First Air Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 12 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse and outgoing
Airport Ticket Counter Agent (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJune 17, 2015
Working with first air is an honor, they have a large establishment and each and every staff member I have met was always very work driven but positive and friendly at the same time. They don't neglect and give oppurtunities fairly. The hardest part is keeping up with them because they give it their all when it comes to the tasks of their job.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
working under pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and easy work.
Cargo Agent (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NTAugust 26, 2013
Not the greatest job in the world, but you get paid fairly and the benefits are some of the best i've ever seen.
Pros
benefits, easy work, meeting people
Cons
poor managers, little to no work advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, repetitive but also challenging
Library Clerk (Current Employee) –  Kanata, OntarioMarch 5, 2015
Extremely busy - customer service position dealing with employees and vendors, a great deal of photocopying and database maintenance.

Being an airline have learned much about aircraft and aircraft documentation. As well we are moving more towards a paperless environment, so have learned how to load manuals to a web site, to send e-notifications, how to use Adobe Acrobat to create/flatten documents; create CDs and DVDs

I am the only person in the Library, however I work closely with the Publications Dept.

The job involves a great deal of lifting and packing of documentation which can be difficult

I enjoy customer service and the constant changing environment which allows me new challenges to conquer.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being able to see how the aviation world works
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Yellowknife, NTMay 13, 2013
a typical day was getting to work with a a diverse culture of people everyday from all across the world, I would check customers in and when all have checked in we would go to the gate and 1 would take the tickets and chq id and input to the computer and 1 other would take the passengers out to the plane even -50. The manager was in the office a lot but was always there when need be. we had 2 coordinators that ran the show and they were amazing always helpful. the hardest part of the job was telling someone the flight has been cancelled due to weather and next flight in 2 days. for me the most enjoyable part was meeting different people of the world listening to the stories they had but the best was being outside watching the planes take off and land
Pros
learned alot about aviation
Cons
10hr days on saturday with 5 hrs of idel time
Was this review helpful?Yes14No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on a computer near planes
Contract Clerk/Data Entry Operator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJuly 3, 2014
-signing workers on and off schedule
-entering data from parts to work completed onto a database
-answering phone calls from upper management about certain inquiries
-co-workers were all mostly planes technicians
-hardest part was not finishing the work too fast
-enjoyable part was the freedom to manage my own time
-management was really good
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment
Director of Purchasing, Stores and GSE (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ONNovember 11, 2014
Excellent company for young eager employees to advance .A great family type atmosphere to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working environemnt
Work placement- Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ONAugust 8, 2012
Nice working environment with friendly people. All co-workers are very nice and help me a lot in my four month of work placement. Good management with good working environment.
Pros
nice environment and friendly people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Talks of a merger with Canadian North , job security lacking
Cargo Attendant (Current Employee) –  Iqaluit, NUAugust 3, 2014
12 hr shifts , learned to work with others well. Rotational work is very enjoyable. The weather is probably the biggest con , but can deal with it well
Pros
room and bord
Cons
weather
Was this review helpful?Yes17No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for travel seekers
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 5, 2012
Great company to work for new experience travelling in northern Canada. Having the ability to sample living in different communities in the north and bases.
Pros
travel places never been before, meeting different people
Cons
being away from home and family
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at First
Stores Agent clerk (Former Employee) –  OttawaSeptember 8, 2013
Thought it was an OK place until I found out how unorganized it was and the harder I tried to get involved the more I was told that (That is not what we hired you for).
Pros
very interesting at first, good people
Cons
managments lack of people skills, dusty dirty and greasy parts
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Comercial Operations (Former Employee) –  Rankin Inlet, NUMay 31, 2013
Enjoyed being involved in peoples travel plans, getting to experience different places in the Arctic
Pros
dicounted travel
Cons
cold weather
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2

See more First Air reviews

You may want to try:

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture