EY Employee Reviews

Found 81 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak and dysfunctional Advisory Service Line
123456 (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BCNovember 9, 2014
Cannot recommend EY Advisory. The overall Advisory business in struggling in Canada.
Pros
large firm with some brand recognition
Cons
advisory is not profitable. poor leadership that do not understand consulting.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONNovember 3, 2014
Great environment, lots to learn, good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning, but poor work life balance.
Manager - Global Oil & Gas Center of Excellence (Current Employee) –  BahrainOctober 18, 2014
Great learning, but poor work life balance. You have to have a strong sponsor for progression.
Pros
0
Cons
0
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Senior Advisor, Financial Services Risk Management (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONOctober 3, 2014
a typical day at work - Good
what you learned - Consulting
management - Good
your co-workers - Good
the hardest part of the job - Extensive travel - but i liked it.
the most enjoyable part of the job - Meeting new people almost every new project
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced - great for learning
Assistant Manager - Audit and Assurance (Former Employee) –  Young, SKSeptember 29, 2014
Work/life balance is a big problem but otherwise its a great place to learn and jump start your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and build a career
Manager, Assurance Services (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 31, 2014
EY has provided me with a great foundation to apply to the rest of my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Rogers Communications Inc.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 28, 2014
Rogers Communications Inc. has a great office location, provided a competitive salary and created a wonderful job culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment which keeps you on your toes
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2014
The Partners, Principals, Vice-Presidents, and Associates were a great group to work for.

My co-workers were ready and able to assist me with time sensitive projects, as I was ready to assist them.

I really enjoyed the variety of mandates which kept your interest in various projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the Philippines so irrelevant to job searches in Canada
Staff Consultant (Former Employee) –  PhilippinesAugust 10, 2014
Good company. In the Philippines so irrelevant to job searches in Canada
Pros
good company.
Cons
in the philippines so irrelevant to job searches in canada
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience
Senior External Auditor (Former Employee) –  jordanAugust 6, 2014
Great experience
very demanding job
long term job security
bad financial package
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ernst & Young- Executive Assistant
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 14, 2014
A lot of calendaring for my executive and some of the other senior level employees.
External and internal meetings as I worked in Advisory Services. This was a very FAST paced environment.
Here I learned to enjoy the fast pace and really time manage.
We submitted a lot of proposals so I am very familiar with editing/polishing powerpoints etc. for presentations to C-suite externals.
the hardest part of the job was making sure everything was done by deadline and so that put a lot of stress on me. It was my first job out of university so I really value the time I worked at EY for I was taught and learned on my own how to handle high pressure situations.

The most enjoyable part of the job was when we won a bid and I knew that I helped contribute to that success.

Management and procedures were very organized and there was room for growth. This place was not hypocritical in their values and they did provide growth for their employees.

Co-workers were either really great to work with (regarded me as a friend and co-worker) regardless of what level. OR they were hierarchical and I did not like this. It was quite a big organization so I didn't get the tight family feeling I receive most times at CPPIB.
Pros
education could be paid from 50-100% depending on what i took, very reputable company, learned a lot of my executive level skills from working here
Cons
some people asked a lot of me and it was not possible when i worked for so many people, i would oftentimes burn myself out because i had trouble saying no or delegating.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A truly great professional environment filled with L&D
Senior Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONJuly 7, 2014
Extremely professional environment providing breadth and depth of experience for qualifying CAs
Varied client experience across all industries
Very collaborative people environment
Stellar IT environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 25, 2014
It is a great place to work. I have only worked at Ernst & young and have had a great learning experience thre.
Pros
very people friendly company
Cons
you end up in a very super specialised field
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like politics, work here
Intermediate Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, CanadaJune 8, 2014
Work culture was not great, lots of needless politics. Long hours for no reason.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours but great people
Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMay 15, 2014
- Long hours
- Structured advancement in the firm
- Great job security
- Great people
Pros
flexibility
Cons
long hours/high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning... Learning... Learning
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONApril 13, 2014
You get to learn everything there is to know about processes
Pros
huge access to information
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great team
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BCApril 1, 2014
I have had an amazing experience with my current opportunity and have learned and grown very much in my 4 and a half years. I have also built a great rapport with many different people and service lines within the company.
Pros
vacation days, long weekends in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, little vacations
Technology (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 31, 2014
Work Work Work. Salary is not bad but long hours and little vacation days, so overall, the pay is not any better than other companies for similar roles. If you are not a CA, don't work for EY. No one appreciates your hard work. Though company expects you to work for 24/7.
Pros
nice to show off that you work for "ey"
Cons
long hours, little vacations, no personal life.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to work with highly skilled teams in a positive environment
Administrative Assistant and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OntarioFebruary 18, 2014
Working in a team atmosphere in the management consulting and research areas I had an opportunity to work with highly skilled people who encouraged knowledge sharing and personal advancement. Some work days were long when working on deadlines but there were often rewards to compensate. The only reason I left this position was because I relocated too far away to commute and I have regretted it ever since. A great place to work and a great company culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Web Support & Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONFebruary 5, 2014
Very respectable company to work for. No issues and no complaints. I would be happy to work for the EY Centre again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 2,465 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9