Estee Lauder Employee Reviews

Found 58 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people with lots of free cosmetic gifts
Packaging/assembley (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2013
Fun people to work with, friendly bright atmosphear,
FREE COSMETIC GIFT BAGS EVERY THREE MONTHS WITH
MULTIPLE THINGS - management that was willing to listen
to your ideas - the hardest part (may be the end of the day!!!)
I learnt to work with all kinds and tempraments and varieties
of people, but I am an esy going person my self, so I adjust well under ny kind of circumstance. This is why I was a very helprul and well adjusted and liked person at the location, plus I am a good cook, so at lunch time my food was very popular with all my friends
Pros
free cosmetic gift bags
Cons
got tired at the end of the dat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
peaceful and secure work in general chemical oriented environment in preweigh area
Preweigh Operator (Current Employee) –  200 Bentley Street, Markham14 November 2015
Preweighing the raw materials
Sorting of all cut material
Scanning the cuts to 370 location by RF scanner
Checking the completed batches in system
Daily scales checking
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & friendly workplace
Floor Man (Former Employee) –  Lauder, MB9 December 2013
I would start off by sorting boxes with merchandise in it on a skid for half of the day. The next half I would scan boxes with the scan gun. I would sometimes work in shipping printing lables for boxes and wrapping skids packed with merchandises.

I learned how to work the UPS label printer, and how to work the shrink wrapping machine to wrap skids

The management was great, and I got along well with my co-workers.

The hardest part of my job is when the busy months come along. Working at a faster paste.
I enjoyed working in shipping and learning to do new tasks.
Pros
Got along well with everyone
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very clean and safe environment
Order Processor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2015
Loved to work in a company which is the most popular cosmetic company in GTA. I learned to do Inventory control of products by the assistance of my supervisor. The management was always helpful and courteous. All my co-workers young and old were fabulous. I liked to work there as I got more to know more about the cosmetic products which I myself use nowadays. I recommend them to my friends and family.
Pros
Party and lunches
Cons
Not hiring only on contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If it is a technician job, dont bother
Maintenance technician (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON13 November 2015
Worked in the maintenance department. Maintenance department wasn't bad overall. but they pay one person on maintenance as a "millwright" and the others as "maintenance technicians". the maintenance techs report to production supervisors. Some production supervisors were pretty good, some were completely useless. but if a production supervisor does not like you for whatever reason, could be the way you look, your gone. They did pay good and provided apprenticeships which is a good thing if your starting out as an apprentice. you wont learn to much about general millwright practices, just set-up and changeovers, mainly pneumatics troubleshooting but that's it. They have lathes, milling machines, and a welding set up, but if you spend to much time fabricating you will get in trouble for being off the line too long, even though you a making a part/repair for the machine. Even if the line is running and you leave to make a repair or even grab a tool you will get in trouble. Only the "millwrights" can perform certain maintenance procedures. the "maintenance techs" are more set-up/glorified operator/part changer. During my time, they promoted a line worker to a production supervisor and that supervisor told me how long it should take to fix the machine because and line worker knows better than a millwright. when i needed to get parts (which were completely disorganized) i would get in trouble for leaving the line for too long, when i had to fix the machine. operators were pretty useless, could not even clear jams or stop machines if they needed to. I never even got locks to lockout  more... machine and i was there quite a while.  less
Pros
grab bags. (only seen one)
Cons
Poor Management, lack of operator skills
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to start working
Cashier Beauty Advisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2014
• Quickly build rapport with customers in order to
• Listen to customers’ wants and needs and determine how to best meet them
• Schedule and coordinate activities
• Event planning
• Help customers find the right products for their skin, whether that is skin care, foundation, lip stick or eye shadow.
• Show customers how to apply makeup correctly.
Pros
Gratis, friendly work environment
Cons
long hours, shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, great people, awesome family to be a part of
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 August 2012
Daily Tasks: Filling out DBR, check communication board, go through 1-2-3 Connect binder and contact clients, clean counter, check stock room for supplies, set daily counter target as well as personal target for the day, make advertisements over PA system, recruit clients, assist clients in finding the right skin solution for them, organizing and updating client files, etc.

Working for Estee Lauder has been a great experience, it's introduced me to a wonderful group of positive, strong women who generally love helping people. My favorite part of working with Estee Lauder is the feeling you get knowing you've helped someone feel better, whether it's through helping them with their confidence, to teaching them how to do their make up, or just being someone they can talk to. Every day is different, every woman is different, but all women are beautiful.
Pros
the women
Cons
stress of reaching target
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Assembler (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON13 October 2013
A typical day at work is working on an assembly line checking inspecting and dis-guarding unwanted goods for production. I have learn how to work in a fast pace environment and filling out paper work. management and co-workers are good to work with but there isn't much time to socialize on the job. The hardest part is getting along with everyone and the most enjoyable part is meeting new people
Pros
Free make up
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place to work
Order Processor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 March 2015
Fun doing maths, working with friendly co-workers, responsible team player, Nice to see the manager smiling at all times. Company gave free gifts every three months, the company is well organized and clean. Inventory was most enjoyable part of work and so was picking orders. Replenishing was the hardest part of the job. The best thing was we finished work at 1pm on fridays
Pros
BBQ party every summer
Cons
lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Chance For Advancement
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2014
No Chance For Advancement
Management is poor
Employees are not treated well
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering experience gets to know how to apply your skills in the real world
Safety Management Engineer for production process (Former Employee) –  Markham Ontario1 February 2014
Helps us to know about the engineering field. Management of this company was really good, helpful and cooperative.
Pros
Free lunch, parties at work
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review on my career with Estee Lauder
Beauty Advisor (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON13 May 2014
I have been working in cosmetics for my whole career to this point. I come from a family of beauticians, it was no surprise I would fall in love with this industry and make it a part of my life. I love what I do. I get to talk to women and help them feel and look there most beautiful. It's a challenge at times, you almost feel like you are a therapist of some sort. The hardest part of the job is that you can never perfect your position, you are always tweaking your sales performance, your execution of events. It is the hardest but one of the main reasons this job has had my heart for so long. Everyday is a challenge. Everyday you are meeting new people, with new concerns. it is a new day for experiences for the customers as well so making sure I am always on top of my game, that I have the latest knowledge on products and expert advice and tips is key to driving a successful business. I have learned a lot and have gained so much knowledge working in cosmetics and for Estee Lauder. I have learned what it would feel like to own my own business. from planning to execution of events and daily business on top I feel I am ready for any challenge thrown at me. Management acknowledge all you do and will help guild you and mentor you to where you want to grow and where you would like to be. The most enjoyable part of my day is putting smiles on new and existing clients. I truly find being a Beauty Advisor such an important role to girls and women all over the world who are looking to address any skincare/makeup concerns or who are simply looking for the latest tips and tricks.
Pros
Free Products!
Cons
You might need to work overtime sometimes before and during events.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i have worked so far
Pre-weigh Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 August 2014
excellent working environment
lots of things to learn.
chances for career enhancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and safe environment
Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  North york, ON.9 May 2013
Fast paced. Learned computer skills and RF scanner usage.Interactive management. Great team players.Keeping up with the picking lines when understaffed. Knowing that the goals for the day is met.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Pre-weigh Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 June 2014
good place and satisfied with my job opportunity
learned a lot. management was very cooperative.coworkers was very supportive. everything was enjoyable about my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible work enviroment
Quality Engineering (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2013
Team player as well work independent
friendly enviroment
good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packaging make up
Line worker (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, Ontario22 November 2014
Decent job for people desperately needing one. Line work, packaging make up, filling make up bottles. Packing the make up into the shipping boxes. Best part of the job was the free stuff and employee discounts
Pros
free coffee
Cons
Factory work, so doing a lot of the same thing for a long time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Order Processor (Former Employee) –  550 Petrolia Road27 May 2014
Day starts at 7am
Order processing requires you to be on your feet all day. Its extremely fast paced so you have to make sure that errors are minimal.
Co workers were great and it took no time at all to get to know everyone.
The hardest part of the job is being on your feet.
Cons
Short lunch hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working
Student lab technician  (Former Employee) –  Agincourt, ON19 May 2013
Acquired skills in instrumental analysis.
the co-workers were supportive and taught me in perfect way.
Hardest part was in-process testing as have to do in time limits.
most awesome part was we were doing team work.
everything was well planned and managed.
Cons
very tight schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Set-up Mechanic / Equipment Sanitizer (Former Employee) –  Scarborough28 January 2013
Over all great place, every thing you would want from a company.
Pros
good wages, good hours, they going out of there way to make sure you enjoy being an employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 512 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1