Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Outlet Server - Lakeview Lounge (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB5 February 2018
On site accommodations with easy access to work within short distance. A lot of room for growth and knowledge among products. High stress work environment and the living accommodations can be stressful as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Fairmount experience
House person and have some front desk experience (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 February 2018
I was working in the housekeeping department as a house person.Then also did some cross training for the front desk on my spare time. I worked in housekeeping for a year and 2 months and wanted to grow but not very many spots were open for me to move around so i figured it wouldn't be a bad idea to venture out and try something different. I love working in hospitality helping guests turning moments into memories and being a leader in the department i work in and apply 100 percent to the job i work in.
Pros
Great work experience and strong team building skills
Cons
Not able to grow as fast as i wanted
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and professional workplace
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Jasper, AB2 February 2018
- enjoyed the management and made workers constantly feel like they were working in a team
- most of the day i was alone when cleaning rooms and i did not enjoy a full 8 hours alone in different rooms
Pros
felt like i could really depend on my team when i needed help
Cons
a lot of strenuous physical demands
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Guest Service Agent/Assistant Front Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC31 January 2018
The best team ever. A supportive and fun group of hard-working individuals, creatively and diligently making each day better for both guests and coworkers. I loved working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits and compensation
Guest Attendant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC26 January 2018
A prestigious company that gives good compensation and good benefits. But management should make some adjustments with regards with their company rules and regulations most particularly in the housekeeping department.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Too much workloads
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on Location
Stewarding (Former Employee) –  Alberta23 January 2018
Overall, very good.

You will likely be in a spectacular location and should take advantage of that if you can. If you are somebody who can adopt a company ethos and perform consistently then you will do very well.

Good employers to me. Though I can can only comment on one branch.
Pros
Travel opportunity, Great brand
Cons
Shift work, seasonal/feast or famine
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Hostess/Food Runner (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB19 January 2018
Working for the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise was a wonderful experience if anyone is interested in the hospitality services (FOH and/or BOH.) However, with its remote location it should be noted that work and play go hand and hand here and winters can be rough for staff that do not partake in winter activities. Although a gorgeous scenery, Lake Louise can be quite difficult to adjust to especially with on-site housings lack of privacy if you are starting at a colleague position. Also do remember how small the community is. But all in all, this hotel is a great place to meet wonderful people who have the adventure-bug in them whether staff or guests, and venture Banff while you can!
Pros
Free lunches, great benefits, beautiful location
Cons
Long hours, poor management, remote location, on-site housing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great summer job
Cook assistant (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC17 January 2018
It is a great job during cruise ships season but you need seniority to be able to get hours, if you are at the bottom of the seniority you won't have hours during January to April and they expect you to apply for EI.
Pros
good money
Cons
no hours during slow season
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be better
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 January 2018
Cons
Does not live up to its potential
Terrible work life balance
High Burn Out rate

Pros
Colleagues are great
Benefits include travel and hotel discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experiences in a Breathtaking Location
Accounts Receivable Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB27 December 2017
Fairmont has luxury brand hotels in the most beautiful locations in the world - I got to settle in to Lake Louise in the Canadian Rockies. The job and the location are a dream come true. Fairmont takes work-life balance very seriously, and appreciate the employees that go the extra mile. There are no limitations here of what you can do to make your guest happy.
Pros
On-duty meals, opportunities for advancement, location and activities
Cons
Long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, But takes over your life
Royal Service Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON26 December 2017
fun place to work, but the schedules are only released weekly and one must sacrifice a lot to work there without getting fired. Otherwise great pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large work environment
Front Office Administration Internship (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2017
it was fun working at The Royal York Hotel. I learned a lot of skills and knowledge specially in the Hospitality Industry and Guest Service/ Relations. Good employee benefits, responsible management, free buffet lunch everyday for all the staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with room for growth
Tour & FIT Reservations Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB17 December 2017
Working with Fairmont gives you plenty of opportunities to grow and move within the company. The travel perks are an added bonus! Would definitely recommend this company to young professionals who are looking to launch their career.
Pros
free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Increditable place to live
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB12 December 2017
Great place to live. Entry level staff accommodations are rough, but coordinator positions and higher offer better living squares. Easy to maintain work/life balance with many activities and staff events hosted by company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairmont
Server (Current Employee) –  Fairmont Hot Springs, BC11 November 2017
It was a super fun place to work and if you get a chance do it. The people that woork in FAirmont are very sweet and amazing people. Please go out and try it.
Pros
Free snowboarding, Free swinging, 40 percent of of things
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and opportunities to develop more skills
Guest Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2017
Nice work environnement with good relationships between internal and external guests. I had the opportunity to learn more, be in interaction with good people and talk about a career.
Pros
good time at work
Cons
renovate the style of the assistance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
BANQUET CAPTAIN (Former Employee) –  Macdonald, MB3 November 2017
There were so many benefits working for such an astound company. It was by hard the most challenging position that I've ever had as well as the most rewarding job I've ever had. I would be very fortunate to work for The Fairmont Hotels again.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Evenings and weekends working
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
Steward (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 November 2017
Good place to start, excellent salary wages and benefits , if you are a student its work perfectly for you, with salary you can study and pay your bills easily.
Pros
Salary, benefits, overtime hours
Cons
No weekends, not time for family or friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fairmont Hot Springs, BC26 October 2017
Was a good job to work.
I have been in Canada for 1 year and worked all the time over there.
I like soo much the time that I was there.
I wanna work with the same job.
Pros
free condution
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High volume and intensity workplace
Server and Social Media Manager (Former Employee) –  Lake Louise, AB21 October 2017
A high intensity work environment , with very little work life balance. There is excelerated opportunity to advance quickly in the company due to high turn over rate. It can be an excellent place to gain managerial experience as a recent graduate or a person with little previous experience.
Pros
healthy options in cafeteria
Cons
long hours, no work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairmont Hotels & Resorts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 471 reviews
5246
4138
361
210
116

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture