Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews

Found 159 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping
Housekeeping room attendant (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB14 September 2017
Cleaning guest room
Providing guest basic room serivce
A lot activties you can join,for example:skydiving and water rafting...
You have cheaper meal only for employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Customer Service Desk (Former Employee) –  Banff, AB12 September 2017
Learned the Canadian service Standards. the Fairmont banff Spring has a good and fair insurance for their employees. Management is fair. Hours is just too short because of the broken schedule in the restaurant.
Pros
Free Meal
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Experience
Internship Student & Contract Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 September 2017
I entered the company on an internship and met the greatest supervisors and colleagues. They respect and support each other. They took me back on call as a needed employee.
Pros
Free meal, Empowerment, Rewarding
Cons
Competitive, Large Work Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hard yet rewarding work!
Storekeeper (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB1 September 2017
At the start of my day, all the orders are printed off, telling us what to build and ship to who. On certain days we would get very large deliveries to put away in our storeroom. Hours could get very long, but the pay was always worth it.

The management in my department was always working for the team and never made anyone feel like they couldn't do a job or wasn't part of the team. They always gave a lot of effort in everything they did to make sure everything went smoothly.

The company and the culture isn't for everyone. I had no problem with anything there and but some others didn't seem to be a good fit.

I've always had a fun time on the job, and learned a lot about team building and leadership.
Pros
Allowed music, great team to work with
Cons
Living conditions/quarters, department storeroom freezing during winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced kitchen with great benifets
Cook 2 (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC30 August 2017
tough people to work with but if you can suck it up it pays well and has lots of great perks. Managers were great but lots of people have worked there too long and have become pretty bitter and dont like new people. or people in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What i learned
Income and Revenue Auditor (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 August 2017
a typical work day begins with the checking of emails and collecting all paper work from other departments before sitting down to begin the day.
as the revenue and income auditor i learnt the value of a team that can work together. my team was like a second family to me.
Pros
Staff Cafe with discounted lunched and wide variety
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor/Bartender
Supervisor/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Downtown Calgary, AB25 July 2017
Daily inventory
Ensuring all servers were meeting the quality of the hotel
Till/deposits
Serving customers
Maintaining clean and professional workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well, but has a lot of problems and issues
Buss Person (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 July 2017
Very strong family feel amongst colleagues, working hard and likely long hours. Learned so much about customer service and ethics in fine dining restaurants. Management is where the problem stems: small, overrun and underappreciated team with a remarkable lack of support from the executives.
Pros
Pays very well
Cons
Huge lack in staffing and equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn't care when you come with concerns
Overnight Stewarding Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB7 July 2017
Multiple times was ignored when needed assistance. They contradict themselves and don't want to allow a transfer. They don't do their job and throw the problems at you. Worked overtimes and never was appreciated or paid. When you go against their wishes, they threaten to fire.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairmont only cares about the image of the corporation!
food (Former Employee) –  fairmont pacificrim30 June 2017
The only hotel that is not unionized.
Employees have no power to speak out their opinions.
Micro management.
"Very" sensitive about social media ( managers will check on your social media and co-workers will snitch)
It's all about profit.
Not recommended
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
classical kitchen to work for
Second Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 June 2017
I got to learn a lot in all areas of the kitchen. Worked under real red seal certified chefs and colleagues. The schedule was flexible and was willing to work around a second income.
Pros
free staff meals, offsite functions
Cons
need to live close in order to have a happy life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work!
HUMAN RESOURCES INTERN (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 May 2017
I loved working for the Fairmont - management was great, they made a point to say hi to you everyday, and the staff was fun. I'd go back in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Front Office Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Jasper, AB17 May 2017
Avoid working for this company if you want to have a life and a salary that you can support your life
- Crazy hours
- Low salary
- Executives abuse management with long hours and no OT
- Executives are hypocrites and work 9-5
- no work-life balance, work is life
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn and Develop
Talent Acquisition Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB13 May 2017
Fairmont is a fantastic company to work for--many ways to learn and develop. Great Management, and it is very easy to move up, and earn a higher position quickly
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge Company, tons of opportunities
Part Time 2nd Cook, Pastry (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 May 2017
Very secure job with a lot of benefits and opportunities for advancement/relocation. Staff meal provided daily, discounts on stays at any Fairmont property in the world. Opportunities to switch between departments to maximize learning and connections. Good consistent pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Read fine prints before joining
General Cook (Former Employee) –  Jasper Park Lodge, AB27 April 2017
Management and diversity ... it's clue for those who are smart enough to get it. Rest they ask you to sign agreement so that you cannot write on social media about what happens inside it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home/ work like balance challenge
Fairmont F&B (Current Employee) –  Banff, AB24 April 2017
Typically, this company will say that they promote a healthy home / work life balance but I don't believe it to be true. I realize it is a business and they want to make money, however it seems challenged. I believe they are headed in the right direction with the purchase of Accor though
Pros
free lunch, laundry
Cons
long hours, no support, encouragement
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Labour management (Former Employee) –  Banff, AB18 April 2017
I had a great experience working for Fairmont, as an international company there is a lot of room for growth and advancement. You have many opportunities available to you here and I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Fairmont Hot Springs, BC11 April 2017
I enjoyed working with this company, they worked with me when i needed help as well as I helped them. We worked well as a team. And for the last 2 yrs working there I meet some great people. The food was good. I would go to the restaurant there and eat somethings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Senior Reservation Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB11 April 2017
Wonderful workplace with many opportunities for travel. Great, energetic workforce and lots of management support. Sales skills are key to maintaining good standings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 388 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.9
Culture
4.2

CEO Approval

84%
139 ratings
Add your rating

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Reviews by Job Title

Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Reviews by Location