Find companies:
Fastenal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
380 reviews

Fastenal Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DO NOT APPLY!!!
Picker (Current Employee), High Point, NCMarch 2, 2014
Pros: decent, flexible hours
Cons: no room for advancement
Worked in the warehouse for 2yrs. Tried to advance to an office position, but I had to wait I was "replace" in warehouse. So for the next 3 months, I would train for ONE HOUR in the office & then continue my regular in the warehouse. After 3 months......NO REPLACEMENT!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting office/warehouse store.
Sales Support (Former Employee), Fontana, CAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: good pay, decent hours.
Cons: shifts could start at 5 am some days.
This job included receiving inventory and assisting walk in customers in the warehouse portion, and contacting and emailing customers in the office part of the store. Good introduction into customer service work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of on the job training but little room for advancement.
Sales Support (Current Employee), Canton,OhioFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: little to no room for advancement
A typical day at work involves a lot of customer service skills. The location I work at is a national account so a lot of resourcing of product and purchasing skills are required. I am in charge of our corporate credit card and must maintain all records in an organized fashion. I have learned a lot about business and the inner workings of the company – more... over the last three and a half years. Management is on premises and does help with any issues or conflicts that arise. Most of the coworkers are hard working but sometimes younger people are hired that have no ambition to go anywhere in the company and their job performance reflects such. The hardest part of the job is maintaining a balance in the myriad of duties that are required on a daily basis. Prioritizing is a huge must. The most enjoyable part of the job is the hours and having weekends off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good workplace
General Manager (Current Employee), Natchez, MsFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: steady employment, benefits
Cons: some personal philisophical differences in opinion.
This was my first step into an "office" invironment. I leaned a lot of valuable skills here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start up job out of college
General Manager (Former Employee), Owensboro, KYFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: no experience needed, promotes from within only
Cons: low pay, pressure to sell with higher prices then most
Good first job, commission structure is bad, Management was poor, promotions are easy to come by, a lot of inexperienced help
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job just took advantage of employees
ups clerk/picker (Former Employee), Modesto, CAFebruary 24, 2014
this job would hire you as a part time employee but you would work full time hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Impressed
Outside Sales Person (Former Employee), Pella, IowaFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: decent benefits
Cons: commission structure, poor management
Not impressed with this company. They pound their core values into their employees, yet the management does not play by the same rules and values. The store I worked in has a manager and employee that smoke inside the store, even though the company has a "NO TOBACCO" policy. The manager and warehouse manager gamble throughout the day by playing quarters, – more... rather than doing their jobs. I was wrongfully terminated from this company due to my disability. Benefits are decent, but not great. As an Outside Sales Person, you can expect to work 10 hours per day, on salary, M-F. The commission pay is less than standard to say the least. I would recommend working for a different company where the Core Values are followed and appreciated by all employees, from the bottom to the top executive. Your hard work is not appreciated here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
General Manager (Current Employee), Fremont,CAFebruary 19, 2014
Great Experience for new college graduate looking to get into sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
General Manager (Former Employee), CaliforniaFebruary 17, 2014
7-5 Monday - Friday
Good spring board job.
Management changes from store to store
Co-workers are short term
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Tracy, CAFebruary 13, 2014
My typical day will be receiving product In to inventory, and putting product away If it hasn't been allocated to a customer. Making the place look neat and tidy. Help with sales In store and on the phone sales, cleaning the restrooms, putting orders in order in the receving area for customer to pick up. Checking company emails and always getting things – more... done before the end of my shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Job
CDL Driver (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 12, 2014
For a driver job it gets you home consistently but the workload can be very tedious at times and management doesn't make those matters any easier.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Environment
GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee), Paulsboro, NJFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: you run a small business. you do it all
Cons: not fairly compensated or staffed
Had disagreement over compensation and decided to part ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Challenging work environment.
Outside Sales (Former Employee), Montgomery, ILFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: great management
Cons: lack corporate support
• Identified potential customers and made sales presentation
• Assisted walk-in customers, identifying solutions
• Maintaining bin stock for national corporations
• Personally acknowledged for outstanding sales
• Responsible for inventory management
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Fastenal
Outside business development, and sales (Former Employee), Richfield, UTFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: company truck, discount
Cons: some days i felt like a thief, and that's what hurt the worst.
My typical day at Fastenal was about the same. I did out-side and business development.
I learned a lot about maintenance supplies and how to sell them.
The words to describe management at Fastenal would have to be, "gross negligence." The care nothing for their customers, or the people working under them. It was one of the worst places I have ever – more... worked in my life. As for my co-workers, they felt the same way. Look into the turn over rate at that company, and it tells all.
The hardest part of my job was, explaining to customers why my boss wants there inventory levels so high, and then trying to make sure the customer even got the product that they were billed for. And in some cases I wasn't sure if they revived the product or not.That was so my boss could hit his numbers every month.
The best thing about the job were my customers. I enjoyed speaking and meeting new people. Then making sure I could do anything in my power to help them solve problems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging place to work
Part Time Sales Trainee (Current Employee), Marshall, MNFebruary 8, 2014
Receive inventory, stock shelves, help with inside sales and deliveries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Shipping Supervisor (Former Employee), Akron, OHFebruary 6, 2014
Very energetic personnel who help each other out and are not afraid to go the extra mile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Part-time support (Former Employee), Bradley, ILFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: got to meet new people everyday
Cons: only was allowed parttime work
The pay was bad. The way the GM treated you was not worth the time spent there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Austin, TXFebruary 4, 2014
Management was always there to answer your questions and willing to teach you things that were not part of your job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Customer Service (Current Employee), Akron, OHFebruary 3, 2014
Everyone within the company is amazing. So many of them started in a part-time position and advanced through the company. They have all of the employees best interest in mind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail environment. Branches are small.
General Manager (Former Employee), Concord, NHFebruary 3, 2014
Assisting customers, by proccessing orders and quotes, and create PO's from vendors.

About Fastenal

Fastenal Co (NASDAQ: FAST) is an American company based in Winona, Minnesota. Selling industrial and construction supplies and – Read more