Find companies:
Exel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
454 reviews

Exel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fasted Paced
Viking Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Lathrop,CASeptember 21, 2014
Pros: working with a great bunch of co-workers
Cons: no cons
Loading and Unloading Trucks
Iv learned how to motivate employees to work hard
iv learned to be a better boss
most enjoyable was at the end of the shift myself and my crew met all our goals..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Stockhandler (Former Employee), enfieldSeptember 16, 2014
Casual hours job whilst I was in education. Gave me pocket money for the weekends
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just ok
Material Handler (Former Employee), Bloomington, CASeptember 13, 2014
hard worker
stay positive
alright management
very dedicated team players
to get your numbers
barbecues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated, loyal, and committed professional
Operations Manager II, Las Vegas (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: never ending changing environment
Cons: facility limitations
My day started one hour prior to shift start between 4am and 4:30am. Shift started at 5:30am. Early start was designed to prepare and identify job opportunities at the beginning of the shift and maximize production with minimal movement of personnel throughout the day. 05:00am met with 4-assigned supervisors to provide and discuss daily plan and goals – more... and to identify additional daily opportunities and building status. In addition, after shift start-up a walk with each supervisor was conducted to verify any additional opportunities. Follow-ups were conducted throughout the day every two hours to monitor freight imbalances and production. Provided stability and consistency to assigned personnel; resulted in higher performance and teamwork. Achieving a high performance team environment was the best part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of management
Driver (Former Employee), Olive Branch, MSSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: paid holidays, two weeks vacation to start, third week after five years, steady work
Cons: lack of knowledgable management, will not take others oppinions, saftey first but not realy
job was easy,hours where bad ,but i got use to them,2013 we had management changes three times,when i as fired from this job i had four managers to report to,no one of them to take full responsablity for anything,after six and a half good years of service i was let go, i had come into work to get my truck and it had been impounded by the mechanic that – more... we parked at,the company that paid for our work on the truck didn't pay them on time so the put my truck in there fenced lot and locked it up,i called one of my bosses for help and was told to take care of it,not the first time,so i went in to find out the facts got in a arguement with them because of this,they wanted me out of there back lot but i couldn"t leave do to the fact that the rental truck i was driving had been locked using a key that would not open the door,had to wait for locksmith,finaly got out of there and called my boss saying that i thought they wanted us off there lot for good,later that night the mechanic called and said that we weren't welcome anymore,we had only been parking there a few months and had only had a few oil changes,but they had told me that they were tired of dealing with us,so i figured we would juest move to a better location,my bosses didn't see it that way and two days latter i was suspended and two more i was gone,no warnings,no three writeups,just gone,no your our valued employee,no we got your back,just we told you to take care of the problem and now your fired,other drivers and i had told them of our problems and they just said we are the bosses not you so deel with it,Exel please listen to your employees when there is problems dont just blow us off – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a five star co. to work for.i have no complaints.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: once a month pizza or a bbq lunch
is a great place to work. was treated like they would want to be treated. management will stand behind the employs as long as we are right. could talk with management any time exel has an open door policy to all employs . all the co-workers got along and work well with each other. once a month exel would have pizza or BBQ for all the workers. there – more... wasn't anything hard about the job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Roanoke, TXSeptember 1, 2014
It's a good working atmosphere. Overtime was available. There was cross training available.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pay isnt worth the hard work .
forklift (Former Employee), brieinville, paSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: looks clean
Cons: horrible pay
This is for the home depot warehouse, pay is horrible. Not worth it . Other warehouses around the area pays better. Even the home depot stores pay better!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Breinigsville, PAAugust 27, 2014
Great environment, Great team, peaceful site, apply new skills within the expected time period and learn day by day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"It is what it is Co.," - layed back does not take client seriously
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ontario, CAAugust 25, 2014
Pros: awesome insurance benefits
Cons: poor management
A typical day: Answering phones and assisting home delivery customers and or delivery drivers. Work with the Vendors on any questions or problems that occur. Input data on to spreadsheets such as Inventory, Inbound, Outbound and Return trailers, OS&D report as well as the daily productivity and management log. Completed dock searches, helped with billing, – more... aided in receiving. The Co., could use management that takes in consideration the Vendors as well as the customers we deliver to not just say "it is what it is". Co-Workers worked well together however better training of software to manage the products is deeply needed. Inventory was deeply the hardest as having to lie about what was actually in the facility and what was delivered was not being completed properly therefore having to lie and crunch numbers to look good to the higher management was extremely stressful. I went in every day without a worry as I was not hounded by management to complete my job. I knew what needed to be done and I went in and gave 110% as well as helping where needed without an argument. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
driver (Former Employee), Rochester NYAugust 23, 2014
Pros: good meals at orientation
Instead of doing orientation, we spent half of the time moving equipment. I was told to take a semi truck to Buffalo with another driver, and then I was told to go home after that. A semi tractor was assigned to me, so I went home with the semi truck. The next day I got a call that I was supposed to take a straight truck instead, and I was being fired – more... because of it. I felt I was being used as a scapegoat for somebody's mistake, definitely poor management. Don't quit your job for this company, don't trust them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Force. Very open minded associates who are eager to learn and develop.
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 21, 2014
Exel is a great company to work for. I've learned some valuable lessons without a doubt. I must say, they are the most safety conscious company that I have ever worked for & that holds significant value.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warehouse Distribution Center
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Leipsic,OhioAugust 18, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: not tempature controlled warehouse and 12 hour days
Exel is a warehouse distribution center. It is a 3rd party logistics company hired by then P&G (now Mars Corp.) to run its Iaams Pet Food Distribution Center.

A typical day included getting our assignments at the daily morning meeting. Going out and checking our towmotors for any problems, completing a monthly forklift check list.

then depending on – more... what you were assigned to do ask the dock coordinator for an assignment.

I learned to pull together as a team when times dictated it and to work independently when was needed.

hardest part of the job was working 12 hour days.

most enjoyable part was the co-workers i got to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of down time!
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee), Springfield, OHAugust 16, 2014
Pros: the pay was nice
Cons: lots of down time!!!!
Management is lacking skills to due the job right. Exel hires kids right out of school who have never worked to be supervisors. They don't know how to talk to there people or treat them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
layed back
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Louisville, KYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: steady job
Cons: management
easy job. loading and unloading trucks and over seas containers.pulled,checked and loaded orders. management was no good. they didnt care about your outside life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well for amount of physical work done.
Module Operator (Former Employee), Johnstown, NYAugust 12, 2014
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: prison atmosphere
Pays well for amount of physical work done, this is a job not a career. While it does pay well for the area and the amount of actual work done, everything gets dictated by the customer.
The co-workers are great people and can make the years fly by.
The management is also at the mercy of the "customer" and it trickles down..
Prepare to feel like you – more... are in a work camp, with constant employee monitoring through video cameras, and productivity reports, inability for you to leave the grounds even to go to your car, lack of windows, end of day searches. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good management
FORKLIFT OPERATOR/ HOSTLER DRIVER (Former Employee), Houston, TXAugust 11, 2014
Pros: clean area
Cons: long hours
best management
great environment
a great place to work. would work there again
very clean and able to move up easily. its a good job in my view would return
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the people i love
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 9, 2014
Seeking a lead position that will effectively utilize acquired expertise, that includes, shipping & receiving, packing & unpacking, lifting of material boxes in and out of the departments, maintaining operating equipment and work areas, maintaining special orders on regular basis, vendor purchase orders and customer returns, and total inventory management – more... on paper and computer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart Return Center
Lift Truck Operator (Former Employee), Johnstown, NYAugust 9, 2014
Fast passed, Big quota
Supervisors come and go
Good team atmosphere
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most fair warehouse
SC Johnson Warehouse Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXAugust 5, 2014
Pros: treated equally and fairly
Cons: the timing system your work preformamce was based on
a typical work day would be pre-shift meeting and stretches and then start assignment.
Learned more about how and why different product is stored where and why. The management is fair. Co-workers are friendly and easy to get along with. the hardest part of the job is manual order picking.
the most enjoyable part of the job were the free lunches and – more... picnics. – less

About Exel

Exel is the leading contract logistics provider in the Americas thanks to the hard work of 40,000 associates at more than 500 – Read more