Find companies:
Exel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
448 reviews

Exel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive wages and great employees
Dock Co-ordinator (Current Employee), Brantford, ONSeptember 21, 2014
Good people and the wage is good especially for the area.

The front line supervisory staff has fluctuated from being very good to bad and in between over my years of employment.

However growth opportunities aren't as bountiful as it may seem there.

There is in my opinion they have a low ceiling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, great management team, excellent customers.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ontario, CAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: exel offered a lot of opportunity for growth.
Cons: the company moved back to los angeles county.
Exel offered a lot of opportunity for growth I started in scheduling then later cross trained to learn dispatch, receiving, and training new associates. My management team was one of the best to work with very positive motivating and knowledgeable. My co-workers and I worked well as a team and always met and exceeded our deadlines. The hardest part – more... of the job was learning the delivery zones which later I created a sheet categorizing the zones to help with that learning curve. The most enjoyable part of the job was the opportunity for growth and interacting with great customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work days, sometimes 12 hrs but rewarding work.
Customer Service Rep/Receiver (Former Employee), Brantford, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: working with a great team
Cons: long hours caused no time for the gym
My day started at 7:00 am, receiving containers and other trucks, created, verified and closed Inbound receipts. Received all trucks coming into and out the yard. Kept an updated carrier log.
Created and updated spreadsheets so that management could access needed info for all inbound loads. Took care of all inbound emails including research. Helped – more... the outbound girl when needed.
Self taught this position since this is a fairly new establishment. Management changed often. Co-workers were great. We made a great team to get the job done. The hardest part of the job was working with no management support and seeing staff coming and going. Enjoyed the long hard work with the co-workers and completed the day with all chores finished.. It felt great!
This was a contract job. My employer was Randstad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work environment and opportunity for advancement.
Warehouse Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Brantford, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Drove Forklift, shipping and receiving. Lots of overtime available. Lots of internal job postings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning opportunity
Warehouse Team Lead (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 2, 2013
Pros: free pizza
Exel is a great company to learn new skills. Management team is very caring and respectful. It is a good company to start a career in the oil sands and have an understanding of all material required to make a plant running.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Inventory Control Clerk (Current Employee), Bolton, ONOctober 31, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: not by seniority
it was fun working with co employee, learned how to be an independent workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management have no idea how to run warehouse
Material Handler (Current Employee), Mississauga, OntMay 18, 2013
Pros: free food sometimes
Cons: no airconditioning hot hot in summer. dusty
Workload varies from a lot to a little or nothing. When workload is extreme they expect miracles for little pay. Hard to get permanent status. Co-workers ok. Supervisors clueless. Don't know how to organize or run a warehouse. A lot of repeated stock movement to new locations misplaced inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER!
Material Handler (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayMarch 17, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everthing
Hour long bus ride to work 12 hour shift learned nothing VERY POOR training. WORST management ive ever seen in a company. Most of the co-works where alright some where very full of them selfs and un helpful.There was no enjoyable part of working for exel.I wouldent recommend anybody to work for exel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for.
Order Packer (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 15, 2013
Work load was heavy. I would prefer lighter duty.

I was part of the team and required fast pace work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worldwide distribution company
ocean freight operation (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2013
Shortly after joined the company DHL merger EXEL, handled both DTD ocean freight and oil and gas project operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Material Handler (Current Employee), mississauga, ontSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: employees
Cons: little room for promotion
Having worked in Exel for approximately two years, i must say that it is a decent company to work for. the employees are close knit and look out for each other and upper management is approachable. the work load is steady through out the month, but at months end, there is an influx, and one has to work at double the speed and sometimes extra hours (voluntarily) – more... to meet and/ exceed the quota. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Order Picker (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: free pizza
Cons: long hours
a typical day at work is picking products from the shelves. I learned how to organize my products in the pallet. the management cares about their employees, which, is good.the co-workers are helpful to new employees. the hardest part of the job is working in the freezer and the most enjoyable part of the job is picking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment will learn marketable skills
Supervisor (Former Employee), TorontoAugust 29, 2012
Pros: will learn marketable skills at the clerical or other office level
Cons: very demanding when you are salary, long work days and weekend work in order to keep up with customer demand
Past Salary Employee/ Supervisor Canada-not a good blend of work and family time. very demanding, and do not try to calculate an hourly wage if you factor in all the late nights, weekend work.You will be disappointed
However, you can really develope some marketable skills for when you leave. Canadian operations has very little growth so opportunities – more... for advancment is very very limited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard warehouse employment
Material Handler and Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee), Bolton, ONApril 18, 2012
Pros: guaranteed, regular hours
Cons: no air conditioning
Standard warehouse environment. Peak season is summer, off-season is winter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fasted Paced
Viking Department Supervisor (Former Employee), Lathrop,CASeptember 21, 2014
Pros: working with a great bunch of co-workers
Cons: no cons
Loading and Unloading Trucks
Iv learned how to motivate employees to work hard
iv learned to be a better boss
most enjoyable was at the end of the shift myself and my crew met all our goals..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Stockhandler (Former Employee), enfieldSeptember 16, 2014
Casual hours job whilst I was in education. Gave me pocket money for the weekends
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just ok
Material Handler (Former Employee), Bloomington, CASeptember 13, 2014
hard worker
stay positive
alright management
very dedicated team players
to get your numbers
barbecues
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated, loyal, and committed professional
Operations Manager II, Las Vegas (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: never ending changing environment
Cons: facility limitations
My day started one hour prior to shift start between 4am and 4:30am. Shift started at 5:30am. Early start was designed to prepare and identify job opportunities at the beginning of the shift and maximize production with minimal movement of personnel throughout the day. 05:00am met with 4-assigned supervisors to provide and discuss daily plan and goals – more... and to identify additional daily opportunities and building status. In addition, after shift start-up a walk with each supervisor was conducted to verify any additional opportunities. Follow-ups were conducted throughout the day every two hours to monitor freight imbalances and production. Provided stability and consistency to assigned personnel; resulted in higher performance and teamwork. Achieving a high performance team environment was the best part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of management
Driver (Former Employee), Olive Branch, MSSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: paid holidays, two weeks vacation to start, third week after five years, steady work
Cons: lack of knowledgable management, will not take others oppinions, saftey first but not realy
job was easy,hours where bad ,but i got use to them,2013 we had management changes three times,when i as fired from this job i had four managers to report to,no one of them to take full responsablity for anything,after six and a half good years of service i was let go, i had come into work to get my truck and it had been impounded by the mechanic that – more... we parked at,the company that paid for our work on the truck didn't pay them on time so the put my truck in there fenced lot and locked it up,i called one of my bosses for help and was told to take care of it,not the first time,so i went in to find out the facts got in a arguement with them because of this,they wanted me out of there back lot but i couldn"t leave do to the fact that the rental truck i was driving had been locked using a key that would not open the door,had to wait for locksmith,finaly got out of there and called my boss saying that i thought they wanted us off there lot for good,later that night the mechanic called and said that we weren't welcome anymore,we had only been parking there a few months and had only had a few oil changes,but they had told me that they were tired of dealing with us,so i figured we would juest move to a better location,my bosses didn't see it that way and two days latter i was suspended and two more i was gone,no warnings,no three writeups,just gone,no your our valued employee,no we got your back,just we told you to take care of the problem and now your fired,other drivers and i had told them of our problems and they just said we are the bosses not you so deel with it,Exel please listen to your employees when there is problems dont just blow us off – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's a five star co. to work for.i have no complaints.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: once a month pizza or a bbq lunch
is a great place to work. was treated like they would want to be treated. management will stand behind the employs as long as we are right. could talk with management any time exel has an open door policy to all employs . all the co-workers got along and work well with each other. once a month exel would have pizza or BBQ for all the workers. there – more... wasn't anything hard about the job – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Exel

Exel is the leading contract logistics provider in the Americas thanks to the hard work of 40,000 associates at more than 500 – Read more