Find companies:
First Student
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
274 reviews

First Student Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people low hrs
Wash Bay (Current Employee), Orillia, ONJune 28, 2014
pleasant place to work just wished for more hours. 6 hr time limit for shifts sucks. no overtime given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must enjoy children
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Paris, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: got to sing and have fun at work
Cons: have too many railway crossings
Best position ever, wished it could pay better
Normally very enjoyable
Keeps you alert you must stop problems before they start
Even kids can have a bad day
Remember their names within 2 weeks you got it made in the shade
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful
Mechanic (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 4, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: have an employment record of a serial killer, terminating at random every 3 months
After being there close to 3 months Let go 3 days prior to my probation being up, and I was not the first.

They have a cycle in Edmonton atleast where they cycle through new techs every 3 months.

A lot of good people there but a gutless union. Management, especially the Regional Manager is a tyrant.

They hire on yardies with the promise of eventually – more... getting indentured, they show up with their tool boxes but also get let go shy of being there 3 months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to for work
Driver (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 8, 2014
Pros: able to take your kids on bus
Cons: the weather other bad driver
u get to your bus to do a circle check and radio in u are mobile then head off to get the kids
u learn to communicate with dispatch and to check your school bus overall
management is there but lets u do your job
to many co worker to know
is the weather and other bad drivers
seeing the kids happy and to school
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving a School Bus
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: i love driving and working with people
Cons: low pay and not enough hours
This is an amazing job where I get to interact with students, parents, co workers, caregivers, school administration and the general public. I get to work at 6:15 am weekdays to drive high school and elementary school kids to school. I then return in the afternoon to drive them safely home again. I am responsible every morning to do a complete circle – more... check of my bus, inside and out. I maintain detailed logs and record incidences that occur on my bus. I really pride myself on always being punctual and professional to the people I serve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Student was a good place to work part time
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Nepean, ONJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: the kids, and parents/caregivers. many generous people out there.
Cons: the split shift, working in the winter time, buses stay cold a long time.
First Student was about safety, I would start my day with my bus safety check, making sure it would meet the min. stardard, reporting any defects. The co-workers, some where not too friendly and some were friendly, you had to watch and make sure you didn't step on anyones toes. The good thing about being a bus driver is that the undesirable people were – more... easily avoided. The hardest part of the job was with some schools dealing with the principal when issues occurred and required schools in put. Many people look down on drivers. Deal with the children, when they are friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you are considered just another number
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: not many pros but would have to say pay wasnt too bad for the amount of hours worked in a day
Cons: management, no appreciation, treated like a number, company does not stand behind you too many to list
the job is really fun if you like kids. You are carrying the most precious cargo possible. The management is horrible, unless you like to brown nose they wont even know your name. There is not much interaction with the other drivers so hard to build a relationship. The hardest part of the job was to maintain control of the bus while paying attention – more... to the road. The students were awesome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not terrible place to work
driver (Current Employee), BCSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: working wih the kids.
Cons: politics.
Get into yard get your keys, pre-trip bus. you do that and find out your bus was used on a charter(happens), but was not swept out by the charter driver. more infuriating is bus was NOT refueled even though fuel top up was indicated.

Best part of the jobs are the kid. Most say hi in the morning and ask how you are doing... Charter work can be fun, – more... late night runs though are hard when you have worked all day. Management so far not terrible. Have wait and see attitude... on this one... Other drivers are friendly. for the most part. Hardest part of the job is staying out the politics. if you damage the bus DON"T.do no get into tight spots if possible unless ....you have help to get out. .. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happily and enjoyable way to do job
School Bus driver (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: enjoyed all the events which we were celebrating togather
Cons: some time you gets tired
i really enjoy working with all of them because every one was kind and help full
Management makes every part of job very clear and trained us professionally and help us all the ways of job. I learned from my work place time management and how to deal with clients and public.
Hardest part of the job was not to finish duty on time. And most enjoyable – more... was talk to different people and share with them some useful thoughts. i enjoy my work with all the aspects.what ever the challenges comes on my way during job times try to solve them correctly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for my schedual
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Strathmore, ABMay 13, 2013
Pros: kept bus at home
was able to take my kids
made dr appt for during the day
train for a marathon
didnt have to use my own truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Barrie, ONNovember 28, 2012
Great teachers of how to safely and effectively drive a school bus
Hard working staff
Great co-workers
The best part is seeing smiling faces
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead End Job--Terrible management
Driver (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaMay 10, 2012
Pros: decent pay
Cons: management bullies
This company could care less about their drivers.

Their union does very little to help if you have a problem.

They dont trust their employees to do their job and they intimidate their drivers.

I quit this job and moved on to Golden Arrow, and am currently very happy working for this more reputable company that appreciates us.

I always thought that – more... If I would have a problem it would be with the student, but turns out if was the management that turned out to be the problem.

Happy to have moved on!! Be wary of this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well difficult job.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABApril 16, 2012
Pros: did not have to drive my own vehicle
Cons: poor pay no benefits
I worked 6-7 hours a day and got paid 75.00 a day Which is nothing like the in town salary of 16 an hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Springfield, ILNovember 13, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: having to put up with the misbehaving kids.
Driving a school bus is fun when you got good kids, and aggravating when they're not. You just have to figure out what they don't like and make them face it if they don't listen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work.
Shop Supervisor (Current Employee), Venetia, PANovember 9, 2014
Nice place to work, enjoy my co-workers. Opportunity for advancement offered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
saftey is key
Bus driver (Current Employee), Washington, MONovember 2, 2014
Pros: summer off, hourly wage
Cons: healthcare, hours
transporting kids safely to and from school is not as easy as it seems. There are many guidelines that you must follow. The kids and parents trust you every time you sit behing the wheel.
The co-workers overall are good people. But yet there is a lot of drama that goes with that. Management is rated a 1.5 Favoritism should not be in affect but it is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Driver (Current Employee), South SideOctober 28, 2014
Pros: decent pay, easy job
Cons: not full time, minimal benefits
Upon arrival at the lot, I come into office, commonly greeting & being greeted by coworkers, I get my bus keys, perform my pre-trip, then begin my route, picking up the children and taking them to school.

I enjoy the employee camaraderie, as well as greeting the children. I don't enjoy the behavior of some of the children after school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok to work for.
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Wasilla, AKOctober 24, 2014
ok for a short time to work. but they train and help with cdl. which is very expensive
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self motivated, super excited about being apart of a great team, and I also work great independtly.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 21, 2014
Pros: travel to many differnt places.
Cons: must be able to tolerate very cold or hot weather.
A typical day as a School bus driving is very exciting you get to travel to lots of new places, you all so get to work with all kinds of people from all kinds of back grounds. you get to work with all kinds of children with and with out disabilities. You must have excellent driving skills and be able to multitask. You must also know how to read a map – more... or GPS for out of town trips, lots of travel. You work in a team environment in the company and in the field. You have to have strong customer service background yet also be very giving and caring to the children and their parents. You also work hand in hand with many different school officials. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Rochester, NYOctober 6, 2014
Pros: has a great training program
Cons: hours, health insurance
The company offers a great training program if you are looking to get into the transportation industry. The workers are friendly.

1 2 3 4 5

About First Student

As Canada's largest student transportation company, we’re committed to the safety of our passengers, employees and the buses – Read more