Find companies:
Fastenal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Fastenal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Sales Support (Former Employee), Mehoopany, PADecember 16, 2013
Pros: easy to get along with management, decent pay, flexible shifts, work around college schedule
Cons: little to no breaks, long commute, traveling
Excellent management, learn great skills, awesome coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales assistant
sales assistant/office help (Former Employee), Jonesville, MIDecember 16, 2013
Pros: easy
Cons: the manager!!!!
this job is a joke. the manager will not accept any suggestions and is arrogant. he belittles you in front of everyone. provides no help with questions. expects more out of the "new" person than the regular employees that have been there longer. does not like to be told he is wrong and will fire you on the spot if he doesn't agree with what you have – more... told him. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full administrative responsibilities
Personal Assistant (Former Employee), Elk Grove, ILDecember 13, 2013
Performed full administrative duties. Answered client calls. Scheduled meeting for DM established new business via outside sales rep leads.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot's of freedom, good education, awesome product knowledge
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Lakeland, FLDecember 12, 2013
Pros: freedom to run business without scrutiny
Cons: long hours with high pressure
You learn a lot about different products but are often working 50 hours a week and spend more time with your co workers than with your family. The company talks up the pay but over all it is lacking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on the job training
Outside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Flint, MIDecember 12, 2013
Trainings and product knowledge easily accessible. Upper management has a focus on big picture growth and profits for stockholders
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Established Company to work for.
Outside Salesperson (Current Employee), Fowler, CADecember 6, 2013
Pros: great company to be a part of, great people to work with.
Cons: economy or weather can hurt sales and comissions.
Receive and pick sales orders, Load my truck with all my orders and invoices, check emails from customers and othe Fastenal Stores, Hit the road by 8:30am to see my scheduled customers for the day, Deliver all completed orders, Cold calls, Once back to the store in the afternoon, I close out all invoices for delivered orders, Place all new orders into – more... system, Perform cycle counts, Inventory Control, Run the store until end of the day, perform all closing procedures, Go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Part-time Sales Support (Current Employee), Riverdale, GADecember 5, 2013
Pros: weekends off
Cons: not enough hours. totally sales.
Great job but I would like a job more suitable to my skill set. It is part-time and I would like to be working full-time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastenal
Sortation Auditor (Current Employee), Winona, MNDecember 4, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: takes a long time to get your reviews
In all Fastenal is a great company to work for. You start out above minimum wage and there are many opportunities to move within the company. It all depends on where you work on what hours you will get. The management is great and is always listening to what you think they should do to make it a better work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but not willing to promote
Sales Support Agent (Current Employee), College Park, GADecember 3, 2013
The pay is great but an opportunity for advancement is not likely. But they will add more duties for you to do...with the same pay. Unappreciated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Garden Grove, CANovember 25, 2013
good job but very hard to move up. cut throat environment. hard goals to meet. Last month is last month
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Order Picker/Sortation (Former Employee), Lakewood, WANovember 22, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: short breaks
Good fun place to work at. The people are great and easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work for and provided me with knowledge of tools, etc.
Outside Sales Person (Former Employee), Pelham ALNovember 22, 2013
Pros: uncapped commissions
Check my schedule for appointments and spent the day performing outside marketing.

The hardest part of my job was getting to know the different types of products will sold.

The most enjoyable part of my job was the support of my management team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Pay but not a whole lot of love
Sales Associate / Outside Sales Person (Former Employee), Oswego ILNovember 21, 2013
Company is one of the fastest growing industrial supply company because one thing, push push push!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Supply Chain Management Intern (Former Employee), Aberdeen, MDNovember 18, 2013
I enjoyed my time in Fastenal because my suggestions were put into action and implemented by my manager. During my employment at Fastenal, my manger recognized my motivation in my performance; in return he gave me his trust by allowing me to run the warehouse on certain days of the week. Working in a independent environment stimulated the growth of – more... my problem solving and communication skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to be
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee), Denton, TXNovember 18, 2013
you do the same exact same day in and day out, management is terrible and there is no advancement with the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
outside sales business to business
Outside Sales Account Executive (Former Employee), Winona, MNNovember 15, 2013
Pros: working on my own
went out in the community and visited with different factories and businesses to meet face to face to sell them supplies or obtain their business, they sold all kinds of hvac, electrical, hydraulics, plumbing, hand and power tools, janitorial etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Part time sales (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 15, 2013
Was the sales associate and assistant. I was in charge of restocking, cleaning, and helping customers when they came in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fastenal
Outside Sales (Current Employee), San Jose, CANovember 13, 2013
Pros: good job out of college or for getting a foot in the door
Cons: pay, room for advancement, hours, working days with 0 customers (black friday, new years, day after christmas)
Fastenal is an ok foot in the door but that is about it aside from the freedom they give you. The pay is bad especially in the bay area and the turnover is insane.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of freedom
Outside Sales (Current Employee), New Ulm, MNNovember 13, 2013
Pretty decent place to work with a lot of freedom. Not the best pay for entry level positions though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Atlanta, GANovember 13, 2013
making sure you careful of mistakes ,great co-workers, and nice christmas gift

About Fastenal

Fastenal Co (NASDAQ: FAST) is an American company based in Winona, Minnesota. Selling industrial and construction supplies and – Read more