FGL Sports Employee Reviews

Showing all 35 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No real direction
Enterprise Application Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 May 2016
Depending on where you worked at FGL, the capacity for advancement was low. Management seemed to change every three months. Salary was low -- no incentives were ever offered.
Culture was lazy.
Pros
Too Easy
Cons
Too Easy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management but Good Friends
Head Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 December 2016
During my time at this company I was treated with hostility and disrespect. Management makes promises they cannot keep and will tend to focus more on sales then on good employee morale.

The co-workers were good and I made good friends while here.

Overall this job was hard to cope with when it came to management and duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great peopleto workwith,flexible scheduling
Department manager (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB14 December 2016
Customer service based, flexible scheduling for school or sports. work mostly nights, weekends, holidays. room for advancement for the right individual. not a minumum wage company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and patience required workplace
Footwear Department Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 April 2016
I've learned:
- how to have patience and communicate with customers whose English is their second language
- How to stay organized in a large work space
- how to prioritize
- Communicate with co-workers

Management could be more respectful of our own personal time

Hardest part of the job in having patience when there is a lack of communication or when you must handle the floor on your own.

The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting customers and being able to interact with them
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly co-worker
Quality Assurance Analyst (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 December 2016
FGL is a good and friendly working environment. You can get support from other team easily. Working culture in FGL/Marks are very relaxing and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cash Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 July 2016
FGL is a fun place to work. on a given day it can be busy and the day flies by. There was a lot of drama however, making work not always the easiest or best environment. hardest part of the job was trying to keep the drama down. i mostly enjoyed making new friends.
Pros
made new friends
Cons
distance to drive from work to home, some management wasn't very professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON14 November 2016
Normally would set up ads and do tasks to set up the shop floor. Sales were also required but not very difficult to do. In terms of product knowledge, if you had personal experience with the products it was a plus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good place to work and build customer service as well as sales skills
Title - Sales Associate (Footwear) (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 May 2016
It can be very busy and overwhelming at times but the management does a good job preparing you with the knowledge and skills needed to get through day to day tasks. The hardest part is trying to balance the store operation tasking with busy customer service duties.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Employee (Former Employee) –  Calgary16 October 2016
Good place to work with nice people. Focused on healthy active lifestyle. Lean teams, dynamic fast paced environment, and approachable employees.
Pros
Healthy active lifestyle focus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst
Business Analyst (contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 March 2016
Working with FGL was a great experience. People there were wonderful and worked as a team. The project I worked on was very interesting as it involved how to use IT as a service.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy active lifestyle
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON31 March 2016
Working at sportschek has been an adventure, the management where all friendly and positive. It is an awesome atmosphere and offers knowledge and training to anyone willing to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work for temporary purposes
Receiver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 April 2016
Good Company for temporary purposes with great working environment. Management was ok and work itself is physically demanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you build a positive and productive workplace by fun ideas and find it useful
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 December 2012
1. A typical day at work...

To complete shipping orders and loading of material onto truck for the day.

2- What you learnt.

I learnt to prioritize my task and meet the required deadline on time.

3- Management

Overall management was good in terms of making sure that I was eqipped to do my job on a daily basis by providing me the knowledge and guidance when needed.

4- Co - Workers

My co-workers were easy to get along with and always helpful when I seek their assistance.

5. Hardest part of the day.

The hardest part of the day can sometime be the ability to reach a deadline on time.

6. The most enjoyable part of the day.

This most enjoyable part of the day was completing my task with a sense of accomplishment.
Pros
shift availability, salary expection, distance from home, overtime
Cons
rotational shift
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot , having good experience.
Packer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 March 2013
I leaned working in a team, made unity with my co-workers. Havent seen any hardest part in my job, as i was having good interest in it. Enjoyable part of my job was when i work with full energy and when my co-workers praises me for my work.
Pros
good environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work and good ethical value
Seasonal team member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 March 2016
a nice place to work and ethical value and mission are top work in ethics and principle.team work is appreciate and encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good workplace and professional co-workers
IT SERVICE ASSURANCE ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 October 2014
Best place to start aт IT career in Canada. Great colleagues and very good professionals, a wonderful place to raise professional skills.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Still not find something
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well developed job with a chance for personal and professional growth
Power Equipment Instructor-Receiving DT (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON28 January 2014
High paste working environment with 100% requirement for multi tasking.
Learning experience :
Leadership, non stop improving communication skills, team work etc.
Adequate management.
Training multiple staff with limited knowledge of English could be difficult as to everyone should have the same understanding of their duties/responsibility. However seeing the staff after training performing on a professional level is a rewarding part of the job.
Pros
secure employment
Cons
inconsistent work flow
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON22 March 2015
Management is not fair when assigning shifts.

Typical day at work consists of putting out stock and assisting customers.

I have learned a lot about bikes, skis, snowboards, and hockey equipment.

Co-workers are fun and enjoyable to be with.

Nothing is hard at this job.

Most enjoyable part is the co-workers.
Pros
Co-workers, short hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Clear Direction
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON5 August 2014
FGL Sports, now a division of Canadian Tire, provides a clear direction and clear expectations for their staff. Although a lot of people do not agree with the direction and decisions made, communication of company ideals is not an issue. Co-workers are for the most part great people who are easy to get along with. A culture needs to be created with the goal of keeping key members of the staff around.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff, Low Hours.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Barrie ON.7 July 2015
Casual, working alongside great people. Management is okay, some managers better then others. A fairly easy job to work at. Would recommend working here if you play sports or are an active individual.
Pros
Discount, great staff.
Cons
Low hours each week.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9