Finning Canada Employee Reviews

Found 139 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shareholders are the KING of this company.
J/Partsperson (Former Employee) –  Sparwood, BC23 June 2017
Very frequently at quarterly meetings or "state of the company" addresses, the executive management of this company likes to spew buzzwords like "Finning Family". The Sparwood branch laid off 30+ mechanics early in November 2015. ONE day later there were emails sent out by management, requesting overtime. Very "Family" driven, i'd say! Not.

The "Employee Opinion Survey" (EOS) from the last couple years have shown the staggering decline in confidence of the Executive and Branch level management has deteriorated drastically year to year since 2011. Just ask any 5+ year Finning Employee how they feel.

The decisions made to close branches, move branches and divert work to other branches is tearing this company apart. And it is the customer who has to suffer because of it. The shareholders however, continue to be richly rewarded. The executive management are very large shareholders.

The instant there is a whiff of a rumor that work in an area might slow down or shift elsewhere - this company will lay you off. Even if it is for just as short of a period as two weeks. They'd rather waste time on paperwork to lay you off, than have you push a broom and try to retain you within the company.

Local management will try to swindle and circumvent their collective bargaining agreement as best as they can. Very little is done without absolute secrecy and there is zero transparency - until the day they decide to shut down your branch and escort you off property.

Join this company with the knowledge that you WILL lose your job at some point. No-one is safe, not even 30+ year veterans
  more... or locations where they have recently invested a LOT of capital to set up shop (Example: Red Deer OEM).

Get your apprenticeship if you can, finish it if you can... and then find a job with a company that actually values its workforce. Don't think for a second that you can start a new career with Finning and retire there. There was a time when Finning was great to work for, and they are still riding the coattails of that reputation. Hopefully people begin to see the light.
  less
Pros
Decent co-workers, decent wages
Cons
Executive Management, Complete Secrecy, Expendable workforce.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant
Parts Warehouse Administrator (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 June 2017
I enjoy the people I work with but the company itself the values are not like they used to be. We get a lot of work on our plates but no rewards. As co-workers we reward each other. I work hard and love learning new tasks. I am a good candidate for any administrative position.
Pros
Employees, benefits, hours
Cons
management, salaries, work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best employers
Recruitment Consultant (Contract Position) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 June 2017
Great company morale. Many initiatives in place for advancement and career development. Managers are well trained and company values are actually practised in the way daily business is run
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build a career and make life better
Heavy Equipment Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 June 2017
Good place to work, who knows who gets ahead and been favored most of the time which is normal in most companies because they want loyalty. Clean work place
Pros
Good get together habits
Cons
Too seceretive, Not very great in communication
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 June 2017
Management was terrible. They didn't know what their employees did Day to day just demanded more. If you like doing paperwork and nothing else great place for you to work. The people were fantastic just Management was terrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
President should be fired/terrible business planning
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB20 May 2017
They are closing down Red Deer branch ( and have already closed other towns) for no reason other than greed. Destroying families and bankruptcies is no biggie.
Customers are being lied to as well. Every person who uses Finning should boycott.
Inhuman treatment of long term employees just to bump up share prices a bit.
Never ever work for Finning. Never. It is all lies and the second you are not needed or the stock prices drop ten cents you will be liquidated so JC can look good.
Pros
Decent wages
Cons
Easily canned
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience, decent training, good pay
FIELD MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  BC17 May 2017
Good experience, decent training, good pay. Lots of support, good supplies and equipment, they give you everything you need for success generally.

Its not the old Finning that made their reputation. But still better than any other dealer around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 May 2017
While working under management who continually harass their employees and degrade them. It is very hard to maintain a positive attitude with the continuing favourtism and constant bickering and stabbing in the back from fellow employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great business with poor executive management
Planner, Supply Chain - New Product Introduction (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB1 May 2017
I really enjoyed working here as the people were great to work with, but the high number of CEO's over the last ten years has left the company without direction.
Pros
Above average pay
Cons
disjointed long term vision
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work, management is disconnected
Heavy Equipment Technician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 April 2017
It's basically an OK place to work. It's just that management is very disconnected from service, and in doing so the policies and procedures translate well into an office environment, but not on the shop floor.

I enjoy the work, the crew, the location, the hours, but the environment is toxic otherwise. Management is in need of an overhaul.
Pros
good wage, good benefits
Cons
red tape, inability to respond, inefficient
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
union atmostphere
Service Welding Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB13 April 2017
I is very difficult to work in a union setting. every one is not equal, seinority is more than ability. HR is almost never around to deal with problems.
Pros
benifits
Cons
union
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my time at finning and if i lived in red deer i would try to work there again
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB15 March 2017
i enjoyed my time at finning and if i lived in red deer i would try to work there again. I worked on and near heavy equipment. I was trained to use overhead cranes, Cat equipment, and shop machinery.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment and managemnt
Office Clerk/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 March 2017
I enjoyed my job with Finning International, management and staff were always professional and respectful to all employees continuous learning and encouragement to be successful. This company appreciated their employees and encourage them to persevere.
Pros
great employee benefits and training
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn a lot and multi-talented people
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2017
My experience is that minorities are not treated well. However, you are able to develop your career through either training Finning provides or pays for.
Pros
Training
Cons
Long hours, discrimination
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Finning.
Training and Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 February 2017
I was primarily involved with HR/LR developed employee discipline system, dealt with grievances and arbitrations. Was also responsible for all Technical training and spent time as Customer Service Manager at Hay River in the NWT.
Pros
Large International Company
Cons
Internal office politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many individuals to pull individuals from should you need helpto complete a project.
Learning Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 February 2017
Was given the ability to use interpersonal skills with the sales force and train on various commission plans. Able to communicate with all levels of personnel in and outside of the organization.
Pros
Finning Shares
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a temporary position
Temp Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 February 2017
My position here was printing and compiling binders for the various courses Finning provided. I also printed class certificates, updated attendees files and copied all their existing tickets for their files.
Pros
Fun girls to work with
Cons
Temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Product and Great Staff.
Parts Technician (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB26 January 2017
A company with a great growth potential provided that the cart is Not placed be fore the horse. The local people have a deep concern for their customer and there needs is be a balance management team in place to support these wonderful people.
Pros
Treated fair, great experience.
Cons
too many missing links in management(organizational) chain
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the management
Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  edmonton,AB20 January 2017
it depends if the management is good, it will be the best place to work, but if management is bad it will be nightmare. Working with my old manager was heaven, my new manager was bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work life balance
Customer Service Advisor (Current Employee) –  Clairmont, AB17 January 2017
-very fast paced most days but management sets unrealistic goals for month end
-learned to multi task and organize a lot better
-co workers are a good team to work with
-hardest part is to get everything all done in one day
-making the customer happy and finishing the goal that you set for your self to get done for the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Finning Canada. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 282 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.8