Exel Employee Reviews

Found 66 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and relaxed(night shift)
Case Selector & Double Pallet Jack Operator (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONDecember 2, 2015
great people to work with
decent wage
room to move up
in house training
always busy
great supervisors
night shift rocks
feels like a family
Pros
driving DPJ(double pallet jack), good community, room to move up.
Cons
low wage for amount of labour.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot and improved my skills
Line Lead Customization (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONNovember 24, 2015
40 hrs a week .
I learned how to handle all kinds of situations
worked with supervisor
got along well with co workers
hardest part dealing with conflict
I enjoyed working and teaching temps
Pros
There is always something to learn
Cons
The amount of interruptions we face on our daily routine
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multi sites - with opportunity
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 26, 2015
Exel is the global leader in 3PL and has many sites across the continent. If you are looking for the ability to stay with one company but work with different industries this may be the place for you. The people and culture though for me is what makes it work.
Pros
People count
Cons
Can get lost in the herd
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced work environment
Heavy Packer (Former Employee) –  brampton, onOctober 20, 2015
very fast paced and micromanaged working environment. all about production and speed of production. must be able to work at a fast pace and keep intensity throughout the work period
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, operative, and development of the company.
Shipping and Receiving Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONOctober 9, 2015
Very friendly atmosphere and supportive team. Multitasking, dealing with carriers and organizing the orders on time are the lovable part of the job. Actively participating and hard working to the growth and development of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy environment, very productive
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Bolton, ONSeptember 28, 2015
tasking orders, picking as per my resume, contact transportation
receiving products and put away inventory
enjoyed working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INCOMPETANT MANAGEMENT
shipper (Former Employee) –  calgarySeptember 9, 2015
I found that the upper management in this warehouse doesn`t have a clue what they are doing and that they do not care about your safety as i was the ohs co chair and noted problems to management they did not care but instead decided that they had the right to terminate my co chair position that i was voted into
Cons
incompetant management that hide the truth
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and training.
material handler (Former Employee) –  Kearl LakeAugust 20, 2015
Only got 1 hour training on each peice of MHE. If you are being treated poorly at work, do not go to management as they will simply fire you instead of actually dealing with the problem. If you feel unsafe at work, they will take as long as possible to find a solution. Upper management is impossible to get ahold of in Harrassment situations. The salary is not worth it.
Pros
okay salary, free coffee
Cons
harrassment not dealt with properly, long work hours, poor communication and work culture, no AC even though they said there is
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company focused on the advancement of their associates
Co-Packaging Quality Assurance (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONAugust 2, 2015
Exel has given me nothing short of every opportunity to advance in whatever direction I wish to go.
Safety driven and look out for their employees best interest.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable work experience gained here
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABJune 17, 2015
I learned a lot. Made many good friends. The company had faith in me as someone who was capable of more. I was given responsibilities and training to feel comfortable and succeed. It was sad when the contract we were working on was lost but the life-long positives were immeasurable.
Pros
positive, management
Cons
pay increases could have been higher
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Logistical Associate (Operations) (Former Employee) –  Kearl Lake, ABMay 26, 2015
I worked for Exel on their Kearl Lake Oilsands project, contracted by Imperial Oil.

Great experience, great people and a heck of a lot to learn.

Exel will give you the training you need, and show a great deal of care and respect for their associates.

Management (especially direct reports) were beyond excellent.
Pros
Great company atmosphere, room for training, saftey concious, great wage
Cons
site-jobs can be a bit tough on the home life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ONApril 12, 2015
Good employees but difficult managers. Receive poor training at first because of fear you will take their job. After you get to know everyone your workday becomes more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and Powerful Company
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONFebruary 4, 2015
Exel is a world leader in the 3PL business sector, delivery effective and efficient solutions for the clients.
Exel also delivers competitive wages and salary benifits.
Working at Exel provides great life experiences and great coaching and mentoring experiences.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand new job
Product Line Tech (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, ABDecember 28, 2014
I find myself comfortable in my position. I have only started, but I know that I will enjoy the time that I spend at Exel.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive wages and great employees
Dock Co-ordinator (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONSeptember 21, 2014
Good people and the wage is good especially for the area.

The front line supervisory staff has fluctuated from being very good to bad and in between over my years of employment.

However growth opportunities aren't as bountiful as it may seem there.

There is in my opinion they have a low ceiling.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and friendly work environment
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, On, CanadaSeptember 17, 2014
• Deliver a safe, secure, clean and fair work environment for all associates
• Plan and execute daily labor plan
• Ensure the associates have proper access to the necessary tools to perform their assigned duties and that the tools are routinely maintained
• Prioritize workloads to ensure completion and meet customer expectation
• Monitor all appropriate reports for smooth flow of operations
• Understand process performance versus target objectives, identify reasons for variance, communicate and implement necessary changes
• Maintain positive client relations with on-site clients
• Ensure daily and weekly productivity and targets are met or exceeded
• Conduct daily walkthroughs to ensure efficient work methods are applied
• Preparing weekly / monthly productivity reports thus providing performance counseling for hourly associates
• Inspire, develop and maintain a cross-training program to optimize associate performance
• Ensure company policies are communicated, applied and enforced
• Collaborate with internal customers to facilitate strong working relationships
• Executing and maintaining attendance and behavioral corrective actions for hourly associates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Training QA Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONSeptember 17, 2014
Lots of ways to advance and good people.
I started from the bottom as a case selector, forklift operator, trainer, QA Admin and now I am a Training QA Supervisor.
The hardest part of my job is its never the same, there is always something new to learn or do.
I think the more enjoyable part of my job is helping in claims management. I love to help people and get them back to work.
Pros
my hours are flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data Entry Clerk - Interesting position
Contract Position - Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brantford, OntarioSeptember 9, 2014
This job was straight nights....wasn't used to that...but overall my co-workers were very friendly. Didn't see much of management due to my shift....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a clean safe place
trainer/forklift operator (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ONJune 12, 2014
i train people onn driving double pallet jacks, reach trucks, pacers sky jacks, battery change. i am also in charge of training whmis, material handling equipment, good manufactoring practises and standard loading procedures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable fast paced flexible job
Line Lead (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ONApril 3, 2014
Day to day jobs varied as a line lead of a co-pack department.
I was also responsible for inventory control and computer data entry.
Management was flexible and fair, and the co-workers were phenomenal to work with.
The repetitive tasks were the hardest part of the job and the most enjoyable was when I was doing inventory control and data entry.
Pros
laid back atmosphere
Cons
working midnights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,009 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Salary/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.3