Find companies:
FAMILY VIDEO
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
178 reviews

FAMILY VIDEO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Surrounded by movies, but managed by incompetence
Video Rental Clerk (Former Employee), St. Catharines, ONApril 23, 2014
Pros: free movies
Cons: everything else
days at work were long and filled with a lot of work that i usually did on my own. management was lazy and passed on most of their work to the people under them. my co-workers were unmotivated and unwilling to work as a team to ensure proper customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee), Grimsby, ONOctober 16, 2013
Pros: free movies
Cons: horrible hours and no breaks
there are no breaks... i mean they work you for hours. The district managers and regional managers ask way to much
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They fired me because of my hair colour
Cashier and Stock (Former Employee), SarniaApril 21, 2013
I was working for them for almost 3 months and then they called me in to go meet the DM and instead of me meeting the DM they fired me because my hair was too offensive. ALL of the customers had complimented me on my hair colour and I have had multiple conversations about what kind it was because it was so pretty. The dye is a loreal box dye called – more... "brown red" it's in no way bright or offensive. I had the most sales from that store, I was early and did work before, I cleaned up after my shift and everyone said I was super nice and friendly. They were being ridiculous and I'm pretty sure it's illegal to fire someone based on their appearance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), CanadaOctober 14, 2012
They are the most disorganized and rude people I have ever had the pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmospere and flexible scheduling.
Customer Service/Sales Representative (Current Employee), Downers Grove, ILSeptember 9, 2014
Great atmosphere and flexible scheduling.

• Provide exceptional customer service to all customers
• Problem solving to give make everyone happy
• Earn sales to produce commission and be a leader in sales rankings
• Convey enthusiasm/motivate others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Entry Level Place to Work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Beloit, WISeptember 2, 2014
Pros: half price rentals
Cons: no breaks
Very nice culture, however pay is not the greatest for the amount of work that is required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Manager in Training (Former Employee), Thomasville, NCAugust 28, 2014
I enjoyed the fun atmosphere of this job. The people were great, and were always willing to help each other out if needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and help others enjoy quality movies, games, and other choices of entertainment.
Associate Assistant (Former Employee), Lincoln, ILAugust 21, 2014
Reviewed and rated quality movies to better help guests find the choice of entertainment they are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lengthy days for little pay
Store Manager (Current Employee), Toledo, OHAugust 20, 2014
Pros: bonuses
Cons: extremely long hours
The pay for this position was in no way worth the work required to complete it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
Key Holder (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXAugust 7, 2014
Pros: small commission, room for advancement
Cons: no breaks, no lunches, sometimes you work alone
Family Video only hires people with a positive attitude, so working there is really fun and easy. As a key holder you are responsible for running the store when the manager isn't present, sometimes even acting as a manager to make a customer happy. Their number one priority is customer service. So when an unhappy customer comes in Family Video gives – more... you the power to help them with whatever they need. Ie waiving late fees, rerenting movies via telephone, or just general satisfaction. They do offer small commission for sales, but dealing with nearly 100 customers alone throughout the day that commission can really add up. If you work there sell, sell, sell! This is also what they look at when giving people hours for the schedule. There is always work to be done, so if you want your day to go by fast you can do more than just sit behind the counter. Also, they see when you do extra work and give you credit for it. They have a "tickler", daily tasks form, to complete each day and you sign off on each job that you do. This opens doors easily for advancement. The hardest part of the job is always being positive. Sometimes you feel like a barbie doll by the end of the day because you've smiled so much. The most enjoyable part of the job is your coworkers. Before I said that they only hire positive people, so most of them like to help and make you feel accepted and part a larger community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people
Associate (Current Employee), Calcutta, OHAugust 6, 2014
free rentals, pre-streets, flexible schedule, commission on certain sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Video
Sales Specialist I (Former Employee), Moore, OkAugust 5, 2014
Loved working there but management never knew what was going on. Constantly all will tell u how to do 1 thing completely different.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The half price movies is the best part
Customer Service (Current Employee), Port Huron, MIAugust 4, 2014
Pros: half price rentals, chance to earn free movies, customers
Cons: no breaks, management, staring at computers, on-call shifts
The rules don't apply to everyone. Most of workers are too busy talking to each other and gossiping to help customers and new employees. When they put you as on call they don't call you, you have to call them an hour before the shift to see if they need you. They pay you the minimum and don't give you breaks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Video
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Bay City, MIAugust 1, 2014
Pros: fun, friendly, prideful atmosphere
Cons: long days, small staff, heavy focus on sales goals
This company really lives up to it's name. We were treated like family, we all felt like family. I am still in touch with many of my coworkers even 7 years later. They provide clear expectations in a fun, friendly, professional environment. This job offered more opportunity for diversity and variety in my work than anywhere I'd ever worked, I couldn't – more... recommend it more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Representative/Shift Leader (Former Employee), New Castle, PAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: great managment and training
Cons: schedule can be tough sometimes
Fun job, great people. Good college job. Opportunities for commission which can be a nice bonus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working enviroment and great people
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Midland, MIJuly 31, 2014
Pros: fun place to work, great attitudes
Cons: hours are based on sales
We woud check out the movies that people chose to their accounts, stock videos, create covers, bar codes, and clean the facility. We answered phone calls and called customers when their rentas were late.

While working for Family Video, I learn how to better delegate myself and the other employees I worked with. I also learned how handle customers and – more... their issues better.

The hardest part of my job working for Family Video was dealing with the drama that came from poor managment/scheduling. I understand that every where we go, there will always be drama. However, there was never good communication between managers in employees some times and it created bad moral and attitudes between employees.

The most enjoyable part of my job was working with the people that I did. I have learn many things, and will always continue to do so, from the people I work with. I enjoy very much to make people smile and having a good partner while working always makes the times better and go by faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Video
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Chester, SCJuly 9, 2014
Pros: free rentals
Cons: the company in general
What can I say about family video--- how long do you have. I was employed with them for exactly a year. Within the first month I was offered a promotion to Assistant Store Manager. All fine and dandy until I only received a shotty 2 day training and was left to fend for myself. The district manager was of no help and blamed every little thing that was – more... wrong on me. Tried for months to find a reason to get me fired but had no grounds. And did I mention I was running the store for a mere 7.50 an hour. I strongly discourage anyone from ever wanting to apply here. They bring you in, work you to death with little pay and then search for reasons to bring in new people. I ended up leaving the company after being backed into a corner by the district manager and the store manager and was made to admit to something I did not do and had no knowledge of. Sorry company if you ask me. I find it funny as well that as I walking out the door my final day I said this store will not make it 6 more months.. this was in February and by the middle of June they announced they would be closing the doors to that particular store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment and customers were shown importance.
Cashier (Former Employee), Norman, OKJuly 7, 2014
A typical day at work was restocking shelves because everything revolved around the customer. Restocking was important for the next customer it was fast paced work environment for speedy customer service. Up-saling was also very important because there was always deals everyday of the week. The most enjoyable part of the job was making customers happy – more... and seeing them smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers.
Manager (Former Employee), Freeport, ILJuly 7, 2014
It was my favorite job. However, upper management and policies were highly flawed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Neosho, MOJuly 5, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: n/a
Working with customer was the best part of this job .
Management and company regulation were very professional.
Very good team work.

1 2 3 4 5