EY Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 73 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Senior Advisor, Financial Services Risk Management (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 3, 2014
a typical day at work - Good
what you learned - Consulting
management - Good
your co-workers - Good
the hardest part of the job - Extensive travel - but i liked it.
the most enjoyable part of the job - Meeting new people almost every new project
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Club
Committee Member & Mentor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 25, 2015
This is an extracurricular club at EY. We got to coach the new students writing the exams each year with the process. It is a nice club to join.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Auditor (Former Employee) –  PakistanJanuary 10, 2015
Good company to work with; good experience and job security
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work - you work with people who work hard and play hard
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  London, ONAugust 12, 2013
Days can range from CRAZY BUSY to a slow pace when not tax time.
Learned to give your best each day - bring a positive attitude and a can do attitude to work
Good management
Friendly coworkers
Doing back up jobs on a regular basis
Being the hub of the wheel and meeting deadlines.
Pros
lots of parties
Cons
having to do back up jobs on a regular basis
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 3, 2014
Great environment, lots to learn, good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning, but poor work life balance.
Manager - Global Oil & Gas Center of Excellence (Current Employee) –  BahrainOctober 18, 2014
Great learning, but poor work life balance. You have to have a strong sponsor for progression.
Pros
0
Cons
0
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good resources and structured learning
Senior Accountant (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONDecember 3, 2013
EY has a highly structured training programs and many opportunities to learn.

Work/life balance is not great here, as you will have to do long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience
Senior External Auditor (Former Employee) –  jordanAugust 6, 2014
Great experience
very demanding job
long term job security
bad financial package
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much work pressure at month end , specially on year end.
Financial Consultant (Former Employee) –  Young, SKOctober 9, 2012
Late sittings are very common. Worl load was also much but benefits were also very lucrative.
Pros
free lunch and some times dinner too.
Cons
generally works on 7 days in a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Consultant (Current Employee) –  TorontoAugust 5, 2013
EY is good place to work. Like all places, has its challenges but I would recommend EY to any prospective job seeker. Get in early and work hard - results will follow.
Pros
extra holidays over long weekends
Cons
technology could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ernst & Young- Executive Assistant
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 14, 2014
A lot of calendaring for my executive and some of the other senior level employees.
External and internal meetings as I worked in Advisory Services. This was a very FAST paced environment.
Here I learned to enjoy the fast pace and really time manage.
We submitted a lot of proposals so I am very familiar with editing/polishing powerpoints etc. for presentations to C-suite externals.
the hardest part of the job was making sure everything was done by deadline and so that put a lot of stress on me. It was my first job out of university so I really value the time I worked at EY for I was taught and learned on my own how to handle high pressure situations.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when we won a bid and I knew that I helped contribute to that success.

Management and procedures were very organized and there was room for growth. This place was not hypocritical in their values and they did provide growth for their employees.

Co-workers were either really great to work with (regarded me as a friend and co-worker) regardless of what level. OR they were hierarchical and I did not like this. It was quite a big organization so I didn't get the tight family feeling I receive most times at CPPIB.
Pros
education could be paid from 50-100% depending on what i took, very reputable company, learned a lot of my executive level skills from working here
Cons
some people asked a lot of me and it was not possible when i worked for so many people, i would oftentimes burn myself out because i had trouble saying no or delegating.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak and dysfunctional Advisory Service Line
123456 (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCNovember 9, 2014
Cannot recommend EY Advisory. The overall Advisory business in struggling in Canada.
Pros
large firm with some brand recognition
Cons
advisory is not profitable. poor leadership that do not understand consulting.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment which keeps you on your toes
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2014
The Partners, Principals, Vice-Presidents, and Associates were a great group to work for.

My co-workers were ready and able to assist me with time sensitive projects, as I was ready to assist them.

I really enjoyed the variety of mandates which kept your interest in various projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great team
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCApril 1, 2014
I have had an amazing experience with my current opportunity and have learned and grown very much in my 4 and a half years. I have also built a great rapport with many different people and service lines within the company.
Pros
vacation days, long weekends in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A truly great professional environment filled with L&D
Senior Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 7, 2014
Extremely professional environment providing breadth and depth of experience for qualifying CAs
Varied client experience across all industries
Very collaborative people environment
Stellar IT environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and build a career
Manager, Assurance Services (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 31, 2014
EY has provided me with a great foundation to apply to the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 25, 2014
It is a great place to work. I have only worked at Ernst & young and have had a great learning experience thre.
Pros
very people friendly company
Cons
you end up in a very super specialised field
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the Philippines so irrelevant to job searches in Canada
Staff Consultant (Former Employee) –  PhilippinesAugust 10, 2014
Good company. In the Philippines so irrelevant to job searches in Canada
Pros
good company.
Cons
in the philippines so irrelevant to job searches in canada
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 8, 2013
Consulting with EY is a great opportunity to work with different companies and learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you learned?
Human Resources Coordinator (Co-op Student) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 17, 2013
I have learned a great deal of relationship building in the workplace with hourly associates and senior managers as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,224 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture