Find companies:
FAMILY VIDEO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
166 reviews

FAMILY VIDEO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with plenty of tasks to complete
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Lower Burrell, PAJune 2, 2014
Pros: productive and fun
Cons: minimal hours
I enjoy working at Family Video very much. When I go into work it is easy to jump right in and start getting everything done. There is never a dull moment and I love that. My manager is friendly and always helps me improve. All of my coworkers are fun and helpful; I always look forward to going into work to see them. My only complaint is that I don't – more... work there enough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job while in College
Customer Service (Current Employee), Clio, MIMay 30, 2014
Pros: comission
Cons: on-calls, working til midnight
They've always been good working around my schedule & helpful with any questions I may have. I love movies so it was the perfect job for me but recently I need more hours than I am receiving so I'm looking for another job. I've learned a lot about customer service and how to run a shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment and Given Much Responsibility
Shift Leader/Customer Service (Current Employee), Belvidere, ILMay 23, 2014
You are given much autonomy. Co-workers are fun and friendly. Movie culture is great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place with great staff!
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Sharon, PAMay 22, 2014
Pros: co-workers, atmosphere, goals, managers.
Cons: no guaranteed hours for part time associates
Family Video is an amazing company to work for. They focus on hiring associates that are adept and prominent to taking care of customers as well as providing a fun atmosphere. You gain a solid knowledge of cash management and handling by being required to count down drawers to make cash amounts in the system as well as counting cash amounts and running – more... a store deposit when necessary. Management and co-workers were all phenomenal and shared the same interest for the company. Hardest part of the job was changing layouts of the store. Most enjoyable was the atmosphere. Always felt empowered and important to the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, team-driven environment with room to grow.
Store Manager in Training (Current Employee), Loves Park, ILMay 22, 2014
Pros: fun environment, encourage creativity, good benefits.
Cons: no breaks, no sitting down, little or no time to develop staff.
A typical day at work involves constant customer interaction and satisfaction from helping others. I've learned to multitask more efficiently, how to manage a larger group of employees and how to work in a different type of culture. My management has given me the tools to be successful, however the teaching process could be more thorough, sometimes – more... I have been expected to know things that were never taught and/or I've had to seek out information rather then it being presented. My co-workers are great people to be around and always make work enjoyable. The hardest part of my job is finding a consistent balance between growing my team and completing the hundreds of day to day tasks that need to be done. I feel some things could be removed from managements shoulders in order to achieve a more well-trained and satisfied team. The most enjoyable part of my job is the customers and the ability to grow my skills in management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Frisco, TXMay 19, 2014
This place was very self-motivating and I thoroughly enjoyed working there. Self-paced and self-expressive, I really grew there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Work Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Sapulpa, OKMay 13, 2014
It was fun to watch the new releases before they actually hit the shelves. My coworkers were also fun to be around. I enjoyed setting up the displays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with advancement opportunites
Shift Lead (Current Employee), Sterling Heights, MIMay 7, 2014
Pros: commission; ability to make judgement calls; enjoyable environment
Cons: pay; unreliable hours
Working at family video is not a difficult job; however, you MUST be willing to work in a fast-paced environment and enjoy working with the public. There are commission opportunities which is always nice. Co-workers are all fun and enjoyable to be around. If you voice a desire to learn and advance through the company, and if you have the drive and potential – more... for the position, then your manager will be more than happy to train you to become a shift-lead, assistant manager, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and nice work place
Cashier/ Customer Service (Current Employee), Bloomington, ILApril 28, 2014
This is a fun company to be a customer at. I loved my co-workers they where very helpful when I needed it. The over all management of this company is not so great when it comes to training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work!
Movie Consultant (Current Employee), Terre Haute, INApril 26, 2014
This was an extremely customer oriented job. As well as doing the expected maintenance of the store you also need to be able to talk to the customers clearly and effectively. Recommending movies, and solving any problems a customer has.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty fun
Cashier and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Angola, INApril 19, 2014
Working here is a surprising amount of work sometimes but the workers make it enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to get to know people
Customer Service/Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Columbus, OHApril 17, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: high sales goals
A typical day was assisting customers in search for the right movie
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Dream
General Manager (Former Employee), Union City, TNApril 10, 2014
If interacting with customers is your thing, then you will love this job. They give you all the tools to make customers happy, and they only hire outgoing people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work with a friendly customer base
Cashier (Former Employee), Flushing, MIApril 10, 2014
Pros: friendly employees, watch movies at work
Cons: no place to sit down, somewhat stressful
When first starting out, it seemed like there were a lot of things to keep straight. There are many different color-coding systems to keep movies organzied, and the computer system seemed daunting to say the least. But after a few days of working, the work was fairly easy and rather enjoyable. The most difficult thing was rememebering all the little – more... details of the work, but overall, I really enjoyed this job. One of my biggest issues with this corporation was the fact that they constantly talk about racial profiling, and how we should do that. I find that very unfair and judgmental, but perhaps that's why I am not the manager. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
manager (Former Employee), Kalamazoo, MIApril 9, 2014
Fun place to work, need more compensation for managers and there efforts made.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people, endless opportunity!
Store Manager (Former Employee), Youngstown, OHMarch 28, 2014
Great hours for young energetic candidates! Awesome people to work for. Some of the best management I have ever worked for!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and fairly reliable
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Saint Johns, MIMarch 27, 2014
Pros: commission, consistent raises, get to dress up everyday, option to move up for those that want it
Cons: employment test, no real breaks, can be overwhelming at first, hard to leave if you have a great group.
Although this isn't someplace you stay for your entire life, Family Video is a great place to start. They pay more to start with then a lot of places and you can earn .50 raises for doing a good job every six months. You also get commission for sales which can add up to a lot at a very busy store if you know what you're doing. I had a slow store and – more... I was able to make an extra $100 a month.

It is stressful at times and not for those with a short fuse. The motto is customers first for a reason. They have on call shifts that make planning your life pretty difficult and if you want a decent amount of hours that is looking unlikely now (all part time can only be worked 27 hours a week tops).

However, they have a program that's called MIT (Manager in Training) and if you are interested in being a manager one day they will train you. They really like to hold onto their employees once they get them.

And watch out for the employment test! It's a killer, with really difficult questions. You need to get 85% to get hired.

All in all, it's a great place to work, especially for a student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers First!
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Current Employee), Farmington, MOMarch 14, 2014
Pros: free movie rentals!
Cons: unreliable hours
Customer service is the pride of Family Video and is easily the best part of the job. I very much enjoy working with the public day to day, especially about something that everyone looks forward to. The fast pace of company makes the day go quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all diverse!
Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis,InMarch 10, 2014
Blacklisted for no reason!!!!
*Assisted with manual scheduling of employees
*Tracked daily inventory on various levels
*Process new inventory using computer systems and
*Assured proper placement for customers shopping and viewing
*Assisted customers with new release selection
*Assisted with store book keeping
*Trained new team members
*Insured employee – more... productivity level accuracy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, Productive, Great Customer Service
Cashier (Former Employee), Champaign, ILMarch 9, 2014
Pros: amazing coworkers, fun place to work, great customers.
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work would consist of me helping customers find the right videos for them, putting away videos, checking customers out, helping customers with any other needs that come up while they are in the store. I have learned so much while working there. I learned about customers, videos, I learned that when I really like my job that I will do – more... whatever it takes to get the job done and done the right way. My manger was amazing, very caring, worried about the employees like we were her own children, gave advice in anything that we needed help with whether that be school, work, relationships, family. – less