Find companies:
Fairweather
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Fairweather Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average retail job
Customer service relations (Former Employee), Calgary, ABDecember 5, 2014
Pros: community, potlucks, staff get togethers
Cons: low wages, poor organization from head office, budget cuts
Fairweather was a typical retail job with a lot of evening and weekend shifts which worked well for student hours. A typical day here was opening or closing the store, handling cash, running fitting rooms, shipping and receiving stock, doing the visual layout, and assisting customers. Because of the shortage of staff and budgets the staff at this store – more... were required to run the whole store and work for low wages. I learnt how to visual merchandise, and provide exceptional customer service. The manager at the location I worked at was amazing, she gave a nice work life balance and we often would have staff potlucks and had a really great work community. The hardest part of the job was working for a low wage and then running the whole store because head office was very unorganized and never provided enough budget for employee hours. the most enjoyable part of the job was the community we built with the staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, encouraging and enjoyable
Stock sales floor (Former Employee), Toronto ONOctober 2, 2014
Pros: free admittance into the cne
Cons: distance and minimum employee accomodations
This was my first job before Sobeys but it only lasted for about 2 weeks. I did enjoy going to work almost everyday. Interacting with new people, gaining experience in the retail industry and having fun at the same time. I would stock the sales floor, assist employees at the front desk, made sure the company did not lose any merchandise and I kept the – more... store clean and efficient at all times. The hardest part about working at Fairweather's location at the CNE was the distance. It took me about over an hour to commute to work with public transit. I managed to make it work and I'm proud of myself for sticking with it. Overall, this job encouraged me to step out of my comfort zone and try different things. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee), Maple, ONOctober 1, 2014
During my time at Fairweather i would cash customers out quickly and efficiently, work in fitting rooms, on the floor and greeted. I was always able to ensure every customer had a positive shopping experience. The most enjoyable part of my job was being able to work in a team enviroment and help fellow employees with their weak spots and also recieve – more... help with mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
travelling and productive
Loss Prevention Officer (Former Employee), torontoSeptember 15, 2014
audits
investigation
excellent management
great teamwork
travelling
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 13, 2014
Always a good work enviroment.
Co-workers are always great to work with.
Management is good.
Very basic job, cleaning, stocking, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced friendly enviroment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONJune 25, 2014
Pros: my staff, location wise in the mall
Cons: long hours, short lunch breaks, sometimes understaff
Typical day at work would be; assisting the customer with their purchase. Providing excellent customer service. Cashing out merchandise. Interacting with the customers and their needs. Receiving new shipment. Cleaning the store after hours.
My co-workers are amazing to work with. They make the long hours go by. Sometimes its as if we don't want to leave. – more... Its like a little family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail
Key Holder/ Team Leader (Current Employee), Windsor, ONMay 4, 2014
A great team, busy days, constantly changing. Enthusiastic and hardworking manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unpredictable and challenging workplace with great experiences
Key Holder (Former Employee), Vaughan onApril 29, 2014
Pros: appreciative customers and plesant employees
Cons: no flexibility or benifits
Fairweather was a great experience for me. I first started with the location as it was just being built up from scratch. I played a great role in putting up wall fixtures according to HO visual guidelines, sorting and placing new stock to create a store presentable for grand opening and our customers, and executed proper marketing placement for effective – more... sales for the company.

After my three months probation I was then promoted to key holder. A typical day as a key holder consisted of opening and closing; the store and store logs, bank logs, files, communication systems, and cash systems, Also supervising employees and outside assisting staff, and managing the stores daily functions. A typical day also consisted of marketing changes in store, and shipping/receiving and placing new product.

One strength I learned about myself from being in management at Fairweather, is that there were times I found it necessary to complete a task even when off shift. The hardest part of my job as Management in Fairweather was trying to rise above the competition at all times. As for the my Coworkers, there were times when everyone was in unison and then there were times when everyone needed their own attention. The most enjoyable parts of my job was learning new skills, new product, and new personalities.

I appreciate the experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i LOVE READING AND DANCING
Customer Service (Former Employee), North Vancouver, BCApril 15, 2014
Answered multiple phone lines and directed them to the appropriate staff member Good interpersonal skills to maintain good rapport with customers and staff Communicated well at all levels to obtain necessary department information, verify facts and satisfy customer concerns. Developed an effective billing database in order to provide better customer – more... service. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping customers
Customer Service (Current Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 11, 2014
I love working at Fairweather because the costumers and co-workers are very friendly and kind . I had many experiences such as key holders and sales associations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONMarch 5, 2014
Not a lot of people coming in to purchase merchandise
How to have good customer service skills
Good co-workers
Trying to get people to come in the store was the hardest part
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energetic, past paced environment
Regional Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONFebruary 10, 2014
Fastpaced environment. Very close group of employees. I enjoyed being part of supportive group.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indipendent working environment with great coworkers
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, ONFebruary 6, 2014
Open and closing store
Handled a cash flow
Merchandised store
Assisted customer complaints
Help train new staff members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job
Customer Service Representative - Part Time (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: good interaction with customer
Cons: have to work weekends
Good part time position and a way of getting out of the house for some pocket expenses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast paced environment
Assistant manager (Former Employee), ottawa, onJanuary 12, 2014
The staff was very friendly and management was always helpful in making sure I felt comfortable in the tasks I was performing. I definitely received the most training and experience working for Fairweather
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room to move up
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Newmarket, ONJanuary 8, 2014
there just wasn't any more room to move up with in the store. for me to go more with the company anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a busy store
Clerk (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: discount on clothes
Cons: not enough shifts
I didn't work at Fairweather for too long because I had started school and that got in the way, The store wasn't very busy at all so there wasn't a whole lot of shifts available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairweather
Part-time employee (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONDecember 21, 2013
Pros: there is music to keep up the positivity all day.
Cons: i would love there to be a bonus for the employees based on sales and overall job productivity.
I come in mostly in the late afternoon or early evening. I jump onto the sales floor with anticipation of the shift. I really love my job. I enjoy helping the consumer feel good with the purchase they made for themselves or as a gift.

I organize the store and make sure the daily duties are being performed as asked or posted.

At the end of the day, – more... I help with the cleaning of the store and assist with the closing of the store.

I take pride in my work, wherever it may be. I enjoy working with a team as well as working alone with little or no supervision. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Brampton, ONDecember 4, 2013
Everyone at fairweather taught me a lot about the work force. I started as a co-op student and the team built a strong seller. I was pushed to match budgets however it was for the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Train and Motivate
Key Holder / Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Pickering, ONNovember 18, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: renovations in the store
Fairweather was an interesting place to work , I had a lot of responsibilities . Everyday was very different than the last, I was doing every position in the store. I opened and closed as a Key Holder , I helped with interviews and hired new employees , as well as training as a Manager. I would do our mark ups/ mark downs on products, also organizing – more... the store as a Visual merchandiser . I kept the store very clean as a cleaner. So I have definitely learned a lot working there. Since this store had such a high volume of traffic, there was never a dull moment , and there was always something to do and that's what I liked. If I am at my job, I like to keep myself busy and motivated . My co-workers were also really easy to work with as well, – less