Find companies:
Exel
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
418 reviews

Exel Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, great management team, excellent customers.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ontario, CAMarch 12, 2014
Pros: exel offered a lot of opportunity for growth.
Cons: the company moved back to los angeles county.
Exel offered a lot of opportunity for growth I started in scheduling then later cross trained to learn dispatch, receiving, and training new associates. My management team was one of the best to work with very positive motivating and knowledgeable. My co-workers and I worked well as a team and always met and exceeded our deadlines. The hardest part – more... of the job was learning the delivery zones which later I created a sheet categorizing the zones to help with that learning curve. The most enjoyable part of the job was the opportunity for growth and interacting with great customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long work days, sometimes 12 hrs but rewarding work.
Customer Service Rep/Receiver (Former Employee), Brantford, ONFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: working with a great team
Cons: long hours caused no time for the gym
My day started at 7:00 am, receiving containers and other trucks, created, verified and closed Inbound receipts. Received all trucks coming into and out the yard. Kept an updated carrier log.
Created and updated spreadsheets so that management could access needed info for all inbound loads. Took care of all inbound emails including research. Helped – more... the outbound girl when needed.
Self taught this position since this is a fairly new establishment. Management changed often. Co-workers were great. We made a great team to get the job done. The hardest part of the job was working with no management support and seeing staff coming and going. Enjoyed the long hard work with the co-workers and completed the day with all chores finished.. It felt great!
This was a contract job. My employer was Randstad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work environment and opportunity for advancement.
Warehouse Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Brantford, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Drove Forklift, shipping and receiving. Lots of overtime available. Lots of internal job postings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning opportunity
Warehouse Team Lead (Current Employee), Fort McMurray, ABNovember 2, 2013
Pros: free pizza
Exel is a great company to learn new skills. Management team is very caring and respectful. It is a good company to start a career in the oil sands and have an understanding of all material required to make a plant running.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Inventory Control Clerk (Current Employee), Bolton, ONOctober 31, 2013
Pros: lots of overtime
Cons: not by seniority
it was fun working with co employee, learned how to be an independent workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job EVER!
Material Handler (Former Employee), Fort McMurrayMarch 17, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everthing
Hour long bus ride to work 12 hour shift learned nothing VERY POOR training. WORST management ive ever seen in a company. Most of the co-works where alright some where very full of them selfs and un helpful.There was no enjoyable part of working for exel.I wouldent recommend anybody to work for exel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for.
Order Packer (Former Employee), Brampton, ONMarch 15, 2013
Work load was heavy. I would prefer lighter duty.

I was part of the team and required fast pace work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many processes
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 15, 2013
Pros: salary was commensurate
Cons: did not enjoy my time there
Disliked my manager after the first few months, Coworkers were quite helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worldwide distribution company
ocean freight operation (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 4, 2013
Shortly after joined the company DHL merger EXEL, handled both DTD ocean freight and oil and gas project operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment
Material Handler (Current Employee), mississauga, ontSeptember 5, 2012
Pros: employees
Cons: little room for promotion
Having worked in Exel for approximately two years, i must say that it is a decent company to work for. the employees are close knit and look out for each other and upper management is approachable. the work load is steady through out the month, but at months end, there is an influx, and one has to work at double the speed and sometimes extra hours (voluntarily) – more... to meet and/ exceed the quota. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Order Picker (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABSeptember 4, 2012
Pros: free pizza
Cons: long hours
a typical day at work is picking products from the shelves. I learned how to organize my products in the pallet. the management cares about their employees, which, is good.the co-workers are helpful to new employees. the hardest part of the job is working in the freezer and the most enjoyable part of the job is picking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment will learn marketable skills
Supervisor (Former Employee), TorontoAugust 29, 2012
Pros: will learn marketable skills at the clerical or other office level
Cons: very demanding when you are salary, long work days and weekend work in order to keep up with customer demand
Past Salary Employee/ Supervisor Canada-not a good blend of work and family time. very demanding, and do not try to calculate an hourly wage if you factor in all the late nights, weekend work.You will be disappointed
However, you can really develope some marketable skills for when you leave. Canadian operations has very little growth so opportunities – more... for advancment is very very limited. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard warehouse employment
Material Handler and Shipper/Receiver (Current Employee), Bolton, ONApril 18, 2012
Pros: guaranteed, regular hours
Cons: no air conditioning
Standard warehouse environment. Peak season is summer, off-season is winter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dead end job
Inventory clerk (Former Employee), Louisville kyJuly 25, 2014
Cons: low pay, awful management. boring. no advancement opportunities
Not sure about the other warehouses. But the Louisville,KY warehouse was awful. For the first few days I say there and did nothing. And when I did Learn my job. There wasn't enough work to do that would cover my entire shift. The pay is low. And there are no opportunities for advancement. And the management doesn't care about the employees. Only their – more... agenda. And most of the employees that have been there for years have an awful attitude towards everyone. There are a few good apples that will help or try to teach you things but that's as far as it goes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace, room for promotions
Material Handler/ Operation Assistant (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 24, 2014
Pros: company picnics
Cons: healthcare
• Counts and weights incoming or outgoing item to compare identifying information and variety against invoices or other records
• Examine incoming shipments for damages or shortages, corresponds with shipper to rectify, and completes paper work for documentations
• Determine methods of shipment utilizing Knowledge of shipping procedures, routes, and – more... rates
• Utilizes computerized and automated systems such as Microsoft and SAP to accomplish tasks – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard and fast pace
Scanner Operator (Former Employee), Bunker Hill, INJuly 18, 2014
Pros: pushed me everyday to learn and be better
it made everyday the same but different. I go into work , they would put me in a lot of other places to scan ,the docks also.. it always kept me learning more and how to make the things that where hard --very easy with time and patience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good warehousing company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), La Porte, TXJuly 18, 2014
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: no overtime
Employees are great to work with. Management is good. Not all managers have employees follow company policies though. This I have trouble with. Training at this company is really lacking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional workplace
Operations Manager I (Current Employee), Mount Vernon, INJuly 16, 2014
Pros: day shift hours
Cons: work life balance and stabilility could be better
Manage a team of supervisors towards a common productive goal to deliver excellent customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful management and just overall, not a nice place to work
Trainer (Former Employee), Johnstown, NYJuly 13, 2014
Pros: decent pay, vacation time after a year. holiday pay, hours aren't bad.
Cons: terrible management, not eco-friendly, too much drama and gossip, no room for advancement., they want you to be a robot.
I had about 2 pages written about this place and it would not let me post my review. It kept giving me an error that I had "inappropriate language", when the only word I used was butt, that could have been offensive. I will not retype the 2 pages. I will simply say that this is the worst place I have ever worked in my entire life. Upper management needs – more... to have a serious attitude adjustment. They are not any better than anyone else. The associate are the ones making the company money and deserve respect!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this job was fun.
Forklift operator (Former Employee), Portage, INJuly 11, 2014
this was a great place to work; however the work was only temporary and there management team was horrible.

1 2 3 4 5

About Exel

Exel is the leading contract logistics provider in the Americas thanks to the hard work of 40,000 associates at more than 500 – Read more