Find companies:
FAMILY VIDEO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
174 reviews

FAMILY VIDEO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Dream
General Manager (Former Employee), Union City, TNApril 10, 2014
If interacting with customers is your thing, then you will love this job. They give you all the tools to make customers happy, and they only hire outgoing people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work with a friendly customer base
Cashier (Former Employee), Flushing, MIApril 10, 2014
Pros: friendly employees, watch movies at work
Cons: no place to sit down, somewhat stressful
When first starting out, it seemed like there were a lot of things to keep straight. There are many different color-coding systems to keep movies organzied, and the computer system seemed daunting to say the least. But after a few days of working, the work was fairly easy and rather enjoyable. The most difficult thing was rememebering all the little – more... details of the work, but overall, I really enjoyed this job. One of my biggest issues with this corporation was the fact that they constantly talk about racial profiling, and how we should do that. I find that very unfair and judgmental, but perhaps that's why I am not the manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
manager (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 9, 2014
Fun place to work, need more compensation for managers and there efforts made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people, endless opportunity!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Youngstown, OHMarch 28, 2014
Great hours for young energetic candidates! Awesome people to work for. Some of the best management I have ever worked for!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and fairly reliable
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Saint Johns, MIMarch 27, 2014
Pros: commission, consistent raises, get to dress up everyday, option to move up for those that want it
Cons: employment test, no real breaks, can be overwhelming at first, hard to leave if you have a great group.
Although this isn't someplace you stay for your entire life, Family Video is a great place to start. They pay more to start with then a lot of places and you can earn .50 raises for doing a good job every six months. You also get commission for sales which can add up to a lot at a very busy store if you know what you're doing. I had a slow store and – more... I was able to make an extra $100 a month.

It is stressful at times and not for those with a short fuse. The motto is customers first for a reason. They have on call shifts that make planning your life pretty difficult and if you want a decent amount of hours that is looking unlikely now (all part time can only be worked 27 hours a week tops).

However, they have a program that's called MIT (Manager in Training) and if you are interested in being a manager one day they will train you. They really like to hold onto their employees once they get them.

And watch out for the employment test! It's a killer, with really difficult questions. You need to get 85% to get hired.

All in all, it's a great place to work, especially for a student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers First!
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Farmington, MOMarch 14, 2014
Pros: free movie rentals!
Cons: unreliable hours
Customer service is the pride of Family Video and is easily the best part of the job. I very much enjoy working with the public day to day, especially about something that everyone looks forward to. The fast pace of company makes the day go quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all diverse!
Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis,InMarch 10, 2014
Blacklisted for no reason!!!!
*Assisted with manual scheduling of employees
*Tracked daily inventory on various levels
*Process new inventory using computer systems and
*Assured proper placement for customers shopping and viewing
*Assisted customers with new release selection
*Assisted with store book keeping
*Trained new team members
*Insured employee – more... productivity level accuracy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Productive, Great Customer Service
Cashier (Former Employee), Champaign, ILMarch 9, 2014
Pros: amazing coworkers, fun place to work, great customers.
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work would consist of me helping customers find the right videos for them, putting away videos, checking customers out, helping customers with any other needs that come up while they are in the store. I have learned so much while working there. I learned about customers, videos, I learned that when I really like my job that I will do – more... whatever it takes to get the job done and done the right way. My manger was amazing, very caring, worried about the employees like we were her own children, gave advice in anything that we needed help with whether that be school, work, relationships, family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work for....
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Warren, MIFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: little to no breaks, no recognition and high demand.
This is not a job that allows you to watch movies while you are on the clock. With that being said, there are many tasks to be completed on a daily basis. These include completing an inventory on everything in the store, daily cleaning tasks and providing outstanding customer service. This job often demands more than one, single person can handle. Often – more... times when we were just too busy we would not be allowed to take our breaks, this was even after some of us had been working for more than eight hours. Higher management is a joke. You may put a lot of effort in completing a task and will often not receive anything in return. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Positive Environment.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Enid, OklahomaFebruary 18, 2014
I really enjoyed working here! The customers are the best part of the job, and at the end of the day you feel accomplished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over All Good Place
Customer Service (Former Employee), Niles, MIFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: nice customers
Cons: late hours
• Answering phones, computer use
• Cashier
• Stocking cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Associate (Former Employee), Albemarle, NCFebruary 11, 2014
A typical day was filled with hard work but also wonderful regular customers and great fellow employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Crew Member (Former Employee), Clio, MIFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: fun management, works with you
Cons: fast-paced environment
A typical day at work consisted of alphabetizing movies all day, going to slow morning to fast-paced evening environments. The job taught me to leave my personal business at home, when it interacts at work it would distract me. The management and my co-workers were the best I have ever worked with and I still to talk to them. The hardest part of the – more... job, I didn't think there was much that was hard and I would have loved to continue there, but moving makes it expensive to travel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Cashier/Sales (Current Employee), Evansville, INJanuary 27, 2014
There is always something new that can be learned! That is what makes this job difficult, yet rewarding at the same time. There is also much room for growth within the company,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but low hours
Employee (Current Employee), Saginaw, MIJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: fast paced, good atmosphere
Cons: low hours
A typical day of work includes working non stop with customers in either helping them find a movie or cashing them out for the rentals. I really enjoy working with the customers and have a few that are my "regulars". I enjoy the job a lot as an entry level job, the down side is that the hours are under 29 as it is only part time and there is no room – more... to be full time unless you are a manager or assistant manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family VIdeo Is a family owned business. With that being said, I loved the idea of being ale to make my own decisions at my store and not so much Co
Store Manager-MIT (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: customer service, putting fun advertisements together, great decision making
Cons: no desk, no office, no chairs, pay is unfair to csr's
A typical day at work would be to open the store and get all cash ready and counted and daily paperwork completed. That would consist of paying bills, doing all accounts receivable and payable from deposits made the day prior and get a lot of clean up done and phone calls made to District Managers read all emails from Home Office. Conference calls on – more... Monday is a must.
Make sure the store sign is changed weekly. Always make sure you have an advertising plan for the next movie coming out.
Always watch security tapes and makes sure the team is not horse playing and SELL SELL SELL.
The hardest part of the job was being 20 years old and a store manager. It should not of been as stressful as it was on me. The hardest part was getting the team to realize even though I am their age I am their boss. It was hard to get them to respect me.
It all got fixed with corrective action forms though. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Columbus, OHJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: always doing something, meeting friendly people, flexible schedules
Cons: no breaks
I really like working at Family Video, getting to know co-workers and customers and talk about your favorite movies all day. It can get hectic but you always have help. The management is very helpful and patient with training you and co-workers are friendly also. The hardest part though is the fact that you don't get breaks or even have anywhere to – more... sit, so there are times where you're standing for 11 hours straight. The overall easy-going nature of the place can make up for that though. It's a great part-time job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No where to go from here.
Associate (Former Employee), Burton, MIJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: watch movies before they come out. holiday pay.
Cons: few full time employees.
Did not pay overtime to employees. Shift times are inconvenient for normal people. There is no room for advancement, and benefits are very slim.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Video is a store that is enjoyable that gives each employ an equal opportunity for advancement.
Sales associate (Current Employee), Latrobe, PAJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: free movies and half off game rentals.
Cons: hour may not be that long until you learn to open and close
A typical day at Family Video consists of working the drop box, which consists of checking in the returned movies and putting them back on the shelf. This requires organizational skill with all the different movie sections. I also work with customers, both in person and over the phone helping them check out movies and with any other problem they may – more... have. This job has taught me how to be organizational and work with people better over the phone. Management is not really felt at family video in my opinion, and this is because of all the jobs I have held I can do just as much concerning working with customers as any other person their. What I mean by this is the company lets me decide best how to help the customer, and not needing approval from a superior with my resulting decision. My co-workers are all around my age, and we all get along working together. The hardest part of the job I think is just knowing all the current deals that come through the store. The most enjoyable part of the job is just the amount of responsibility that is given to everyone, it does make the time spent their more enjoyable knowing that everyone has the same amount of power and responsibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love/Hate relationship with FV
Customer Service Representative & Shift Leader (Former Employee), Roseville, MIDecember 9, 2013
Pros: awesome co-workers
Cons: no breaks, high turnover rate, inconsistent hours
The people I worked with were awesome. Unfortunately, upper management was atrocious and greedy and I did not enjoy working for them. If we ever went over payroll, then they didn't get their bonuses and they would blame others for their lost. Most of the time, we never needed more than one person after 10 PM, so I was often stuck closing the store by – more... myself. Being that I am only a 21 year old female, it was very uncomfortable being there alone at night. Also, you have to take deposits to the bank every day. It was very nerve wracking having over $500 on me at 12:30 AM after closing. There was nothing I could do though because it is a job requirement. I have heard multiple complaints from females feeling the same anxiety about closing the store and taking large deposits. You would think that our safety is the number one concern, but money comes first.
You don't get any breaks and upper management only gives you a raise if they know you will be working there for a long time. I was a part-time employee and was considered one of the most valuable employees according to my manager. Even so, I only got a 40 cent raise from minimum wage and I practically had to beg for it.
Overall, I loved my co-workers but hated how the company was ran. – less