Find companies:
FAMILY VIDEO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
166 reviews

FAMILY VIDEO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work for....
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Warren, MIFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: little to no breaks, no recognition and high demand.
This is not a job that allows you to watch movies while you are on the clock. With that being said, there are many tasks to be completed on a daily basis. These include completing an inventory on everything in the store, daily cleaning tasks and providing outstanding customer service. This job often demands more than one, single person can handle. Often – more... times when we were just too busy we would not be allowed to take our breaks, this was even after some of us had been working for more than eight hours. Higher management is a joke. You may put a lot of effort in completing a task and will often not receive anything in return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Positive Environment.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Enid, OklahomaFebruary 18, 2014
I really enjoyed working here! The customers are the best part of the job, and at the end of the day you feel accomplished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over All Good Place
Customer Service (Former Employee), Niles, MIFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: nice customers
Cons: late hours
• Answering phones, computer use
• Cashier
• Stocking cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Associate (Former Employee), Albemarle, NCFebruary 11, 2014
A typical day was filled with hard work but also wonderful regular customers and great fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee), Clio, MIFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: fun management, works with you
Cons: fast-paced environment
A typical day at work consisted of alphabetizing movies all day, going to slow morning to fast-paced evening environments. The job taught me to leave my personal business at home, when it interacts at work it would distract me. The management and my co-workers were the best I have ever worked with and I still to talk to them. The hardest part of the – more... job, I didn't think there was much that was hard and I would have loved to continue there, but moving makes it expensive to travel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Cashier/Sales (Current Employee), Evansville, INJanuary 27, 2014
There is always something new that can be learned! That is what makes this job difficult, yet rewarding at the same time. There is also much room for growth within the company,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but low hours
Employee (Current Employee), Saginaw, MIJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: fast paced, good atmosphere
Cons: low hours
A typical day of work includes working non stop with customers in either helping them find a movie or cashing them out for the rentals. I really enjoy working with the customers and have a few that are my "regulars". I enjoy the job a lot as an entry level job, the down side is that the hours are under 29 as it is only part time and there is no room – more... to be full time unless you are a manager or assistant manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family VIdeo Is a family owned business. With that being said, I loved the idea of being ale to make my own decisions at my store and not so much Co
Store Manager-MIT (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: customer service, putting fun advertisements together, great decision making
Cons: no desk, no office, no chairs, pay is unfair to csr's
A typical day at work would be to open the store and get all cash ready and counted and daily paperwork completed. That would consist of paying bills, doing all accounts receivable and payable from deposits made the day prior and get a lot of clean up done and phone calls made to District Managers read all emails from Home Office. Conference calls on – more... Monday is a must.
Make sure the store sign is changed weekly. Always make sure you have an advertising plan for the next movie coming out.
Always watch security tapes and makes sure the team is not horse playing and SELL SELL SELL.
The hardest part of the job was being 20 years old and a store manager. It should not of been as stressful as it was on me. The hardest part was getting the team to realize even though I am their age I am their boss. It was hard to get them to respect me.
It all got fixed with corrective action forms though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: always doing something, meeting friendly people, flexible schedules
Cons: no breaks
I really like working at Family Video, getting to know co-workers and customers and talk about your favorite movies all day. It can get hectic but you always have help. The management is very helpful and patient with training you and co-workers are friendly also. The hardest part though is the fact that you don't get breaks or even have anywhere to – more... sit, so there are times where you're standing for 11 hours straight. The overall easy-going nature of the place can make up for that though. It's a great part-time job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No where to go from here.
Associate (Former Employee), Burton, MIJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: watch movies before they come out. holiday pay.
Cons: few full time employees.
Did not pay overtime to employees. Shift times are inconvenient for normal people. There is no room for advancement, and benefits are very slim.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Video is a store that is enjoyable that gives each employ an equal opportunity for advancement.
Sales associate (Current Employee), Latrobe, PAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: free movies and half off game rentals.
Cons: hour may not be that long until you learn to open and close
A typical day at Family Video consists of working the drop box, which consists of checking in the returned movies and putting them back on the shelf. This requires organizational skill with all the different movie sections. I also work with customers, both in person and over the phone helping them check out movies and with any other problem they may – more... have. This job has taught me how to be organizational and work with people better over the phone. Management is not really felt at family video in my opinion, and this is because of all the jobs I have held I can do just as much concerning working with customers as any other person their. What I mean by this is the company lets me decide best how to help the customer, and not needing approval from a superior with my resulting decision. My co-workers are all around my age, and we all get along working together. The hardest part of the job I think is just knowing all the current deals that come through the store. The most enjoyable part of the job is just the amount of responsibility that is given to everyone, it does make the time spent their more enjoyable knowing that everyone has the same amount of power and responsibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love/Hate relationship with FV
Customer Service Representative & Shift Leader (Former Employee), Roseville, MIDecember 9, 2013
Pros: awesome co-workers
Cons: no breaks, high turnover rate, inconsistent hours
The people I worked with were awesome. Unfortunately, upper management was atrocious and greedy and I did not enjoy working for them. If we ever went over payroll, then they didn't get their bonuses and they would blame others for their lost. Most of the time, we never needed more than one person after 10 PM, so I was often stuck closing the store by – more... myself. Being that I am only a 21 year old female, it was very uncomfortable being there alone at night. Also, you have to take deposits to the bank every day. It was very nerve wracking having over $500 on me at 12:30 AM after closing. There was nothing I could do though because it is a job requirement. I have heard multiple complaints from females feeling the same anxiety about closing the store and taking large deposits. You would think that our safety is the number one concern, but money comes first.
You don't get any breaks and upper management only gives you a raise if they know you will be working there for a long time. I was a part-time employee and was considered one of the most valuable employees according to my manager. Even so, I only got a 40 cent raise from minimum wage and I practically had to beg for it.
Overall, I loved my co-workers but hated how the company was ran. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and empowering
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Davenport, IANovember 25, 2013
With a passion for movies and entertainment, it's no wonder I stayed with Family Video for so many years. There was a variety of people, fun work environment and always something to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work, always something to do, Strong company
Store Manager (Former Employee), Midland, MINovember 10, 2013
Pros: free movies, sales perks, fun atmosphere
Cons: long hours, no family time, alot of weekends
For Managers typical day was 10 hours always on your feet, you need to have a strong ability to multitask and strong Customers Service skills since they expect you to always go above and beyond for the customer. They pay well depending on the store you work in and expect you to work hard in the community to help grow the name
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pass environment. Geared mostly to part-time employees.
Part-time employee (Current Employee), Waterloo, ILNovember 6, 2013
Fast pass environment. Geared mostly to part-time employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced and energy filled environment.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Clinton, IL, Urbana, ILNovember 4, 2013
Pros: rental benefits, fun co-workers
Cons: very demanding for managers, not a lot of home-life time
Great part time job for college students. Management positions are good for a single person or possibly a married person without children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Meet People
Customer Service (Former Employee), Medford, WIOctober 29, 2013
I enjoyed working at Family Video. It gave me great opportunity to meet and talk to all kinds of people. The manager was great. He was very personable and was very flexible with my school schedule at the time. The most difficult part of the job was getting the hours. When first hired you were only allowed to work weekends when 2 people were needed. – more... Some weeks you would only get 4 hours. I had to beg to learn how to open the store and even then I got only a 2 hour training period. I was there almost a year and never learned how to do more then work the counter and count inventory. As much as I asked, no one would teach me. I even offered to drive to a different store to learn and wasn't allowed to do that either – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun enviroment but overall a morally bad company to work for.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Anderson, INOctober 20, 2013
Pros: fun enviornment, friendly co-workers
Cons: no breaks, unreliable management
A typical day at work was fun but productive. I enjoyed all of my co-workers and got along well with them. Management was not supportive of employees and often put us in difficult situations, which made for the worst part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the video
Customer Service (Former Employee), Genèva, NYOctober 17, 2013
Pros: repeat customers gotten to know
Cons: no advancement, new hires brought in chosen over old employees
worked their faithfully for over almost 6 yrs never late, only sick 1 time always covered for others, but had my hours cut over hires. was made promises of advancement, never got it. only got a mere .70 cent raise the time I was there was promised more new people started out at same or more than me.
Management is not supportive and if they do something – more... wrong they do the blame game and point the finger at someone else. the highlights were seeing the repeat customers I had grown to know and like. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique
Shift Lead (Former Employee), Stevens Point, WIOctober 14, 2013
Pros: friendly work environment
Cons: no advancement
The people who work there are a reflection of the manager. I've worked at 2 Family Videos and the one in Stevens Point was the best. The employees were all close friends. Once you're in you are family.