Extra Foods Employee Reviews

Found 106 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run of the mill grocery job
Grocery Clerk/Closing Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB16 January 2017
Pay was slightly above minimum wage, hours were regular and staff is decently nice. Management seems like they know what they're doing.
Pros
Discount on groceries
Cons
bacis job with no real challenge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great ownership , good food and a great local regulars , great location and experianced cooks
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Meadow Lake, SK5 January 2017
good local cuisine , great oriental food / canadian food , pizza , steaks and drinks . kind and hardworking employees , good hours of operation and friendly staff and owners and cooks
Pros
free buffet lunch, reasonable shifts, great ownership
Cons
not the best server supervisor, sometimes hit or miss on pizza quality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace environment for students
Home and Leisure Stocker (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 December 2016
The managers are fair and listen to what you have to say, not too strict or bossy.

Overall just a good work environment for students looking for some money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Creston, BC23 November 2016
Most of the staff were friendly but no one really cared much. Work was fine with the normal grouchy people sometimes. I liked the coworkers that I knew and I enjoyed working with people. The hardest part of working there was lack of hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Merritt, BC10 November 2016
Prepared produce to be displayed for customers at the grocery store. Always something to do to make the days go by quick. Staff are friendly with good attitudes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB21 September 2016
learned how to deal with customers and give excellent customer service.
management was good
friendly co workers that will work hard
enjoyable part of the job was doing my best and helping out customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Meadow Lake, SK7 September 2016
Love working and meeting new ppl and smiling faces and dealing with everyday shoppera . And having employee discounts.
Pros
good work place
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Meat Department Clerk (Former Employee) –  Squamish, BC6 July 2016
was not at tim hortons for to long but it was a different place to work lots of things to do and a lot of different people
it was a very fun place to learn new things
Pros
free lunch
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work with great people
General Merchandise Personnel (Former Employee) –  Sechelt, BC1 June 2016
Good place to work for a first job, very busy and keeps you on your toes. The people are great and also very flexible with hours. The management was good and gave good hours.
Pros
ocassionally free food
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Flin Flon, MB30 May 2016
I loved my time spent at Extra Foods, Great Advancement Opportunities, Great Work environment, Good hours and pay, Nice Steady Paced Environment
Pros
Good Hours and Pay, Advancement Opportunities
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrable experence
Deli Clerk, Salad Bar Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fernie, BC23 May 2016
it was the worst job that I ever work, management is horrible I had to call labor board multiple times due to wrong pay check for over three mouths. management dose not provide uniform,
Pros
benifits
Cons
worst job ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cultivate job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK19 May 2016
This is a job that made me to be a hardworking worker and made me be able to work under the high pressure and in the fast paced work environment. I got good experience about the customer service in the company but I also want to learn more in the larger company.
Pros
stable
Cons
long time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Drumheller, AB11 May 2016
I quite enjoyed greeting all the customers that entered the store. It was also beneficial to learn about the general layout and workings of a grocery store.
Pros
Social environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun first job
Grocery Department (Former Employee) –  Quesnel, BC29 March 2016
i enjoyed this job because it taught basic skills and showed an insight of what a work ethic was and meant. the coustomers and staff were always friendly and easy to get along with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly good place to work for
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Quesnel, BC14 March 2016
There was no typical day, it depended upon which area they slotted you into for that day. Each area had it's own duties. I learned how to perform many duties, as a result I learned time management. My co-workers were some of the nicest people that I have ever worked with. The hardest part of my job was not being able to fit in tasks that I wanted to perform as time would not allow them. The most enjoyable part of the job was the friendly people that I worked with.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours, kept you busy
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Marathon, ON6 March 2016
It has been a while since I been employed there but it was a fast paced job, always on your feet, some nice co workers. I learnt a lot about stocking and keeping produce fresh. I enjoyed crisping vegetables and making sure there is clean and fresh produce
Pros
good hours
Cons
some cruel co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My previous job at Extra Foods
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 January 2016
My typical day at this, previous job at Extra Foods was not that bad. It was busier than usual and I learned a lot of tasks. Management has been changed and my co-workers before were great. The hardest part of the job is some of the harder products, which were challenging. The most enjoyable part of the job is facing the easier products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work when you are a high school student
Extra Foods CAO (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB22 October 2015
They allowed me to take time off for studying for exams. They did not want me to leave them offering to give my a leave of absence rather than quitting the job
Pros
good excersie
Cons
lots of standing
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
At the end of the day, Extra Foods gave me a taste of what the working environment was like.
Grocery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kamloops B.C11 October 2015
Extra foods brought me into the working world and showed me how to deal with and guide customers to satisfaction.

It gave me the foundations to begin working and help show me an understanding of customer- first service.
Pros
Is a fantastic place to start working at, with positive employees to teach you.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good learning experience
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  smithers BC25 September 2015
the day was simple to get started, I never had much problems. When I did have a problem a supervisor was there to help. All co-workers were very nice, and never caused a problem. my most enjoyable part o the job was making people feel welcome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 107 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.6