Find companies:
First Student
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
216 reviews

First Student Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to for work
Driver (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 8, 2014
Pros: able to take your kids on bus
Cons: the weather other bad driver
u get to your bus to do a circle check and radio in u are mobile then head off to get the kids
u learn to communicate with dispatch and to check your school bus overall
management is there but lets u do your job
to many co worker to know
is the weather and other bad drivers
seeing the kids happy and to school
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving a School Bus
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: i love driving and working with people
Cons: low pay and not enough hours
This is an amazing job where I get to interact with students, parents, co workers, caregivers, school administration and the general public. I get to work at 6:15 am weekdays to drive high school and elementary school kids to school. I then return in the afternoon to drive them safely home again. I am responsible every morning to do a complete circle – more... check of my bus, inside and out. I maintain detailed logs and record incidences that occur on my bus. I really pride myself on always being punctual and professional to the people I serve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Student was a good place to work part time
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Nepean, ONJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: the kids, and parents/caregivers. many generous people out there.
Cons: the split shift, working in the winter time, buses stay cold a long time.
First Student was about safety, I would start my day with my bus safety check, making sure it would meet the min. stardard, reporting any defects. The co-workers, some where not too friendly and some were friendly, you had to watch and make sure you didn't step on anyones toes. The good thing about being a bus driver is that the undesirable people were – more... easily avoided. The hardest part of the job was with some schools dealing with the principal when issues occurred and required schools in put. Many people look down on drivers. Deal with the children, when they are friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you are considered just another number
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: not many pros but would have to say pay wasnt too bad for the amount of hours worked in a day
Cons: management, no appreciation, treated like a number, company does not stand behind you too many to list
the job is really fun if you like kids. You are carrying the most precious cargo possible. The management is horrible, unless you like to brown nose they wont even know your name. There is not much interaction with the other drivers so hard to build a relationship. The hardest part of the job was to maintain control of the bus while paying attention – more... to the road. The students were awesome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happily and enjoyable way to do job
School Bus driver (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: enjoyed all the events which we were celebrating togather
Cons: some time you gets tired
i really enjoy working with all of them because every one was kind and help full
Management makes every part of job very clear and trained us professionally and help us all the ways of job. I learned from my work place time management and how to deal with clients and public.
Hardest part of the job was not to finish duty on time. And most enjoyable – more... was talk to different people and share with them some useful thoughts. i enjoy my work with all the aspects.what ever the challenges comes on my way during job times try to solve them correctly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for my schedual
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Strathmore, ABMay 13, 2013
Pros: kept bus at home
was able to take my kids
made dr appt for during the day
train for a marathon
didnt have to use my own truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Barrie, ONNovember 28, 2012
Great teachers of how to safely and effectively drive a school bus
Hard working staff
Great co-workers
The best part is seeing smiling faces
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well difficult job.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABApril 16, 2012
Pros: did not have to drive my own vehicle
Cons: poor pay no benefits
I worked 6-7 hours a day and got paid 75.00 a day Which is nothing like the in town salary of 16 an hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful environment to work in. Great hours if you have under aged children.
Bus Driver (Current Employee), South Holland, ILApril 15, 2014
I enjoy working at First Student. The hours work for my busy schedule. Interacting with the children is great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD COMPANY
SCHOOL BUS OPERATOR (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCApril 14, 2014
THIS WAS A VERY GOOD GOOD COMPANY WITH GOOD PEOPLE THEY CARED AN YOU WERE PART OF A FAMILY.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Driver
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Collinsville, ILApril 14, 2014
Pros: i enjoy the people contact and the way children make you feel important.
Cons: not many hours
Transport students to and from school and related events. In the morning, they pick students up at designated locations, such as private homes or street corners, and drop them off at school. In the afternoon, they drive back to the school, wait for students to board, and drive them back to the same designated locations. Drivers usually take the same – more... routes every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall good work environment
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Hamden, CTApril 10, 2014
Pros: health benifits, paid training
Cons: some vehicles were not well maintained, i.e. shocks ac.
trained to get my CDL class B license and got paid minimum wage doing that. that was the carrot that brought me to this job. and then had stead (though part time) work with the summer off and collected unemployment. The pay was increased and there are good health and union benefits once working. Management was sometimes difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated to the safety and welfare of children
Driver trainer (Current Employee), North Smithfield RIApril 10, 2014
Pros: work is independant, meet new people, work with children
Cons: managment is somewhat confused with the terminal i work for
A typical day is waking up early and picking up high schoolers, middle schoolers, and elementary school children. It is a rewarding position and i take my job very seriously. I then go to work as a trainer and learn new things all day, while I teach all different types of people with different learning styles, abilities, and demographics. I love to – more... teach but I also love to learn from my trainees, as well as from the students that I drive for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Driver (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNMarch 31, 2014
Pros: work time
Cons: not enough hours
very good place to work just need more hours and benefits mamagement very good other drivers very nice people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bus Driver /Safety Trainer
Bus Driver and Safety officer (Current Employee), East Orange, NJMarch 23, 2014
Pros: driving skills/techniques does improve operation of vehicle
Cons: unaffordable healthcare benefits, no inclement weather pay
To much nepotism, favoritism, and low benefit compensation for part-time workers, no benefits in inclement weather benefits, unfair distribution of trips and charter work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a high school student to work
Bus Monitor (Current Employee), Belvidere, ILMarch 20, 2014
Pros: flexiable
Cons: demanding
It was a laid back job, flexible with the my school and sports schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to learn the in and out of school bus driving
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYMarch 12, 2014
Learn about good safety driving and having the challenges of working with children and the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this is a rotten company
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Cheswick, PAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: off every summer
Cons: bad pay no insurence
do not work for them they are a no good company, they do not give u benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you only want to work part tme hours
Bus Diver (Current Employee), Rochester, NYFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: same days off as my children
Cons: not enough hours to support a family
I like my job working with the children, they seem to look up to me and love seeing me in the morning and then after a long day at school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to meet new people, fun all the time
First Student -Bus Driver (Former Employee), Zachary, LAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: family environment
Cons: health if you can sffoed it
I drove a school bus daily . 5;30 in the morning Monday thru Fridays. i got my CDL, My workers were fun loving people whom love the children that we transport daily. The rainning days are the hardest time. This job we were like family and everybody supported each other

1 2 3 4 5