Finning Canada Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 100 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking to move forward with a company that will allow me to grow.
warehouse person (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABJuly 23, 2015
Finning has been a great company to work for. It will be hard to give up my current position but My time in Fort Mcmurray has come to an end.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kearl Life
Field Safety Officer Finning Canada (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 17, 2013
The Kearl moto is Nobody gets hurt and protect today for tomorrow, you can see straight from the get go once the oreintation starts to kick off this is not like the rest of the sites, safety is not just a bargaining chip for admission to work, it is taken seriuos at every level and if you think that you cant work safe this is not the place for you. The teams I work with are from all over Canada and have the exeprince and knowledge that you could only dream of having in your work environment. Everyone brings something different and everyone brings something weather knowlege or just good humour. The attitudes are far superiour to anywhere I have worked and really hone in the great attitudes that everyone brings to the table.There is lots of opertunity on thois site and I believe I will probably be here for a while, but there is always opertunities with other great companies to, which make my job and scope so dynamic. Safety is not for everyone but if you are a team player and you enjoy interaction, as well as good interventions the list are endless.
Pros
flights from edmonton to camp
Cons
the rooms were executive but they were taken away as the truck drivers were promised the delux room, so that has added pressure to the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary Review
JOURNEYMAN PARTSMAN (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABNovember 11, 2012
12 hour shifts begin with a 60 - 75 minute Coach ride.
Pre shift safety & awareness meetings followed by Pass over review.
Issue parts for shop job reqiurements, input sales transactions, deliver parts, assist with all availability inquiries.

Management keeps staff engaged.

Job Satisfaction overall ranks high.
Pros
enjoyable organized work place
Cons
long work days including commute from fort mcmurray
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disorganized and a lot of political childishness
Customer Service Advisor (CSA) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton Power SystemsMarch 2, 2014
The job looks great at first but the disorganized, huge lack of management and favoritism, like being in high school, deems an unpleasant job to be in. Hence the high turn over.
Pros
good pay
Cons
lack of management, lack of communication, very high turn over
Was this review helpful?Yes49No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company as a whole has a great health and safety policy
Rental Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABOctober 17, 2014
I have a job which varies throughout the working week.
I learn many things about customer service.
Management concentrates on the numbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management create animosity between 5/2 and shift workers.
Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABDecember 4, 2014
Very tough place to work with as the union runs the business and very weak/inexperienced management.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Third Year Apprentice Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 14, 2015
Job-related paper work
Caterpillar equipment experience - mining, forestry, construction & truck engines
Troubleshooting equipment
Safe use of job-related tooling and equipment
Following direction from journey persons & supervisors
Pros
Good working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Think Big Service Tech (Former Employee) –  Victoria, Bc Red deer, AbApril 8, 2015
Great company to work for. got me through school. unfortunately economic times means there is no position for me at the company
Pros
lots od different work
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i've ever worked
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BCFebruary 21, 2013
Company spared no expense on training
Supervisors were understanding and helpful
Everyone lent a hand when required
Pros
fair, great pay, excellent benefits
Cons
nothing bad to say
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over for supervisors
SERVICE SUPERVISOR/CUSTOMER SERVICE ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton,ABNovember 21, 2013
Not a good spot for long term and the lack of support from the management.
Pros
wages
Cons
union controlled
Was this review helpful?Yes42No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you dont mind the cold
Field technician (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurrayJanuary 21, 2015
Worked there for 2 years almost got laid off in the first 6 months as there was a small recession then recently got laid off again as a result of the recent low oil prices and to much supply. Overall i am not confident working for finning and dont know if i will go back.
Pros
great training
Cons
job depends on price of oil
Was this review helpful?Yes20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Recruitment Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJuly 21, 2014
My years with NACG were great. Great team, managment and salary/benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great guys
Track Press operator (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurrayOctober 14, 2013
great company and pay and benifits are great as well . Really enjoyed working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great guys to work along side with
Full time heavy duty mechanic (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABOctober 22, 2012
Most enjoyable part of my job is the chance to learn and try new things
Pros
benefits
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company
Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 1, 2015
I enjoyed working at Finning Canada,
Great company, Family team feel, structured platform and great work relationships.
Pros
Great rotation
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
LEADHAND TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BCSeptember 15, 2013
GOOD PEOPLE, COMPANY HAS CHANGED A GREAT DEAL OF ETHICS TOWARS EMPLOYEES
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
untrained new management
Was this review helpful?Yes29No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and friendly place to work
Switchboard Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton AlbertaFebruary 20, 2015
It was a good place to work, not very challenging though. Taking and relating messages to other departments.

Staff were all friendly and onsite cafeteria had good prices.
Pros
friendly enviroment
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay to work for
Parts (Former Employee) –  AlbertaFebruary 19, 2013
busy, management does not follow through with safe work procedures.
Pros
shift work
Cons
not enough training
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting people, learned a lot
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 27, 2014
The day would start off with a safety meeting, then we would be assigned tasks for the day.
-Complete the tasks, help the mechanics and tool crib, and keep the shop clean and tidy.
-managers were ok, but often contradicted each-other
-it was frustrating when safety would make certain tasks more difficult by being ridiculous
-really enjoyed the camaraderie with the mechanics
Pros
great pay
Cons
long way away from my family
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Job
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABApril 5, 2014
I finished my apprenticeship through Finning. Once I had completed my apprenticeship. My position became a field service mechanic. Performing warranty jobs at different mine-sites for Finning. Covering short man shifts for the mine-sites. Ranging from PM´s to component change outs, troubleshooting and repairing faulty equipment.
Working for a Caterpillar Dealer was a great experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 229 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9