Exel Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 63 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall productive work place having fun with co-workers during activties like games and site BBQ's
Operations Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONOctober 16, 2013
Execute Outbound and Inbound Activities of operations.
Loading , Recieving , Inventory , Topex , Red Prairie , LMS , Computer Skills
Overall to manage Buiness needs
Effective communication and interpersonal skills
Able to work efficiently in a group to achieve team goals
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Order Picker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 4, 2012
a typical day at work is picking products from the shelves. I learned how to organize my products in the pallet. the management cares about their employees, which, is good.the co-workers are helpful to new employees. the hardest part of the job is working in the freezer and the most enjoyable part of the job is picking.
Pros
free pizza
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, a great place to work
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONJuly 30, 2012
Exel is an fantastic place to work. They provide good opportunity for advancement and are more then willing to help someone to succeed. Safety is by far the number one concern. I can genuinely save that i enjoy working for Exel.
Pros
great buildign block for advancing your career
Cons
long hours and high expectations - but are rewarded
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER!
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurrayMarch 17, 2013
Hour long bus ride to work 12 hour shift learned nothing VERY POOR training. WORST management ive ever seen in a company. Most of the co-works where alright some where very full of them selfs and un helpful.There was no enjoyable part of working for exel.I wouldent recommend anybody to work for exel.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everthing
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work days, sometimes 12 hrs but rewarding work.
Customer Service Rep/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONFebruary 18, 2014
My day started at 7:00 am, receiving containers and other trucks, created, verified and closed Inbound receipts. Received all trucks coming into and out the yard. Kept an updated carrier log.
Created and updated spreadsheets so that management could access needed info for all inbound loads. Took care of all inbound emails including research. Helped the outbound girl when needed.
Self taught this position since this is a fairly new establishment. Management changed often. Co-workers were great. We made a great team to get the job done. The hardest part of the job was working with no management support and seeing staff coming and going. Enjoyed the long hard work with the co-workers and completed the day with all chores finished.. It felt great!
This was a contract job. My employer was Randstad.
Pros
working with a great team
Cons
long hours caused no time for the gym
Was this review helpful?Yes6No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a clean safe place
trainer/forklift operator (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONJune 12, 2014
i train people onn driving double pallet jacks, reach trucks, pacers sky jacks, battery change. i am also in charge of training whmis, material handling equipment, good manufactoring practises and standard loading procedures
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work at.
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ONMarch 23, 2014
I enjoyed everyday I worked there. There were some ups and downs, but overall the company was great. Management was fair and very personable.
Pros
great associate relations, xmas parties, summer games, trips
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning opportunity
Warehouse Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, ABNovember 2, 2013
Exel is a great company to learn new skills. Management team is very caring and respectful. It is a good company to start a career in the oil sands and have an understanding of all material required to make a plant running.
Pros
free pizza
Was this review helpful?YesNo7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Entry Clerk - Interesting position
Contract Position - Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brantford, OntarioSeptember 9, 2014
This job was straight nights....wasn't used to that...but overall my co-workers were very friendly. Didn't see much of management due to my shift....
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand new job
Product Line Tech (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABDecember 28, 2014
I find myself comfortable in my position. I have only started, but I know that I will enjoy the time that I spend at Exel.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard warehouse employment
Material Handler and Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee) –  Bolton, ONApril 18, 2012
Standard warehouse environment. Peak season is summer, off-season is winter.
Pros
guaranteed, regular hours
Cons
no air conditioning
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many processes
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONMarch 15, 2013
Disliked my manager after the first few months, Coworkers were quite helpful and friendly.
Pros
salary was commensurate
Cons
did not enjoy my time there
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work environment and opportunity for advancement.
Warehouse Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Drove Forklift, shipping and receiving. Lots of overtime available. Lots of internal job postings.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worldwide distribution company
ocean freight operation (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2013
Shortly after joined the company DHL merger EXEL, handled both DTD ocean freight and oil and gas project operations.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Inventory Control Clerk (Current Employee) –  Bolton, ONOctober 31, 2013
it was fun working with co employee, learned how to be an independent workers.
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
not by seniority
Was this review helpful?YesNo7
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  EdmontonJune 7, 2013
It was a good environment, but I am a little disappointed in the loss of my position resulting in my loss of a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for.
Order Packer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMarch 15, 2013
Work load was heavy. I would prefer lighter duty.

I was part of the team and required fast pace work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  BramptonJune 19, 2013
The hardest part was working midnight I learned all about shippping and recieving of goods
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ONSeptember 10, 2012
Mangement an employees are easy to get along with. An enjoyable place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and friendly work environment
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, On, CanadaSeptember 17, 2014
• Deliver a safe, secure, clean and fair work environment for all associates
• Plan and execute daily labor plan
• Ensure the associates have proper access to the necessary tools to perform their assigned duties and that the tools are routinely maintained
• Prioritize workloads to ensure completion and meet customer expectation
• Monitor all appropriate reports for smooth flow of operations
• Understand process performance versus target objectives, identify reasons for variance, communicate and implement necessary changes
• Maintain positive client relations with on-site clients
• Ensure daily and weekly productivity and targets are met or exceeded
• Conduct daily walkthroughs to ensure efficient work methods are applied
• Preparing weekly / monthly productivity reports thus providing performance counseling for hourly associates
• Inspire, develop and maintain a cross-training program to optimize associate performance
• Ensure company policies are communicated, applied and enforced
• Collaborate with internal customers to facilitate strong working relationships
• Executing and maintaining attendance and behavioral corrective actions for hourly associates
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 976 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3