Extendicare Health Services, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Recreation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON1 October 2015
Really takes the time to care and look after the residents and employees. Everyone is very friendly and are there for the common good of the residents.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as Previous
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON27 September 2015
This review is the same as the previous review I just wrote.
Extendicare Health Services was a great experience for me, I enjoyed working in the environment as well as with the clients and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun productive work place
PSW Student (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON21 September 2015
I had the pleasure of completing my LTC placement at Extendicare Oshawa and it was a great experience. The staff were very kind, informative and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place with wonderful hard working team
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 September 2015
I love my job, I get to learn and experience something new every day it makes my job challenging while rewarding in the same time, I have wonderful team mates and a experienced understand manager, knowing every ones need which make the job challenging and meeting new residents by fulfilling there needs makes my job rewarding .
Pros
fun work place with supportive team and managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extendicare
Kitchen helper (Current Employee) –  60 Guildwood Pkwy, Scarborough, ON M1E 1N926 July 2015
i like it becz it is a really good help for them and that cook good food and i really like its awesome and i had work there for a while but right now i dont know if i should work there agian
Pros
yes
Cons
7 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as most continuing care facilities
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 July 2015
AHS does not fund for enough staff so there is significant staff burnout, turnover, etc. This isn't uncommon for most health care facilities though.
Pros
Great building
Cons
Short-staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Recreation Aide (Former Employee) –  St. Paul, AB3 July 2015
Typical day at work : Ensure safety of the elderly
Engage residents to challenging activities that stimulates mental function and promotes socialization
Serve meals and ensure resident’s safety during meal time
Ask residents for their meal of choice the next morning

I have learned to work with hot headed and short tempered elders.

The management is very organize and fair.

The hardest part of the job is to put others first before yourself.

The most enjoyable part of the job is to see my residents happy and contented.
Pros
Two 15-minute breaks and one 30-minute lunch break
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, structured
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK1 July 2015
This type of job roles around "clicks" your either in or your out, as childish as that is and high school it sounds, its the sad truth of these unions, Choose your battles carefully and words especially to the right people. Great pay, not such great hours depending where you sit with seniority
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for York St.
Nursing (Former Employee) –  York St sudbury12 June 2015
I worked at Extendicare York and had a very poor experience. Management is overworked and takes it out on front line staff at times. Most of the Frontline staff is fantastic except the few bad ones ruin it for everyone. They will bully you and make working there unbearable and management will do nothing. In fact, some will just bully you themselves. Save yourself the stress and don't work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident oriented and staff building
Clinical Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London, ON11 June 2015
Extendicare London offers a wonderful learning experience to new staff. The Staff makes you feel welcome and they are very receptive to your queries and answer questions as able or they point you in the right direction.

The inside and outside environs are very clean and you can see that the staff take pride in the services they offer to these Residents.

The hardest part of my job is losing one of the Residents when you have developed a professional relationship with.

I take each day as a learning experience and go home to reflect on what I have done and whether I made a difference today
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summar
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON12 May 2015
I enjoyed working at extendicare. I would help residents with walking, playing games, relocating them if they needed help and running programs within the home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cook
Cook (Current Employee) –  London, ON27 April 2015
Preparing food daily as outlined on menu
Serves food using therapeutic chart; knowledge of their diets
Organizing food preparation to ensure all meals and snacks are served on time
Responsible for the care and operation of food service equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
Charge Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON11 March 2015
It's the hardest job you will ever love.
Starts with report.
Next, being sure everyone is aware of their assignments.
And then I make rounds.
Care planning and MDS RAI
Providing treatments
Working as a team to provide the best care possible
Pros
Opportunity for continuing education
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
o
experience (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON9 March 2015
great co workers\taught many lessons
taught to be carful around others and how to care for them
best part was meeting no people bad part was seeing the sick people
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job Ever!
Non Certified Care Aide (Former Employee) –  Vulcan, AB28 February 2015
Probably the best job ive ever had! Only left because I had to move out of town! would have never left if it wasnt for that! Great hours, great people, amazing environment!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was a very productive and fun enviroment to work in
House keeping (Former Employee) –  Georgetown, ON28 February 2015
enjoyed working with clients, there was nothing challenging in the work place, and enjoyed the fact that I was always moving and doing something.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff and Residents
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON22 February 2015
I have only been working here for almost 8 months, but the staff and residents are great people to work with. Everyone is helpful, kind and respectful.
Pros
Flexible Breaktimes
Cons
Heavy Workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy going co-workers
Benefits Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario17 February 2015
Many benefits coordinators acquire their skills and expertise through on-the-job learning, such as having constant discussion with other co-workers, reading union agreements etc.
Pros
Flexable hours
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was like your basic Extendicare
Nurses AID (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB12 January 2015
a typical day at work was finding out what and who you would be working with for the day , and would always start of going to report, before anything else, this is where they let you know what was going on for the day, and what client needed certain or special care , this is also where you were assigned certain clients for the day , so you new who your clients were and who you would be working with , you always worked with different people some had good work ethics ,and some not so good, but no matter what you . did your job and never complained often , i learned to stay focused and be a team player ,and always cooperate when needed , i would say the hardest part of the job was when i was bath aid as we only had so much time to get our clients in the tub and out and cleaned up and weighed , as i had many, i always felt rushed for time but would do my best to make sure i got done in the required time that we had, and that my clients care was met, the most enjoyable i would say was just seeing my clients on a daily basis, and when they would be happy to see me , or when a client took ill would recover ,i also enjoyed working with some of the staff as we worked well together and had a few laugh es together as well .
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PSW Placement
PSW Student (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON11 January 2015
I was very very happy with my experience with Extendicare overall. The residents that I worked with and the co-workers as a whole were fantastic when it came to taking their time and knowledge of the position and training us students.
Pros
Fast paced enviroment
Cons
differences as to how a job gets safely done
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Extendicare Health Services, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 282 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.8
Culture
3.0