EY Employee Reviews

Found 95 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the Philippines so irrelevant to job searches in Canada
Staff Consultant (Former Employee) –  Philippines10 August 2014
Good company. In the Philippines so irrelevant to job searches in Canada
Pros
Good company.
Cons
In the Philippines so irrelevant to job searches in Canada
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience
Senior External Auditor (Former Employee) –  jordan6 August 2014
Great experience
very demanding job
long term job security
bad financial package
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ernst & Young- Executive Assistant
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 July 2014
A lot of calendaring for my executive and some of the other senior level employees.
External and internal meetings as I worked in Advisory Services. This was a very FAST paced environment.
Here I learned to enjoy the fast pace and really time manage.
We submitted a lot of proposals so I am very familiar with editing/polishing powerpoints etc. for presentations to C-suite externals.
the hardest part of the job was making sure everything was done by deadline and so that put a lot of stress on me. It was my first job out of university so I really value the time I worked at EY for I was taught and learned on my own how to handle high pressure situations.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when we won a bid and I knew that I helped contribute to that success.

Management and procedures were very organized and there was room for growth. This place was not hypocritical in their values and they did provide growth for their employees.

Co-workers were either really great to work with (regarded me as a friend and co-worker) regardless of what level. OR they were hierarchical and I did not like this. It was quite a big organization so I didn't get the tight family feeling I receive most times at CPPIB.
Pros
education could be paid from 50-100% depending on what I took, very reputable company, learned a lot of my executive level skills from working here
Cons
some people asked a lot of me and it was not possible when I worked for so many people, I would oftentimes burn myself out because I had trouble saying no or delegating.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A truly great professional environment filled with L&D
Senior Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 July 2014
Extremely professional environment providing breadth and depth of experience for qualifying CAs
Varied client experience across all industries
Very collaborative people environment
Stellar IT environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 June 2014
It is a great place to work. I have only worked at Ernst & young and have had a great learning experience thre.
Pros
Very people friendly company
Cons
you end up in a very super specialised field
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like politics, work here
Intermediate Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Canada8 June 2014
Work culture was not great, lots of needless politics. Long hours for no reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but great people
Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2014
- Long hours
- Structured advancement in the firm
- Great job security
- Great people
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Long hours/High stress
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning... Learning... Learning
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2014
You get to learn everything there is to know about processes
Pros
Huge access to information
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great team
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 April 2014
I have had an amazing experience with my current opportunity and have learned and grown very much in my 4 and a half years. I have also built a great rapport with many different people and service lines within the company.
Pros
Vacation Days, Long Weekends in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, little vacations
Technology (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 March 2014
Work Work Work. Salary is not bad but long hours and little vacation days, so overall, the pay is not any better than other companies for similar roles. If you are not a CA, don't work for EY. No one appreciates your hard work. Though company expects you to work for 24/7.
Pros
Nice to show off that you work for "EY"
Cons
long hours, little vacations, no personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to work with highly skilled teams in a positive environment
Administrative Assistant and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario18 February 2014
Working in a team atmosphere in the management consulting and research areas I had an opportunity to work with highly skilled people who encouraged knowledge sharing and personal advancement. Some work days were long when working on deadlines but there were often rewards to compensate. The only reason I left this position was because I relocated too far away to commute and I have regretted it ever since. A great place to work and a great company culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Web Support & Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 February 2014
Very respectable company to work for. No issues and no complaints. I would be happy to work for the EY Centre again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good resources and structured learning
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON3 December 2013
EY has a highly structured training programs and many opportunities to learn.

Work/life balance is not great here, as you will have to do long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you learned?
Human Resources Coordinator (Co-op Student) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 November 2013
I have learned a great deal of relationship building in the workplace with hourly associates and senior managers as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low work-life balance, low salary
Human Resources Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 August 2013
EY is a great place for those aspiring to get their CA - but not so great for those in support functions, such as HR.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn
Senior since late 2010 (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 August 2013
good place to start, good culture, good professional environment, high pressure
Pros
good training
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work - you work with people who work hard and play hard
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ON12 August 2013
Days can range from CRAZY BUSY to a slow pace when not tax time.
Learned to give your best each day - bring a positive attitude and a can do attitude to work
Good management
Friendly coworkers
Doing back up jobs on a regular basis
Being the hub of the wheel and meeting deadlines.
Pros
lots of parties
Cons
having to do back up jobs on a regular basis
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people, great work
Senior (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC9 August 2013
EY is a great place to work. We have excellent clients and challenging projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Toronto5 August 2013
EY is good place to work. Like all places, has its challenges but I would recommend EY to any prospective job seeker. Get in early and work hard - results will follow.
Pros
Extra holidays over long weekends
Cons
Technology could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and grow
Tax Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 May 2013
Good place to learn and grow, people are professional and friendly, there is sufficient training.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at EY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 3,274 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9