Extra Foods Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job.
Time-management (Former Employee) –  Grand Forks, BC5 December 2017
A typical day was refilling produce and cleaning. I enjoyed the busy-ness and people I worked for. I learned a lot about time-management and working under pressure. I learned how to prioritize my daily tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and enjoyable
Cashier (Current Employee) –  The Pas, MB22 November 2017
steady workplace and customers enjoy shopping in our store
It is hard to work with teen age kids as they have a mind of their own
flexible hours and supervisor is great
it is very difficult to keep track of shop lifters and there is need of a door security
love to work because the customers are happy with my service!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 November 2017
A fast-paced environment that required attention to detail. Building rapport with all customers was my delight of the day.

The management staff was supporting and very understanding.

The hardest part of the job was having to go home.
Pros
four hour shifts
Cons
unfortunately wasn't full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, always on the go!
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dauphin, MB16 November 2017
Working as a cahier you meet a lot of people. some test you and some are very understanding. Management on the most part was great to approach with any concerns you may have. Most cashiers are eager to help.
Pros
Hours are flexible if give enough notice
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
G.M (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK13 November 2017
I enjoyed working there, great staff and team members. I got full ti,e hrs but the pay could have been better. It just became to much to work full time when I had 2 babies at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment but a good team
Front End Manager (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB2 November 2017
Customers were about average. The hours were far too long. Training was very good. My team under me worked well. Not so much from co-workers or higher management though.
Pros
Good team under myself
Cons
Terrible higher management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the job for me
grocery clerk (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC2 November 2017
i dont want to put this job down. there where many of my coworkers that seemed to enjoy this job, but it just wasn't the job for me. i worked there for 2 and a half years and i found it a little tedious.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suitable for short term employment.
Food prep, cleaning, and customer service (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 October 2017
-cutting, cleaning, serving customers.
-learned basic food preparation skills.
-management had trouble on ordering supplies.
-nice coworkers.
-lack of supplies made even the easiest of tasks troublesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service is what it is.
Cash Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Quesnel, BC19 October 2017
Must be able to shrug off customer complaints. Though typically people will be decent, there are times/customers that will cause difficulties. May be required to stay late if unable to finish your duties on time as a cash office clerk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very respectable
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK23 September 2017
Extra food was my first job and the enviroment was always clean respectable, friendly people. Really was a great work enviroment for a first time job :)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, staff friendly, and got cake on birthdays.
Deli Attendant (Former Employee) –  Nipawin, SK21 September 2017
I started every work day/morning like any other, same routine, but not the same if you get what i am getting at. Always something to do, Most of the time I get to the end of my shift and think "wow i just started and its already done"
Before i was employed at Extra Foods i had no experience in the production area. So therefore everything i had learned in the deli department was hands-on.
Working under management i can honestly say that they did not make me feel pressured.
Everyone was treated equal as employees.
The only hardest part i can think of was cleaning the rotisserie.
What i enjoyed most was getting the job done and knowing i done it.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Rotisserie
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace with good people to work with and good management.
cashier, and inside the cash office (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK14 September 2017
I really liked worked there,i just would like more hours and a change of work place. Management was very nice and friendly. Overall i really liked it.
Pros
free food upstairs
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working
Bagger (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, AB8 September 2017
a typical day was either busy or normal. i don't really learn much besides how to bag groceries to make customers happy. the management was pour because when i asked to do more day shifts then just doing nights she refused because all the other bag people at the time didn't want do any nights at all and the pay was not good. The hardest part is when a coworkers was able to work at two job places but i wasn't allow to and we both were working at the same two places. The most enjoyable part was when i got a grocery discount for food for my babysitting job.
Pros
discount on groceries
Cons
pour management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just OK
General Merchandise Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 August 2017
Minimum-wage, bad hours (nights and weekends for most), no full-time. Basically an OK job for teenagers/those still in high school. Definitely not a place to set roots.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Melfort, SK22 August 2017
Working there for almost 3 years, I sure enjoyed meeting new people from in and around the community of Melfort. I enjoyed working with all my co-workers, a few of them I gained as friends after I left my job. It's nice being greeted with a smile and asked how life is going even after not working for over a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grocery Store
Frontend cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 August 2017
Working at the front checkout with all the customers scanning food got exhausting. there was many barcodes to remember that would change all the time and no mention of it.
Pros
Food discount
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier, Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cardston, AB22 July 2017
I learned how to fill prescriptions and making specialty creams
I learned how to read doctor's writing
I learned how to handle upset customers
Enjoyed seeing their smiling faces especially when they feel better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very few hours given, very isolated
Meat Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK13 July 2017
not many hours and very isolated being. could go a whole 4 hour shift without seeing or talking to anyone. Was able to work at my own speed but found when working with others it slowed me down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Leadership
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Merritt, BC11 July 2017
Supervisor had no idea what she's doing most of the time...she has taken on too much for her to handle. Involves herself in all the staff drama...she needs to become just an employee in my opinion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great learning experience
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Meadow Lake, SK4 July 2017
The work environment was great, i liked that everyone was professional.I learned a lot about produce while i worked at Extra Foods. I would work at any Loblaw again if i had a chance.
Pros
Learned a lot
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Extra Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 143 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.5
Culture
3.5