Find companies:
First Student
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
281 reviews

First Student Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people low hrs
Wash Bay (Current Employee), Orillia, ONJune 28, 2014
pleasant place to work just wished for more hours. 6 hr time limit for shifts sucks. no overtime given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must enjoy children
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Paris, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: got to sing and have fun at work
Cons: have too many railway crossings
Best position ever, wished it could pay better
Normally very enjoyable
Keeps you alert you must stop problems before they start
Even kids can have a bad day
Remember their names within 2 weeks you got it made in the shade
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful
Mechanic (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABApril 4, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: have an employment record of a serial killer, terminating at random every 3 months
After being there close to 3 months Let go 3 days prior to my probation being up, and I was not the first.

They have a cycle in Edmonton atleast where they cycle through new techs every 3 months.

A lot of good people there but a gutless union. Management, especially the Regional Manager is a tyrant.

They hire on yardies with the promise of eventually – more... getting indentured, they show up with their tool boxes but also get let go shy of being there 3 months. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to for work
Driver (Current Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 8, 2014
Pros: able to take your kids on bus
Cons: the weather other bad driver
u get to your bus to do a circle check and radio in u are mobile then head off to get the kids
u learn to communicate with dispatch and to check your school bus overall
management is there but lets u do your job
to many co worker to know
is the weather and other bad drivers
seeing the kids happy and to school
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving a School Bus
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: i love driving and working with people
Cons: low pay and not enough hours
This is an amazing job where I get to interact with students, parents, co workers, caregivers, school administration and the general public. I get to work at 6:15 am weekdays to drive high school and elementary school kids to school. I then return in the afternoon to drive them safely home again. I am responsible every morning to do a complete circle – more... check of my bus, inside and out. I maintain detailed logs and record incidences that occur on my bus. I really pride myself on always being punctual and professional to the people I serve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Student was a good place to work part time
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Nepean, ONJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: the kids, and parents/caregivers. many generous people out there.
Cons: the split shift, working in the winter time, buses stay cold a long time.
First Student was about safety, I would start my day with my bus safety check, making sure it would meet the min. stardard, reporting any defects. The co-workers, some where not too friendly and some were friendly, you had to watch and make sure you didn't step on anyones toes. The good thing about being a bus driver is that the undesirable people were – more... easily avoided. The hardest part of the job was with some schools dealing with the principal when issues occurred and required schools in put. Many people look down on drivers. Deal with the children, when they are friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you are considered just another number
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 11, 2013
Pros: not many pros but would have to say pay wasnt too bad for the amount of hours worked in a day
Cons: management, no appreciation, treated like a number, company does not stand behind you too many to list
the job is really fun if you like kids. You are carrying the most precious cargo possible. The management is horrible, unless you like to brown nose they wont even know your name. There is not much interaction with the other drivers so hard to build a relationship. The hardest part of the job was to maintain control of the bus while paying attention – more... to the road. The students were awesome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not terrible place to work
driver (Current Employee), BCSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: working wih the kids.
Cons: politics.
Get into yard get your keys, pre-trip bus. you do that and find out your bus was used on a charter(happens), but was not swept out by the charter driver. more infuriating is bus was NOT refueled even though fuel top up was indicated.

Best part of the jobs are the kid. Most say hi in the morning and ask how you are doing... Charter work can be fun, – more... late night runs though are hard when you have worked all day. Management so far not terrible. Have wait and see attitude... on this one... Other drivers are friendly. for the most part. Hardest part of the job is staying out the politics. if you damage the bus DON"T.do no get into tight spots if possible unless ....you have help to get out. .. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happily and enjoyable way to do job
School Bus driver (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Pros: enjoyed all the events which we were celebrating togather
Cons: some time you gets tired
i really enjoy working with all of them because every one was kind and help full
Management makes every part of job very clear and trained us professionally and help us all the ways of job. I learned from my work place time management and how to deal with clients and public.
Hardest part of the job was not to finish duty on time. And most enjoyable – more... was talk to different people and share with them some useful thoughts. i enjoy my work with all the aspects.what ever the challenges comes on my way during job times try to solve them correctly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for my schedual
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Strathmore, ABMay 13, 2013
Pros: kept bus at home
was able to take my kids
made dr appt for during the day
train for a marathon
didnt have to use my own truck
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Barrie, ONNovember 28, 2012
Great teachers of how to safely and effectively drive a school bus
Hard working staff
Great co-workers
The best part is seeing smiling faces
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead End Job--Terrible management
Driver (Former Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaMay 10, 2012
Pros: decent pay
Cons: management bullies
This company could care less about their drivers.

Their union does very little to help if you have a problem.

They dont trust their employees to do their job and they intimidate their drivers.

I quit this job and moved on to Golden Arrow, and am currently very happy working for this more reputable company that appreciates us.

I always thought that – more... If I would have a problem it would be with the student, but turns out if was the management that turned out to be the problem.

Happy to have moved on!! Be wary of this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well difficult job.
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Grande Prairie, ABApril 16, 2012
Pros: did not have to drive my own vehicle
Cons: poor pay no benefits
I worked 6-7 hours a day and got paid 75.00 a day Which is nothing like the in town salary of 16 an hour.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging yet fun.
Bus Driver Class B (Current Employee), Pueblo West, CODecember 20, 2014
No such thing as a typical day at work. I perform a pre-trip inspection of every bus I drive in a given day, usually two or three, sometimes more. I drive AM, Mid-day and PM routes four days a week. On Mondays and Wednesdays I have a small group of kids who attend an after-school reading program that I take home following the completion of my PM route. – more... Between AM and Mid-day, and between Mid-day and PM routes, I may shuttle a vehicle to a shop for repairs or service. I may squeeze in a field trip during these down hours or may have one after work or on the weekends. Many variables.
This job provides challenges on a daily basis and brings a sense of fulfillment at the end of the day. I originally took this job because I was ready to take my professional career in a new direction and intended for it to be a means to an end. I have to be honest and say I underestimated the level of difficulty of this position - essentially, I operate a rolling day care five hours a day.
What I didn't expect was to make so many friends.
My co-workers seem kinder than most... I think they like their jobs too.
Management is fair and sympathetic to the needs and struggles of the drivers; they are or were drivers themselves.
Everything I've learned learned couldn't be contained in this space but if I had to pick one thing it's that children are precious. We must protect them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the place was old and need a lot of personal clean up care.
Bus Attendant/ Office Clerk (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 17, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: have the same break as the school had.
The company have a very friendly and family eviroment to it. They promotion good bouns and staferty for the empoyees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful made worse by clickish, bullying bad management
driver (Former Employee), nyDecember 11, 2014
All management culture is based on pure bullying of people who's lives are hard enough as it is. The management just yells and screams and is also very good at passive agresive bulling. They feel the drivers need to be handled in that way unless you have been there forever.
The absolute worst place I have ever worked. Completely takes yuor focus off – more... of what you are supposed to be doing and what really is important... The Kids Safety... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Binghamton, NYDecember 5, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: not enough hours or pay for the work we did.
I drove Binghamton students to and from school. Also on field trip and sporting events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at work
Bus Driver (Current Employee), Tacoma, WANovember 22, 2014
Pros: have christmas parties every year
Cons: no set work schedule
Typical day consist of checking to see if assigned trips for the following week, and signing up for trips. Fill out paperwork which includes DVIRs and time sheets. Complete a pre-trip inspection, Drive of freeways to customer pick up locations, taken groups to their destination, fill up buses, post-trip, and fill out paperwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Azusa, CANovember 21, 2014
Pros: good working condition
Cons: low pay
I was a driver and it was a good job. management was
professional
I liked working there
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working hour is not over 20 hours.
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Northbrook, ILNovember 19, 2014
Cons: no benefit and health insurance
I want to work over 20 hours. However, it is hard to get charter.

1 2 3 4 5

About First Student

As Canada's largest student transportation company, we’re committed to the safety of our passengers, employees and the buses – Read more