Find companies:
Fastenal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
524 reviews

Fastenal Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uptempo work place with rising expectations.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Findlay, OHOctober 21, 2014
Typical day or work requires allocating products for customers. Arrive at 6:30am and unload the product brought by the company semi. Deliver the product once it has been sorted and packaged. Great experience of sales from a part-time standpoint. Hardest part of the job is learning all of the different parts and product that Fastenal offers. Most enjoyable – more... part of the job is the friendly environment that the staff offers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable with something new everyday
General Manager (GM) (Former Employee), Chehalis, WAOctober 18, 2014
Pros: salary and my awesome customers
Cons: unskilled upper management that did'nt accept accountability.
A typical day: Meetings, sales, receiving product, researching product for customers.

Learned: a good sales person listens 80% and talks 20% of the time. I also had to learn how to be a manager first and to keep drama to simmer.

Management: learning to multi-task and delegate. Not easy but I learned how.
Co-workers: We were all like family and with – more... that we made a great team!
Hardest part of job: Being a manager first and a friend last.

most enjoyable part: My customers made everyday a blast! My co-workers made work easy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with full gym and showers
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Jessup, PAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: free usage of the gym that was threre
Cons: having to work late hours
A typical day at work would include working in spurts and organizing things before it is actually time to load the trucks so there is a little bit of free times in between but if you don't use it wisely to get yourself ready then it will be a long hard night. I learned a lot while I was there I learned how to drive and operate forklifts I learned the – more... differences with cdl and non cdl trucks and how they can and have to be loaded differently as far as the amount of weight is concerned. Management here was very fun to work with as well as understanding of particular situations that may arise when at a workplace. Hardest part of the job was being timed and having a very short window of how much time you had to load a truck sometimes but not all the times was it like that. The most enjoyable part of the job was when you were finished and you printed that ltr and the report was empty meaning that you did not miss anything. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work like a slave for little to no pay
Key Account Buyer/Planner (Former Employee), Langhorne, PAOctober 14, 2014
Commission structure changed frequently and you could never get accurate figures to allow you to calculate your commission
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad pay Bad hours
Outside Sales Rep (Former Employee), Gilbert, AZOctober 13, 2014
Pay very little for working extra hours and generating leads.
Managemtn usually takes all good leads as their own
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
General Manager SVTX (Former Employee), Stephenville, TXOctober 9, 2014
Loved the people I worked with, but upper management liked to micro-manage
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great sales education programs.
Construction Sales Manager (Current Employee), Akron, OHOctober 9, 2014
Pros: i travel enough to keep my job interesting.
Cons: some travel expenses come out of my pocket.
My day starts at 6:30 a.m. I spend half of my week covering and maintaining a large group of customers in the Ohio market. The other half of the week is spent putting together the next sales territory for the next sales specialist, currently Pittsburg. One day a week, I spend in my Akron office doing all of the paperwork that needs to be caught up on – more... from the week. My day usually ends about 5p.m.

I have learned that it takes great drive and leadership to be successful in a sales position that gives you a lot of freedom. Sales is a position that will always pay a person on there worth.

The hardest part of my job, is all of the different personality dynamics. I can work with many different groups of people while landing a new potential customer. The list of people are as follows but not limited to the customer and their superiors; Fastenal, the outside sales person, store manager, district manager, and regional manager. Everyone in this group could have a different opinion as to how the account should be ran, and it is sometimes difficult to convey one message to so many different dynamics.

I love the freedom to be my own boss, and have a job that I am relied on to perform, but trusted to do it the way I think is best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Picking and Packing (Former Employee), Winona, MNOctober 8, 2014
Same process during picking repeated over and over
Good people to work for
hard to climb in company
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience but hard place to work
General Sales and Operations Manager (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCOctober 4, 2014
Days are longer than most jobs. Learned how to manage people effectively. The management is not great. My co-workers were hit and miss in the quality department. There were too many young kids out of college that didn't commit to a career with Fastenal. It was a revolving door of employees. The hardest part of the job was the pay. Best part was the – more... team aspect. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment yet Unexperienced
Part Time Sales Support (Former Employee), Lebanon, INOctober 2, 2014
I believe what slowed me down at this job was the fact that I went in with no expectation and no real knowledge of what I was going to be doing from day to day. I believe I did the best I could with what I was given but I most certainly could have worked harder to learn the individual parts that we sold. I would say that was most certainly the hardest – more... part of this job was that I had no real experience with nuts and bolts and things of that nature before I started, giving me nothing to go from. I enjoyed the environment I worked in and my co-workers were patient with me and helped whenever I needed it. Overtime I most certainly got better with knowing the parts and working more thoroughly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Support
Sales Support/Internship (Current Employee), Houma, LASeptember 30, 2014
Horrible job. horrible management no room for advancement. all they do is lie
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Hours
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Hopkinsville, KySeptember 29, 2014
Opened store with manager. Greeted customers and helped locate items and merchandise. Explained any necessary product information to customer to ensure knowledge was maximized. Strived for customer service excellency and accurate orders from large businesses to smaller customer orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun envirenment to work in
Accounts Receivable Associate (Former Employee), Marshall, MISeptember 29, 2014
Pros: attend to same customers on a daily basis
Cons: can be very stressful
I would arrive at work at 7:30am where I would open the store and unload our daily truck containing all the merchandise that needed to be delivered that day. Throughout the morning I would put stock away and run the inside of the store helping customers find their desired merchandise and check them out when they were ready. After stock cart had been – more... put away I would gather the merchandise that needed to be delivered and deliver it to all of our customers. In the afternoon I would work on the stores over all accounts by collecting past due payments from customers and making sure the store was up to date on paying the bills and taxes. I would generally leave around 5:00pm after locking up and closing the store. I worked three full days a week. The hardest part of the job was having to multitask by answering phone calls and helping customers at the same time when I was the only one in the store for that day. After a few weeks I found a great balance and managed multitasking very well. I only had four coworkers and they were all very nice and supportive people to work for and with. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was helping the customers get exactly what they need in a timely manner and observing how happy they were. I learned a lot about management watching my manager work on a daily basis and viewing how he handled running the store and certain situations he would receive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
General Manager (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 24, 2014
Sales is a great business if you're a driven motivated person
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for new drivers.
CDL-A driver (Former Employee), Lakewood, WASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: consistant pay and clean equipment
Cons: physical requirements are not as represented, watch your back, literally!
This is not the place for older seasoned drivers. The pay is not sufficient for the job requirements and the job description does not match the job. Tread lightly and document your time and experiences while there, you'll need it. The traffic manager in the KHUB is the only person there with trucking experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what you make it
General Manager (Former Employee), Arlington, TXSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: yearly vendor training's in minnesota and florida
Cons: employer # 10, 489. vs. knowing your company owner and growing thru experience, performance, and being able to retire
They start everyone off PT 10.00 counter retail sales. 1-1/2 years later I
I've been promoted to branch manager and sent to broken stores to analyze the problem with sales/operations. Fire & Hire new staff

Bottom line, great company to work fork. offers good training, and all the tools you will need to be successful but AGAIN, it is what you make it
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth Through Customer Service
National Accounts Sales Specialist (Current Employee), Eagan, MNSeptember 21, 2014
7am-5pm Monday through Friday.
Fast paced environment where we strive to provide top-notch customer service in the Fastener and Safety industry.
Great opportunity for internal advancement. Fastenal chooses to hire and promote internally verses externally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and Great College Learning Environment
Distribution Finance Intern (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling, open door management, hands on experience
Cons: lack of advancement
I have worked at Fastenal's Indianapolis DC for about 7 months now and have to say it is a really great place for a College Student to get some hands on experience while in his studies. They give you the opportunity to learn the ropes and expand your skills a qualifications in any way you want.

Really the major downside is the potential of full time – more... hire out of college. I have been in conversations with my superiors, HR, and Hub Manager and they just don't seem like they are much into hiring FT workers right out of college unless its in the warehouse floor (which I cant do for physical reasons). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well organized place with a good moral
Inventory Clerk (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: good hours and pay raise opportunities
Cons: part time
I had a very repetitive job while I was at Fastenal. But there was a lot to learn about it. I did reports, inventory, and paperwork management. It was the start of my warehouse experience and knowledge. The management there was great and understanding of whatever needs you had. The co-workers were very hard workers and were always willing to help. The – more... hardest part of the job was having to find the lost product that wasn't in the inventory. And the most enjoyable part of the job was doing a hands-on job and staying busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Cult
Outside Sales (Former Employee), WISeptember 15, 2014
Pros: good structure, a plan
Cons: not alot of high level advancement without joining the following
When you join the company you have to buy in to the belief, the system, and bleed blue. Its more about making friends and networking than putting in a hard days work and if you smooze the clients and keep them happy you'll go far if you buy into the company philosophy. Just alot of low level jobs that burn through young people and the only people who – more... advance far in the company are those who know someone. – less

About Fastenal

Some might say it has a screw loose, but things are¬†really pretty snug at Fastenal. The company operates¬†about 2,600 stores in – Read more