Find companies:
FIRST STUDENT CANADA
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

FIRST STUDENT CANADA Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
here is a day driving a school bus
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Markham, ONApril 7, 2013
Pros: meeting the children and their parents
Cons: it was part time
I would get up around 6am and then go and pick up my bus. I would start driving at around 7;30 after I did my pre-trip inspection. This was a part time job. I learned to have patience. The management was greate. My co-workers were unbelievebly fantastic. The hardest part of the job was trying to concentrate on my driving with the children talking too – more... loud and some of them argueing on the bus with other children. The most injoyable part of the job was greeting the children every morning and seeing their smiling faces looking forward to their day at school – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not much
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Markham, ONMarch 19, 2013
great place to work if fulltime mom, retiree or looking for a flexible schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horable company to work for
driver (Former Employee), vancouver, bcMarch 16, 2013
Very rewarding working with children with special needs . Safety standards are very poor and dangerous management is totally unprofessional and treat employees unfair if you hurt your self on the job look out they will do anything in there power to fire you or fight your claim . I f you are being miss treated by this employer do not be afraid to stand – more... up for your self and your rights . Thats why they have a hi employee turn over.The employees should be unionized to protect its workers as in the eastern part of Canada. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life of a bus driver
bus driver (Current Employee), Ancaster, ONMarch 14, 2013
every morning a circle check is done on the bus. I pick up 52 children and deliver them safely to and from school. I enjoy my job. I enjoy working with the public. Sometimes it can be a bit challenging if the children are too noisy or the weather is bad but I get through it without any difficulties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn't stand behind company policies
School Bus Operator (Former Employee), ManitobaMarch 3, 2013
Pros: company will pay if you keep an eye on your hours.
Cons: unsafe equipment and drivers are pushed around.
After driving school bus for a few years we moved here and I was hired by First Student. They talk the talk but don't walk the walk. Buses are not maintained and they don't help with child behaviour issues. In one year they asked me to do something illegal twice and a coworker twice. When I asked how to make it legal I was advised to do it or get fired. – more... Drivers have to double check every paycheque as extra time wasn't automatically put on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, friendly staff.
School Bus,Van & WheeChair Driver. (Current Employee), Brampton, ONFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: good part time job. allows for free time during the day. summers free.
Cons: no benefits, low wages
Good company commited to safety. Excellent training and solid management. I have greatly enjoyed my job over the years. The children are wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing and fulfilling job!!! Sadly, management does not enhance this experience :(
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: hours, environment while driving bus
Cons: poor bus maintenance, management is not supportive of the drivers unless you are with the "in" crowd.
Work environment while driving bus is very rewarding and fulfilling. Unfortunately, management does nothing to enhance this experience, and if they want you "out the door" without just cause, they can and will do it. More attention needs to be paid to maintenance of their busses - this would certainly make their motto of "safety first" more viable from – more... a driver's perspective. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very nice place to work
Coach Operator (Former Employee), Ft McMurrayDecember 31, 2012
Pros: driving
Cons: the disorganization and the lies from management.
First Canada in Ft Mac is not a good place to work.Boss will look at you straight in the face, tell you one thing and do another.if you want to advance in the company, just brown nose and you will advance. Very disorganized and management in not experienced.the only way management got the job is because they brown nose enough.
The hardest part of the – more... job is all the Disorganization and how management changes the rules to suite the day.The most enjoyable part of the job is when you are driving down the road, with the company radio turned down.
Hiring drivers with little or no experience, because someone that works there and they brown nosed and they will hire that persons friend or relative no problem. If you are a Newfie, you will get a job no problem and anything you want. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), St. Anns, ONDecember 6, 2012
They play favorites and often tell you one thing but don't follow through with there word.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the kids
Driver (Current Employee), Toronto, ONDecember 5, 2012
Pros: great hours of work
Cons: pay is not good
This is a job for a person who's retired!
So much work and not enough pay,
Some of the office staff are fun to talk to.
New boss isn't that friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for this company!
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Orangeville, ONNovember 28, 2012
Pros: training available any time
Cons: only part time
First Student is a Progressive bus company. They are up to date on training, pay amounts and are very easy to get along with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working for this company!
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Orangeville, ONNovember 28, 2012
Pros: training available any time
Cons: only part time
First Student is a Progressive bus company. They are up to date on training, pay amounts and are very easy to get along with!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Student is a great company.
Driver (Current Employee), Toronto, ONNovember 17, 2012
Pros: the job itself - loved it from a-z
Cons: if i had to say, it'd be the money.
I must say that I've never had a job that I derived so much satisfaction from.
The transporting of young kids to and from school,as well as school and public charters and doing it all safely and never with incident was a really a teriffic experience.
I don't think that any part of the job was not enjoyable.Okay,maybe the paperwork.
why would I leave – more... such a job? Economics.
No benefits, no pension plan,not to mention that as more schools go to full-day kindergarten this cuts into a drivers' potential weekly earnings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The 'old guard' mentality is strong at First Student, however if one is only looking for a good part-time job, this company is as good as most.
FT Driver (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 30, 2012
Pros: students, part-time hours
Cons: management, cold weather work, stress
Working with students is wondrous, and fulfilling. The hours can be murderous, especially at -30 and 6:oo A.M. Training is only as necessary, while safety has become more a finger pointing exercise than an opportunity for further learning, unfortunately. There are some great people working here, but too many of them are not in management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent job for stay at home moms
On-Site Supervisor/School bus driver (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 24, 2012
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: winter driving
Working part time has given me the ability to raise my child while still bringing home a paycheque. The prople I work with are amazing and knowing that I am giving back to the community by transporting children to their schools is very rewarding
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very stressful, unappreciated industry
CHARTER MANAGER (Former Employee), caledonAugust 27, 2012
Pros: work independantly flexible hours
Cons: very unstable employment
Environment changed dramatically over the 10 years of service with this position. Low pay rates, high risk position, no respect
Good to have the flexibility to bring your children to work but not recommended due to the poor environment young children are subjected to. Health concerns are high due to being subject to a closed environment with many children – more... to consider.
Great management team until you go up the corporate chain. – less

– November 1, 2012

The only ones that make money in this industry is the Company. The school boards pay really well, they just don't pass it on to the drivers.

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
caring about employees.
Bus driver (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 30, 2012
Pros: fun employees
Cons: poorly managed.
This company runs it's company as a military style employer. Do what I say and not what I do additude. They send employee home with a no pay suspension with no thought or caring what they are putting that employees family though emotionally and especially financially.
Most of the employees are fun to work with. And some of them actually care.
Driving – more... the students on your regular run can be a rewarding even. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with.
BUS DRIVER (Current Employee), Bowmanville, ONJune 30, 2012
Pros: you get to see great sceenery.
Cons: the pay is not the greatest for what we have to do in our days work.
My day starts with my bus. I make sure it is safe for my passangers and myself. The other drivers are very helpful and friendly and are great people to work with and the office are nice and great to have as support. The hardest part of the job is at school end when you say good bye to the students that graduated 12 and bye to the other students when – more... summer holidays start. I enjoy every single part of my job. Driving the bus, the students, schools and co-workers. – less

Silvia – July 31, 2012

Hi, I'm interested in obtaining a bus driving position with First Student. I have already submitted an application and am in the process of setting up my training session. I was just wondering, do you know what the beginning pay rate is? Thanks!

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative
School bus Driver (Former Employee), Caledon, ONJune 21, 2012
Learned to drive a big bus. As the company gave me the training. The management is very well organised. The atmosphere is totaly friendly and very helping in nature. Enjoyable part of the job is drive thru various streets, gives knowledge of roads and streets. Hardest partof the job is may be to drive in bad witer conditions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and dangerous job
Bus Driver (Former Employee), Coquitlam. BCFebruary 7, 2012
It's a easy job with kids but all drivers has to pay our concerns to kids safety. And I have to check inside the bus 4 time in a day because the kid may be stay under the seat
Driving is very careful to protect kid
that's why it's a dangerous and good job with kid

manjit – September 25, 2012

you said truely it is good but dangerous job.I m interested for this job,I did my appilication but I did not get any answer that I'm elegible or not,please tell me bcz I have to much need for this joab. thanks

About FIRST STUDENT CANADA

First Student Canada, a subsidiary of the British company FirstGroup and a division of FirstGroup America, is a major contractor – Read more