Find companies:
First Data
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
521 reviews

First Data Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7 years of experience, seeking a highly challenging and rewarding career in Software Development as a Java Developer where I can utilize my skill set
Sr. Java Developer (Current Employee), Marietta, GASeptember 14, 2014
Working as Java Developer using various technologies like JSP, Servlets, JDBC, Hibernate, SOAP web services, HTML, JavaScript, CSS, XML and XSLT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Senior Tech Lead (Current Employee), Melville, NYSeptember 11, 2014
First Data Corporation – Melville, NY Sep 09 – Till Date
Role: Senior Tech Lead
The CARS (Collection and Reserve System) is an internally developed FDMS application used primarily to assist the Collections and Credit Accounting departments in monitoring merchants who have entered into the Collections process. This application is sub-ledger for their – more... transaction/accounting activity – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place i ever applied
Transaction Processing Specialist (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 9, 2014
Pros: you name it
Cons: contract ended
you will find advancement here..
went from mail-room to accountant with precise training
you love everyone, it was more like a family then a group of stranger
job training , class for study
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Systems Programmer (Former Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 8, 2014
Pros: good benefits.
Cons: constant lay-offs
Busy, busy, busy. Long hours on-call at night, no margin for errors when applying changes to the 900 CICS regions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Business Consultant (Current Employee), Detroit, MISeptember 8, 2014
Self managed position that rewards hard work. Some days are long and some are not. It is a rewarding experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lockbox Position (Mailroom)
Data Processing Specialist (Current Employee), Staten Island, NYSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: semi-flexible management
Cons: very short breaks (watched like a hawk)
This would be a great position for an entry-level person looking to gain office experience; however there is no room for growth. The work is not difficult although it can be repetitive so I would suggest one stay sharp throughout the day or night. The are two shifts available to accommodate everyone as there is an endless supply of work. I do believe – more... depending on what it is that you do in the company the hourly wage should be higher that what it currently is. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Check processing/Lockbox (Former Employee), Monterey Park, CASeptember 6, 2014
fine place to work, i learned how to handle fraud checks, account services, sort debit and credits checks and make sure it will be deposited to the account of our costumer. i enjoy working with my co-workers because we have teamwork it make our job easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a tiny gym to release your big stress
Systems Engineer (Current Employee), Omaha, NESeptember 4, 2014
Pros: there is no such thing as complimentary and no friendly working atmosphere
Cons: short lunch breaks and too much micro manage
Some senior people always watch your timings such as, breaks and lunch time what time you come in what time you leave etc., no work life balance. The worst thing is very short lunch break and no fun at work very serious all the time. They want you to be workaholic person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Skilled for such
Data Processor (Former Employee), GlasgowSeptember 4, 2014
problems with IT meant that I personally knew more about their systems than their IT person
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Variety of work responsibility
Exceptions Rep II-Child Support Disbursements (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: could listen to headsets while working
Cons: trying to keep others awake
The job was very rewarding in that it provided needed child support to custodial parents. I like the high volume of work and the incentives that we received for achieving production goals, the contests made it fun and pushed us to be more speedy and efficient. The most difficult part of the jobs was trying to read the handwriting on some of the disbursements – more... and making sure they got to the right recipient, because many of the names were the so common, like Smiths, Gonzalez etc...I can't say what was most enjoyable but I really liked that it was a graveyard shift for that type of work. Personally those are great hours for me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful job, not a fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Pensacola, FLSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: many shifts to choose from
Cons: high stress
In order to take a bathroom break, you had to hold up a sign that said "unscheduled" and they timed you while you were in there.
Very stressful job, not a happy workplace
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing a team while remaining an Individual Contributor
Accounting Manager (Former Employee), Englewood, COSeptember 2, 2014
- Working one on one with team, clients and internal relationship team
- Creating account receivable reconciliations to increase cash flow
- Ability to work through issues that arise outside the control of the current billing systems to ensure no impact to client deadlines
- Meeting all client deadlines and creating new deadlines to ensure highest level – more... of customer service
- Part of two separate "lift and move teams" - taking ownership of a new team and responsibilities and moving the responsibilities to another state.
- Building a team based on trust, strength and weaknesses that increased the value of the team to the the department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Senior Cash Settlement Analyst (Current Employee), Melville, NYSeptember 1, 2014
Very laidback work environment. Advancement not acheivement based but what positions need to be filled.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work. Poor Management
BS-CA /QA Technical Implementation Analyst (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEAugust 31, 2014
Pros: to boost employee's morale, managers allow group lunches. these lunches are not paid by the company, but by each individual. if you do not participate than you are not a team player.
Cons: healthcare is about standard.
Too many Mangers not enough workers. When there is a cut they always seem to forget to cut out the multiple Managers within the departments. It is amazing to see that there are at least 2 Managers for the same Department performing the exact function. When eliminating duplicate functions, they always seem to be forgotten. I had a Manager who was constantly – more... falling asleep in his office in front of his PC. However, this Manager survives all the cuts. Good workers get the cut instead. Some get on the list of cuts due to reporting their Manager's to HR. Upper Management seem to be blind in what is going on in each department or they just enjoy seeing those types of Managers taking space, making good salaries, and causing stress to their employees. If you report your Manager, you seem to get on their list of elimination as soon as a new lay-off is announced.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work/life balance
GPMI Senior Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Melville, NYAugust 27, 2014
Pros: work/life balance
Cons: limited advancement
work life balance limited advancement going through a revolutionary change since the new CEO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Terminal support helpdesk (Current Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 26, 2014
Friendly environment with amazing people around who can answer any question you have and love to see you exceeded
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Department to work in within a large Call Centre
Client Service representative (Former Employee), Glasgow City CentreAugust 24, 2014
Pros: my partner worked 4 shifts on 4 shifts off. i was accommodated with working my hours on his days off, saving on trying to get childcare.
Cons: none that jump right at me, complaints at times were stressful, but you adjust to this through experience.
The job/work life balance of the position was the biggest factor in taking the position.

I only left the company due to a redundancy offered.

A typical day consisted of checking the incoming emails from our clients customers. We provided administration, call handling and complaints for several Barclay Card accounts.

All incoming emails were answered – more... with either the appropriate response or an email advising the customer to call the contact centre for further help. Each email sent and account accessed was updated correctly and within the terms of Data Protection and company /client policies.

Next was to work work the different backlogs of account updates, each team member took ownership of for example the Direct Debit queue and worked through it updating, deleting or refunding errors.

I enjoyed the challenge of reaching the end of whichever queue I was working and moving onto another, I enjoyed starting my shift and seeing green against each queue rather than red, which meant we were way behind, either due to staffing levels or more incoming communications from customers due to changes in their credit card contracts.

I worked well with my team mates and had 3 different team managers all of whom I learned something different, each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-billion dollar company that evolved throughout my 19+ years
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Englewood, COAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great fortune 500 corporation to work for.
Cons: management changes and reduction of forces
My employment began under American Express IPS which then evolved to First Data Corporation. I worked for several business units under the FDC umbrella, had great bosses, enjoyed my association with each department, and watched each business unit grow. Western Union eventually broke away from FDC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and high security facility
Production Specialist/Data Entry (Current Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 21, 2014
Pros: extended lunches, free barbeques
Cons: healthcare benefits, bravo program
I currently work an 8 hour shift. I'm responsible for doing a variety of duties. I process actual plastic credit cards and input data in pc regarding customers information. My co-workers are easy to get along with as well as management. The hardest part about my job is accuracy. You have to ensure all of the work is completed at 100%. The easiest part – more... about my job is inputing data in the computer. Overall First Data is a great company to work for, but I need I job that's more challenging. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean, stable work environment
Activations Specialist (Current Employee), Hagerstown, MDAugust 21, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: they don't care about their employees.
clean, stable work environment. good people. good benefits.

1 2 3 4 5

About First Data

Whether you are just beginning your career or have many years of experience, First Data can provide you with a wealth of exciting – Read more