Fairfield Inn & Suites Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 621 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What to expect
Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB6 October 2017
At Fairfield, a few things you can expect are work, pleasant guests, and $1.00 all you can eat breakfast and free coffee throughout the day. There will always be hours if you want them. Moving on to the negatives; in the ten months I was there, I was never given a salary raise (even after asking after three and four months), nor was I given benefits after 6 months; they did not promote from within the company; your work schedule during the day fluctuated (you would be scheduled from 8-4 and some days wouldn't be gone until 6 or 7 (without warning)); you would be forced to work at a neighbouring hotel if an employee did not show up for work (which happened on a weekly basis, and this meant staying until 6 or 7, which is challenging if you have kids); management, in my experience, had good days and bad days. I only wish the bad days were sparse, as opposed to what they were. Most of the bad days involved staff getting pizza though so that was nice.
Pros
Inexpensive breakfast, free coffee, great co-workers, lots of hours.
Cons
Unexpected schedule changes (under 8 hours notice), no wage increase, no benefits, indifferent management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with a work - life unbalance
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON22 September 2017
Start at 8 or 9, You stay until everyone on your housekeeping shift is done, you could be done your rooms ar 4pm but a coworker isnt until 9pm, you stay until 9pm. trainers are hard on new people. and they dont get your information for pay right away all they ask for when you start is your first and last name,
Pros
pay check
Cons
long shifts ( 12 - 16 hrs a day ), trainers are rough on new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management! Bad owners!
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON17 September 2017
Working here has been such a bad experience. Really low pay and the owners tend to get involved so much. You can work your butt off for them and they still can not appreciate it. Working team is great minus the housekeeping manager. So unprofessional! Not worth it to work for bad ownership!
Pros
Management and staff team
Cons
Bad owners and low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
miss treatment, favoritism, racism, unfair punishments, unfit management.
Housekeeper/Laundry (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC19 February 2017
i have never worked in such a horrible place, shame on etkins for letting this mistreatment happen. people and other staff members belittled me, yelled at me made me feel bad.
Pros
one free 10 min break.
Cons
horrible staff and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for people starting in hotels
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 January 2017
The place is a friendly hotel, the guests are nice and welcoming, hotel is averagely maintained, and co-workers are great to work with. A very simple hotel is the best way to put it.
Pros
willing to balance life with work, and management are nice people
Cons
short staffed, low wage, may required to do unnecessary task, system is oldest in the industry, many computer problems such as (slow internet, internet goes out, can't do anything during backup, computer glitches), needless account names in system
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hotel but not a great job
HOUSEKEEPER (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC26 October 2016
It is a great hotel however not a stable job as the seasons change and one may quickly be out of a job without notice. although during summer hours paychecks were agreeable the company cant secure the same amount consistently when summer ends. not a salary job so money isn't the safest.
Pros
slightly above min wage pay
Cons
pay not as good as it should be, hours arent garunteed, job isnt secure.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for short term employment
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC22 February 2016
Hardest part of the job was the fluctuation in hours, and low pay. Days were pretty much the same day in and day out. Morning meeting, sent upstairs to clean rooms, when you were done, sometimes there was more work you could do, or go home.
In the summer hours were great, but by the time October, it slowed down, with the exception of weekends.
Great team atmosphere. Everyone is willing to jump in and help.
The Executive Housekeeper is awesome to work for.
Pros
Pretty good work environment, schedules can be flexible
Cons
Fluctuation in hours, and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the Fairfield Inn and Suites is a great experience.
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 February 2015
At the Fairfield Inn and Suites there are many different people that you get to meet. They are all very friendly and supportive, you are always treated like family. The staff members all get along with each other and it makes for a pleasurable experience. There are usually some bumpy roads that we face, but we all stick together and help each other get through the tough situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good job
Housekeeping Attendant (Former Employee) –  guelph ontario26 January 2015
I left the job because of transportation, i took the bus so wasnt always easy to get to work whitch i barley ever missed a day.
The pay was not enough for my bills and life style plus i need to move up in the world.
I would love to go back to school to finish and finally feel free from not finishing.
Pros
Great people i worked with, guests are wonderful.
Cons
cant live off of how much i got payed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Fairfield Inn & Suites reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fairfield Inn & Suites. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 621 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

Fairfield Inn & Suites Reviews by Location