FGL Sports Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and patience required workplace
Footwear Department Associate (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 5, 2016
I've learned:
- how to have patience and communicate with customers whose English is their second language
- How to stay organized in a large work space
- how to prioritize
- Communicate with co-workers

Management could be more respectful of our own personal time

Hardest part of the job in having patience when there is a lack of communication or when you must handle the floor on your own.

The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting customers and being able to interact with them
Pros
Discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No real direction
Enterprise Application Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMay 8, 2016
Depending on where you worked at FGL, the capacity for advancement was low. Management seemed to change every three months. Salary was low -- no incentives were ever offered.
Culture was lazy.
Pros
Too Easy
Cons
Too Easy
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Analyst
Business Analyst (contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 31, 2016
Working with FGL was a great experience. People there were wonderful and worked as a team. The project I worked on was very interesting as it involved how to use IT as a service.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy active lifestyle
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2016
Working at sportschek has been an adventure, the management where all friendly and positive. It is an awesome atmosphere and offers knowledge and training to anyone willing to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work and good ethical value
Seasonal team member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 23, 2016
a nice place to work and ethical value and mission are top work in ethics and principle.team work is appreciate and encouraged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work for temporary purposes
Receiver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 14, 2016
Good Company for temporary purposes with great working environment. Management was ok and work itself is physically demanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
IT AVP Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  CalgarySeptember 9, 2015
This is the biggest office I have worked in. Everyone is very friendly and makes you feel like family. I enjoyed making everyone smile on a daily basis from 8 am - 4 pm. I was well respected by every person that entered the office from employees to contractors to vendors. I have gained a lot of knowledge for the information technology world and achieved some great skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work!
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  LavalOctober 21, 2015
Pleasant work experience! Great people to work with and great atmosphere! A lot of great events and had a great boss! Great company to work with!
Pros
A lot of work events to have fun
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff, Low Hours.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Barrie ON.July 7, 2015
Casual, working alongside great people. Management is okay, some managers better then others. A fairly easy job to work at. Would recommend working here if you play sports or are an active individual.
Pros
Discount, great staff.
Cons
Low hours each week.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Milton, ONMarch 22, 2015
Management is not fair when assigning shifts.

Typical day at work consists of putting out stock and assisting customers.

I have learned a lot about bikes, skis, snowboards, and hockey equipment.

Co-workers are fun and enjoyable to be with.

Nothing is hard at this job.

Most enjoyable part is the co-workers.
Pros
co-workers, short hours
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive with different experience
Seasonal Team Member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga ONJanuary 22, 2015
Its a cool and friendly environment to work with management and coworkers, we all get along and work as a team in order to fulfilled our daily task. the most enjoyable moment is when i learn something new and put it in to action and accomplish what i was given to do in a timely manner.
Pros
sometimes
Cons
one hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, nice place
picking, packing, labeling (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 5, 2015
before we start we do exercises every morning, people are very friendly.the management is are also great. packing sometimes picking, labeling they changed you type every times. to make you can do everything in case.
Pros
no free lunches
Cons
not really
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Clear Direction
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ONAugust 5, 2014
FGL Sports, now a division of Canadian Tire, provides a clear direction and clear expectations for their staff. Although a lot of people do not agree with the direction and decisions made, communication of company ideals is not an issue. Co-workers are for the most part great people who are easy to get along with. A culture needs to be created with the goal of keeping key members of the staff around.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Business Systems Analys - Manhattan Consultant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 22, 2014
I really enjoyed working at FGL sports. I have configured Manhattan Warehouse management system from Scratch for one of their DCs, they have recently opened in Calgary. Also configured Ecomm module in WMS and then integrated with SAP-Hybris Ecomm Engine.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well developed job with a chance for personal and professional growth
Power Equipment Instructor-Receiving DT (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJanuary 28, 2014
High paste working environment with 100% requirement for multi tasking.
Learning experience :
Leadership, non stop improving communication skills, team work etc.
Adequate management.
Training multiple staff with limited knowledge of English could be difficult as to everyone should have the same understanding of their duties/responsibility. However seeing the staff after training performing on a professional level is a rewarding part of the job.
Pros
secure employment
Cons
inconsistent work flow
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you build a positive and productive workplace by fun ideas and find it useful
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONDecember 14, 2012
1. A typical day at work...

To complete shipping orders and loading of material onto truck for the day.

2- What you learnt.

I learnt to prioritize my task and meet the required deadline on time.

3- Management

Overall management was good in terms of making sure that I was eqipped to do my job on a daily basis by providing me the knowledge and guidance when needed.

4- Co - Workers

My co-workers were easy to get along with and always helpful when I seek their assistance.

5. Hardest part of the day.

The hardest part of the day can sometime be the ability to reach a deadline on time.

6. The most enjoyable part of the day.

This most enjoyable part of the day was completing my task with a sense of accomplishment.
Pros
shift availability, salary expection, distance from home, overtime
Cons
rotational shift
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment.
Data-Entry/File Clerk (Former Employee) –  CalgaryOctober 2, 2012
Life fitness style workplace. Friendly and pleasant work environment. Management is approachable and understanding. Co-workers are co-operative. Hardest part of the job was managing work load. Most enjoyable part of the job is the courteous behaviour of the whole company.
Pros
discount coupons
Cons
not much scope for rising.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leaving customers happy
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCMarch 8, 2014
Being a cashier, I am the first employee the customer sees when they walk and the last one as they walk out. This position requires me to be highly motivated and have high customer service skills. I enjoy this job because I have the opportunity to interact with customers all over the world.
Pros
flexible
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good workplace and professional co-workers
IT SERVICE ASSURANCE ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2014
Best place to start aт IT career in Canada. Great colleagues and very good professionals, a wonderful place to raise professional skills.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
still not find something
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot , having good experience.
Packer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 20, 2013
I leaned working in a team, made unity with my co-workers. Havent seen any hardest part in my job, as i was having good interest in it. Enjoyable part of my job was when i work with full energy and when my co-workers praises me for my work.
Pros
good environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture