Finning Canada Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Parts Technician - Mining Operations (Current Employee) –  Ekati Diamond Mine12 October 2016
The benefits and opportunities can't be beat although in this economy the company has made some major changes that affect the people on the floor. i learned a lot with this company and was able to transfer around and learn even more. my Co-Workers have always been amazing and have been a family to me.
hardest part of my job is the politics but they are everywhere.
the most enjoyable part of my job was working with the mechanics and seeing CATs New gear every year.
Pros
benefits
Cons
not enough training.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job I suppose but a meat grinder otherwise
Operations (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 October 2016
Finning is undergoing a "transformation". They're stripping out most of the experienced (i.e. well paid) employees and replacing them with people far too junior to do a decent job. This means lots, and I mean LOTS of meetings where "no idea is bad" (hint - MOST ideas are bad) and little or no direction. This also means nobody will stick their neck out to make an actual decision. If you like that sort of thing, go for it.
Pros
Decent pay if you don't mind the occasional "salary freeze"
Cons
Extremely limited opportunities for career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice facility to work at but they are closing down.
Maintenance Millwright (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB4 November 2016
I chose finning as a place to work for the long term. Unfortunately it is an unstable economy and finning management does not plan accordingly. Its a shame that 200 good people will be left without a job or displaced due to other facilities being underutilized.
Pros
Home every night. Good pay, Good hours.
Cons
Unreliable
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be from
Customer Service Manager (CSM) (Former Employee) –  AB31 October 2016
Enjoyed my time but was also happy to leave. Way to much of an old boy bully mentality. No work life balance, senior managers have a work harder not smarter mentality. Company does not keep up with technology to make things easier and more accurate for all.
Pros
lots of training
Cons
Some very poor homegrown GM's and VP's
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Finning is a complete joke
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Saskatchewan15 July 2016
Headhunted and hired for a specialty position and trained for a month. I even had to do a business plan as part of their hiring process. Business with this particular product was almost non existent so they let me go before my 3 month period was up. I literally only sold for 1 more month before they pulled the plug. What ever happened to sticking with an employee for longer than 3 months? Do yourself a favor and stay away from Finning.
Pros
salary
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stop Hiring and Firing and get a new CEO
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 September 2016
They have too much of a hire and fire mentality.
The benefits were amazing if yu get a chance to use them.
There are too many VPs and managers that have control issues.
The enjoyable part of the job was working within different departments
Pros
Excellent Benefits that start on your first day
Cons
CEO
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Marketing Claims Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 August 2016
Finning is a good place to work. In my position there was no room for advancement, only lateral moves. The jobs take quite a while to learn as they are more difficult but the pay doesn't match the amount of knowledge required or stress induced by the daily pace. The people are great and I had an awesome manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, excellent benefits
Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB24 August 2016
Union environment, poor morale. Non union staff and management work hard and earn every penny. Amazing benefits, share and RSP programs, and training possibilities.
Pros
Management is very supportive
Cons
The union works against any authority
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
in an interview
Through Diversified Agency (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB24 October 2016
if you want more information. An interview would be an ideal situation. I didn't enjoy working with this company. I learnt how nasty people could be. the hardest part of the job was showing up.
Pros
paycheque
Cons
sub managers
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Mining Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 October 2016
The people are knowledgeable and professional.
Good customer service attitude.
Strong safety culture.
Compensation can be limited.
Good employee benefit
Pros
Lots of capabiliteis
Cons
Can be bureaucratic.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Buyer / Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 May 2016
Finning had a great Atmosphere but due to so many locations there were times that communication was an issue as well as a large turnover rate which added a bit of tension. The people still maintained a happy environment by getting together for birthdays and having events and competitions for special occasions among departments.
Pros
People, Location, Advancement opportunities, Atmosphere
Cons
Turnover, Wages, Size, Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not there very long
Project Manager/ Estimator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 December 2016
Big company with lots of Red Tape
Hardest part of the job was taking over a large project that was over budget
Did not really know who I reported to for the first few months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Canadian company to work for. Lots of very nice and hard working people
Warranty Claims Technician - Heavy Equipment (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC19 May 2016
A very complex business so there are many challenges and multiple tasks keep the mind going all of the time.
Continuous change and learning, most of it on your own as you go.

Hardest part of the job is having to work at a computer station all day long. Some work is very repetitive which can be good for some but not all.
Most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with and helping other people who for the most part are friendly, professional and want to get things done.
The Manager and Supervisor of the Warranty department are very good guys who are dedicated to Finning and their team.
Pros
Teamwork, everybody tends to get along, Annual performance bonuses, Company share program, Good benefits
Cons
Job stability remains at the back of one's mind. Sitting at a computer all day is not too exciting.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly political atmosphere
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 July 2016
unionized, except they dont protect the workers, from all the political nonsense, everyone especially management only looks out for themselves
Cons
if you aren't part of the in crowd you are definatly made to feel like a second class citizen
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Regional Fleet Lead (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 November 2016
Good Place To work but there are lay offs currently
Good People to work with
Great learning Experience and knowledge gained
Pros
Great People to work with
Cons
Lay offs
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with; lots learnt
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 July 2016
One of the best companies I've worked at; had a great time in both roles I held.
No where to move up to from the positions I held without moving a different department..
Pros
Great Teams
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Parts Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB4 October 2016
Great Place to work good Pay good benifts good everything just time for a change maybe for personal reasons but its a great place that treats me well
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety orientated, fast paced, and great learning opportunities.
Student / Heavy Duty Technician Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Fairview, AB13 March 2016
Great company to work for. Lots of different aspects of the trade you get to experience. Travel within the program is a plus. Unfortunately, our program will not em employed after we graduate, as a factor of low economy and budget cuts.
Pros
Working with a variety of different techs, and staff
Cons
Abundance of safety rules.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work, some excellent co-workers
Journeyman Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB6 April 2016
safety is # 1, morning safety talks, always learning new stuff as you never know what might come in, some great co-workers, parts at times could be a problem, management promises things they maybe should not, all in all a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB13 June 2016
Busy schedule daily
Fast paced work environment
Trustworthy, effective communication between management and co- workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 241 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.9