First National Financial Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stable Employer
Residential Mortgage Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 November 2017
This was one of the best places that I have ever worked at. I enjoyed the office environment, the staff, the moral, the training was great, and most of all you felt like your were valued!
Pros
Valued; Great Office Environment
Cons
Commute to Downtown Vancouver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 October 2017
Great place to work, great benefits. Respect of work life balance, good culture, lots of events to appreciate employees and great vacation and benefits package,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun Place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Montreal, Quebec20 September 2017
Great environment to work and lots of room for career growth. Not too stressful place.

Management very friendly and always very helpful to new staff.
Pros
Great people to work with. Management very friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First National Financial is the Leading Non-Bank Lender in the Country
Senior Analyst and Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 June 2017
First National Financial is the largest non-bank lender in the country. I learnt about all different asset classes in the job. I underwrote over $1 billion of assets and funded over $400M.
Pros
Good group of underwriters to work with
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Mortgage Specialist / Internal Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2017
Start my day with checking emails, faxes, voice mails.

Go through the list for the day , make calls to my clients, email them , offer them specials and new rates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than most mortgage companies
Mortgage Renewal Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto19 March 2017
This was my first real job out of school and advanced quickly through the ranks to the sales team. The work is easy and don't have to bring your work home with you.
Pros
Room for advancement and young workforce
Cons
Brokers come first at the expense of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place great people - lots of politic with upper managment
Employee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2016
If you know the right people you're likely to move up quick, if you don't then you'll have play the politics game.

Work life balance is great, benefits are awesome, most of all people are fun and nice. Friendly environment. If it weren't for all the politics and cliques, it would be the perfect place to work. Unfortunately, hard work doesn't get you recognized, who you know does.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't recommend
NA (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 April 2016
bad pay, bad management, limited advancement at best, benefits are average, vacation is OK to start but after 5 years, you'll be waiting 10 years for another week off
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My colleagues are professional, friendly and supportive
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 October 2015
Customer service oriented
Team members always share opinions openly
My manager was very knowledgeable, supportive and friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Data Entry Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2015
First National employs some of the friendliest people I've ever had the good fortune to work with. It's a shame that they pay those same hardworking individuals so poorly. So many people have chosen to leave FN since I started working here at the beginning of February.
Pros
Helpful staff
Cons
Poor wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Special accounts employee (Former Employee) –  Toronto on12 June 2014
Great place to grow in the mortgage business but very poor training and very poor management. Managers dont help employees to grow within the company
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prejudice
Default Management Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 November 2013
Not an enjoyable place to work, no room to grow. You can see through the glass ceiling, you know where you want to go but management will not let you go there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Administration (Former Employee) –  Toronto, On2 October 2013
First National is a joke. The team I worked on has no morals. Teamleader plays games throws silly string, paper balls and elastic bands with team members.
God forbid you speak your mind you get talked to the boss and his boss.
If you want to play games this is a great place to work. If you actually want to learn something go elsewhere.
Training not that great and if you don't catch on quickly your pretty much can say goodbye to your job.
Pros
If you kiss the team leader you know what ... you can go far
Cons
Management favors certain people
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Special Accounts Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 June 2013
Balance is key. You require focus here but the atmosphere is fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most enjoyable part of the job
Renewal Allocations Administrator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 February 2013
I like to answer to co-workers and clients inquiries.
The work environment is good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues not so great manager
sales/retention (Former Employee) –  toronto24 October 2012
Manager was very demeaning to his employees...yelled at employees in front of staff. Lack of professionalism. Not much room to grow.

Company is great as a whole but management in sales needs improvement or change of.
Pros
rrsp matching
Cons
little respect from manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and poor management
Client Relations Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 September 2012
The only thing i would have to say about that company is that the management at Special Accounts did not know anything about how to relate to employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company growth is ongoing
Executive Assistant, Commercial Mortgage Financing (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2012
I was fortunate to have been afforded opportunities to advance my knowledge as a Mortgage Administrator working for First National. I started out working in the accounting department as an Administrator for "Mortgage Backed Securities", advanced to the Commercial Lending Division in servicing and finished as the Executive Assistant for two Vice Presidents. The latter position was the one which I most enjoyed due mostly in part because of the team I worked with/for. Lot's of daily laughter makes for a very happy and productive workplace. Due to corporate restructuring my position became redundant. The farewell from my co-workers spoke volumes as to their level of respect for me. I made friendships that still flourish today.
Pros
always encourages personal and professional growth.
Cons
education is valued over experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 22Report

See more First National Financial reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First National Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3

First National Financial Reviews by Location