Find companies:
FAMILY VIDEO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
178 reviews

FAMILY VIDEO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and family orientated
M.I.T-Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Dearborn Heights, MIJuly 3, 2014
A typical day at work involved a face to face customer interaction. Leading the shift and supervising the staff throughout the day. Pushing daily and weekly promotions. Handling and ensuring the efficiency of paperwork and inventory procedures. Handling customer issues and documenting all employee activity. I learned how to conduct interviews and assist – more... in payroll procedures. Verify bank deposits and daily cash operations. My co-workers were hardworking and polite and most of them possessed leadership qualities. The hardest part of my job was operating big movie moves from one section to the next in a matter of hours. It was a lot of work and only the supervisors were allowed to do the task which made it time consuming. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with our regular neighborhood customers and their children on a daily basis, building friendships and loyal customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Team Leader (Former Employee), Sterling Heights, MIJuly 2, 2014
My employment at Family Video was a great learning experience. I enjoyed the camaraderie of my coworkers as well as the fast paced environment. It improved my skills in sales as well as my ability to multitask quickly and effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Culture and Management
CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Chicago SuburbsJune 28, 2014
Pros: outstanding work culture, great managers
Cons: no breaks, employee must cover their own shifts, no insurance
Family Video has an outstanding management team, and company culture of getting things done without unduly pressuring employees. The company has a real sense of family and community. In my time working there, I have always felt that I could count on my co-workers and my managers. Everyone working there is understanding of mistakes as long as you did – more... the right thing and put the customer first.

An average day depends on if you have been trained in opening and closing procedures. Generally, you are brought up to speed on the tasks that need completion during your shift upon arrival. A typical work day is spent answering customer questions (and occasionally offering some technical support regarding DVD/BluRay technologies), restocking returned media, ringing transactions, and maintaining the store.

While some "problem" customers may occasionally require special attention, an individual with solid customer service skills would be able to defuse any difficult situations that arise. The vast majority of the time, it's the customers that make your day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your working career
SHIFT LEADER (Former Employee), Bolingbrook, ILJune 27, 2014
Fun and busy environment, between the staff, management and most of the customers even a long day can be a good day. Management really cares about getting you to where they think you should be. Lots of training, support, and encouragement. As a first time job I highly recommend getting your feet wet with this growing company that isn't about corporate, – more... but more about customer service and family – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and social work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Merrill, WIJune 24, 2014
Pros: free new prestreet date movie rentals
Cons: no breaks
Typically work alone due to revenue
Learned tremendous amount about movies
Management disorganized but hard working
I became very close friends with all my co-workers
Hardest part is preforming daily tasks away from counter
Favorite is guessing what movie with a vague description
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool co workers, terrible bosses
Service Associate (Current Employee), Lansing, MIJune 20, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: no benefits, short shifts, poor managment
Management doesn't much care about employees, I've never worked for a company that took less care of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy going workplace
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), New Brighton, PAJune 19, 2014
This was a perfect part time job, while attending school. Management was understanding of my availability. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to watch pre-streets, so I would be able to provide a review to customers on newer movies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
sales associate (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIJune 19, 2014
working with team...get to review new movies and give opinions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict workplace
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Delphos, OHJune 15, 2014
I would open and close the store, deal with customers, handle money, make recommendations, and make administrative decisions on my own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked here as a teenager
sales associate (Former Employee), Rockingham, NCJune 11, 2014
not a bad company as a teenager
pay isnt half bad
movie stores are closing though
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome location and company to work for!!!
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Zion, IlJune 6, 2014
Pros: fun and friendly enviroment, movies, games, staff, customers
Cons: none i can think of
This is a customer service focused job. The co-workers are awesome, and really make the shifts fun and fly by. Customers are cool and stop in sometimes just to say hello. Advancement opportunities with the company are some of the best I have been apart of. It's easy to see why this video chain is still viable and growing. Management does a great job – more... at nurturing new hires.

If you are looking to work for an amazing company and have a passion for entertainment, and customer service this is THE place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes
CUSTOMER SERVICE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Sulphur springs TXJune 3, 2014
good place to work, tons of customer service practice. You get the chance to learn about many different departments, your skills come I handy at the home life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with plenty of tasks to complete
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Lower Burrell, PAJune 2, 2014
Pros: productive and fun
Cons: minimal hours
I enjoy working at Family Video very much. When I go into work it is easy to jump right in and start getting everything done. There is never a dull moment and I love that. My manager is friendly and always helps me improve. All of my coworkers are fun and helpful; I always look forward to going into work to see them. My only complaint is that I don't – more... work there enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job while in College
Customer Service (Current Employee), Clio, MIMay 30, 2014
Pros: comission
Cons: on-calls, working til midnight
They've always been good working around my schedule & helpful with any questions I may have. I love movies so it was the perfect job for me but recently I need more hours than I am receiving so I'm looking for another job. I've learned a lot about customer service and how to run a shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment and Given Much Responsibility
Shift Leader/Customer Service (Current Employee), Belvidere, ILMay 23, 2014
You are given much autonomy. Co-workers are fun and friendly. Movie culture is great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place with great staff!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sharon, PAMay 22, 2014
Pros: co-workers, atmosphere, goals, managers.
Cons: no guaranteed hours for part time associates
Family Video is an amazing company to work for. They focus on hiring associates that are adept and prominent to taking care of customers as well as providing a fun atmosphere. You gain a solid knowledge of cash management and handling by being required to count down drawers to make cash amounts in the system as well as counting cash amounts and running – more... a store deposit when necessary. Management and co-workers were all phenomenal and shared the same interest for the company. Hardest part of the job was changing layouts of the store. Most enjoyable was the atmosphere. Always felt empowered and important to the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, team-driven environment with room to grow.
Store Manager in Training (Current Employee), Loves Park, ILMay 22, 2014
Pros: fun environment, encourage creativity, good benefits.
Cons: no breaks, no sitting down, little or no time to develop staff.
A typical day at work involves constant customer interaction and satisfaction from helping others. I've learned to multitask more efficiently, how to manage a larger group of employees and how to work in a different type of culture. My management has given me the tools to be successful, however the teaching process could be more thorough, sometimes – more... I have been expected to know things that were never taught and/or I've had to seek out information rather then it being presented. My co-workers are great people to be around and always make work enjoyable. The hardest part of my job is finding a consistent balance between growing my team and completing the hundreds of day to day tasks that need to be done. I feel some things could be removed from managements shoulders in order to achieve a more well-trained and satisfied team. The most enjoyable part of my job is the customers and the ability to grow my skills in management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Frisco, TXMay 19, 2014
This place was very self-motivating and I thoroughly enjoyed working there. Self-paced and self-expressive, I really grew there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sapulpa, OKMay 13, 2014
It was fun to watch the new releases before they actually hit the shelves. My coworkers were also fun to be around. I enjoyed setting up the displays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with advancement opportunites
Shift Lead (Current Employee), Sterling Heights, MIMay 7, 2014
Pros: commission; ability to make judgement calls; enjoyable environment
Cons: pay; unreliable hours
Working at family video is not a difficult job; however, you MUST be willing to work in a fast-paced environment and enjoy working with the public. There are commission opportunities which is always nice. Co-workers are all fun and enjoyable to be around. If you voice a desire to learn and advance through the company, and if you have the drive and potential – more... for the position, then your manager will be more than happy to train you to become a shift-lead, assistant manager, etc. – less