Find companies:
Fastenal
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
555 reviews

Fastenal Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Industrial Sales Representative (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONJuly 17, 2012
Pros: good work place environment
Cons: pay could be better
Come in to the offic at 9.

Start picking orders for delivery, load deliveries, deliver them to clients.

Have lunch, sit at desk and take orders, and perform administrative and customer service duties
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Traffic Assistant (Former Employee), kitchenerJune 23, 2012
Pros: cool work crew
Cons: no benefits
picking orders

material handling

shipping receiving

traffic dept assistant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at. friendly management.
Office and Warehouse Manager (Former Employee), Chatham-Kent, ONMay 30, 2012
Pros: pany car, travel
started as co op for high school. Great staff to work with. Relaxed inviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back work place
Sales Support (Current Employee), Lawrence, KSJanuary 26, 2015
A typical day consists of opening the store at 7, receiving in stock, putting stock away and making deliveries. Along with helping walk-in customers and answering phones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Blue Collar workplace
STRATEGIC SALES ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDJanuary 25, 2015
Pros: independence to run a small business unit
Cons: overwhelming from a corporate direction
Typical day:

Receiving product, packing orders, sales calls, quoting, sourcing, deliveries and inventory management.

Fastenal gives you the opportunity to run a small business with the resources a phone call away. T
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Sales Intern (Current Employee), Mount Vernon, WAJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: lots of job opportunities, learn the basics of business, knowledge about industrial supply industry and products
Cons: repetitive work, pressure to increase sales and meet goals, low pay, high turnover
Good place to start if you want to get into business.
Learn about:
- Inventory management
- Product Sourcing
- Customer Service
- CRM
- Outside/Inside sales
- Account management
- Merchandising
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Account Specialist (Current Employee), GeorgiaJanuary 22, 2015
Great resume builder. You will work hard, and you can accomplish what you want to. The pressure is there to accomplish though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales support
Sales Support Team (Current Employee), Tea, South DakotaJanuary 20, 2015
My job responsibilities consist of managing existing accounts while expanding their product line. I am also responsible of territory expansion by attain new accounts and clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Manchester, NHJanuary 19, 2015
this was by far my favorite place to work. I loved everything about this job. the people, my manager. It was a very fast paced environment with challenging duties. The hardest part of the job was cycle counting and making sure that everything was accounted for every day. That and dealing with unsatisfied customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already submitted this review
Outside Sales/Interim GM (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: good employee expos
Cons: sometimes no breaks
Fast paced, sales driven position. Great introduction in learning how to run your own business. You will learn to sell through the people above you instead of utilizing classes. High stress environment to maximize profits for a publically shared company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company .Retired in August 2014 .
Warehouse Worker/Driver (Former Employee), Garner, IAJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: management
Cons: 7 day a week . monthly .
Learned about people and Machines .Expectaions Deadlines.Teamwork .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Jackson, MIJanuary 15, 2015
Excellent place to work. Learned many things about industrial supplies while I was here. Good benefits and good atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employment opportunity
Warehouse Zone Picking (Former Employee), Winona, MNJanuary 14, 2015
From my time working at Fastenal I worked in the warehouse putting together customers orders to working in the machine shop running CNC machines. The company is a great place to work and had many great employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High-paced with good chance at working up ladder
Part Time Sales Lead (Current Employee), Bloomington, INJanuary 14, 2015
Pros: good entry level pay, good training
Cons: outside sales positions have low wages
Job was very fast-paced and you learn a lot even before you start selling anything. The training helps each employee to ultimately be prepared to be a successful sales person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sink or swim
Regional Safety Specialist (Current Employee), Modesto, CAJanuary 13, 2015
sink or swim company and everyone has that mentality. you can advance very quickly and lose your job even faster. Its all about who you know. very unstructured and they do not give you the tools to succeed but expect you to not only know how to do it already but then double the numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven, low pay
General Manager (Former Employee), Conway, ARJanuary 12, 2015
Pros: fun environment with the right manager
Cons: low pay
Low salaries put Fastenal in a corner. The average person that works at Fastenal is 26-27 years of age because at this time, the employees start to figure out that they can work the same amount of hours for more pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time Sortation
Sorter/Unloader (Former Employee), Akron, OHJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: schedule around lifestyle
Cons: low pay, poor management, little to no training, no benefits, no breaks, and lack of recognition/raises
Very poor management, policies and rules changed daily. Communication didn't exist and neither did training. No breaks(even if you work a 12 hour shift), no benefits, low pay, heavy lifting, and lack of recognition/raises. I was told when I got hired we would be evaluated for raises every 6 months. I was in the top 3 for production percentages every month and only received one raise in 2 years. This place just likes to push around the guys that are lower on the totem pole.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay management. if you ask for a raise you hear sell more. the only company i know of you can make more profit for the company and earn less.
former sales support (Former Employee), GeorgiaJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: experience in fmi, vending and sales you can use to seek employment with a decent company
Cons: low pay, not enough help on the branch level, hours are 55-80 per week
Fine as a part time job
Don't make a career of.it. Try Grainger instead. Horrible place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Intern/ Sales Trainee (Current Employee), Menomonie, WIJanuary 9, 2015
Pros: people, sales experience, very hands on, keeps you busy, great hours
Cons: be ready to hustle
I love working for Fastenal they are a great company with high morals and amazing hours. For only currently working there for roughly 8 months it has been an amazing opportunity. I was part time the whole time while finishing up school and also did my internship there. Great people, environment, I had no benefits through work because I choose not to because it was not necessary and I was only part time.

-Courtney 1.9.15
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time shipping
Certified Fork-lift Operator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJanuary 8, 2015
Pros: good hours
Cons: short breaks
Hard work for low pay
learn how to ride fort lift
poor management
throwing down heavy boxes
loading trucks

About Fastenal

Some might say it has a screw loose, but things are¬†really pretty snug at Fastenal. The company operates¬†about 2,600 stores in – Read more