First Choice Haircutters Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was boring.
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Ladner, BC7 November 2017
I loved being a hairstylist but it took all the joy out of being a stylist. Was more of a hair cut and go place. Not much for customer service. Definitely not a place of pride.
Pros
Flexiable hours
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Hairstylist/Manager (Former Employee) –  Strathroy, ON12 October 2017
Benefits and good working enviroment. Very busy locations so there is alot of work. Area managers can be brutal at times. Was a minumum amount of money you had to bring in to keep you job. Pretty much the only downfall of the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding workplace
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON6 October 2017
They overwork you. Don't really care about breaks or lunch time. High turn over rate and difficult managers to work with or they strive to work you to the ground. Expect you to work long hours with no incentive and only pay minimum wage.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Work you hard and only care about the customers not employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good place to Work
Owner/Manager and hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON3 September 2017
First Choice Haircutters is a national franchise company with over 500 locations throughout Canada and US. It is a good place to start Your career or if you need flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador18 August 2017
Great place to start off. Not much room for growth but great training options and very good start to get in to the industry. Taught me a lot of what I needed to know for the industry
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great steeping stone
Manager (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON14 August 2017
very busy place at times...great stepping stone in life...paid training provided and benefits after awhile...best part of the job was keeping your own tips for the day and staff made it go by quick
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apprentice
HAIRSTYLIST (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON26 July 2017
I was an apprentice. I didn't enjoy the responsibility if the client didn't like their hair. I felt bad so this was too stressful for me. The owner was nice and gave me a good opportunity. they taught when needed and allowed you to make some of your own decisions.
Pros
An income
Cons
Fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This job was great.
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 June 2017
This was by far my most favourite place to work. The staff was great, the clients were great and I felt like we were more of a family then coworkers. I wish it would have paid a little more otherwise I would never have left.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was very fun to work at First Choice
Hair stylist (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 June 2017
First Choice was fun fun environment great stuff great management busy location great customers amazing product lines ongoing training amazing work hours would love to go back very family oriented
Pros
Great staff and great customers
Cons
Long hours and lots was expected of you for little wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucked
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Amherstburg, ON4 June 2017
Great location. Some staff were great to work with except the mamager. She was very hard to get along with and wasn't management material. Just because you worked there longer then others DOESN'T make you managment !#
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They think you should be a robot .
Manager/Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Cobourg,on4 June 2017
I worked for this company for 24yrs. They were a great company but in the last year I was there they changed for the worst. They think you should work non stop not to even go to the washroom if there was customers in the store. Sometimes you need 5 mins if you haven't stopped in 2-3 hrs. The supervisor we just didn't get along. The CEO is a b. The owners never even called me too see why I left when they knew I loved my job.. if you love hairdressing don't stay there long it well take the fun out of it
Pros
Hourly wage
Cons
No life
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Hairstylist Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 March 2017
Typical day was come in open, make sure station was set up, and be ready for clients to come in. cleaning and making sure towels were ready was very important part of my day. I learned to be patient, and more communication skills. Management was good overall can work on their communication skills a little more. Hardest part of my job is I don't think I got a lot of help from my peers but I managed. I loved coming to work and cutting, coloring hair and interacting with people every day. I loved working and being a hair stylist.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad-good
Co-operative Education Student (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON25 February 2017
they treated there guests with respect, well cleaned, and great attitude but didn't let co-op students do very much work, just lots of folding and sweeping
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not flexible
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON22 February 2017
it was hard for them to accommodate my availability. some days would be really busy and other days would be really slow. working here was okay. there were great people. the management was horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good experience
Manager (Former Employee) –  canada ontario16 February 2017
You do work long hours and the pay is ok but you do make tips and that is a bonus. The give you your lunches and breaks, which is a bonus because usually being a hairstylists sometimes you don't get t eat
Pros
flexiable
Cons
work on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The unrecognized superheroines
Stylist Keyholder (Former Employee) –  Bracebridge, ON8 February 2017
My first experience working for this type of salon but I figured I should experience EVERY type of salon. This is an incredibly fast paced environment to work in and IMO these ladies are underpaid. Serving anywhere from 20 to 35 clients each per day (at least at my location)..the stylists are rockstars. All of them.
Pros
Cash tips $$
Cons
Overworked, underpaid, finger cuts from working so quickly
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great envrioment with room the grow
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON28 December 2016
typical day on the job is opening up the salon witch is very easy to learn clients usually wait for you to open up and can work by yourself until mid day witch means more tips for you. Clients are amazing and friendly can make a clientele very easily. Co-workers are all team players and there to help you learn and grow. hours change weekly as long as you are a hard worker you can count on 30 hours atleast. Your tips and commission for retail selling will make yup the extra hours aswell.
Pros
free classes to help you grow as a stylist
Cons
working different hours every week and working weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine to start for your license
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 December 2016
this is a typical company that says they care about their staff but they reallly dont. its great if your apprenticing since its a face pass environment, but i wouldnt recommend staying longer then a year
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It ok... not great
Hairstylist (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON28 November 2016
Good for first time hairdressers ,
not good for one's who want to advance in the hair industry or for one's with a family
Will only advance so far then stop.
Pros
Good job security, Good tips
Cons
Long hours going to different locations cant build a clientel
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be so much better
Hairstylist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 November 2016
I attempted to right a proper review but it would not let me continue. Seriously I wish they would of accepted my first review. I did not swear or say anything untruthful. No money is invested in the shop or in the staff that works hard.
Pros
Able to have requests book apt ect
Cons
Not a salon hiring in my area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Choice Haircutters. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 75 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.3