Find companies:
FAMILY VIDEO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
186 reviews

FAMILY VIDEO Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The half price movies is the best part
Customer Service (Current Employee), Port Huron, MIAugust 4, 2014
Pros: half price rentals, chance to earn free movies, customers
Cons: no breaks, management, staring at computers, on-call shifts
The rules don't apply to everyone. Most of workers are too busy talking to each other and gossiping to help customers and new employees. When they put you as on call they don't call you, you have to call them an hour before the shift to see if they need you. They pay you the minimum and don't give you breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Video
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bay City, MIAugust 1, 2014
Pros: fun, friendly, prideful atmosphere
Cons: long days, small staff, heavy focus on sales goals
This company really lives up to it's name. We were treated like family, we all felt like family. I am still in touch with many of my coworkers even 7 years later. They provide clear expectations in a fun, friendly, professional environment. This job offered more opportunity for diversity and variety in my work than anywhere I'd ever worked, I couldn't – more... recommend it more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Representative/Shift Leader (Former Employee), New Castle, PAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: great managment and training
Cons: schedule can be tough sometimes
Fun job, great people. Good college job. Opportunities for commission which can be a nice bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working enviroment and great people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Midland, MIJuly 31, 2014
Pros: fun place to work, great attitudes
Cons: hours are based on sales
We woud check out the movies that people chose to their accounts, stock videos, create covers, bar codes, and clean the facility. We answered phone calls and called customers when their rentas were late.

While working for Family Video, I learn how to better delegate myself and the other employees I worked with. I also learned how handle customers and – more... their issues better.

The hardest part of my job working for Family Video was dealing with the drama that came from poor managment/scheduling. I understand that every where we go, there will always be drama. However, there was never good communication between managers in employees some times and it created bad moral and attitudes between employees.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the people that I did. I have learn many things, and will always continue to do so, from the people I work with. I enjoy very much to make people smile and having a good partner while working always makes the times better and go by faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Video
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Chester, SCJuly 9, 2014
Pros: free rentals
Cons: the company in general
What can I say about family video--- how long do you have. I was employed with them for exactly a year. Within the first month I was offered a promotion to Assistant Store Manager. All fine and dandy until I only received a shotty 2 day training and was left to fend for myself. The district manager was of no help and blamed every little thing that was – more... wrong on me. Tried for months to find a reason to get me fired but had no grounds. And did I mention I was running the store for a mere 7.50 an hour. I strongly discourage anyone from ever wanting to apply here. They bring you in, work you to death with little pay and then search for reasons to bring in new people. I ended up leaving the company after being backed into a corner by the district manager and the store manager and was made to admit to something I did not do and had no knowledge of. Sorry company if you ask me. I find it funny as well that as I walking out the door my final day I said this store will not make it 6 more months.. this was in February and by the middle of June they announced they would be closing the doors to that particular store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment and customers were shown importance.
Cashier (Former Employee), Norman, OKJuly 7, 2014
A typical day at work was restocking shelves because everything revolved around the customer. Restocking was important for the next customer it was fast paced work environment for speedy customer service. Up-saling was also very important because there was always deals everyday of the week. The most enjoyable part of the job was making customers happy – more... and seeing them smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers.
Manager (Former Employee), Freeport, ILJuly 7, 2014
It was my favorite job. However, upper management and policies were highly flawed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Neosho, MOJuly 5, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: n/a
Working with customer was the best part of this job .
Management and company regulation were very professional.
Very good team work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and family orientated
M.I.T-Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Dearborn Heights, MIJuly 3, 2014
A typical day at work involved a face to face customer interaction. Leading the shift and supervising the staff throughout the day. Pushing daily and weekly promotions. Handling and ensuring the efficiency of paperwork and inventory procedures. Handling customer issues and documenting all employee activity. I learned how to conduct interviews and assist – more... in payroll procedures. Verify bank deposits and daily cash operations. My co-workers were hardworking and polite and most of them possessed leadership qualities. The hardest part of my job was operating big movie moves from one section to the next in a matter of hours. It was a lot of work and only the supervisors were allowed to do the task which made it time consuming. The most enjoyable part of my job was interacting with our regular neighborhood customers and their children on a daily basis, building friendships and loyal customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Team Leader (Former Employee), Sterling Heights, MIJuly 2, 2014
My employment at Family Video was a great learning experience. I enjoyed the camaraderie of my coworkers as well as the fast paced environment. It improved my skills in sales as well as my ability to multitask quickly and effectively.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Culture and Management
CUSTOMER SERVICE ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Chicago SuburbsJune 28, 2014
Pros: outstanding work culture, great managers
Cons: no breaks, employee must cover their own shifts, no insurance
Family Video has an outstanding management team, and company culture of getting things done without unduly pressuring employees. The company has a real sense of family and community. In my time working there, I have always felt that I could count on my co-workers and my managers. Everyone working there is understanding of mistakes as long as you did – more... the right thing and put the customer first.

An average day depends on if you have been trained in opening and closing procedures. Generally, you are brought up to speed on the tasks that need completion during your shift upon arrival. A typical work day is spent answering customer questions (and occasionally offering some technical support regarding DVD/BluRay technologies), restocking returned media, ringing transactions, and maintaining the store.

While some "problem" customers may occasionally require special attention, an individual with solid customer service skills would be able to defuse any difficult situations that arise. The vast majority of the time, it's the customers that make your day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your working career
SHIFT LEADER (Former Employee), Bolingbrook, ILJune 27, 2014
Fun and busy environment, between the staff, management and most of the customers even a long day can be a good day. Management really cares about getting you to where they think you should be. Lots of training, support, and encouragement. As a first time job I highly recommend getting your feet wet with this growing company that isn't about corporate, – more... but more about customer service and family – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and social work environment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Merrill, WIJune 24, 2014
Pros: free new prestreet date movie rentals
Cons: no breaks
Typically work alone due to revenue
Learned tremendous amount about movies
Management disorganized but hard working
I became very close friends with all my co-workers
Hardest part is preforming daily tasks away from counter
Favorite is guessing what movie with a vague description
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool co workers, terrible bosses
Service Associate (Current Employee), Lansing, MIJune 20, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: no benefits, short shifts, poor managment
Management doesn't much care about employees, I've never worked for a company that took less care of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and easy going workplace
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), New Brighton, PAJune 19, 2014
This was a perfect part time job, while attending school. Management was understanding of my availability. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to watch pre-streets, so I would be able to provide a review to customers on newer movies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work
sales associate (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIJune 19, 2014
working with team...get to review new movies and give opinions
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strict workplace
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Delphos, OHJune 15, 2014
I would open and close the store, deal with customers, handle money, make recommendations, and make administrative decisions on my own.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked here as a teenager
sales associate (Former Employee), Rockingham, NCJune 11, 2014
not a bad company as a teenager
pay isnt half bad
movie stores are closing though
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome location and company to work for!!!
Customer Service Associate (Current Employee), Zion, IlJune 6, 2014
Pros: fun and friendly enviroment, movies, games, staff, customers
Cons: none i can think of
This is a customer service focused job. The co-workers are awesome, and really make the shifts fun and fly by. Customers are cool and stop in sometimes just to say hello. Advancement opportunities with the company are some of the best I have been apart of. It's easy to see why this video chain is still viable and growing. Management does a great job – more... at nurturing new hires.

If you are looking to work for an amazing company and have a passion for entertainment, and customer service this is THE place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lowes
CUSTOMER SERVICE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Sulphur springs TXJune 3, 2014
good place to work, tons of customer service practice. You get the chance to learn about many different departments, your skills come I handy at the home life.