Find companies:
Exel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
445 reviews

Exel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"It is what it is Co.," - layed back does not take client seriously
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: awesome insurance benefits
Cons: poor management
A typical day: Answering phones and assisting home delivery customers and or delivery drivers. Work with the Vendors on any questions or problems that occur. Input data on to spreadsheets such as Inventory, Inbound, Outbound and Return trailers, OS&D report as well as the daily productivity and management log. Completed dock searches, helped with billing, – more... aided in receiving. The Co., could use management that takes in consideration the Vendors as well as the customers we deliver to not just say "it is what it is". Co-Workers worked well together however better training of software to manage the products is deeply needed. Inventory was deeply the hardest as having to lie about what was actually in the facility and what was delivered was not being completed properly therefore having to lie and crunch numbers to look good to the higher management was extremely stressful. I went in every day without a worry as I was not hounded by management to complete my job. I knew what needed to be done and I went in and gave 110% as well as helping where needed without an argument. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
driver (Former Employee), Rochester NYAugust 23, 2014
Pros: good meals at orientation
Instead of doing orientation, we spent half of the time moving equipment. I was told to take a semi truck to Buffalo with another driver, and then I was told to go home after that. A semi tractor was assigned to me, so I went home with the semi truck. The next day I got a call that I was supposed to take a straight truck instead, and I was being fired – more... because of it. I felt I was being used as a scapegoat for somebody's mistake, definitely poor management. Don't quit your job for this company, don't trust them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Force. Very open minded associates who are eager to learn and develop.
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 21, 2014
Exel is a great company to work for. I've learned some valuable lessons without a doubt. I must say, they are the most safety conscious company that I have ever worked for & that holds significant value.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse Distribution Center
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Leipsic,OhioAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not tempature controlled warehouse and 12 hour days
Exel is a warehouse distribution center. It is a 3rd party logistics company hired by then P&G (now Mars Corp.) to run its Iaams Pet Food Distribution Center.

A typical day included getting our assignments at the daily morning meeting. Going out and checking our towmotors for any problems, completing a monthly forklift check list.

then depending on – more... what you were assigned to do ask the dock coordinator for an assignment.

I learned to pull together as a team when times dictated it and to work independently when was needed.

hardest part of the job was working 12 hour days.

most enjoyable part was the co-workers i got to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of down time!
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee), Springfield, OHAugust 16, 2014
Pros: the pay was nice
Cons: lots of down time!!!!
Management is lacking skills to due the job right. Exel hires kids right out of school who have never worked to be supervisors. They don't know how to talk to there people or treat them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
layed back
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: steady job
Cons: management
easy job. loading and unloading trucks and over seas containers.pulled,checked and loaded orders. management was no good. they didnt care about your outside life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well for amount of physical work done.
Module Operator (Former Employee), Johnstown, NYAugust 12, 2014
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: prison atmosphere
Pays well for amount of physical work done, this is a job not a career. While it does pay well for the area and the amount of actual work done, everything gets dictated by the customer.
The co-workers are great people and can make the years fly by.
The management is also at the mercy of the "customer" and it trickles down..
Prepare to feel like you – more... are in a work camp, with constant employee monitoring through video cameras, and productivity reports, inability for you to leave the grounds even to go to your car, lack of windows, end of day searches. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management
FORKLIFT OPERATOR/ HOSTLER DRIVER (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 11, 2014
Pros: clean area
Cons: long hours
best management
great environment
a great place to work. would work there again
very clean and able to move up easily. its a good job in my view would return
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the people i love
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 9, 2014
Seeking a lead position that will effectively utilize acquired expertise, that includes, shipping & receiving, packing & unpacking, lifting of material boxes in and out of the departments, maintaining operating equipment and work areas, maintaining special orders on regular basis, vendor purchase orders and customer returns, and total inventory management – more... on paper and computer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart Return Center
Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee), Johnstown, NYAugust 9, 2014
Fast passed, Big quota
Supervisors come and go
Good team atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most fair warehouse
SC Johnson Warehouse Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 5, 2014
Pros: treated equally and fairly
Cons: the timing system your work preformamce was based on
a typical work day would be pre-shift meeting and stretches and then start assignment.
Learned more about how and why different product is stored where and why. The management is fair. Co-workers are friendly and easy to get along with. the hardest part of the job is manual order picking.
the most enjoyable part of the job were the free lunches and – more... picnics. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Supervisor- Exel (Current Employee), Fairburn, GAAugust 5, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: limited opptys to advance past supervisor
The hardest part of my job is to know that since I have been with the company so long that my value is less than my tenure. basically newer management employees are regarded higher than myself even though they lack the skill set, experience, and versatility that I possess.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Receptionist (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 4, 2014
Awesome co-workers
Great job for collage students
Learned a great amount of computer skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Chance of Advancement
Module Scanner (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 3, 2014
Cons: breaks are broken in 3 different times
I worked for this company for 10 yrs. The first 6 yrs was good , due to the fact I was at a different warehouse location and management was great with its employees. Last the 4 + yrs after I was transferred to a different warehouse but same company. Due to the closing of our location the new warehouse wasn't a ideal place to work. The main problem was – more... there wasn't a chance of development or advancement and the Management never really was interested about ideas of the employees, The hardest part about my job was weather conditions and shortages of supplies and constant micro-managing and no one really training anyone. The best part about my job that I loved to do was helping fellow employees understand the job and get the best out of them and try and find ways to make things not only faster, but more efficient and safe. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and productive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), University Park, ILAugust 2, 2014
Pros: health and dental benefits. paid breaks
Cons: low pay
Exel/Clorox is a very productive and fun place to work at. My fellow coworkers are really friendly and hard working. The hardest part about the job is just getting the shipping orders out properly, but even that has almost became second nature.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work.
forkliftoperator (Former Employee), Palmyra, PAAugust 1, 2014
Pros: work on my own.
Cons: lms system.
Loaded and unloaded trucks, got along with co-workers, average management. Cold in warehouse. Co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst run warehouse ever
Material Handler (Former Employee), Breinigsville, PAJuly 28, 2014
Pros: friendly co workers
Cons: everything else
Beware!!! Management promises the world and stabs all employees including each other in the back. Management team has no buisness being in their positions. They make decisions that people that have never worked in a warehouse would make.Pathetic planning, constant changing of rules, never practice what they preach. I wasted many years of my life there – more... and would rather work at many other places than there. If they promise you that you will drive forklift dont be surprised if u never get a chance to get your license. If you keep your mouth shut, never ask questions, and kiss rump. U may move up to management. Co-workers felt the constant strain and we tried to lift each other up. Everyone is in that Titanic together – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dead end job
Inventory clerk (Former Employee), Louisville kyJuly 25, 2014
Cons: low pay, awful management. boring. no advancement opportunities
Not sure about the other warehouses. But the Louisville,KY warehouse was awful. For the first few days I say there and did nothing. And when I did Learn my job. There wasn't enough work to do that would cover my entire shift. The pay is low. And there are no opportunities for advancement. And the management doesn't care about the employees. Only their – more... agenda. And most of the employees that have been there for years have an awful attitude towards everyone. There are a few good apples that will help or try to teach you things but that's as far as it goes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace, room for promotions
Material Handler/ Operation Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2014
Pros: company picnics
Cons: healthcare
• Counts and weights incoming or outgoing item to compare identifying information and variety against invoices or other records
• Examine incoming shipments for damages or shortages, corresponds with shipper to rectify, and completes paper work for documentations
• Determine methods of shipment utilizing Knowledge of shipping procedures, routes, and – more... rates
• Utilizes computerized and automated systems such as Microsoft and SAP to accomplish tasks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard
Production Worker (Former Employee), Cape Girardeau, MOJuly 23, 2014
i would very much rather not leave any comment to this job.

The hours were ok.

management was not the best/worse

co-workers....

trying to work to support my daughter and unable to and didn't get any holidays pay.

About Exel

Exel is the leading contract logistics provider in the Americas thanks to the hard work of 40,000 associates at more than 500 – Read more