Fanshawe College Employee Reviews

Found 56 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only part time but greea
Casual/Part time worker (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON17 November 2016
Worked at the school part time while i was completing my program. the campus chair is fantastic and knows everybody by name. It was nice of them to offer me work while i was studying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  London, ON22 August 2016
* Helping and solving customers needs
*Learned how to manage conflicts and listening skills
*Very nice and lively co-workers
* Not able to solve all their problems (hardest part)
*Putting smiles on their faces (Enjoyable)
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
a little challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus Group Coordinator: new territory!
Focus Group Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Fanshawe College27 July 2016
I am currently working at Fanshawe College as a Focus Group Coordinator. I am on a part-time contract, therefore, I only work 24 hours per week. My typical day consists of me coming in and meeting with different departments about certain focus groups they want, for example, program reviews. After checking with the departments I start the process of organizing the groups by sending out reminder emails and mass invites. After conducting the groups I have to report back to my manager and give them updates about the group as well as the meeting notes. This type of research has proven to be very valuable for research purposes so there is definitely a need for it. I also help with research projects on the side. The hardest part of the job is that nobody has ever organized these focus groups successfully before so I don’t have anyone to give me advice as well as proper resources. The management is great and always helpful, however, because this is foreign territory it is hard for them to give me suggestions on how to improve---it is a lot of trial and error which can be frustrating. My coworkers are wonderful and always helpful, however, even though I am part of team I sometimes feel alone in my projects. I need to add to my experience and widen my career horizons.
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
lack of personal resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive college
Professor (Current Employee) –  London, ON14 July 2016
Fanshawe is a dynamic and progressive college and caters for students' needs. It connects the academic world to the community and fosters competitiveness and scientific inquiry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.Swva
Project assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 July 2016
.A.SNVB,WNB
Whe rating scale for Performance Planning and Review is made up of five factors: Poor, Needs Improvement, Meets Requirements, Exceeds Requirements, and Outstanding. Any factor rated poor or needs improvement MUST have performance comments. For any factor, performance comments should support the rating given.



If there have been counseling sessions, letters of commendation or reprimand, or unofficial performance reviews within the rating period, the supervisor should keep documentation on file and site these occurrences in the performance comments on the official rating.



Below are examples of comments that would support individual ratings. These are generic in nature and examples only. Performance comments should be tailored to the individual employee and be based on the employee's individual performance expectations.



Good Luck!

Work Product
Dependability
Cooperativeness
Adaptability
Communication
Daily Decision Making/Problem Solving
Service to Clients/Public
Use of Equipment and Materials
Project Planning and Implementation
Work Group Management
Performance Planning and Review


WORK PRODUCT - The quality and quantity of work produced by the employee.
Poor:

Has made frequent errors that are harmful to business operations.
The supervisor/department head has received numerous complaints about the quality of work.
The quality of work produced is unacceptable.
Does not complete required paperwork.
Needs Improvement:

Is not as careful in checking work product for errors as he/she could be.
Tends to miss small errors
  more... in work product.
Required paperwork is completed late or is only partially complete.
Meets Requirements:

Does not require constant supervision.
Error rate is acceptable, and all work is completed timely.
Forms and required paperwork are completed on time with minimal errors.
Exceeds Requirements:

Managers and co-workers have commented on high levels of accuracy and work productivity.
Takes pride in work and strives to improve work performance.
All memos, reports, forms and correspondence are completed on time with no errors.
Outstanding:

Has less than a 1% error rate on work product.
Accuracy is excellent.
Quantity of work produced is outstanding.

DEPENDABILITY - Being where he/she should be doing what he/she is supposed to do.
Poor:

Often calls in to work without prior approval, resulting in excessive unscheduled absences.
Leaves the work area unattended to run personal errands.
Is frequently late to work
Frequently leaves work early.
Needs Improvement:

Occasionally calls in to work without prior approval, resulting in unscheduled absences.
Occasionally arrives late to work.
Sometimes does not make sure all work is completed before leaving for the day.
Occasionally leaves work early.
Meets Requirements:

Consistently arrives to work on time.
Makes sure work area is covered at all times.
Has had no unscheduled absences, except for documented emergencies.
Exceeds Requirements:

Has a good attendance record.
Can always be counted on to work overtime when necessary without complaint.
Outstanding:

Always at work and on time.
Never misses work without prior approval and appropriate notification.
Has had no unscheduled absences during the rating period.

COOPERATIVENESS - Working with people.
Poor:

Projects an attitude of superiority that turns off other employees.
Not cooperative and frequently criticizes others.
Displays excessive negativity when working with others.
Needs Improvement:

Displays occasional negativity when working with others.
Rarely offers to assist others in the office.
Makes negative comments that affect working relationships with others.
Meets Requirements:

Is usually able to answer customer questions.
Maintains good working relationships with coworkers.
Exceeds Requirements:

Demonstrates “team player” behavior views individual success as imperative to group success.
Direct, straightforward, honest and polite.
Outstanding:

Always cordial and willing to help coworkers, students, and clients.
Enthusiastic, energetic and displays positive behavior.

ADAPTABILITY - Adjusting to change.
Poor:

Usually needs direct supervision, even for mundane and everyday tasks.
Is not able to think independently or to deal with unexpected occurrences.
Needs Improvement:

Gets flustered in unusual situations.
Does not always make the best decisions to fit the situation.
Meets Requirements:

Usually adjusts well to changes in the work place.
Maintains good customer service relations, even under stress.
Exceeds Requirements:

Looks for ways to streamline procedures to improve efficiency and customer service.
Sets priorities and adjusts them as needed when unexpected situations arise.
Outstanding:

Adapted to new systems and processes well and seeks out training to enhance knowledge, skills and abilities.
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Facilities Information Specialist (Current Employee) –  London, ON6 July 2016
A really terrific place to work. As a graduate of Fanshawe it was very comfortable to be able to come back and work here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Nice Management Support
Helpdesk Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  London, ON30 May 2016
Great Work Culture with very helpful co-workers
Hardest part of job is explaining technical terms to non-technical management
Pros
Small city and Economical living
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful institution
Refree (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 May 2016
My experince working for fanshawe has been wonderful ; and their managment has been adaqute and fair , and always well strucured .
my typical day consist of being a referee for inturmuarl basketball games and soccer , the games start in the afternoon right away .

the hardest part of job was dealing with students who may object to certain call they receive in the game but beacuse of my patience and understanding i never lose my composure. In addition may co-workes are always on time giving me no reason to worry, which is the enjoyble part of work people knowing what to do and being able to converse with them .
Pros
be around the game you love
Cons
students not happy with calls they reveive playing
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  London, ON10 May 2016
Working at Fanshawe has been fulfilling and I have met some really great people! My employment also helped me to go back to school to obtain my accreditation.
Pros
Co-workers, environment
Cons
Not being able to find full-time work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to meet and connect with people
Peer Tutor (Current Employee) –  London Ontario2 May 2016
The most enjoyable part of this job was watching people succeed after I saw them struggle. They earned a sense of accomplishment because I helped them. It was very rewarding.

Hardest part of the job was arranging meeting times that worked with both of the schedules between the student and I.
Cons
little amount of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice experience for me. Management over there was good and cooperative. I was satisfy with salary and other facilities at initial level.
Event Staff-Athletic Department (Former Employee) –  London, ON1 May 2016
According to my opinion, it was very good experience for me to start my journey of work. I learned a lot from that place like arrangements, set up, take off of different things according to events. How to manage and how to organize them. The most enjoyable part of the job was being a part or member of event staff itself and working at athletic department because during work time,it was totally energetic and enthusiastic environment over there and specially all sports events were enjoyable. Co-workers were good and helpful.
Pros
can learn management of events, total sport environment, easy to reach because in college
Cons
too many employees
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
school for PSW
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Simcoe, ON28 April 2016
school for PSW
elderly, dementia, Alzheimer's, Parkinson's,
none
some good some really stupid students
the unknown of reality
happy faces
Pros
education
Cons
the unknown
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An easy going, wonderful work environment
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  London, ON25 April 2016
I worked as a Peer Tutor for over a year and I found it to be an easy going, wonderful work environment. I was more than happy to help my students to understand how to use Apple products, as well as editing photos in Lightroom & Photoshop. These skills are essential for the Photography Program, especially Intro to Mac & Production Techniques courses.

Not only did my students find my information very helpful, they also had fun doing the work, during our sessions! Overall, I highly recommend this position to anybody!
Pros
Pick your own hours, helping students
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Athletics Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 April 2016
A typical day at work would include signing in, and from there setting up for the tournament or game day. This would include making posters that reviewed the matches that were played.
Once the games were being played my job was to run the scoreboard as well as help in any other areas that needed assistance.
Pros
Meals
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning environment
EDITOR (Former Employee) –  London, ON3 April 2016
I learned a lot while attending Fanshawe and I hope that my new skills will contribute toward the industry. The professors are amazing and the resources are more than I could ask for.
Pros
Education
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Program
HR Community Consultant (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 March 2016
Community Consultancy gives student the opportunity to working in the community and gain valuable working experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited Communication
Professor-Part Time (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 March 2016
Informed with 2 days notice as to which courses I was teaching
Limited in course delivery to make sure it was consistent with satellite campuses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive workspace
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON8 March 2016
Despite only working for the college for two months, it has been a rewarding and supportive position, and understanding of a busy, final semester student schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Informative Learning Experience
Sales Account Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON2 March 2016
Learned how to work in a broadcasting environment and how to effectively manage time and client information. Was a great experience that taught me writing, recording, and post-production skills that I will use going forward into the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teach and learn at the same time
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  London, ON26 February 2016
Was able to utilize what I learned during my education and helped other students with their course work. You get to brush up things you have learned but haven't reviewed of late and there is a sense of achievement when you know that the students enjoyed their time being tutored by you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 61 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0