Find companies:
Fastenal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
452 reviews

Fastenal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
In store and outside salesman of product (Current Employee), GreensburgJune 5, 2014
Great Customers and co-workers. Love going out to sell to customers. Love my customer relationship that walk in daily as well to get them the product they need and think they need. Find the products that they are not sure where they can find them or what it is that they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Co-workers little advancement
Sales Trainee (Current Employee), Charleston, ILJune 4, 2014
Pros: fun and fulfilling work enviroment
Cons: little advancement opportunity
This company claims to promote frequently inside of the company from what I have seen and heard they do not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a long term job
Sales Support (Current Employee), Fond du Lac, WIJune 2, 2014
The hours are decent, but the pay is below average and there is little potential to move up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Support (Current Employee), Janesville, WIMay 29, 2014
Pros: great people and discounts
Cons: no benefits for part timers
Assist customers with needs, answer phones and direct to correct person, daily invoices, and stock shelves
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to get work experiance from
Branch and Sales Manager (Former Employee), Tualatin OREGONMay 29, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: constant corporate changing
Run and operated in a decentralized manor when I was working allowed a lot of flexibility and creativity to be successful. It was trying when hiring, training, selling, bookkeeping etc... was an everyday task. It was like running your own business in a lot of ways and over the time I was there the corporate culture started to change and become more – more... aggressive in sales growth, the turnover became substantial in both management and sales force. ''Hire and Promote'' became a theme losing sight of customer needs at times. The push to open more branches became priority and every business conversation started revolving around the investors. I enjoyed the challenges and fast paced world in this market, I would do it again considering the rewards of the business with customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping stone
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee), Kenosha, WIMay 28, 2014
Pros: good entry level experience
Cons: inconsistent direction, high turnover, poor pay
A typical workday consists of receiving in the daily truck, pulling/packaging product, deliveries, stocking product, cycle counts, inventory redistributions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get what you put into it.
DOT Truck driver (Former Employee), Lakewood, WAMay 28, 2014
Pros: lots of money
Cons: negative people.
I was a truck driver for about 5 years. The pay was ok. Although it sucks if your new to the company. But you get tons of vacation 2 weeks after your first year. And three after 5. 10 you get a month. The Manager Pushed us To The limit. 70/8day week. I had to tell her not to call me to cover shifts after a while. She's gone now. The manager now is awesome – more... to work with. Super nice guy. You will drive out of state and pick up backhauls. You won't be home very much if you have some certain routes. But there are some that can be sweet runs. If you manage your time right. They have good benifits. If you work on the part time side...it's not so great. But it is what it is. A JOB. So if you work hard and don't complain all the time, check the website. You can advance quickly if your smart about it... IMO it's a great place to start a career. So get your CDL and you will make more than your boss. Trust me! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt send Vladmir Putin to work here
General Manager (Former Employee), Denver, COMay 20, 2014
Pros: going home
Cons: going in
This company is a joke. The culture consists of a "do it or die" attitude with very little support. Most people are promoted because they landed one big contract and the previous guy quit to make more money somewhere else. They refuse to make it easy to sell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Considerable amount of turnover
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXMay 14, 2014
Pros: vendors are good, safety first
Cons: considerable turnover
Loved this company in a whole. The day would start with checking e-mails and purchasing. Quotes for new business was the most of this job. I received the totes from shipping and put up stock. I kept a clean and tight ship. In 4 years had 3 Managers and 3 District Managers. It was like starting over to prove yourself all of the time. This company could – more... not keep help. They were very professional and safe for all employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hands on
Outside Sales Person (Former Employee), Findlay OhioMay 14, 2014
This company is very caring and goes the extra length to meet the customers needs. They can be a little pricey, but you are paying for more than the item, your paying for the customer service that comes with it. Fastenal is a very good company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough and not well run in my area
Outside Sales Representative (Former Employee), York, PAMay 13, 2014
This company needs to stick with a goal and achieve it before changing to the next best thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday is a challenge and i welcome that
Account Manager/ outside sales (Current Employee), Chattanooga, TNMay 11, 2014
Busy, exciting, always on my toes. I accept the challenge of my position and always exceed above and beyond goal. My day always starts with laughter with my co-workers, we know how to make all moments positive. I dont accept hard parts in my job, we make a job hard when it should be a lesson and a mission to overcome. I love signing new accounts that – more... told me no in the first meeting, but thats when i knew i had them, NO is when i accept the challenge. I play fair but hard and i am determined to have the business, I have a nickname and thats a Active guru meaning i make it happen and activate accounts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they say you are your own boss
Outside sales (Former Employee), Tulare, CAMay 6, 2014
good pay but managers are horrible mine could not tell me how to print a sales report for an osp district meeting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Production Lead (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 4, 2014
Not enough advancements. Everyone starts at part time and it takes too long to advance in this type of place
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Inside Sales (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, NYMay 1, 2014
Pros: paid vacation
Cons: job security
learned inventory skills and product knowledge, liked the people i worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Expereince
Warehouse Manager (Current Employee), Lewisville, TXApril 28, 2014
Pros: if.
Cons: no lunch breaks, not paid enough commission.
Only advancement is through sales positions. Long work hours. Typically would work from 615am till 5:30 pm. Loved the fast paced environment. If your branch is understaffed it is very easy to become overwhelmed or stressed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong growing company
Outside Sales (Current Employee), Morris, MNApril 27, 2014
Pros: great benifits, job security
Cons: strong compitions for promotion, store level is left to do many things soemtimes seems like little help from dc and corporate.
10 hr work days can get to be long but fly by. The store personnel are often left with many things to do besides being out on the road selling and sometimes seems to be abandoned by upper management and corporate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Sourcing Specialist (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 27, 2014
A typical day includes sourcing product, viewing manufacturer drawings and samples, sending out request for quotes and compiling prices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All In A Days Work
Sales Support Associate (Former Employee), Hollywood, MDApril 25, 2014
Pros: co-workers, sunday off
Cons: lacked challenge
Lots of down time. But a great start to learning buying position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable experience, but limited upside income potential.
Branch Sales Manager (Former Employee), Fort Washington, PAApril 23, 2014
Pros: large corportation with huge reach to over 2 million products.
Cons: poor commision structure that limited commission upside.
In the 5 years or so working for this company I learned many different skills.

Received and took advantage of training opportunities every step of the way.

Acquired hiring, sales growth, purchasing, sales management, inventory control, merchandising and many other skills.

The most difficult part of this job was being restricted to a small territory. – more... I saw larger opportunities in other regions as I traveled.

The most enjoyable part of this job was getting the satisfaction that as a team we were able to take a bleeding store and turn in profitable through hard work. – less

About Fastenal

Some might say it has a screw loose, but things are really pretty snug at Fastenal. The company operates about 2,600 stores in – Read more