First Air Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I think they were very professional
Supervisor/Coordinator QA (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 October 2017
I enjoyed working in all the above places
i found them very professional
A topical day job includes meetings of awareness and goal
The workplace culture is normal
the most enjoyable parts is team work
Pros
louch outside during summer months
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall First Air is good place to work.
Buyer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 September 2017
I buy for line maintenance, so this is very challenging. Everything that they need are urgent. The challenge and you are working independently is all very positive.
Pros
You will learn a lot if you are very resourceful.
Cons
There's not a lot of opportunity and potential for internal career growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Cargo Attendant (Current Employee) –  Iqaluit, NU28 June 2017
All day you are surrounded by people who get along with each other and get the work done. It is a fairly fast paced environment that deals with extreme cold temperatures most of the year. But the good salary, amazing benefits, and the people you work with make it worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly work environment, plenty of hours and overtime required, best airline service to the north, fun and fast paced work, physicaly demanding
Cargo Agent (Current Employee) –  Cambridge Bay, NU12 June 2017
Very good patron and co-ordinator, respectful work place and organized, lots of potential for an honest reliable workers, good experience to carry once adapted to the job title, everybody respects one another.
Pros
cheap flights, very low rates for cargo shipping, benefits provided as part-time and full-time workers
Cons
not much to do on some days but keeping the warehouse clean and neat keeps the work space organized.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Air
Aircraft Engineer, M1-M2 (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT9 March 2017
I have worked for First Air for 12 years as AME at two different times in my working life and appreciated the job stability and comradery amongst the employees. The company offers great benefits and a decent salary.
Pros
Salary, benefits
Cons
many leadership changes n a short amount of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Ramp Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 March 2017
Everyday was more or less the same. Everyone you work with is very friendly and you'll get to know them since there aren't many of them, especially if you work with the night crew. Very easy and fun place to work, I would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cargo Attendant (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 February 2017
Great co-workers, great store manager, great customers and great location. Gave you the opportunity to learn and move ahead in the company. Thoroughly enjoyed the work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place if you want little work for lots of money
Aircraft Engineer, M1-M2 (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT5 January 2017
Not a career choice for me. Lots of menial work for the education required to do it. Apply only if you are not looking for skills development.
Pros
money
Cons
no room for personal development, all controlled by management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high volume work and little pay
manager (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife30 July 2016
upper management only pretend to care for employees and their safety. never spend a dime on safety and equipment. poor customer service and charge customers for everything they can imagine
Pros
travel
Cons
pay so low you can't afford to use benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
marketing (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON19 November 2015
Best part is traveling to the North and working with great people. Once in a lifetime experience. Not much opportunity for advancement, however, job security is relatively good.
Pros
travel to the north
Cons
long hours and not paid for it
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report

Want to know more about First Air?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse and outgoing
Airport Ticket Counter Agent (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON17 June 2015
Working with first air is an honor, they have a large establishment and each and every staff member I have met was always very work driven but positive and friendly at the same time. They don't neglect and give oppurtunities fairly. The hardest part is keeping up with them because they give it their all when it comes to the tasks of their job.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
working under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, repetitive but also challenging
Library Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kanata, Ontario5 March 2015
Extremely busy - customer service position dealing with employees and vendors, a great deal of photocopying and database maintenance.

Being an airline have learned much about aircraft and aircraft documentation. As well we are moving more towards a paperless environment, so have learned how to load manuals to a web site, to send e-notifications, how to use Adobe Acrobat to create/flatten documents; create CDs and DVDs

I am the only person in the Library, however I work closely with the Publications Dept.

The job involves a great deal of lifting and packing of documentation which can be difficult

I enjoy customer service and the constant changing environment which allows me new challenges to conquer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Director of Purchasing, Stores and GSE (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON11 November 2014
Excellent company for young eager employees to advance .A great family type atmosphere to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talks of a merger with Canadian North , job security lacking
Cargo Attendant (Current Employee) –  Iqaluit, NU3 August 2014
12 hr shifts , learned to work with others well. Rotational work is very enjoyable. The weather is probably the biggest con , but can deal with it well
Pros
Room and bord
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on a computer near planes
Contract Clerk/Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 July 2014
-signing workers on and off schedule
-entering data from parts to work completed onto a database
-answering phone calls from upper management about certain inquiries
-co-workers were all mostly planes technicians
-hardest part was not finishing the work too fast
-enjoyable part was the freedom to manage my own time
-management was really good
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at First
Stores Agent clerk (Former Employee) –  Ottawa8 September 2013
Thought it was an OK place until I found out how unorganized it was and the harder I tried to get involved the more I was told that (That is not what we hired you for).
Pros
Very interesting at first, good people
Cons
Managments lack of people skills, dusty dirty and greasy parts
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and easy work.
Cargo Agent (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT26 August 2013
Not the greatest job in the world, but you get paid fairly and the benefits are some of the best i've ever seen.
Pros
Benefits, easy work, meeting people
Cons
Poor managers, little to no work advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Comercial Operations (Former Employee) –  Rankin Inlet, NU31 May 2013
Enjoyed being involved in peoples travel plans, getting to experience different places in the Arctic
Pros
dicounted travel
Cons
Cold Weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being able to see how the aviation world works
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NT13 May 2013
a typical day was getting to work with a a diverse culture of people everyday from all across the world, I would check customers in and when all have checked in we would go to the gate and 1 would take the tickets and chq id and input to the computer and 1 other would take the passengers out to the plane even -50. The manager was in the office a lot but was always there when need be. we had 2 coordinators that ran the show and they were amazing always helpful. the hardest part of the job was telling someone the flight has been cancelled due to weather and next flight in 2 days. for me the most enjoyable part was meeting different people of the world listening to the stories they had but the best was being outside watching the planes take off and land
Pros
learned alot about aviation
Cons
10hr days on saturday with 5 hrs of idel time
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working environemnt
Work placement- Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON8 August 2012
Nice working environment with friendly people. All co-workers are very nice and help me a lot in my four month of work placement. Good management with good working environment.
Pros
nice environment and friendly people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at First Air. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7