Find companies:
Finning Canada
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
123 reviews

Finning Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management create animosity between 5/2 and shift workers.
Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABDecember 4, 2014
Very tough place to work with as the union runs the business and very weak/inexperienced management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for a summer student
Summer Student Material Supply Assistant (Former Employee), fort mcmurrayDecember 2, 2014
Pros: they proved a bus to get from and to work
Most people were very helpful
work was enjoyable
hardest part of my day was waking up long hours but i rather work longer hours and get more days off anyways
management was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounts Receivable Representative (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABNovember 23, 2014
Pros: work life balance is great
Cons: not paid enough
The hardest part of my job is finding to time to handle the volume of customers calling in regularly. The most enjoyable part of my day is getting to work and having our team meetings with my coworkers. Just gives us a a moment to touch base with one another and see if there is anyway we can help each other get through the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company as a whole has a great health and safety policy
Rental Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 17, 2014
I have a job which varies throughout the working week.
I learn many things about customer service.
Management concentrates on the numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Service Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort McKayOctober 7, 2014
Pros: job work/life balance
Cons: stress of front line management. keeping senior management happy as well as union staff happy.
Organize, plan, manage and execute a service repair for various heavy equipment.
Manage direct reports, mentor and coach individual technicians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Certified Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 9, 2014
Good benefit, union system, easy job, everybody nice to each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work, great people and company
Assistant for Business Processes and Systems (Former Employee), Burnaby, BCSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: great people
Many years working for Finning. I grew as person and as professional. Great company with great values.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
Recruitment Assistant (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJuly 21, 2014
My years with NACG were great. Great team, managment and salary/benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Security Guard (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 6, 2014
Cons: to long of walk around fence line 4 times a night
I enjoyed working there but found the walk around the fence line to long.They expected us to walk out in -35 to-40 around a fence that was 2.5 km. If you get in trouble there is no place to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Heavy Equipment Technician (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMay 13, 2014
Highly recommended good people and a good atmosphere i don't know what else to say i just want to apply for a couple jobs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Job
Mechanic (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABApril 5, 2014
I finished my apprenticeship through Finning. Once I had completed my apprenticeship. My position became a field service mechanic. Performing warranty jobs at different mine-sites for Finning. Covering short man shifts for the mine-sites. Ranging from PM´s to component change outs, troubleshooting and repairing faulty equipment.
Working for a Caterpillar – more... Dealer was a great experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Heavy Equipment Technician (Current Employee), Fort McMurray AlbertaMarch 17, 2014
T/S, rebuild and maintain a large variety of heavy duty caterpillar equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disorganized and a lot of political childishness
Customer Service Advisor (CSA) (Former Employee), Edmonton Power SystemsMarch 2, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: lack of management, lack of communication, very high turn over
The job looks great at first but the disorganized, huge lack of management and favoritism, like being in high school, deems an unpleasant job to be in. Hence the high turn over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting people, learned a lot
Labourer (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, ABFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: long way away from my family
The day would start off with a safety meeting, then we would be assigned tasks for the day.
-Complete the tasks, help the mechanics and tool crib, and keep the shop clean and tidy.
-managers were ok, but often contradicted each-other
-it was frustrating when safety would make certain tasks more difficult by being ridiculous
-really enjoyed the camaraderie – more... with the mechanics – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turn over for supervisors
SERVICE SUPERVISOR/CUSTOMER SERVICE ADVISOR (Former Employee), Edmonton,ABNovember 21, 2013
Pros: wages
Cons: union controlled
Not a good spot for long term and the lack of support from the management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looked great.
Apprentice Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee), Fort McMurray, AlbertaNovember 2, 2013
Pros: great people.
Cons: wasn't there long enough to figure out.
I was only with them for 28 days as part of the practical training for FINNtech. In that time I really loved working for and with the people there. Only regret was not being successful in the provincial exam.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great guys
Track Press operator (Former Employee), fort mcmurrayOctober 14, 2013
great company and pay and benifits are great as well . Really enjoyed working for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience and benefits. Options for advancement poor.
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Former Employee), Campbell River, BCOctober 5, 2013
My overall satisfaction with this company was poor. I do not feel that Finning's management and supervision had any real grasp on managing people or understanding the needs of the business beyond bottom line dollars and cents. Work experience great, training minimal (for a dealership), monetary remuneration exceptional and benefits were wonderful attributes – more... to have.

Conclusion: Finning pays well but cannot organize work or streamline communication. All in all I personally would not recommend this company and have no personal desire to return to work for it either. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and rewarding job
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 25, 2013
I really enjoyed working at Finning as really good employees to work with and opportunities to learn about Heavy Equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
LEADHAND TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Surrey, BCSeptember 15, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: untrained new management
GOOD PEOPLE, COMPANY HAS CHANGED A GREAT DEAL OF ETHICS TOWARS EMPLOYEES

1 2 3 4 5

About Finning Canada

Finning International is Caterpillar's largest dealer and global business partner. They provide customized equipment solutions – Read more