Find companies:
Exterran
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
58 reviews

Exterran Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Temp position - Biller (Former Employee), Victoria, TXMarch 21, 2014
Cons: computer system
New Computer System - No one knows how to use it. Terrible training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Accounting (Former Employee), Houston TexasMarch 15, 2014
Pros: great coworkers and managers
Cons: no more 9/80 work week low wages & bonuses
I loved the group I worked with. Good team work. Training could have been better. We made up for it by working together with teammates. NO room for growth unless you have a 4 year degree. No matter how many college hours you have or years experience. They are very focused on that piece of paper. Lower pay scale then most oil & gas companies. Very old – more... version of Oracle with patches installed every other weekend to fix issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Desktop support (on site and remote)
Business Technology Support Analyst (Current Employee), Fort Worth, TXMarch 12, 2014
Pros: great co workers
Cons: complicated and restrictiive corporate policies
-Processing service requests and incident report
-Configuring/deploying laptops and desktops locally and remotely
-Great environment including excellent teamwork and cooperation
-Hardest part of the job was being so restraint on what I can do to help my customers (ex. no admin rights) Attempting to explain the complicated policies that my customers – more... were forced to deal with was also challenging. Just because there was an IT guy on site didn't necessarily mean I could help them resolve their issue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no future
Mechanic (Current Employee), Yukon, OKMarch 6, 2014
Cons: managrment cares more for profit than culture
no future, six years in and has been like being in swirling toilet bowl..no one seems to care loosing experienced employees, answer to that is to just get more temps. safety program holds employees back from completing tasks on time while management wants it done faster and cheaper.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR function is moving from transactional to transformational!
HR Representative (Current Employee), Davis, OKFebruary 14, 2014
Continuous improvement is the #1 priority at Exterran! The goals and objectives set by HR management are focused on making Exterran a first class employer. I have experienced more clarity around HR strategy, G&O, back off processes, policies, etc. in the past 2 years than in the prior 15 years with other employers. Exterran is a great place to work – more... if you are an HR professional who is committed to helping both employees and management be successful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Shop Mechanic (Current Employee), Kilgore TxJanuary 12, 2014
Overhaul gas compressor units rebuild frames swing engines only reason why I am looking for a new job is Exterran is shutting down the shop in Kilgore
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Senior Principal Consultant-Oracle Apps/Core DBA (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 2, 2014
It is a great company to work for with many technologies , but the daily commute from sugar land to greenspoint is too much for me to handle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Process engineer (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 16, 2013
Excellent employer employee relations and mostly enjoyable work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Control
Quality Control Inspector (Current Employee), Youngstown, OHNovember 24, 2013
Pros: paid vacation and lunches.
Dailey problem solving in a high paced enviorment. Keeping records for ASME inspections of pressure vessels and piping.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very safety oriented place for sure.
Code welder (Former Employee), Youngstown OhioNovember 5, 2013
Pros: safety huddle
Cons: healthcare and management
After reading some of the reviews and a lot of the same problems through out the company . But they should know the problems of having area managers that never been around a fabrication . They are just looking for a yes person on muppet strings . There has been ten very qualified tradesman left after six months of opening a new plant in Youngstown . – more... They lied our wages after we committed going to forty hours of classes on our own time . Most quit a job to come there . The insurance is expensive . Which they lied about threw interview process. They have no integrity for a big company . They are hiring welders with six months experience paying same as us with twenty years of code welding . There is only twenty workers in vessel shop and there is three bosses . Two came from Texas and they are not the sharpest of needles . All they do is push you and they wonder why the quality isnt there . It was my worst mistake taking that job. When the human resource lady from Texas had a meeting with us and she said the turn over ratio 42% . If they asked all the employees at exterran Youngstown if they are happy I bet 80% would say no . Truth goes along way to employees and their attitudes . The state of Ohio government grants for training employees at exterran which never happened . Our so called master welder trained us . That's the same guy who has the highest failure rate on X-ray welds . They are sending him to school for welding . It's who you know and who you suck up to will take you far . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Pipe Welder (Former Employee), Broken Arrow, OKOctober 10, 2013
Pros: great place
great place great work great people all in all was a nice place to work i would recommend anybody for them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Administrative Assitant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Brookwood, ALSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: great company and staff
Cons: lay offs
In charge of the field service workers, assigned task as to the wells, kept downtime report, recorded task and time, kept hours in E TIme, payroll, kept records for weekly reports as to well performance. Hired and processed new hires to include benefits. Set up manager meetings and employee meetings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The employees are like family and we all work as a team.
Material Handler (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great hard working people.
Cons: healthcare expensive, and not enough training to employees when willing to learn.
The hardest part of the job is people need to learn how to communicate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Backup Fitter Lead / QC Inspector (Current Employee), Alleyton, TXSeptember 7, 2013
Pros: plenty of overtime
Cons: to much waiting for parts
Fun and fast paced,with the ability to advance within the company in a short amount of time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job, while still in college.
Preservative Technician (Former Employee), Kilgore, TXAugust 28, 2013
Pros: lots of hours, was only a temporary position for the summer.
Cons: very hot and long hours.
*A typical day at work included taking apart oil and gas compressors, spraying the interior with preservative, and putting them back together.
*I learned about the oil and gas industry and about the parts of a gas compressor and how it worked.
*I enjoyed working with my co-workers and my manager. We tried to make sure we always kept it fun, you have – more... to when you are working 12 hour days in 100 degree temperatures.
*The hardest part of the job was dealing with the heat and the long hours.
*The best part of the job was getting the overtime that made for a nice paycheck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exterran
Fitter/Welder (Former Employee), Broken Arrow, OKAugust 21, 2013
Pros: cookouts every other week
Cons: carry other peoples loads and fix other welders welds
good company to work for, friendly environment, nice tool room
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for
Foreman of Paint (Current Employee), Huoston, TexasAugust 8, 2013
Pros: great learning opportunities
Cons: hectic schedule
Exterran is a great company to work for. Day to day production schedules can be rather hectic as can day to day activities. Over my time here that has been great management and OK management. I enjoy working with each and everyone of my co-workers, supervisors, and peers. The hardest part of my job, lately, has been finding a work / personal life balance. – more... The most enjoyable part of my job is the satisfaction of my team and customers by providing a quality product on time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in
Pipe Fitter - Assembly Line (Former Employee), Houston, TxAugust 3, 2013
I love the nationality they have in the work place. You can advance in your pace. They would train you in whatever you want to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exterran's a decent company
Field Service Technician/Operator (Current Employee), Williamsport, PAJuly 11, 2013
Excellent group of Field Tech and Managers. Company is fair, willing to work with employees and encourage success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company but no room to advance and grow
QUALITY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Alleyton, TXJune 29, 2013
Pros: i do something different every day.
Cons: without a college degree you can not move into management
Started as help and quickly moved into QC. By working hydro i learned alot about the equipment and safety. I am responsable for many different inspection point through out the day.

1 2 3

About Exterran

Exterran Holdings, Inc. is engaged in the full-service natural gas compression business. It provides operations, maintenance, – Read more