Find companies:
Farmers Insurance Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,067 reviews

Farmers Insurance Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inbound call center
Licensed Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Lake Mary, FLJuly 17, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: healthcare and benefits are reasonable
• Service incoming calls for personal lines automobile insurance policies, including but not limited researching policy information
• Cancellations
• Reinstatements
• Amendments
• explanation of billing
• Processing payments
• Constant communication with supervisors and team leads if needed.

• Processing all personal time management, mid and end year – more... reviews including:
• Meeting expectation in:
o Efficiency, quality, calls per hour, after call work, call duration, surveys and cross selling.
o Multi-tasking with 12 individual computer programs.
o General office practices. 2044 insurance designation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very busy place to work!
Resident Insurance Producer & CSR (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga & San Bernardino, CA.July 17, 2014
Pros: we could bring our kids to work, ample flexibilty in our schedules, we were not micro-managed, we had a ample autonomy, our supervisor trusted us implicitly
Cons: supervisors regularly absent, no receptionist, difficult to give the most prompt/efficient service
My supervisor's book of business was very large. We had numerous phone calls to attend to daily. The phone rang most of the time at regular intervals of 2-3 minutes throughout the day and often until after closing as well. We assisted many walk-in clients that were both in our book of business and many of whom belonged to other agents as well. They – more... either had policy questions, needed to make a payment or desired to make changes to an existing policy. We also regularly serviced prospective clients needing quotes and shopping for renter's, homeowner's, auto, motorcycle, mobile home, RV, and boat polices. I also assisted clients in many ways such as securing bonds or with DMV issues that were outside of our normal scope of business.
I learned how to write professional letters on company head with detailed information to inform clients about upcoming changes to their policies and many other forms of correspondence with clients. These were used as a template for both the supervisor and my co-workers. In addition, I wrote letters for my supervisor when he needed to communicate something in a professional and polished manner. I also learned how to balance and break up the day which included processing paperwork and resolving various issues for policy holders.
The office staff was mostly self-managed. However, for any questions outside of our knowledge or authority we sought out the supervisor to assist us. As a three person staff with several other people available we usually resolved the issues by assisting each other with the information we had readily available to us from both personal experience to bulletins/information provided by the company. We also had an excellent corporate staff available to us by phone during working hours to answer many of the questions that we were unable to resolve in-house.
My co-workers assisted in answering policy questions and in offering solutions to difficult policy issues. We worked together to resolve many issues and to provide the best service possible to our clients.
The most difficult part of the job was answering a high volume of phone calls and at the same time having to resolve each issue in a timely manner. Whereas some policy issues could be resolved in a few minutes, some took hours, days or even weeks. It was common to get behind and back-logged with many assignments needing attention simultaneously.
The most enjoyable part of the job was establishing trust, friendship and camaraderie with our clients. After satisfying their policy needs and questions there were often many opportunities to develop a relationship with them simply beyond business. That was very satisfying to both them and to me. I was grateful to make policy holders feel like more than just clients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experience
Sales Agent (Former Employee), Vacaville, CAJuly 16, 2014
Management struggles and poor office moral. Lack of leadership by owners and unprofessional staff members.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job that turned into a career
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Tempe, AZJuly 16, 2014
I have been with Farmers for 8 years, at first it was just a job but as time went on I found that I love the insurance industry. I work with 2 others in my office. My boss has definitely helped me grow and achieve more than I thought I could. The only hard part of the job is beating rates, other than that it is great and easy. I enjoy talking with clients – more... and helping them understand the insurance process and how things work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a stable agent
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZJuly 15, 2014
The agent I worked for was not financially stable, Farmers is a good company though.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great office
Claims Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJuly 15, 2014
Good office to work at but limited opportunities. Was excellent experience and fun to work despite poor office management and recognition of accomplishments
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome place to work was for Farmers Insurance
Secretary (Former Employee), Visalia, CAJuly 15, 2014
At Farmers I interacted with the customers a lot. They would come in and pay there payments on there insurance. I learned a lot about insurance with cars and homes with Farmers my boss showed me a lot when I worked for him. I had no co workers it was only me and the Agent. I loved my job working for Farmers Insurance it was the interaction with the – more... customers that I enjoyed. The hardest part about this job is that the Agent retired and he shut down his office. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Customer Service via phone
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Olathe, KSJuly 13, 2014
Pros: excellent experience gained offering customer service over the phone
Cons: very sedentary job, the entire shift was spent at a desk on the phone.
At Farmers, a typical day involved fielding first response calls for our insureds when they had an auto accident or some other sort of property damage. I and my co-workers were often their first point of contact following a traumatic event where they often felt at a loss as to what to do next. We would put them at ease, walk them through the claim filing – more... process and give them peace of mind by explaining what would happen next. In extremer cases of property damage, we would link our insureds to our emergency response teams to assist them within the hour, providing them with a place to stay if their home was unlivable, getting them into a rental vehicle, and arranging for tow service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work hours.
Sr. Workforce Management / Forecasting Analyst (Current Employee), Wilmington, DEJuly 11, 2014
Pros: time off
Cons: no opportunities
Wonderful company, good hours, good stability. Very little room to advance your career here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close Knit working environment
Property Claims Supervisor (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 10, 2014
Helping people recover after their home suffers damages is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience
Sales/Marketing Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 9, 2014
Experience depends on the local agent. Mine was not the best. Good luck!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to network
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJuly 8, 2014
Pros: nice break rooms, relaxed enviornment, little supervision
Cons: marketing
Farmers was a great place. Interacting with customers are a blast. The only discouraging part is calling complete strangers and begging them to buy farmers way over priced products. farmers does not know how to appeal to its customers, which inturn makes your job alot harder and almost IMPOSSIBLE to say the least.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Administrative Department Assistant (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAJuly 8, 2014
A job looked forward to going to.
In the 20 uears I was there went from using typewriters to computers and the programs.
Management - understandable
Worked well with all co-workers
Sometimes dealing with Agents
I enjoyed all of my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an ok place to work
Secretary (Former Employee), Pasadena, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: knew exactly what your job was
Cons: to little time to do it.
since it was a small business that was bearly staring it needed alot of organizing and my job was to work on their financial book.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Senior Customer Service Advocate (Current Employee), Independence, OHJuly 7, 2014
Pros: great schedule
Cons: heath benifits
I work a great shift 7-2:30 M-F, I work on Auto cancellations, Endorsements, verify proof of prior insurance. I also work on miscellaneous reports as part of my day to day process. I love my co-workers we are like family, and always make it a point to do something fun in our team meetings as group activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great local agents
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Ore City, TXJuly 2, 2014
Great local agents but there is a large disconnect between corporate goals and programs and what the agents is actively a part of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good attitude
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Yuma, AZJuly 2, 2014
Pros: good work ethics
Cons: hours
Good work environment and great team work. Good people to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, high energy office
Agency Distribution Manager (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJJuly 1, 2014
Recruiting, and driving sales is all day everyday. I work in a fast pace high stress field that requires a lot of me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKJune 30, 2014
most enjoyable part of the job is helping out the customers in time of need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
8 years evolved into an incredible education leading to experiences that benefited not only me, but small business owners
Pers Lines Operations Mrktg Analysis Spec Proj Mgt (Former Employee), East Valley, AZJune 30, 2014
Pros: establishing respect, trust and working relationships enhancing operations and results
Daily responsibilities seldom had commonality & required considerable time (my own doing due to offering personal cell to agents & staff), strength and abilities to communicate at varying personality/characteristic trait levels. Extensive discretion and confidential nature of handling sensitive issues involved ability to research extraordinarily abnormal – more... means necessary to handle significant service issues when normal means could mean agents losing long-standing customers. Established considerable contacts with senior and executive level management in order to find resolutions for agents and customers. Ultimately, activities gained the respect and trust from agents, assisting in efforts to engage in promotional and marketing activities, increasing production, books of business and revenues, which would have, otherwise, been dismissed or rejected. Working with agencies on an individual basis, increased a team-oriented atmosphere, respect, working relationships and trust. Achieving these results with tenured, small business owners is one of the most rewarding accomplishments! Evening interruptions, excessive hours and intricate, detailed work in order to achieve and assist in their business objectives and retention levels was really fulfilling and rewarding!

Researched, documented and communicated findings with executives when questionable/potential company/industry violations took place in agencies. Trained agents/staff on internal programs, marketing and promotional concepts. Assisted other Arizona District Managers in the detailed submission of agent's applications in order to obtain approval for securities licensing, as well as providing an understanding concerning requistional submissions for agents and districts to utilize company funding and reimbursement for marketing and company approved expenses. Analyzed, reported & communicated agency/district/state/company results assisting agencies in achievement of yearly bonuses. Met, monitored and mentored new agents' efforts, reporting to management to ensure success. Filed securities applications to gain FINRA approval, allowing agents to test and achieve securities licensing. Assisted with agency visits to promote district and company-utilized program support. Created/analyzed/updated & reported agency results, using various company programs. Coordinated & managed aspects of off-site meetings, including special projects & supervising in District Manager's absence. – less

About Farmers Insurance Group

Farmers Insurance is one of the country's largest insurers of vehicles, homes and small businesses and provides a wide range of – Read more

Farmers Insurance Group Photos