Find companies:
FAIRMONT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

FAIRMONT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely Terrible.
Maintenance (Former Employee), Calgary, AlbertaApril 27, 2014
Pros: cheap accomodation
Cons: everything
As a former employee of the fairmont Palliser hotel, I can tell you not to waste your time applying for this company.

All the departments are terrible. In my department, my manager never conducted evaluations of staff performance... and said daily that our performance was excellent. When I went to transfer to another property my manager insisted he – more... would give me a positive reference... then (after transferring; and behind my back) told my new (potential) employers I was terrible (against the law).

It is a unionized environment. There is A LOT of unethical work practices going on here. There is also unsafe work being performed. No safety meetings. EVER.

Terrible managers, No training. Dead end job at its finest.

The company lies to your face. They allow workers who have been there for 30 plus years to use foul language and disrespect you.. only because such employees are so deep in their union seniority that it is impossible to terminate that employee.

they use foreign workers to complete work in the palliser and manipulate workers by threatening to send them back to their home countries if they do not co operate completely.

What about workers out east IN CANADA who are desperate for work?

I'm glad I quit. It is was a waste of time working there.

I'm sure you'll have the same experience.

Dishonest managers.
Unethical company.
No advancement.
Authority figures stealing your personal possessions without being disciplined.

awful experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good quality products with beautiful lake in front of the hotel to relax after work .
Demi Chef De Partie - Pastry (Current Employee), Lake Louise, ABJuly 3, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: moving forward in the industry .
A typical day at work :- A day starts with a lots of banquets need to go through all BEO'S in the morning, ordering the food store for day production's .
What I learned :- Who to go through all the BEO's In particular in Argyles .
Management :- Is all about origination of work "plan your work , work for plan "
Your Co-workers :- This is very important – more... in busy day to take care of them and double check's with the functions in timely manner & had there break time on the duty hours .
The hardest part of the job :- Getting complain's about late setup for functions ..
The most enjoyable part of the job :- This is all about everyday shearing idea's and knowledge . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
free meals
Busser/ server (Current Employee), Santa Monica, CASeptember 12, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: the meals are not healthy
6 hours shift
meeting the tourist is fun
management is strict
co workers are fun
meals are not that great
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Income Audit
Income Auditor Supervisor (Current Employee), Dubai, DUJanuary 26, 2014
Audit, Credit cards, revenue codes, cash handling, supervising general cashier
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Accountant
Financial Accountant (Current Employee), Makkah-KSANovember 16, 2013
Highly analytical and goal-oriented, able to evaluate accounting procedures including overall corporate governance and performance to help formulate innovative procedures. Effective team leadership qualities, able to engender loyalty and harmonize team performance through constant support, effective training and objective assessment. Able to formulate – more... measures to increase return on investment through the use of effective budget management, scheduling and inventory control-Assist with the monthly Forecast preparation.
 Monitor the completion and distribution of daily in-house reports (F&B, Rooms segmentation, Flash, and Labour).
Reconcile and monitor all balance sheet accounts according to the policy.
 Assist with the preparation of the hotel's guidelines.
 Responsible for the monthly Journal and closing entries.
 Assist the preparation of the hotel's Budget.
 Responsible for month-end deadlines and schedules.
 Responsible for training, development, and motivation of accounting staff.
 Familiar with all Hotel operating systems and software including Financials Systems, FIDELIO, PMS, Reporting System, EXCEL.
 Compile month-end journal entries, according to the policy and using standard templates.
 Assist the General Cashier in performing surprise float counts.
 Assist in conducting and completing all standard reconciliation templates according to company policy.Arrange for stop payments and to monitor bank deposits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace,swimming pool
Back of house supervisor (Former Employee), St Andrews, scotlandNovember 5, 2013
Pros: free gym sauna pool etc
Cons: non
great place to work, prof staff
great management
funny co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts Payable
Income Auditor/Accounts Payable - Full time (Current Employee), St. Andrews, SCTJuly 2, 2013
A typical day starts of with checking and logging the purchase order to make sure there are little overpsneds compared to the budgets/forecast. Then to get the Po's signed off by the relevant members of staff. I will also then inout any invoice onto the system and reconcile suppliers statements.

I have learned a good understanding of accountancy in – more... relation to budgets/forecast and also tax.

The hardest part of the job is the inaccurate information given by external sources which can provide some difficulties.

Most enjoyable part is seeing how well each department has done at the end of the month in relation to their expenses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pre-Opening, Inventory Management, Budgeting
Assistant Manager Housekeeping (Current Employee), Fairmont, JaipurFebruary 9, 2013
Inventory management
Budgeting
Uniform and Line room operation
Handover from Project
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with colleague n guest interaction, caring management, excellent living quarters.
Host/Server (Current Employee), Abu DhabiNovember 11, 2012
Pros: free meals at the hotel, gym and morale areas.
Cons: on a few ocassions, one has to do super extra time, but they always make up for that.
A typical day at work is above average with a lot to learn under the good caring management and outgoing helpful co-workers. The hardest part of the job is when the day is slow without guests - it tends to get much longer than is acceptable. Most enjoyable time is during colleague interaction or socializing moments like the carnival or outings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
team leader (Former Employee), jaipurSeptember 8, 2012
Cons: long working hrs and un trained or in experianced junior staff
bad not up to the brand which has such high quality and standards abroad .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transportatin ,healthcare, life insurance
front waiter (Current Employee), Cairo, GAMay 15, 2012
Pros: not in bublic
Cons: not in bublic
+reach work at 3,30 start at 4 oclock make arrange reservation issues make brief at 5 start dinner at 6 serve full dine for a15 cover at lunch 35 at dinner
+family style indian cousine taking care of guest spechial needs
+plan ahead for my station and assist other and lead them to handle them self
+rush hour
+antcipate guest needs in good details
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail
Gardienne d'enfants (Current Employee), Montebello, QCJune 20, 2014
L'environnement de travail est parfait. J'aime les enfants mais je ne peux développer une carrière dans ce domaine. Mais je le fais pour m'amuser.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
la playa es muy bonita
coordinador de playa y alberca ( guardavidas) (Former Employee), Playa del Carmen, ROOMay 31, 2013
El ambiente para laborar es muy bueno... pero si deberian de poner más atención a los empleados. Lo que si aprendí más valores de los que ya tenía.

About FAIRMONT

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts is a Canadian-based operator of luxury hotels and resorts. Currently, Fairmont operates properties – Read more

FAIRMONT Photos