Find companies:
First Data
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
506 reviews

First Data Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Sr Technical Analyst (Former Employee), Mississauga, OntarioOctober 10, 2012
Pros: frequent potlocks
Cons: long hourss
i worked everyday with a lot of zeal and ethusiasm, i learn smthing new everyday at work, and because i have the ability and willingness to help my co-workers, it rubs off my managers.
The hardest part of the job for me is definitely the long hours because a lot is expected of me, and i always strive to do better everyday.
What i enjoy the most about – more... my job is again th friendly environment, we're like a family, and everyone is always willing to help one another – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Terminal support helpdesk (Current Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 26, 2014
Friendly environment with amazing people around who can answer any question you have and love to see you exceeded
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Department to work in within a large Call Centre
Client Service representative (Former Employee), Glasgow City CentreAugust 24, 2014
Pros: my partner worked 4 shifts on 4 shifts off. i was accommodated with working my hours on his days off, saving on trying to get childcare.
Cons: none that jump right at me, complaints at times were stressful, but you adjust to this through experience.
The job/work life balance of the position was the biggest factor in taking the position.

I only left the company due to a redundancy offered.

A typical day consisted of checking the incoming emails from our clients customers. We provided administration, call handling and complaints for several Barclay Card accounts.

All incoming emails were answered – more... with either the appropriate response or an email advising the customer to call the contact centre for further help. Each email sent and account accessed was updated correctly and within the terms of Data Protection and company /client policies.

Next was to work work the different backlogs of account updates, each team member took ownership of for example the Direct Debit queue and worked through it updating, deleting or refunding errors.

I enjoyed the challenge of reaching the end of whichever queue I was working and moving onto another, I enjoyed starting my shift and seeing green against each queue rather than red, which meant we were way behind, either due to staffing levels or more incoming communications from customers due to changes in their credit card contracts.

I worked well with my team mates and had 3 different team managers all of whom I learned something different, each day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi-billion dollar company that evolved throughout my 19+ years
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Englewood, COAugust 22, 2014
Pros: great fortune 500 corporation to work for.
Cons: management changes and reduction of forces
My employment began under American Express IPS which then evolved to First Data Corporation. I worked for several business units under the FDC umbrella, had great bosses, enjoyed my association with each department, and watched each business unit grow. Western Union eventually broke away from FDC
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and high security facility
Production Specialist/Data Entry (Current Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 21, 2014
Pros: extended lunches, free barbeques
Cons: healthcare benefits, bravo program
I currently work an 8 hour shift. I'm responsible for doing a variety of duties. I process actual plastic credit cards and input data in pc regarding customers information. My co-workers are easy to get along with as well as management. The hardest part about my job is accuracy. You have to ensure all of the work is completed at 100%. The easiest part – more... about my job is inputing data in the computer. Overall First Data is a great company to work for, but I need I job that's more challenging. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean, stable work environment
Activations Specialist (Current Employee), Hagerstown, MDAugust 21, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: they don't care about their employees.
clean, stable work environment. good people. good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced call center, fun to work for
Customer Service Representative for TELECHECK (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXAugust 15, 2014
its a fun and fast paced call center, awesome work place and a professional work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truth in Writing
Employee (Former Employee), AtlantaAugust 14, 2014
Pros: ?
Cons: terrible management, benefits, no training, hostile work environment
Seriously, there are MUCH better places to work. It's a vicious backstabbing environment. Fair warning. If I could give management zero stars I would. No training, left to fend for yourself. Then a manager that's a back stabber, and provides zero support. A manager that has their own agenda regardless of the work at hand. I don't understand how people – more... like this keep their jobs, adult bully! The benefits are terrible. No 401k matching, high deductible medical plans, terrible vacation. My advise to anyone considering is to steer clear and keep on moving on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work and steady hours
Security Operations Analyst (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 12, 2014
Pros: steady career and great workplace
Cons: long hours and management opportunity
great company and it is a 24/7 operation. may have to work on weekends and at night. overall great to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Corporate Enviroment
Team Manager (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXAugust 11, 2014
A company that cares. First Data provides excellent training and resources for it's employees. They offer a comprehensive suite of benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center Environment
Merchant Activation Representative (Former Employee), Hagerstown, MDAugust 11, 2014
Every work day was exactly the same.

Come in, log into your phone and computer and basically sit and take incoming calls from new business owners who had just purchased a First Data credit card machine.

Lots and lots of things to learn an know for this job with "ok" pay. Always having you learn something new an more information to retain.

Management – more... puts lots of pressure on agents taking calls to make sure every call they take is perfect. (You get recorded, monitored, an scored on calls that you take)

Management shows favortism to certain people

Benefits are great! You do receive personal time and and vacation time each year.

Only 30 mins unpaid lunch (DO NOT be more or less then 30 mins or you could be repremanded)

Depending on department that you are hired in, its almost impossible to advance, unless you move around to different departments which means constantly learning new things an adapting to different rules. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Clover Support Specialist (Current Employee), Coral Springs, FLAugust 10, 2014
awesome place to work, a lot of support and hands on training daily
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Randstad Temp. Services was a very nice Company to work for, I was sent to a job (BANK OF AMERICA) where I had job that I enjoyed.
Research and Adjustment Representative (Former Employee), Louisville KyAugust 8, 2014
Pros: the benefits, insurance, make-up time for doctors appointments. buy extra weeks of vacation
Cons: having to leave.
My last position working for RANDSTAD Temporary Services, became permanent with BANK OF AMERICA from 9/2005 to 12/31/11. Worked for Bank of America from 9/6/2005 to 12/31/2011, Bank of America sold to Fist Data 1/1/2012

A typical day at work - Relaxed, Busy, Nice people to work around.

What you learned - To improved merchant and issuers experiences – more... by resolving all cases in compliance with regulations in a timely manner.

Management - Management was great

Co-workers - Made some life long friends

The hardest part of the job - Leaving it, I had plan to retire from it.

The most enjoyable part of the job - We where involved in activities to raise money for " Toys for Tots" Cancer" and "Diabetes" we had a annual parade. Best decorated department during Halloween, Christmas, Derby, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work with uncertain returns or future
Business Consultant (Current Employee), Rockford, ILAugust 6, 2014
Pros: work from home, good support
Cons: unstable, uncertain future
Best part of the job is that you have the freedom to interact with your clients as you wish and they provide excellent support for you to work from home, however, the company is unstable in the last year the comp plan has changed 3 times and it looks as if it is going to change again. The company is in transition I'm not sure however I am loyal enough – more... to weather the storm it is in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first data
call centre (Former Employee), basildonAugust 5, 2014
Cons: 30 a week
when i started working for first data i had no idea about credit cards but eing there for a little while i learned so much the hardest part of the job is remembering everything i had to do to help the customers trying to ask for help as much as i could. i enjoyed the most was working in a team met some great people and helping customers who needed help – more... the most – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managment
Operator Mail Processing (Former Employee), Dallas, TXAugust 4, 2014
Anytime i had a problem the would help me out to better understand
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful
Tax Contractor (Current Employee), omaha NeJuly 31, 2014
I loved this job. Typical work day involved me taking about 60 calls a day in a busy environment. I was able to exceed and look forward with intentions of moving to a higher position. Co workers were great, many great people loving being around all of them. Our floor managers were great they showed a lot of support through the training and the process – more... of OJT. The hardest part of the job was making sure you gave it 00% every time you were on the phone. I really enjoyed the work environment because it was more than just me getting the help I needed it gave the opportunity to grow and become a better customer rep and look forward to better opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Account Researcher (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 31, 2014
I enjoyed working for First Data first job in Calif would work for them again
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I honestly did not enjoy working there at all.
Bilingual customer service representative (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXJuly 29, 2014
Pros: close to whataburger
Cons: busy from the beginning to the end of your shift with calls
The time i worked there was not enjoyable at all. Management was never available for help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work
Manager (Former Employee), FloridaJuly 28, 2014
Do more with less
Long hours
Errors in other departments makes your job that much harder

1 2 3 4 5

About First Data

Whether you are just beginning your career or have many years of experience, First Data can provide you with a wealth of exciting – Read more