Find companies:
Extendicare Health Services, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
133 reviews

Extendicare Health Services, Inc. Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed it and miss the staff and clients.
HEALTH CARE AIDE (Former Employee), Athabasca, ABDecember 9, 2014
I really enjoy working for this company, I think fondly of the staff morale that we have. The atmosphere in the office has a really good tone and it spills out into the service realm with the HCA`s and nurses. I provided excellent high quality client care and I know other staff do as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team motivator
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONNovember 4, 2014
Pros: happy employees = better care
Cons: no cons
Great RPN to motivate team

Right to autonomy

Holistic care

Emotional support
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staffing shortage often
Nurse Supervisor (Former Employee), Somerset, MBOctober 16, 2014
Pros: fairly good job security
Cons: no real cons
Management was reasonably ok
Workload 50 plus hrs a week
Co-workers relatively good to work with
Enjoyed working with the elderly clients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work and build skills
Part time, 24 hrs (Current Employee), chatsworth ontarioOctober 14, 2014
Pros: makes you feel good to be apart of these residents lives
Cons: gossip, occasional mistreatment verbally to other staff and residents.
this company is a good place to work, if you fit in. A lot of homes now have a way of not keeping people for very long. i myself have had a good experience here but i cant say the same for a lot of others. the care given by most is excellent and i enjoy going to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderful co-workers
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Timmins, ONOctober 6, 2014
Pros: caring people
Cons: hard on the body
a typical day at Extendicare is the love and compassion I receive each and every day from my wonderful residents, I learn the most important thing in life is CARING

My co-workers are AMAZING and WONDERFUL to work with

the Hardest part of my job is a resident passing away

the most enjoyable part of my job is seeing the Smile on my Residents face each – more... and every morning – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Extendicare Dietary Aide Review
Food service Worker (Current Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: i can walk to extendicare in under a 5 minutes and extendicare has a very friendly environment.
Cons: some co-workers and residents are hard to deal with.
At Extendicare a typical day at work is helping my partner set up the dining table, setting up the nourishment cart, serving food to the residents, cleaning and sanitizing the dining table and then cleaning and washing the dishes. Sometimes I carry boxes of food to storage rooms and freezers and prepare the food.
At Extendicare I've learned many skills – more... like using different equipment (big blenders, ovens, etc.,) managing my time and how to work well with co-workers.
My manager was very friendly and understanding and handled any situation in a calm manner.
I've made many good friends at Extendicare and even though some of weren't good team players we've all learned to get along.
The hardest part of my job was dealing with some difficult co-workers. The most enjoyable part of my job was making friends with my co-workers and all of the residents.
At the end of the day I am always satisfied with how I helped the residents in a friendly manner and I would definitely recommend this nursing home for somebody looking for a safe and friendly home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with helping people wherever needed
Volunteer (Former Employee), Oshawa, ONSeptember 4, 2014
I was responsible for painting nails of the elder women. I learned a lot about different cultures from the people that work there and also the elders. The management was sloppy at times but overall they came out with very successful events. My co-workers were very respectful and extremely nice at all times, which I enjoyed. The hardest part of the job – more... was the beginning because I was extremely shy, but i got into the job quickly and loved it. The most enjoyable part of the job was bringing new ideas to the table and expanding the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very respectful and healthy environment
RN (Current Employee), Mccall centre for continuing careJuly 13, 2014
very good overall,respectful.The coworkers are good,administration is respectful and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful environment
Office Coordinator (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 8, 2014
stressful
How to use Excel
Micro management (not good)
Good
The Administrator
The residents
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with judging co-workers
Dietary Aide (Current Employee), Winnipeg, MBJune 10, 2014
Pros: money
Cons: management & co-workers- understaffed
Doing the work is no problem. It's the people you work with, your co-workers only speak 'their' language even though its not allowed, and management yells at you for trying to enforce the rules. Management thinks they know everything even though they never stay late enough to see who does what and who doesn't. Hardest part is the continuous bashing – more... with co-workers, always talking behind your back, and NOTHING gets done; management doesn't take the time to learn your name. It's like thanks, I've only been working here for 5 years so no big deal, maybe you'll get it next year... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Recreational Assistant (Former Employee), Georgetown, ONApril 29, 2014
Pros: the residents
Cons: long hours, weekends, missed breaks, no communication
I have only ever worked at one Extendicare, so this review is not for every single one. I worked at the one situated in Halton Hills, border of Georgetown/Acton. The management there was horrible - they never communicate important information to you but then get angry when you are not informed (ex. residents in isolation, outbreak, residents passing – more... away). There is also a lot of favoritism here - you will never advance if you don't kiss ___. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great expierence , wonderful people & residents
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), St. Catharines ONApril 23, 2014
I really enjoyed my time at Extendicare long term care, most co workers were great to be around and of coarse all the residents.
I learned what it's like to be in a long term care setting & I got to work with many different disabilities & illness's. I learned how to handle different situations, and of coarse the ropes of providing care to residents – more... in the long term care facility.
Example ;
Make beds
AM/PM care
Feeding – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love working with elderly
PSW (Former Employee), LondonFebruary 25, 2014
t
• Assisted patients with the activities of daily living
• Responded to call bells and accessed appropriate person to meet
patient needs
• Assisted patients with practicing and actualizing newly acquired skills
• Portered, lifted and transferred residents
• Notified clinical staff of changes in residents conditions
• Functioned as a team member to – more... support patients in achieving goals
• Demonstrated effective patient focused communication with
patients/residents, families and team member
• Perform household management duties as assigned
• Report unsafe conditions in the residents home
• Participate in the service plan and report changes as needed to update residents condition
• Adapt and respond to residents requirements and wishes while working
within the established service plan
• Write and submit client reports according to established procedure Work with residents with behavior challenges, with dementia and Alzheimer’s – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a team player
DIETARY AIDE (Former Employee), Lakefield, ONFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: attending courses to learn more eg: zero tolerance policies for abuse
Cons: very physically demanding job, it is all about the residents and making sure they are happy and comfortable
Serving residents food and beverages according to diet
Learning what residents like and dislike
Management and co-workers are very kind and helpful
Hardest part of my job is a resident passing away, especially if you have become attached to them
Most enjoyable part of my job is learning about the residents, and being able to get to know them as a person – more... and learn interesting stories of their earlier job occupations, family members, working as a team with co-workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment with lots of opportunity to grow
Part Time Maintenance Man. (Current Employee), Oshawa, ONFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: good salary
Cons: working with many things to be achieved in a short day
My typical day at work will be checking all the maintenance log books to ensure i review and repair any required maintnenance issues that were previously reported to keep a safe environment. I enjoy working in this industry as it is very multicultrial and diverse. The most difficult part of this job is making sure that all the proirity issues get resolved – more... before the end of the shift, if i can't get this done i would always stay till they have been completed. This company doesn't like to pay overtime so this is a challenge but i never leave safety issues undone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like People
Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Tecumseh, ONJanuary 25, 2014
I like helping people. I went back to school so I could work with the elderly because of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at Extendicare
Cook and Dietary Aide (Former Employee), Tecumseh, ONDecember 10, 2013
Pros: cooking
Cons: getting attached to some of the residance and them passing away.
First off I would just like to say I enjoyed working for Extendicare. The people I worked with were great and got along very well. I didn't however learn many new things but grew stronger in skill as I went along. Example broadening my inventory and stock skills, higher communication skills, and how to execute good quality food on time and organized. – more... I also worked as much as I could. Although I was full time I still took on the responsibility of staying overtime. The most enjoyable part of my experience working for Estendicare was the people I worked for (the residence) that lived there and I did what my passion is which is cooking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm and inviting
Personal Support Worker (Former Employee), Brampton, ONNovember 3, 2013
My time at Extendicare was a great experience. The staff was friendly and so were the people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.....Staff member are very helpful
1) PHYSIOTHERAPIST ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Brampton, ONOctober 18, 2013
Very helpful and Interesting.
management is very supporting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling environment with residents.
Personal Support Worker (Current Employee), Port Hope, ONSeptember 12, 2013
Pros: learning closely from registered staff.
Cons: inability to get full time employment.
Extendicare has been a great learning tool as a psw, I have learned many things during my employment and had the opportunity to sharpen all of my skills.

1 2 3

About Extendicare Health Services, Inc.

Extendicare Health Services, Inc. (EHSI) prides itself on helping people live better, by providing comprehensive nursing, therapeutic – Read more

Extendicare Health Services, Inc. Photos