Express Scripts Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draconian management style
technology manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 June 2017
Express Scripts is firmly entrenched in the mid 1800's culture. There is little positive influence from management, and the blame game is the primary method for (de-)motivating employees.
Pros
Location if you live in Mississauga
Cons
Terrible culture, poor salary, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with excellent core values and room to grow in any direction
Call Centre Operations Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2017
Express Scripts is a very large company, and that comes all the perks and pitfalls. Things are very structured, but still manages to be a fun place to work at because of the people.
Pros
team events, town halls, structured advancement
Cons
red tape
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miss being at ESI
Patient Service Coordinator III (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MO2 March 2017
Great place to work and grown. I was there 16 years and really enjoyed all the positions I held there. I had great hours, benefits and I was able to family/work life in a satisfactory manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another call center
Customer Care (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 January 2017
A call center that had many changes from within. Inbound calls from Providers (pharmacy, medical supply or dental offices) to adjudicate claims submitted online or by physical mail. Another department inbound calls from customers and Human Resources for businesses for pharmacy by mail and specific locations across Canada and USA. For some the job itself is easy, but if you have never adjudicated claims before for some it is too overwhelming and they drop out during training. Many lines of service and some differences between each line.
Pros
Lots of coworkers in person
Cons
Some coworkers in person don't hang out before or after work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Bilingual Accounts Receivable Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 March 2016
Excellent company to work for. A typical day at work is 7 hours long.
I learned a lot about the pharmaceutical industry. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the clients and colleagues.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company ia grave yard for pharmacists
Relief Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 February 2016
I used to work in winnipeg pharmacy the worst pharmacy ever i worked for nothing organised the technician there treat the pharmacists very bad with the support of the managements ni respecr to the pharmacists at all they want them as clerck employee not profissional pharmacist i could not work there more than 4 months
My recommendations for pharmacists it is the worst place ever to work as a pharmacist
Also they will ask you to get license for Saskatchewan believe me the bigist headach you will ever have in your life
Cons
No respect very bad pharmacy technician in winnipeg, and bad management, not organised workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an average workplace in terms of salary and benefits.
Professional Position (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 February 2016
A typical day at work is very busy.The flexible working hours is pretty cool.Working with cross function departments is the most interesting part of my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In overall good company to work for.
Application Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 December 2015
Working 35 hours per week in the office, limited working from home policy. Occasionally required after hours support. Learned incident management principles and applied them on a day-to-day basis.
Pros
Extraordinary people working for long time at ESC
Cons
New management style does not provide efficient employee support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average company
QA Technical Lead / Senior QA Analyst, Contract (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 July 2015
Company did not care about me as an individual.
There is the usual internal policy bumpff about co-operation, mutual respect, blah-blah-blah, but it really comes down to who you know, i.e., the usual.
Pros
Benefits, wide range in employee ages, no age discrimination
Cons
Too much outsourcing, salaries so-so
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Realistically, proximity to Heartland is the best perk to the job
Person of interest (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario25 June 2014
Management are fragmented and don't communicate with each other or any other levels of management

There is little to no consideration for work/life balance, regardless of time or circumstance

The great colleagues and leaders are often the ones who struggle relentlessly against the overwhelming currents of ignorance and apathy. Unfortunately, they are also the ones most likely to burn out and leave before anything significant is achieved

Creative or innovative thinking is absolutely not encouraged. Not only will you will stick out like a sore thumb, but you will often get saddled as the owner of the phantom initiative then marked negatively in your reviews as someone who cannot complete your work

I have never encountered any organization that places so much emphasis and REQUIRED participation in things such as sharing your feelings about things and forced feedback to leadership about items that will seemingly never change

I have personally learnt a lot in my role, however that is simply because there was nobody present to guide or mentor me, rather I served as a dumping ground for undesirable work

The organization works on a scorecard system, which essentially pits each department against each other in order to pin liability on each other as opposed to working in unison to accomplish a task or resolve an issue

Never have I encountered so many "less qualified" hiding amidst the general population before. People struggle to communicate in basic terms and hide ignorance behind the endless mountains of red tape and bureaucracy, otherwise known as processes.
  more... There is an over abundant glut of meetings that are completely useless and occupy much of your day, however you are still responsible to deliver on your products, thus perpetuating the free overtime syndrome

The company is owned by a parent company in the US. There is zero meaningful communication between the entities and the Canadian division is seen as nothing more than a very annoying but steady cash cow in an otherwise stagnant organization

Despite what is being promised, there are no opportunities for internal growth unless you enter the company at ground level (call centre) and there is absolutely no initiative for learning and development, despite what is promised. Their idea of training and development is unpaid job shadowing and extra work outside of your normal hours, which goes completely unnoticed and unappreciated

The environment is quite toxic. Bullying is quite rampant and the office politics rhetoric is extremely overwhelming yet management refuses to step in and weed out the repeat offenders
  less
Pros
Casual Fridays that aren't actually casual
Cons
Extremely poor choice of people leaders
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the position
Manager, Business Integrity (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 May 2014
Great job, learned lot's. Culture not exactly as presented. Worked with some amazing people at this organization and some that were a little untrustworthy...unfortunately. With the right people and leadership, could see myself with this organization for many years. Management needs to learn to stop giving oil to the squeaky wheel and get rid of it. It causes a lot of damage when it falls off, spinning out of control and knocking out whatever and whoever gets in its way.
Pros
Some great intelligent people. Learned a great deal.
Cons
Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job Environment
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2014
Bilingual Customer Service Representative 2012-2013
Answered phones with a time frame of 7 seconds, from customers requesting various information on their accounts
Required to give customer different technical code to their various inquires
Transfer various call to regional office for further information
Pros
Weekend Bonus
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, great people
Call center representative (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 January 2013
I learned 2 great softwares and worked with great people. The hardest part of the job was being on a phone all day but the best was that you worked with great people everyday.
Pros
great salary, great benefits.
Cons
long hours, weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a great deal!
Supervisor/ Team Lead, Provider Relations (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 November 2012
ISO, working with Health Canada, Project Management, technical writers, and L6 Sigma principles... many more skills to add to my work belt!
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report

See more Express Scripts reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Express Scripts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 2,337 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1