Find companies:
Farmers Insurance Group
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
915 reviews

Farmers Insurance Group Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company in the best industry for "from scratch" entrepreneurs
Owner and Agent (Current Employee), Dallas, TXApril 2, 2014
Pros: virtually unlimited income potential, residual income, flexibility, satisfaction of running your own business
Cons: fluctuation in income (especially early on), some policies and methods still outdated, billing and administrative issues with recently purchased companies inside the farmers family
I've been an agent with Farmers for almost a year and a half here in Dallas, TX. Choosing to leave the corporate grind and take a huge risk starting my own business was one of the best decisions I've ever made.

The typical day isn't typical at all, because every day is different. Once I completed the extensive training program, my day is whatever I – more... make it. I could be anywhere in the city, meeting with a client or business partner.

The best part of this job is that there's no one telling me how much money I get to make, there's no one telling me when and where to be.

The reason I saw that Farmers is the best in the insurance industry, is because that's the absolute truth from the agent's side of things. There are certainly plenty of companies who provide an excellent customer experience, and competitive rates. However, Farmers is consistently recognized as having the best training program in the insurance industry (Training Magazine - 2013) and the support Farmers provides during the critical early years of the business are unparalleled. We are truly the best trained agents in the business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lay Offs
Helpdesk Analyst I (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKApril 1, 2014
Cons: expensive health care with little coverage
Use extreme caution before moving up quickly in this company. Moving up fast caused me to get laid off the week prior to bonuses being released. My evaluation was one of full praise and was promised a large bonus due to my work ethic. Then I was let go so the bonus did not have to pay out the bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Account Manager (Former Employee), Lancaster, CAApril 1, 2014
I enjoyed working in an office environment. I stayed motivated on the field by speaking with customers,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience in the corporate world, teaches professionalism and phone etiquette.
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIMarch 31, 2014
Pros: employee appreciation, great benefits, a lot of room to move up in the corporate world, but difficult to get there.
Cons: structured, limited, stressful, phones, glued to desk, no flexibility
I would go to work, clock into my phone and put my headset on right away. As soon as my computer was on I would open all my programs and turn my phone on. From that moment I would receive call after call with no down time of customers needing to make claims on their home or car insurance. I would need to hit certain points in my call that I was graded – more... on later. The grading and standing you have within the department helped with raises, bonuses, and moving up in the company eventually. We would also take calls for existing claims and help get customers to their correct claims adjuster. I would have a scheduled 15 minutes break then I was right back on the phones till lunch for 45 minutes and my last 15 minutes break. Most calls were not too bad, you always had the occasional customer who was upset and did your best to call them down and get the necessary information to accomplish the claim correctly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coaching others on basic insurance needs and manage business
Business Owner/Manager (Former Employee), Stockton, CAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: own schedule, events
Cons: benefits
lead flow/type manage, daily appointment to write policies for customers. Cold calls, manage finances and plan/coordinate events. Door to door and person to person marketing. Answer and transfer calls. Assist to write policies over the phone if needed. Training preparation on weekly basis. Directed clients with filing claims if needed.

I have learned – more... a lot about the insurance. The importance and reasoning behind why each individual should have a complete understanding of what options they have and what they have chosen. I learned that there are many ways to run a business and many ways to be successful.

I loved to work next to the district manger and the office manager. They were both very positive and always energetic.

Hardest part of my job was sitting down with my clients to file a claim after a loss of a loved one. As I understood their situation and the value behind being understanding and being very supportive.

The thing I liked most was having the responsibility of having my own business. I also loved helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
MD (Current Employee), owings millsMarch 31, 2014
Meeting sales quota can be tough. However, if you can do it. Then there is no physical or emotional drawback in this choice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
change in management offen
Outside Field Adjuster/Appraiser (Former Employee), Rocky Hill, CTMarch 30, 2014
long hours, with heavy workload, very slow claims process with delays in settlement authorization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Misleading in every way.
Insurance Advisor (Former Employee), Lisle, ILMarch 30, 2014
Pros: farmers university. great sales education.
Cons: corporate management, highly volatile pricing, misleading in what they can offer.
I wish I could say that I had a positive experience with Farmers, but that would be a half truth. This is a sales organization and that is the one thing they did well, I did learn how to sale there. The problem was everything else. The company over promises and under delivers. They promise that you can have a business that you grow at your own pace – more... based on your goals and the limits to your personal finance. This is not true, they demand quotas and threaten your lively-hood if you do not meet them. They require a huge investment of money and time, but do not support their agents properly. Their business model appears to be recruit at a high level, allow the new recruit to bring in all his/her friends, family and associates if he/she makes the quotas fine, if not force them out and turn their book of business over to an agent who is bigger and more established.

The corporate management is churned very frequently so there is no stability at the top. However, I did get a lot of support from my district manager who was a very professional and supportive team member. Overall in my opinion this company is most fit for someone who has a huge network of associates already in place and at least $50,000 in funds for initial start up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Choose your company carefully
CSR/Staff Asst (Former Employee), OHMarch 29, 2014
Pros: took nothing home... she was too paranoid, lol
Cons: no lunch or break, barely a bathroom break.
Chaos!
I worked with an owner who couldn't decide which direction she wanted to go. Nothing was her fault; always someone else's. Absolutely 0 accountability. I did not agree with her business practices. Wrote too much controlled business, some on the sly. When a client went in a different direction, she was very unprofessional; refused/stalled to cancel – more... policies on silly technicalities that benefited her bank acct. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Stockton, caMarch 29, 2014
I recommend this agency to others. She works well with and gets her work on paste
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Olathe, KSMarch 27, 2014
answer inbound questions about customers reguarding vehicle damages
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment to work in.
Agent Producer (Former Employee), Terre Haute, IndianaMarch 27, 2014
On a daily basis I would answer phones, take payments from clients, as well as do home and auto quotes. It is a family run business for over 24 years. The hardest part of my job was when clients called after just have an accident or the house caught of fire and we would have to calm them down and say we will take care of everything. Lastly in January – more... 2013 I received my license in Property and Casualty Insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is an place to work.
Sr. Liability Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Woodland Hills, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no time for breaks at times
It is a very busy place and requires someone who is willing to be glued to his/her desk. You are expected to participate in the office activates but are shamed if you fall back on work. There is very little room for error; it is a rare occasion to see people helping each other, if you are behind watch out because your name is going on a list. All in – more... all it only a good place because of the benefits and to get your foot in the door. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting and Training Specialist
Recruiting and Training Specialist (Former Employee), Reston, VAMarch 24, 2014
Recruiting and Training Specialist: Responsible for implementing new and attractive techniques to recruit/persuade various types of professionals to produce insurance sales for Farmers Insurance. Candidates were not limited to current business owners for our Owner/Operator program in which you need 50K in liquid assets, independent agents and exclusive – more... agents to participate in our 36 month agent training program, and entrepreneurs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This review is for the credit union
Credit Union Employee (Former Employee), FIGFCUMarch 23, 2014
Pros: farmers employees, pto
Cons: too much selling, too little pay, out dated systems and procedures, unorganized as a financial institution
The credit union is completely separate from Farmers Insurance, the only thing that is common is the HR, which is about the best thing about the credit union job.

Everyday you are being pushed to sell, to make awareness of the credit union, even if that means looking desperate to Farmers employees. The job description does not contain what they actually – more... ask of you once you're an employee. You're supposed to call members and convince them to sign up for specific products. They want you to drive all around town, visiting Farmers agents and sell stuff to them. The worst part is, you don't get a single dime of commission for doing so, even if you have met your sales goals.

The job is way too stressful for what it's worth. Management is cheap and not supportive. This CU does not have a regular credit union culture, they're all about SELL SELL SELL! The turn over rate of the branch employees is extremely high because everyone is realizing they can find better jobs out there with better pay. Definitely would not recommend this job to anyone I know. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Semmes, ALMarch 22, 2014
Pros: great hours great pay!
Cons: business closed and i had to be laid off
Management was super nice and showed how to do things when I did not understand. They were very patient with me. I honestly don't think I had a hard part in this job. I really enjoyed writing insurance policies and insuring people. I would have loved to have made a career in this field but the business had to close suddenly and I was laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Senior Customer Service Advocate (Current Employee), Davie, FLMarch 19, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my day at work is satisfing all my customers needs in a one call resolution. The hardest part of my day is not having the necessary tools/resoures to assist my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment, Work Life Depends on the Agent you work for
Office Manager/ Licensed Producer (Former Employee), Yucca Valley, CAMarch 18, 2014
No 2 days are alike. If you want to go far with the company the following things are important
be licensed in every type of insurance
customer service
sales
office work
work well under stress

Most agents want you to be licensed in property and casualty but all licenses are valuable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Woodland Hills, CAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: lots of employee incentives that include contractor participation
Cons: few hiring opportunities
I enjoy Farmers Insurance work environment. There is a very strong team spirit there from leadership members to project coordinators.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life as a Catastrophe Adjsuter
Catastrophe Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Olathe, KSMarch 18, 2014
I am on call 24/7 waiting to be sent to the next catastrophe site, where I will work 10-12 hours/day for 21 days straight (including weekends). Daily activities include: Investigate catastrophe losses, analyze property damages, prepare loss assessments, negotiate settlements, and handle multiple claims daily. The position requires up to 100% travel – more... but usually ends up being about 75%.

I have learned that a small bit of listening and customer service goes a very long way when dealing with distraught and sometimes angered individuals.

The hardest part of the job is not being able to have much of a home life due to not knowing when I am going to be sent out next. The excessive travel would be ok if it were planned in advance.

The most enjoyable part of the job is helping individuals get back on their feet after a major catastrophe has taken everything from them, and being that single ray of hope that they can turn to in their time of greatest need. – less

About Farmers Insurance Group

Farmers Insurance is one of the country's largest insurers of vehicles, homes and small businesses and provides a wide range of – Read more

Farmers Insurance Group Photos