Find companies:
First Solar, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

First Solar, Inc. Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every job site has its ups and downs, this one was completed on time and on budget, regardless of a few hiccups on the management side
Laser Crew Foreman/ Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Lancaster, CADecember 18, 2014
Every job site has its ups and downs, this one was completed on time and on budget, regardless of a few hiccups on the management side
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe work environment with great work employees
laborer (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 11, 2014
everyday is different working as a team, we keep a high pace out in the work field. safety is always first. your leads will always listen to you if a problem may appear. your co workers are friendly and the hardest part of the job is not messing up directions. my favorite thing about this job is the work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
talented among QA and testifying products and evaluate process
Quality Assurance / Tester Module Panel (Former Employee), kulim hi-tech parkNovember 12, 2014
talented among QA and testifying products and evaluate process
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing company with some growing pains
Development Engineer (Current Employee), Perrysburg, OHOctober 29, 2014
Growing company but its suffering from growing pains. Although it can be a challenging environment it can be difficult to move up in the company without higher education (masters, PHD). There is little emphasis on growing their own talent and they place a high emphasis on outside education. They are cutting raises, and have cut bonuses recently. They – more... have also made the insurance not as attractive. They do pay for further education but this is only dependent on your manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job opportunity
foreman (Current Employee), Atascadero, CAOctober 10, 2014
really enjoy the fast paced work environment. great safety culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very physical job.
Production Worker (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHOctober 3, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: working a 12 hour shift
I walked at least 10 miles a day through that production facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Product Manager (Current Employee), Bridgewater, NJSeptember 27, 2014
Great company to work for. Fast paced but productive place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Production Worker (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: dont work every day, great benefits
Cons: 12 hr shifts
Always work to be done and co-workers were easy to work with. Good opportunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
MANUFACTURING ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHAugust 11, 2014
First Solar provides steady employment, but little room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Supervisor (Former Employee), Desert Center, CAJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great money
Cons: temporary work
Was never a career just a temporary situation. Had the best crew. Loved setting my goals and meeting them weekly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Comfortable
MES Developer Intern (Current Employee), Perrysburg, OHJune 16, 2014
Pros: own laptop, cafeteria, gym, flexible schedules
Cons: overtime not honored for interns
I believe the people you work with are what make a job enjoyable or not. I thoroughly enjoy working with the employees here and have learned a lot from their examples and leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Manufacturing Operations Associate (Current Employee), Perrysburg, OhioMay 13, 2014
First Solar is a great place to work at. They have great benefit plans and contain a high amount of departments in which one can excel into from production level. The management does a great job of breaking down the production areas and provides the associates to excel in many different parts of the plant. The group in which i am in is very busy and – more... fast paced and we take care of all of the Engineering departments test modules in our warehouse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company too bad never happened in Mesa
Manager of Technical Operations (Former Employee), Mesa, AZApril 1, 2014
Pros: very good benefits good pay
Cons: plant in mesa never opened
good company too bad never happened in Mesa. Great culture and people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend working there
Tech 2 (Former Employee), Perrysburg, ohMarch 21, 2014
Pros: benefits were outstanding
Cons: short breaks, pay, hr was unhelpful
You will learn that u r easily replaced. The pay was poor, with poor 35 cent raises. They say there's room to advance but good luck. It's who you know not what you know. Line workers were very unhappy but since it's a job people stay quite.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Consultant (Maximo/Java) (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHMarch 16, 2014
• Created the System Requirement Specification from Business requirement document.
• MBO Customization & Screen level customization.
• Data Migration
• Data cleanup
• Report modification and creation using Actuate.
• Design, development, code & Test reviews, project implementations etc
• Maximo configuration: Database configuration, crossovers, applying – more... hotfixes,\
• Providing extensively support on Production system.
• Involved in code review and ensuring the timely resolution of the same
• Activly Involved in Go Live and Post Production Support activities
• Involved in Requirement analysis and Designing of Database structure – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great safety culture and excellent evironment enouraging good work ethic
Construction Laborer (Former Employee), Santa Margarita, CAMarch 10, 2014
Pros: paid well, friendly environment, mentally engaging work
Cons: low job security, short breaks, worked in poor weather conditions
I really liked all the people I worked with. I got a lot of experience doing things I'd never done before and became very good at them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, Very repetitive, too much favoritism and nepotism
Production operator (Former Employee), Perrysburg, OHMarch 3, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits, pay, great food, safe production environment.
Cons: too much backbiting, favoritism, nepotism, very repetitive job.
A typical day at work consisted of putting on safety equipment.
Testing and analyzing chemicals that were involved in the manufacturing process of photovoltaic modules.
It was down here were I learned how to work with individuals since we were pair together for 12 hours at time. The hardest part of the job was the sheer monotony and repetitive jobs – more... being done their.
The interaction from the engineers. Our conversations were very intellectually stimulating. Coworkers pretty much kept to themselves save for a few people. The management was okay but there was a lot of political gaming going on. It mostly has to due with the weak job environment in Ohio and the economy in general. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Environment and Long Hours
Sr. Project Accountant (Former Employee), Oakland, CAFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: compensation. smart colleagues
Cons: long hours
An extremely fast paced work environment and well compensated teams, though the amount of hours required were atrocious. 80+ hour weeks during month end close
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic yet productive workplace
Development Engineering Technician, ARC Group (Current Employee), Perrysburg, OHFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: subsidized cafeteria
Cons: pretty much no time for breaks
A typical day at work involves preparation of spreadsheets to keep data for that day organized involving SubID for individual solar modules, as well as for qualification of the modules we wash. I will then wash a certain number of modules each day, monitor the cleanliness using various parameters, and assist with organization and maintenance of tool – more... and other parts of the process. I've learned a great deal about data organization, work instruction creation, and time management. The management in my group is productive yet often unrealistic. They want what is best for the company, but are often unclear on what it takes to get that done. My co-workers are dedicated, but seem happier with less of a work-life balance than I would like. The hardest part of my job is spending so much time away from home, as I have a one hour commute each way to and from work. The most enjoyable part of my job is the feeling of being an important part of a project that will make a difference in the real world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, good pay, a lot of company growth
Program Manager IV (Current Employee), Tempe, ArizonaFebruary 1, 2014
Continual change provides plenty of opportunities for growth

1 2 3

About First Solar, Inc.

Like the ancient Egyptians who worshiped Ra, First Solar looks to the sun for rising fortunes. The company manufactures photovoltaic – Read more