount of time with family or have children or school.
Driver (Current Employee), Robbinsdale, MNJune 21, 2014
I like working at First student because it gives me the opportunity to drive and help children. it is a flexible position and allows time for me to be able to conduct other personal and business obligations by having a split shift. the pay is fair and the management show understanding. I would like something more full-time but I will take what I can – more... get for now. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About First Student

As Canada's largest student transportation company, we’re committed to the safety of our passengers, employees and the buses – Read more

First Student Photos