First Quality Employee Reviews

Showing all 81 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place...to get fired
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Anderson, SC2 December 2016
A risk in every way to ones career and the end to many people's. Company fires without discretion and is known in community as not "now hiring" rather "now firing". Beautiful plant on outside but inside is different in every way as the Mgt is afraid and scared to of being fired and thus spineless. The future direction of company is lead by inept development that is borderline deceptive if not so, even in face of customers. Current Mgt thinks yelling and screaming is best avenue for success. Most decent people disagree.
Pros
Lots of walking, plenty people knows how to do your job better than you
Cons
Great customers, good suppliers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PA 1940627 October 2016
Great place to work, Lots of opportunity to advance, very hands on, Excellent management. Overall its an excellent work place , especially for those who enjoy 12 hour work shifts. The hardest part of the job is being on your feet for 12 hours. Most positions require standing, moving at a fast pace. Coworkers are very helpful; Lots of encouragement , Great team effort
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Controls tech
Controls Technician (Current Employee) –  Mchatten pa4 October 2016
This place is a great place to work they have great benefits. They have an excellent advancement for people that want to move up in the company. Great work force very friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning new things
Line Lead (Former Employee) –  McElhattan, PA23 September 2016
I was able to get out of my comfort zone and learn many new things. You get good benefits and lots of overtime. There are tons of opportunities to better your skills with computer training and hands on training.
Pros
good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & productive work place
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Harrisburg, PA21 September 2016
My days at First Quality Services were interesting. I got along with management. My co-workers were easy to get along with .
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Pennsylvania27 August 2016
Great place to work, Lots of opportunity to advance, Excellent management, Great benefits , Overall its an excellent work place , especially for those who enjoy 12 hour work shifts. The hardest part of the job is being on your feet for 12 hours, Most positions require standing, moving at a fast pace. Coworkers are very sympathetic as they understand how hard it is to get thru the 12 hour shift, Lots of encouragement , Great team effort. lots of Breaks.
Pros
excellent Benefits
Cons
12 hour Shifts and weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did you like high school? Then you'll love it here!
Operator (Former Employee) –  McElhattan, PA24 August 2016
This place is terrible to work for. The people are rude, including the supervisors. Everyone will talk about you and spread rumors, even if you keep to yourself. No one wants to show you anything unless you fit into one of their little "cliques".
Worst place I've ever worked at.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Press operator (Current Employee) –  Anderson, SC17 August 2016
Do not take a press operator or any position in the press department management in that department are in it for them selfs they will make you run defected product and refuse to sign off on it because if it comes back it's on you and stuff comes back everyday. Some of the best operators in the field come and go understaffed on all shifts the place is a revolving door.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Not Applicable (Former Employee) –  King of Prussia, PA1 August 2016
Horrible place to work. They try to show you more money in the beginning but treat everyone as slaves. The IT Management is horrible. Full of hypocrites and amnesiacs. You get interviewed for one thing but are asked to do something else. No work life balance and no regard for human life. Not sure about the ownership but i guess the leaders feel it is absolutely necessary to work 24 hours and not care about the other part of your life. Always want to point fingers at each other or throw someone under the bus. The leaders never let people do their job because one person wants to do everything . No respect for peers. The indians here think this is India and it is cool to treat everyone as slaves like they treat in India. This is America. We are protected by the constitution. Folks here need to get soft skills training before anything else. Theres absolutely nothing to enjoy here except to go home everyday disgusted and feeling terrible in the morning and going to work thinking you are going to be fired. Newcomers be very careful before getting all excited about a job at FQ.
Pros
Salary and Benefits
Cons
No Work Life Balance, Treated like Slave, Yelled and Abused
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
DCS Operator (Current Employee) –  Anderson, SC1 August 2016
I have enjoyed my employment with this company. I love the management and my job. I am only considering leaving for a work schedule that makes me more available to my family.
Pros
Excellent Training and opportunity
Cons
work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes8No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Macon, GA22 June 2016
a typical day at First Quality, check off sit down forklift for ex. making sure break lights worked and horn etc. daily. Learned how to operate a stand up forklift, the hardest part of my job was trying to catch up from the other shift to make sure i was moving at a steady pace. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to come to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, poor management
Instructional Designer (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PA21 June 2016
Great company to work for. The salary's are reasonable and benefits exceptional. Management is green and stuck in own ways
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
Utility Person (Former Employee) –  Queens, NY21 June 2016
always on your feet
i have learned all skills regarding floor care
management is decent
co-workers, many different personalities
the hardest part of the job is making sure that the details are accurate and they aren't many flaws, in other words perfect
the most enjoyable part of the job is working around and seeing celebrities
Pros
great salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great company to grow with
Cost Accountant (Former Employee) –  McElhattan, PA20 June 2016
First Quality was a great place to work. Great work life balance and I had the best boss ever for the first 8 years. All good things must come to an end.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Work Related to JDE CNC
CNC Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NY22 May 2016
Work culture is very good in FQ. Even though we worked form Off-shore then also we have freedom of work and FQ is accepting our suggestions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Place
Line Leader (Former Employee) –  Hazleton, PA16 May 2016
Lead each group to reach our main goal while working with them as a Team Player. Worked with a diverse group of people in order to meet production deadlines
Pros
Nice Summer Company Picnics
Cons
Short Brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, clean, and safe
LINE LEADER (Current Employee) –  Lewistown, PA4 April 2016
Great place to work. Management is wonderful and very easy to work with. Only down fall is working nights, especially if you have young children.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  McElhattan, PA31 March 2016
As an Engineer, it is very hard to satisfy management. There is a ton of micromanagement that is not necessary. If you have your own opinion it is not wanted at First Quality, it is either there way or the highway. I would not recommend working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last Quality!
Tech 3 (Former Employee) –  Hazelton PA18 March 2016
The work is not hard. You work on a crew of 4 or more people. Usually understaffed. People are always calling off or quitting. The people here are awful! Think highschool but much much worse. They take way too many breaks and have way too much downtime so they spend it gossiping and causing drama. Due to the people alone I would not recommend working here. Go elsewhere, the stress is not worth it ! The people are nasty and have horrible attitudes. Production managers play favoritism. There has been drugs found, people on drugs or drunk. People having affairs with one another. Terrible people!
Pros
easy work, on site cafeteria
Cons
The people, No training program, no organization, favortism, terrible leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes22No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic management.
Quality (Former Employee) –  FQ Print and Pack, Anderson, SC12 March 2016
Plant Manager and HR manager run everything. The name First Quality is a joke because the Plant Manager will have hold tags ripped off rejected material and shipped. Corrupt, unethical and toxic environment. These same two people have no concern for safety either. Just unbelievable that these two are still employed. Hopefully they are no longer there. Obviously a reflection of the ownership if they are. Beware, do not consider this place for employment.
Pros
Nice new building
Cons
Toxic Plant Manager and HR Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes25NoReport

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 81 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1