Finning Canada Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Project Manager, Mining Major Overhauls (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB10 November 2015
this was a great company to work for. I worked at several mines and it was a good experience to see all that I saw. the only negative was the ups and downs of the oil industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and enjoyable place to work
Red Seal Heavy Duty Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB6 October 2015
A place to challenge and grow in the trade I was hired to preform. Training, and a variety of experiences available to challenge an employee to grow and develope.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finning Canada
Journeyman Heavy Duty Technician (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB9 November 2015
A great place to work before lay-offs, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Wide range of equipment to learn and work on. The company had a good training courses employees could take.
Pros
great staff
Cons
lay-offs
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounts Receivable Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 November 2014
The hardest part of my job is finding to time to handle the volume of customers calling in regularly. The most enjoyable part of my day is getting to work and having our team meetings with my coworkers. Just gives us a a moment to touch base with one another and see if there is anyway we can help each other get through the week.
Pros
Work life balance is great
Cons
Not paid enough
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kearl Life
Field Safety Officer Finning Canada (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 February 2013
The Kearl moto is Nobody gets hurt and protect today for tomorrow, you can see straight from the get go once the oreintation starts to kick off this is not like the rest of the sites, safety is not just a bargaining chip for admission to work, it is taken seriuos at every level and if you think that you cant work safe this is not the place for you. The teams I work with are from all over Canada and have the exeprince and knowledge that you could only dream of having in your work environment. Everyone brings something different and everyone brings something weather knowlege or just good humour. The attitudes are far superiour to anywhere I have worked and really hone in the great attitudes that everyone brings to the table.There is lots of opertunity on thois site and I believe I will probably be here for a while, but there is always opertunities with other great companies to, which make my job and scope so dynamic. Safety is not for everyone but if you are a team player and you enjoy interaction, as well as good interventions the list are endless.
Pros
flights from edmonton to camp
Cons
the rooms were executive but they were taken away as the truck drivers were promised the delux room, so that has added pressure to the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to get into the industry
Material Supply Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary3 June 2015
Overall a good place to get your start in the rock and dirt industry. Shift work for most positions, unless salary. Overtime pay, benefits, vacation pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary Review
JOURNEYMAN PARTSMAN (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 November 2012
12 hour shifts begin with a 60 - 75 minute Coach ride.
Pre shift safety & awareness meetings followed by Pass over review.
Issue parts for shop job reqiurements, input sales transactions, deliver parts, assist with all availability inquiries.

Management keeps staff engaged.

Job Satisfaction overall ranks high.
Pros
enjoyable organized work place
Cons
long work days including commute from fort mcmurray
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
top heavy company that doesn't care about its people
Heavy duty Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB28 March 2015
pay is good but that's the only thing that keeps people around company is run very poorly. would not recommend anyone working there
Pros
good pay
Cons
terrible executive management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, good people work there
heavy equipment technician (Former Employee) –  Red Deer Alberta28 September 2015
good work environment, good hours to work overtime available when
wanted. unfortunately I was laid off due to economic times
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regularily lays off employees every four years or so
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 September 2015
You've been warned! They will even lay off people who have worked there for over 30 years. No loyalty to their employees but expect loyalty in return.
Pros
lay-offs, lay-offs, lay-offs
Cons
lay-offs, lay-offs, lay-offs
Was this review helpful?Yes30No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comes in highly recommended with an excellent safety culture.
Apprentice 4th year (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 June 2015
Reasonable timelines and training opportunities
Very experienced team mates.
Each day has its unique challenges.
Most work accomplished as targeted.
Incomplete information can take a hefty turn
For consolation, we are often able to finish a product better than expected.
Pros
Appreciation from employee input
Cons
Priorities do not line up with budgets sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disorganized and a lot of political childishness
Customer Service Advisor (CSA) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton Power Systems2 March 2014
The job looks great at first but the disorganized, huge lack of management and favoritism, like being in high school, deems an unpleasant job to be in. Hence the high turn over.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Lack of management, lack of communication, very high turn over
Was this review helpful?Yes49No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancements are great
Administrative Assistant / Literature Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 August 2015
started out in accounts payables. Moved my family to B.C. and then back to Alberta. Moved from accounting to administrative assistanc. Where I looked after 25 new sales persons.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company as a whole has a great health and safety policy
Rental Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 October 2014
I have a job which varies throughout the working week.
I learn many things about customer service.
Management concentrates on the numbers.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and interesting.
Heavy Equipment Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Ekati, NWT22 August 2015
Lots of variety. You never knew what you were going to do from day to day. You can be out in the snow bank putting tracks on a bulldozer and in the shop during services.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking to move forward with a company that will allow me to grow.
warehouse person (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB23 July 2015
Finning has been a great company to work for. It will be hard to give up my current position but My time in Fort Mcmurray has come to an end.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management create animosity between 5/2 and shift workers.
Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 December 2014
Very tough place to work with as the union runs the business and very weak/inexperienced management.
Was this review helpful?Yes25No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i've ever worked
Customer Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC21 February 2013
Company spared no expense on training
Supervisors were understanding and helpful
Everyone lent a hand when required
Pros
fair, great pay, excellent benefits
Cons
nothing bad to say
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over for supervisors
SERVICE SUPERVISOR/CUSTOMER SERVICE ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton,AB21 November 2013
Not a good spot for long term and the lack of support from the management.
Pros
Wages
Cons
Union controlled
Was this review helpful?Yes42No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great guys
Track Press operator (Former Employee) –  fort mcmurray14 October 2013
great company and pay and benifits are great as well . Really enjoyed working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 241 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9