Find companies:
Fastenal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
466 reviews

Fastenal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get what you put into it.
DOT Truck driver (Former Employee), Lakewood, WAMay 28, 2014
Pros: lots of money
Cons: negative people.
I was a truck driver for about 5 years. The pay was ok. Although it sucks if your new to the company. But you get tons of vacation 2 weeks after your first year. And three after 5. 10 you get a month. The Manager Pushed us To The limit. 70/8day week. I had to tell her not to call me to cover shifts after a while. She's gone now. The manager now is awesome – more... to work with. Super nice guy. You will drive out of state and pick up backhauls. You won't be home very much if you have some certain routes. But there are some that can be sweet runs. If you manage your time right. They have good benifits. If you work on the part time side...it's not so great. But it is what it is. A JOB. So if you work hard and don't complain all the time, check the website. You can advance quickly if your smart about it... IMO it's a great place to start a career. So get your CDL and you will make more than your boss. Trust me! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt send Vladmir Putin to work here
General Manager (Former Employee), Denver, COMay 20, 2014
Pros: going home
Cons: going in
This company is a joke. The culture consists of a "do it or die" attitude with very little support. Most people are promoted because they landed one big contract and the previous guy quit to make more money somewhere else. They refuse to make it easy to sell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Considerable amount of turnover
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXMay 14, 2014
Pros: vendors are good, safety first
Cons: considerable turnover
Loved this company in a whole. The day would start with checking e-mails and purchasing. Quotes for new business was the most of this job. I received the totes from shipping and put up stock. I kept a clean and tight ship. In 4 years had 3 Managers and 3 District Managers. It was like starting over to prove yourself all of the time. This company could – more... not keep help. They were very professional and safe for all employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hands on
Outside Sales Person (Former Employee), Findlay OhioMay 14, 2014
This company is very caring and goes the extra length to meet the customers needs. They can be a little pricey, but you are paying for more than the item, your paying for the customer service that comes with it. Fastenal is a very good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough and not well run in my area
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), York, PAMay 13, 2014
This company needs to stick with a goal and achieve it before changing to the next best thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is a challenge and i welcome that
Account Manager/ outside sales (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 11, 2014
Busy, exciting, always on my toes. I accept the challenge of my position and always exceed above and beyond goal. My day always starts with laughter with my co-workers, we know how to make all moments positive. I dont accept hard parts in my job, we make a job hard when it should be a lesson and a mission to overcome. I love signing new accounts that – more... told me no in the first meeting, but thats when i knew i had them, NO is when i accept the challenge. I play fair but hard and i am determined to have the business, I have a nickname and thats a Active guru meaning i make it happen and activate accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they say you are your own boss
Outside sales (Former Employee), Tulare, CAMay 6, 2014
good pay but managers are horrible mine could not tell me how to print a sales report for an osp district meeting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Production Lead (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 4, 2014
Not enough advancements. Everyone starts at part time and it takes too long to advance in this type of place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, NYMay 1, 2014
Pros: paid vacation
Cons: job security
learned inventory skills and product knowledge, liked the people i worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Expereince
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee), Lewisville, TXApril 28, 2014
Pros: if.
Cons: no lunch breaks, not paid enough commission.
Only advancement is through sales positions. Long work hours. Typically would work from 615am till 5:30 pm. Loved the fast paced environment. If your branch is understaffed it is very easy to become overwhelmed or stressed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong growing company
Outside Sales (Current Employee), Morris, MNApril 27, 2014
Pros: great benifits, job security
Cons: strong compitions for promotion, store level is left to do many things soemtimes seems like little help from dc and corporate.
10 hr work days can get to be long but fly by. The store personnel are often left with many things to do besides being out on the road selling and sometimes seems to be abandoned by upper management and corporate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 27, 2014
A typical day includes sourcing product, viewing manufacturer drawings and samples, sending out request for quotes and compiling prices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All In A Days Work
Sales Support Associate (Former Employee), Hollywood, MDApril 25, 2014
Pros: co-workers, sunday off
Cons: lacked challenge
Lots of down time. But a great start to learning buying position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable experience, but limited upside income potential.
Branch Sales Manager (Former Employee), Fort Washington, PAApril 23, 2014
Pros: large corportation with huge reach to over 2 million products.
Cons: poor commision structure that limited commission upside.
In the 5 years or so working for this company I learned many different skills.

Received and took advantage of training opportunities every step of the way.

Acquired hiring, sales growth, purchasing, sales management, inventory control, merchandising and many other skills.

The most difficult part of this job was being restricted to a small territory. – more... I saw larger opportunities in other regions as I traveled.

The most enjoyable part of this job was getting the satisfaction that as a team we were able to take a bleeding store and turn in profitable through hard work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Will never be successful two years in a row!
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Clarence, NYApril 21, 2014
Pros: you can have a good year...
Cons: you will not have two good years in a row.
You might have a great year but don't get used to the decent paychecks...they will go way down next year since your commission is based mostly off of growth and not sales percentage. Ride the wave because it's up and down and when you average it all out...you are making less then other sales positions out there. Management is almost always a joke or – more... non-existent...just keep selling, they care about nothing else. Each store is run like a franchise but minimal profits are given for "running the store like it's your own". If it was my store I'd be making 5-8 times the money. How the store is run and whether it's laid back or a mess is completely up to the General Managers. One store might be fun and laid back and another might be horrible to work at...all depends on the personality of the GM. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time receiver HHub Modesto ca
Receiver (Former Employee), Modesto, CAApril 18, 2014
Cons: worst warehouse
The managers are lazy the pay is awful. No advancements. Worked hard for nothing. No training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aggressive growth
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee), Auburn, WAApril 18, 2014
Great place to sink your teeth into sales. The have great prices on fasteners, and can get almost anything for the industrial and construction industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Low Pay
Sales Support (Current Employee), Pittsburg, KSApril 18, 2014
Pros: weekends off, no travel, home every night by 5;30
Cons: low paying but high expectations.
Great place to work if money isn't very important to you. There is opportunity to advance, but you never receive even adequate compensation for your work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrid
Warehouse Associate (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 15, 2014
This place lacks proper management and organization. Almost anyone can be promoted to management and it's usually the dumbest workers of all. Full-time employees are given bogus low salaries so that the company can pay as little overtime as possible. Benefits are almost non-existent. Safety is not one of their priorities. Neither is efficiency.This – more... place doesn't even care about how well you perform your job. A recurring theme that I've heard many people say is, "At least he/she/you/I showed up." Luckily I only do this part time on the weekends for a little extra cash. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a sales job at a sales company
Sales Support (Former Employee), OregonApril 12, 2014
Cons: pay, useless discount
What ever else Fastenal is, it is a sales driven company with a cultivated corporate culture. This means you're really only as good as your numbers and customer's potential.They talk a lot about service, but mostly it's about numbers. My manager once gave me a speech about the customer service heart. I don't like sale or customer service so to me it – more... was just a bunch of slightly less greasy than the next guy sales people. – less

About Fastenal

Some might say it has a screw loose, but things are really pretty snug at Fastenal. The company operates about 2,600 stores in – Read more